DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of embodiment 8, claims 1 and 6-8, in the reply filed on 5/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-5 and 9-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/29/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because all diagrams and features in Figures 1-14 are required to be distinctly labeled to indicate contents or function with legends (37 C.F.R. 1.83(a), 1.84(o)) since they are necessary for understanding of the drawing. Correction is required.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by England et al (AMP: authentication of media via provenance).
Regarding claim 1, England, in Fig. 1, discloses the same apparatus for checking a video data stream having a video encoded thereinto on trustworthiness (e.g. see Abstract), wherein the apparatus is configured for subjecting a predetermined portion (e.g. p. 13, left col.) of the video data stream, or data derived therefrom (e.g. Sec. III), to a hash function to obtain a hash value (e.g. Table 1); checking whether the hash value fits to a digital signature to determine whether the video data stream is trustworthy (e.g. Sec. VII); deriving an indication (e.g. MediaID) from the video data stream, which indication indicates a manner of determining the predetermined portion (e.g. p. 6, steps 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, England discloses checking the video data stream on trustworthiness in units of one or more portions (e.g. Table VI), wherein the one or more portions comprise the predetermined portion (e.g. Table XIX), wherein the apparatus is configured for determining the one or more portions in the manner indicated by the indication (e.g. Table V).
Regarding claim 7, England discloses the plurality of modes comprises a first mode (e.g. Static Manifest), wherein the apparatus is configured for in the first mode, assigning a predetermined picture to one of the one or more portions in dependence on which layer out of a plurality of layers of the video data stream the predetermined picture belongs to (e.g. p. 3, right column).
Regarding claim 8, England discloses a second mode (e.g. Streaming Manifest), wherein the apparatus is configured for in the second mode, assigning the predetermined picture to a predefined one of the one or more portions (e.g. p. 13, left col.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bruner (2020/0267521) discloses a conventional apparatus for checking a video data stream.
/Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485