DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 15-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (US 2011/0148194) (“Lai”) in view of in view of Wang et al. (US 2017/0063093) (“Wang”).
With respect to claim 1, Lai discloses a power supply and backup network of a communication device (abstract discloses a high-voltage direct-current uninterruptible power supply system for electronic loads), comprising: a medium-low voltage power distribution system (power modules 31, figure 2), a high-voltage battery backup power system (DC bus bar 33), a power distribution system (PDU 35) and a high-voltage direct-current (HVDC) bus system (battery module 34), wherein the medium-low voltage power distribution system is connected to the power distribution system by means of the HVDC bus system, and the high-voltage battery backup power system is bypassed on the HVDC bus system (figure 2, paragraphs 0012, 0016 discloses that the DC bus 33 is connected to the PDU 35 and the battery 34 is bypassed when not in use); the medium-low voltage power distribution system is configured to use input mains power to provide HVDC power for the power distribution system by means of the HVDC bus system (figure 2 discloses receiving power from utility 8); the high-voltage battery backup power system is configured to provide HVDC backup power for the power distribution system by means of the HVDC bus system (paragraphs 0016 that the battery 34 provides power to the DC bus bar 33); and the power distribution system is configured to distribute, to an electrical device connected to the power distribution system, the HVDC power transmitted on the HVDC bus system (figure 2 discloses that the PDU 35 distributes power on the DC bus 33 to servers 40).
Lai; however, does not expressly disclose an oil energy backup power.
Wang discloses power supply systems for data center to receive inputs from AC grid and an AC generator, and DC bus to provide DC power to DC data center loads. The AC generator comprises a diesel/gasoline generator, for example (paragraph 0009).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Lai and include the diesel/gas generator of Wang, for the purpose of providing an extra redundant/backup system for when there is a failure or the natural energy generators are not providing enough power, for example.
With respect to claim 2, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 1, wherein the medium-low voltage power distribution system is configured to charge the high-voltage battery backup power system in response to normal power supply; and the high-voltage battery backup power system is configured to discharge the HVDC bus system in response to abnormal power supply in the medium-low voltage power distribution system. Paragraphs 0012, 0016 discloses storing power and releasing power storage in the battery module to the DC bus 33.
With respect to claim 3, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 2, wherein the high-voltage battery backup power system is further configured to smooth voltage fluctuations on the HVDC bus system. Paragraph 0012 discloses that the battery modules condition the DC bus 33.
With respect to claim 4, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 1, further comprising: a new energy power supply and backup system, wherein the new energy power supply and backup system is connected to the HVDC bus system; and the new energy power supply and backup system is configured to use input new energy to provide the HVDC power for the power distribution system or the HVDC backup power for the power distribution system by means of the HVDC bus system. Figure 2 discloses renewable energy input source 5 to supply backup power to the DC bus 33.
With respect to claim 15, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 1, wherein the electrical device comprises: a communication device, and an HVDC Power Supply Unit (HVDC PSU) is disposed in the communication device, and the HVDC PSU comprises a power supply conversion apparatus that conforms to direct-current (DC) input. Figure 2 of Lai discloses that the server/communication device comprises a PSU with respective DC/DC converter.
With respect to claim 16, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 15, wherein the power supply conversion apparatus comprises: a direct-current to direct-current (DCDC) isolation converter, a self-backup power DCDC isolation converter, or a self-redundant DCDC isolation converter. Figure 2 discloses an isolation DC/DC converter.
With respect to claim 18, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 1, further comprising: an intelligent management and control bus system, wherein the intelligent management and control bus system is connected to all functional systems comprised in the power supply and backup network; and the intelligent management and control bus system is configured to monitor all the functional systems, and regulate and control a power supply system and a backup power system of the power supply and backup network according to a working state of all the functional systems. Figure 2 discloses a control modules 32 monitors the operating status of the system and manages the energy outputs of the power modules according to the status of the loads, paragraph 0016.
With respect to claim 19, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 1, wherein the HVDC bus system comprises: one or more HVDC buses. Wang discloses a plurality of HVDC buses 161.
With respect to claim 20, Lai in view of Wang disclose the power supply and backup network according to claim 19, wherein in response to a determination that the HVDC bus system comprises a plurality of HVDC buses, each of the plurality of HVDC buses is connected to a group of the medium-low voltage power distribution system, the high-voltage battery backup power system and the power distribution system, and the plurality of HVDC buses are connected in parallel. Wang discloses in figure 1 a plurality of DC power buses connected in parallel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-14, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the new energy power supply and backup system comprises: a first new energy power supply and backup system and a second new energy power supply and backup system, wherein the first new energy power supply and backup system is disposed at a remote end of the electrical device and the second new energy power supply and backup system is disposed locally at the electrical device.
Claim 12 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose a bidirectional feed system, wherein the bidirectional feed system is configured to store valley period surplus energy from the new energy power supply and backup system into an energy storage warehouse, and supply power to a power grid after the energy storage warehouse is fully charged; and the bidirectional feed system is further configured to provide energy stored in the energy storage warehouse or energy provided by the power grid to the electrical device during peak power consumption period of the electrical device.
Claim 13 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose a shared energy storage system, wherein the shared energy storage system is connected to the HVDC bus system; and the shared energy storage system is configured to store energy to a first distributed power supply and backup unit disposed on the electrical device or release energy to the first distributed power supply and backup unit disposed on the electrical device by means of the HVDC bus system.
Claim 17 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the communication device is further deployed in a third distributed power supply and backup unit, wherein the third distributed power supply and backup unit is configured to provide backup power to the communication device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LIM et al. (US 2020/0366101) discloses a DC power distribution network linked to an energy storage system; the DC power distribution system comprises AC grid input, battery input and an emergency generation input.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836