DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 7/7/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfassy et al. (WO 2018/020483 A1), hereinafter ELFASSY, in view of Bando (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0291122), hereinafter BANDO.
Regarding claim 1, ELFASSY teaches: A method of introducing a substrate into a nip and driving the substrate therethrough (ELFASSY teaches a process for transferring a pattern to a substrate [Abstract; Fig. 1].), the nip being defined between a pressure roller and an opposing surface (ELFASSY teaches a drive mechanism for driving the web (14a, 14b) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]. ELFASSY teaches a web (14) passes between two pressure rollers (22) that define the nip (40) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]. ELFASSY teaches within the nip, the pattern on the web is pressed against a surface of the substrate (10) [pg. 6; Fig. 1].), the method comprising advancing the substrate towards the nip by a transport conveyor (ELFASSY teaches a substrate drive mechanism where substrates (10) are advanced into different stations [pg. 6; Fig. 1]. ELFASSY teaches the substrates (10) are fed into a nip (40) defined between the two pressure rollers (22a, 22b) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]. ELFASSY teaches if the substrate is to only have the pattern on one side, then the substrate drive mechanism may be a conveyor [pg. 7].) configured to cease applying a force to a trailing edge of the substrate upon engagement of a leading edge of the substrate within the nip (ELFASSY teaches the substrate drive mechanism has two rollers (112) inclined relative to the length of the conveyor, to frictionally engage a substrate (10) and drive it in the direction of the arrow (114) until its right edge, as viewed, comes into contact with one of three pins (116, 118, 120), of which at least the pin (118) is retractable [pg. 8; Figs. 3A-3C]. The rollers (11) continue to push the substrate (10) forwards while its right hand edge remains in contact with the pin (116) until its leading edge is parallel to the nip [pg. 8]), the transport conveyor having upon said engagement a velocity lower than a velocity at which the substrate is driven through the nip (ELFASSY teaches the velocity of the substrate (10) advancing to the nip (40) is lower than the velocity of the web in the nip because if the expected arrival time of the pattern at the nip (40) does not coincide with the next arrival of the substrate (10) at the nip, then the movement of the dancer (20) can vary the length of the path of the web from the supply roll (16) to the nip, which has the effect of increasing or decreasing the time taken for the sensed pattern to reach the nip (40) [pg. 10]).
ELFASSY is silent as to the trailing edge of the substrate being engaged with a protrusion of the transport conveyor.
In the same field of endeavor, conveying substrates, BANDO teaches a plurality of substrates (11) that are conveyed to a predetermined position [0036; Fig. 2]. BANDO teaches the conveying apparatus (15) configured to receive a substrate (11) placed on the placing area (47b) at the handover position [0056]. BANDO teaches projections (profiles (54)), which are support members, are configured to support corner portions of the substrates (11) [0057; Fig. 1]. BANDO teaches the four projections (54) overlap the four respective corners of the substrate (11), including the trailing edge of the substrate [0061; Figs. 6-7, 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY, by having protrusions engage with the trailing edge of the substrates, as suggested by BANDO, in order to prevent damaging the substrates [0005].
Regarding claim 20, ELFASSY teaches: wherein the substance patterns include particles of electrically conductive material (ELFASSY teaches the substance patterns are a composition containing particles of an electrically conductive material [Abstract; pg. 2].) and the substrate is a semiconductor wafer adapted for the manufacturing of a solar cell or an electrically insulating substrate adapted for the manufacturing of a printed circuit board (ELFASSY teaches the substrates may be semiconductor wafers [pg. 5].); the method further comprising post-treating the substrates to render the pattern electrically conductive (ELFASSY teaches a sintering station wherein sufficient energy is applied to sinter the electrically conductive material [pg. 4; claim 12]. ELFASSY teaches the sintering station needs to be post-transfer of the composition to the substrate [pg. 4].).
Claim(s) 2-6, 10-11, 13-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfassy et al. (WO 2018/020483 A1), hereinafter ELFASSY, in view of Bando (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0291122), hereinafter BANDO.
Regarding claim 2, ELFASSY teaches: A method for transferring a substance pattern to a substrate (ELFASSY teaches a process for transferring a pattern to a substrate [Abstract; Fig. 1]), the method comprising: a- providing a nip formed between a pressure roller and an opposing surface (ELFASSY teaches a drive mechanism for driving the web (14a, 14b) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]. ELFASSY teaches a web (14) passes between two pressure rollers (22) that define the nip (40) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]. ELFASSY teaches within the nip, the pattern on the web is pressed against a surface of the substrate (10) [pg. 6; Fig. 1]), a rotation of the pressure roller driving a substrate through the nip upon engagement of a leading edge of the substrate within the nip (ELFASSY teaches a substrate drive mechanism where substrates (10) are advanced into different stations [pg. 6; Fig. 1]. ELFASSY teaches the substrates (10) are fed into a nip (40) defined between the two pressure rollers (22a, 22b) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]. ELFASSY teaches if the substrate is to only have the pattern on one side, then the substrate drive mechanism may be a conveyor [pg. 7].), the nip having a linear nip velocity; b- driving a web carrying the substance pattern to enter the nip simultaneously with the substrate (ELFASSY teaches a drive mechanism for driving the web (14a, 14b) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]. ELFASSY teaches a web (14) passes between two pressure rollers (22) that define the nip (40) [Fig. 1; pg. 6].); c- advancing the substrate towards the nip in a X-direction of travel utilizing a transport conveyor including one or more projections coupled thereto, at least one of the projections engaging a trailing edge of the substrate (ELFASSY teaches the substrate drive mechanism has two rollers (112) inclined relative to the length of the conveyor, to frictionally engage a substrate (10) and drive it in the direction of the arrow (114) until its right edge, as viewed, comes into contact with one of three pins (116, 118, 120), of which at least the pin (118) is retractable [pg. 8; Figs. 3A-3C]. The rollers (11) continue to push the substrate (10) forwards while its right hand edge remains in contact with the pin (116) until its leading edge is parallel to the nip [pg. 8]), wherein upon engagement of a leading edge of the substrate within the nip, the transport conveyor advances the substrate at a velocity lower than the nip velocity (ELFASSY teaches the velocity of the substrate (10) advancing to the nip (40) is lower than the velocity of the web in the nip because if the expected arrival time of the pattern at the nip (40) does not coincide with the next arrival of the substrate (10) at the nip, then the movement of the dancer (20) can vary the length of the path of the web from the supply roll (16) to the nip, which has the effect of increasing or decreasing the time taken for the sensed pattern to reach the nip (40) [pg. 10].).
ELFASSY is silent as to the trailing edge of the substrate being engaged with a protrusion of the transport conveyor.
In the same field of endeavor, conveying substrates, BANDO teaches a plurality of substrates (11) that are conveyed to a predetermined position [0036; Fig. 2]. BANDO teaches the conveying apparatus (15) configured to receive a substrate (11) placed on the placing area (47b) at the handover position [0056]. BANDO teaches projections (profiles (54)), which are support members, are configured to support corner portions of the substrates (11) [0057; Fig. 1]. BANDO teaches the four projections (54) overlap the four respective corners of the substrate (11), including the trailing edge of the substrate [0061; Figs. 6-7, 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY, by having protrusions engage with the trailing edge of the substrates, as suggested by BANDO, in order to prevent damaging the substrates [0005].
Regarding claim 3, ELFASSY teaches: wherein the transport conveyor has a first side and a second side parallel to the X-direction and opposite one another (ELFASSY shows the transport conveyor has a first side and second side [Figs. 1, 3A-3C].), and wherein the transport conveyor comprises two or more pushers disposed on the first side and an elongate guide surface disposed on the second side (ELFASSY shows the transport conveyor has two pushers disposed on the first side and an elongate guide on the second side [Figs. 3A-3C].), the pushers being spaced from one another along the X-direction (ELFASSY teaches the pushers (112) are spaced from one another in a x-direction of travel of the substrate [Figs. 3A-3C].), the method further comprising urging the substrate in a Y-direction traverse to the X-direction against the elongate guide surface by using the pushers (ELFASSY teaches the pushers (112) on a first side of the substrate drive mechanism to urge the substrate in a y-direction traverse to the x-direction against an elongate guide surface (110) positioned on a second side of the transport conveyor [Figs. 1, 3A-3C; pg. 8]).
Regarding claim 4, ELFASSY teaches: wherein the pushers urge the substrate towards Y-registration and the, or each, projection is adapted to provide X-registration of the substrate, each registration being with respect to the nip and/or to the substance pattern carried by the web (ELFASSY shows the pushers (112) address y-registration of the substrate (10) [Figs. 3A-3B] and the projections (116, 118, 120) address the x-registration of the substrate (10) [Figs. 3A-3C]. ELFASSY teaches the device ensures both the correct location of the substrate along the width of the nip (40) and also correct orientation of the substrate relative to the nip [pg. 9]. ELFASSY teaches the pushers and projections each address registration of the substrate with respect to the nip and/or pattern carried by the web [pgs. 8-9].).
Regarding claim 5, BANDO further teaches: wherein the substrate is loaded on the transport conveyor utilizing a feed conveyor placing individually the substrate into a volume swept by the one or more projections of the transport conveyor such that the trailing edge of the substrate is engaged by at least one of the projections (BANDO teaches a handover apparatus (14) that is configured to receive the substrate (11) that has been lowered to the receiving position, and transfer the substrate (11) to a handover position for the conveying apparatus (15) [0042; 0036; 0054; Figs. 1, 4]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY, by having a feed conveyor, as suggested by BANDO, in order to position the substrate to the prescribed position and to the support members of the conveying apparatus [0009].
Regarding claim 6, BANDO further teaches: wherein the feed conveyor and the transport conveyor overlap and straddle one another at an end of the transport conveyor distal from the nip (BANDO teaches the feed conveyor (14) and the transport conveyor (15) overlap and straddle one another at an end of the transport conveyor (15) distal from the front direction of the conveyor (15) [Fig. 5]).
Regarding claim 10, BANDO further teaches: wherein the at least one of the projections on the transport conveyor engaging the trailing edge of the substrate is configured to make point contact therewith (BANDO shows the projections (54) make contact with the trailing edge of the substrates (11) [Figs. 1, 5]).
Regarding claim 11, ELFASSY teaches: wherein the pressure roller is a first pressure roller and the opposing surface is stationary or formed by a second pressure roller (ELFASSY teaches the opposing surface of the nip is another roller (22b), which the Examiner is interpreting as stationary as the rollers do not move up or/and down [Fig. 1; pg. 6].), one web passing through the nip at the same time with the substrates being advanced by the transport conveyor, so that each substance pattern carried by the web is transferred to one side of each substrate (ELFASSY teaches the patterns that are to be transferred to the substrates are carried by two flexible webs (14a, 14b) [pg. 6; Fig. 1]. ELFASSY teaches within the nip (40), the composition pattern on the webs are pressed against the surfaces of the substrate resulting in the pattern of composition adhering to the substrate [pgs. 6, 10; Fig. 1].).
Regarding claim 13, ELFASSY teaches: wherein the pressure roller is a first pressure roller and the opposing surface is formed by a second pressure roller (ELFASSY teaches the nip (40) is defined between two pressure rollers (22a, 22b) [pg. 6; Fig. 1]), two webs passing through the nip at the same time with the substrate (ELFASSY teaches two flexible webs (14a, 14b) pass through the nip (40) at the same time with the substrate (10) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]), the two webs being constituted of a first web carrying a first substance pattern and a second web carrying a second substance pattern (ELFASSY teaches the patterns that are to be transferred to the substrates are carried by two flexible webs (14a, 14b) [pg. 6; Fig. 1]), and wherein the substrate is transported through the nip between the two webs, the first and second substance patterns being transferred to opposite sides of the substrate (ELFASSY teaches within the nip (40), the composition pattern on the webs are pressed against the surfaces of the substrate resulting in the pattern of composition adhering to the substrate [pgs. 6, 10; Fig. 1]).
Regarding claim 14, ELFASSY teaches: further comprising tensioning at least one of the two webs by using at least one tension roller along a path of the, or each, web, the tensioning being adapted to provide X-registration of the at least one web with respect to the other of the two webs (ELFASSY teaches at least one tension roller (dancer (20, 20a, 20b)) along the path of at least one of the two webs [Fig. 1; pg. 10]. ELFASSY teaches the at least one tension roller (20, 20a, 20b) adapted to address x-registration of the at least one web with respect to the other web [pgs. 3, 10; claim 6].).
Regarding claim 15, ELFASSY teaches: further comprising heating at least one of the substrates and the webs prior to reaching the nip (ELFASSY teaches a heater (52) for heating the substrates (10) prior to reaching the nip (40) [Fig. 1; pg. 6].).
Regarding claim 17, ELFASSY teaches: further comprising subsequent to passage of the substrates through the nip at least one of: a) cooling the substrates and/or the webs (ELFASSY teaches cooling the substrates and/or webs [pgs. 10-11].), b) separating at least one of the webs from a surface of the substrate (ELFASSY teaches separating the webs [pg. 11].), and c) post-treating the substrates to modify the substance patterns and/or their adherence to the substrates transferred thereto (ELFASSY teaches further post-treating the substrates [pgs. 11-12].).
Regarding claim 18, ELFASSY teaches: wherein the substance patterns include particles of electrically conductive material (ELFASSY teaches the substance patterns are a composition containing particles of an electrically conductive material [Abstract; pg. 2].); the method further comprising post-treating the substrates to render the pattern electrically conductive (ELFASSY teaches a sintering station wherein sufficient energy is applied to sinter the electrically conductive material [pg. 4; claim 12]. ELFASSY teaches the sintering station needs to be post-transfer of the composition to the substrate [pg. 4].).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfassy et al. (WO 2018/020483 A1), hereinafter ELFASSY, and Bando (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0291122), hereinafter BANDO, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of STEFANI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0162627), hereinafter STEFANI.
Regarding claim 7, ELFASSY and BANDO teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including a transport conveyor being a movable endless belt [pg. 7]; however, are silent as to: wherein the feed conveyor comprises at least one cyclically movable endless belt. In the same field of endeavor, conveyors, STEFANI teaches a cyclically movable endless feeding belt (2) [Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have a feeding conveyor that is an endless belt, as suggested by STEFANI, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 8, ELFASSY and BANDO teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including lifting up and down substrates [BANDO: 0040; Fig. 2], but are silent as to: wherein at least one of the transport conveyor and the feed conveyor comprises two parallel belts and the feed conveyor carries the substrates in a plane different than that of the transport conveyor, the method further comprising lifting up or down substrates individually from the feed conveyor into the volume swept by the one or more projections of the transport conveyor utilizing a lifting mechanism. In the same field of endeavor, conveyors, STEFANI teaches the concept of two conveyors carrying a product [Fig. 1]. STEFANI teaches the feed conveyor (2) is on a different plane than the transport conveyor (T) [Fig. 1]. STEFANI teaches that a lifting mechanism (T1) is operational to lift up or down the powder/product from the feed conveyor (2) to the transport conveyor (T) [Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY and BANDO, by having the concept of two conveyors that have a lifting mechanism in-between to lift up or down the product as suggested by STEFANI, in order for the layer to pass from the lifting mechanism (T1) to the surface of the transport conveyor (T) and prevent deformations [0027]. Furthermore, it’s a known concept in the art of having two conveyors with a lifting mechanism in-between and one of ordinary skill would have chosen a known option. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfassy et al. (WO 2018/020483 A1), hereinafter ELFASSY, Bando (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0291122), hereinafter BANDO, and STEFANI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0162627), hereinafter STEFANI, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Buschmann et al. (DE 102017011662 A1), hereinafter BUSCHMANN.
Regarding claim 9, ELFASSY, BANDO and STEFANI teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising lowering stress placed on the substrate upon making contact with the at least one projection of the transport conveyor engaging the trailing edge by providing a low friction static interface, or a rolling interface, between the substrate and the lifting mechanism. In the same field of endeavor, transporting, BUSCHMANN teaches a lifting device formed by rollers whose height is adjustable [0013]. BUSCHMANN teaches the lifting device is between two conveyors [0009]. BUSCHMANN teaches the lifting device with rollers reduces the stress on the boards during transport [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY, BANDO and STEFANI, to have a lifting device comprised of rollers to reduce stress, as suggested by BUSCHMANN, in order to reduce stress and switch to a changing transport speed [0010] and prevent damage to the boards [0009].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfassy et al. (WO 2018/020483 A1), hereinafter ELFASSY, and Bando (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0291122), hereinafter BANDO, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Beer (U.S. 4,464,220), hereinafter BEER.
Regarding claim 12, ELFASSY teaches: further comprising at least one of: a) tensioning the web by using at least one tension roller along a path of the web (ELFASSY teaches at least one tension roller (dancer (20, 20a, 20b)) along the path of at least one of the two webs [Fig. 1; pg. 10]), the tensioning being adapted to provide X-registration of the web with respect to the nip and the substrate passing (ELFASSY teaches the at least one tension roller (20, 20a, 20b) being adapted to address x-registration of the at least one web with respect to the other web [pgs. 3, 10; claim 6].) therethrough; b) heating at least one of the substrates and the web prior to reaching the nip (ELFASSY teaches a heater (52) for heating the substrates (10) prior to reaching the nip (40) [Fig. 1; pg. 6].); . . . ; d) cooling at least one of the substrates and the web, subsequent to exiting from the nip (ELFASSY teaches cooling the substrates and/or webs [pgs. 10-11].); e) separating the web from a surface of the substrates, subsequent to exiting from the nip or subsequent to cooling (ELFASSY teaches separating the webs [pg. 11].); and f) post-treating the substrates subsequent to exiting from the nip, cooling or separation from the web, to modify the substance patterns and/or their adherence to the substrates (ELFASSY teaches further post-treating the substrates [pgs. 11-12].), but is silent as to: c) applying an adhesive to at least one of the substrates and the web prior to reaching the nip. In the same field of endeavor, adhesives, BEER teaches applying adhesive prior to reaching the nip [Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-47]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY and BANDO, by applying adhesive prior to the nip, as suggested by BEER, in order to obtain intimate bonding [Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-47].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfassy et al. (WO 2018/020483 A1), hereinafter ELFASSY, and Bando (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0291122), hereinafter BANDO, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Beer (U.S. 4,464,220), hereinafter BEER.
Regarding claim 16, ELFASSY and BANDO teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising applying an adhesive to at least one of the substrates and the webs prior to contact being made therebetween upon reaching the nip. In the same field of endeavor, adhesives, BEER teaches applying adhesive prior to reaching the nip [Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-47]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY and BANDO, by applying adhesive prior to the nip, as suggested by BEER, in order to obtain intimate bonding [Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-47].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elfassy et al. (WO 2018/020483 A1), hereinafter ELFASSY, and Bando (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0291122), hereinafter BANDO, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beer (U.S. 4,464,220), hereinafter BEER.
Regarding claim 19, ELFASSY teaches: further comprising at least one of: a) heating at least one of the substrates and the web prior to reaching the nip (ELFASSY teaches a heater (52) for heating the substrates (10) prior to reaching the nip (40) [Fig. 1; pg. 6]); . . . ; c) cooling at least one of the substrates and the web, subsequent to exiting from the nip (ELFASSY teaches cooling the substrates and/or webs [pgs. 10-11].); d) separating the web from a surface of the substrates, subsequent to exiting from the nip or subsequent to cooling (ELFASSY teaches separating the webs [pg. 11].); and e) post-treating the substrates subsequent to exiting from the nip, cooling or separation from the web, to modify the substance patterns and/or their adherence to the substrates (ELFASSY teaches further post-treating the substrates [pgs. 11-12].), but is silent as to: b) applying an adhesive to at least one of the substrates and the web prior to reaching the nip. In the same field of endeavor, adhesives, BEER teaches applying adhesive prior to reaching the nip [Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-47]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ELFASSY and BANDO, by applying adhesive prior to the nip, as suggested by BEER, in order to obtain intimate bonding [Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-47].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748