DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed on 7/7/2025. Claims 1-2 are currently pending.
Priority
1. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 7/7/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because Fig. 8 includes Japanese symbols that have not been translated into English.
Specification
5. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
7. The term “substantially” in Claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a direction substantially opposite to a direction in which the drone performs display is interpreted as any direction. Claim 2 has the same limitation as Claim 1 except for its is a separate independent claim but is rejected for the same reasoning.
8. Regarding Claim 1, the claim is indefinite because it cannot be clearly understood what is meant by “a direction substantially opposite to a direction in which the drone performs display.” More specifically, it is unclear if the opposite direction is with respect to the target person or the body of the drone. The claim is being interpreted as moving at least one of the plurality of drones so the distances are changed based on the illuminance in a direction that increases visibility of the display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler (US 20180312274 A1) in view of Lim (KR 102267750 B1).
13. Regarding Claim 1, Kessler teaches a control method for controlling a plurality of drones, each of the plurality of drones being configured to… perform display at a predetermined position, wherein the control method comprises (Kessler: [0030] and [0050] “the light system processor 268 may adjust each light sources 150A-H differently based on environmental awareness”):
The illuminance being detected by at least one of the plurality of drones (Kessler: [0051] The processor 268 determining the sunlight is equivalent to detecting illuminance.);
Capturing an image in a predetermined direction from at least one of the plurality of drones (Kessler: [0036] Camera 222);
Extracting a target person from a captured image acquired by the capturing of the image (Kessler: [0036] “A camera 222 image may be processed to determine whether an operator of the UAV can be recognized”);
And causing the display of each of the plurality of drones to face a direction in which the target person is present (Kessler: [0044] and [0068] Block 620).
Kessler fails to explicitly teach each of the plurality of drones being configured to be movable in a space; and moving at least one of the plurality of drones so that distances between the plurality of drones are changed based on illuminance in a direction substantially opposite to a direction in which the drone performs display.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches each of the plurality of drones being configured to be movable in a space; and moving at least one of the plurality of drones so that distances between the plurality of drones are changed based on illuminance in a direction substantially opposite to a direction in which the drone performs display (Lim: [0013], [0053], and [0054] “The screen management unit 550 determines the position of the sun so that when the user looks at the screen 200, the screen 200 is located at a position where the sun does not interfere with the position of the drone 100”).
Kessler and Lim are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of unmanned aerial vehicle displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kessler to incorporate the teachings of Lim to move the drones so that distances between the drones are changed based on illuminance because it provides the benefit of position the display to increase the visibility for the user as explicitly explained in [0013] and [0053] of Lim.
14. Regarding Claim 2, Kessler teaches a control system comprising a plurality of drones and a control apparatus configured to control the plurality of drones… wherein each of the plurality of drones comprises (Kessler: [0030] and [0050] “the light system processor 268 may adjust each light sources 150A-H differently based on environmental awareness”):
A display unit configured to perform display at a predetermined position in the space (Kessler: [0025] “LEDs mounted to the rotors may display messages or images”);
And an illuminance sensor configured to detect illuminance of the display unit in a rear direction thereof which is a direction substantially opposite to a direction in which the display unit performs display (Kessler: [0034] and [0051] sensors 220),
Captures an image in a predetermined direction from at least one of the plurality of drones (Kessler: [0036] Camera 222);
Extracts a target person from a captured image acquired by the capturing of the image (Kessler: [0036] “A camera 222 image may be processed to determine whether an operator of the UAV can be recognized”);
And causes the display of each of the plurality of drones to face a direction in which the target person is present (Kessler: [0044] and [0068] Block 620).
Kessler fails to explicitly teach each of the plurality of drones being configured to be movable in a space; and the control apparatus: moves at least one of the plurality of drones so that distances between the plurality of drones are changed based on the illuminance detected by at least one of the plurality of drones.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches each of the plurality of drones being configured to be movable in a space; and the control apparatus: moves at least one of the plurality of drones so that distances between the plurality of drones are changed based on the illuminance detected by at least one of the plurality of drones (Lim: [0013], [0053], and [0054] “The screen management unit 550 determines the position of the sun so that when the user looks at the screen 200, the screen 200 is located at a position where the sun does not interfere with the position of the drone 100”).
Kessler and Lim are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of unmanned aerial vehicle displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kessler to incorporate the teachings of Lim to move the drones so that distances between the drones are changed based on illuminance because it provides the benefit of position the display to increase the visibility for the user as explicitly explained in [0013] and [0053] of Lim.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boudville (US 20190047695 A1)
Jobanputra (US 20200073385 A1)
/MICHAEL T SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3663