DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s statements regarding priority and the interview that took place on 7/20/2026. The priority of the parent applications in this instance do not extend themselves to independent claims 1, 12, & 19, the amendment pertaining to different attractants is not supported, as such priority is not perfected for this feature and the effective filling date of claims 1-20 is currently 7/7/2025.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 62/719,229, PCT/US2019/046668, 17/173,462, & 18/816,246 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior filed applications mention different attractants; however, no disclosure adequately provides support for combining more than one of those attractants into one delivery device or end product. As such priority is not perfected for this feature, subsequently claims 1-20 will not be granted the priority date of the prior-filed applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 & 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 & 18 recites the limitation “wherein the plurality of different deer attractants comprise… lamb tallow, pork blood, garlic, sulfur bacteria, putrescent egg solid, and predator urine” where the term “animal/deer attractants” is used within the claim to be encompassed by … lamb tallow, pork blood, garlic, sulfur bacteria, putrescent egg solid, and predator urine, while the accepted group of scents would be known as repellants to animals/deer to one of ordinary skill in the art. The limitations are indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the terms as attractants as such the claims have been rendered indefinite as well.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abbas, U.S. Patent No. 11,202,446 B1; herein Ab.
Re claim 1, Ab discloses compound delivery device comprising:
an integrally molded (fig. 4 and col 5; 1-9, the solid members are integrally molded) hygroscopic (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the base material of the solid member described is hygroscopic based on the content of humectants, the glycerin, propylene glycol, and sorbitol content will act to draw moisture out of the surrounding air) body (14 or 114; the solid member, fig. 1-2 or 5-6) comprising
a hygroscopic glycerin soap base material (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the base material or compounds forming a solid; 20 as described forms a melt-and-pour soap base and further includes at least 10-18wt% glycerin), and
a plurality of different animal attractants (22; the attractant being an animal attractant, fig. 1-6 & col 4; 33-42 and the oat protein and oils of the base material, see col 3; 18-41 & 52-58), the integrally molded hygroscopic body having an external surface directly exposed to an external environment and configured to condense ambient moisture directly thereon (col 4; 49-59 & col 5; 32-40, the scent dispersal apparatus is fastened to a surface of an environment and the outermost surface is exposed thereto, the dispersal of said scent/animal attractant/formula occurs due to the hygroscopic nature of the solid member and ambient moisture will be condensed thereon in the proper conditions); and
at least one support structure (18 or 118; the post or string, fig. 1-2 or 5-6) coupled to the integrally molded hygroscopic body (26 or 122 & 124, the portion of the post or string extending within the solid member, fig. 1-2 or 5-6) and to be coupled to an anchor body (38 or 130; the ground or tree branch, fig. 2 or 6), the at least one support structure extending within the integrally molded hygroscopic body (col 4; 43-44 or col 5; 24-26, there is a portion of the post/string extending within the body of the solid member);
the integrally molded hygroscopic body configured to release the plurality of different animal attractants in an area adjacent to the anchor body using the ambient moisture (col 4; 49-59 & col 5; 32-40, the scent and formula can only be dispersed within the vicinity of the scent dispersal device and the surface it is fastened to).
Re claim 8, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a hardening material (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the components of palm oil, sodium hydroxide, and coconut oil act to harden the formulation through a reaction called saponification that occurs after mixing the sodium hydroxide in until homogenous over heat then the mixture of the compounds may solidify).
Re claim 10, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab discloses the plurality of different animal attractants comprising a plurality of deer attractants (col 1; 44-46 & claim 1 & 4, the deer urine is known for attracting deer as are the oats and oils).
Re claim 19, Ab discloses method for using a compound delivery device (10/100; the scent dispersal apparatus, fig. 1-2 & 5-6), the method comprising:
coupling the compound delivery device to an anchor body (38 or 130; the ground or tree branch, see fig. 2 or 6), the compound delivery device comprising
an integrally molded (fig. 4 and col 5; 1-9, the solid members are integrally molded) hygroscopic (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the base material of the solid member described is hygroscopic based on the content of humectants, the glycerin, propylene glycol, and sorbitol content will act to draw moisture out of the surrounding air) body (14 or 114; the solid member, fig. 1-2 or 5-6) comprising
a hygroscopic glycerin soap base material (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the base material or compounds forming a solid; 20 as described forms a melt-and-pour soap base and further includes at least 10-18wt% glycerin), and
a plurality of different animal attractants (22; the attractant being an animal attractant, fig. 1-6 & col 4; 33-42 and the oat protein and oils of the base material, see col 3; 18-41 & 52-58), and
at least one support structure (18 or 118; the post or string, fig. 1-2 or 5-6) coupled to the integrally molded hygroscopic body (26 or 122 & 124, the portion of the post or string extending within the solid member, fig. 1-2 or 5-6), and to be coupled to the anchor body (fig. 2 & 6 and col 5; 32-40), the at least one support structure extending within the integrally molded hygroscopic body (col 4; 43-44 or col 5; 24-26, there is a portion of the post/string extending within the body of the solid member); and
condensing ambient moisture directly on an external surface of the integrally molded hygroscopic body to release the plurality of different animal attractants in an area adjacent to the anchor body using the ambient moisture (col 4; 49-59 & col 5; 32-40, the scent and formula can only be dispersed within the vicinity of the scent dispersal device and the surface it is fastened to).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sonnenberg et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0173436 A1; herein Son.
Re claim 2, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a plurality of overlapping layers carrying the plurality of different animal attractants (col 2; 6-13, the layers of the lure device).
Ab fails to disclose the plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different animal attractants. However, Son discloses an integrally molded hygroscopic body (para 209-211, the multiphase soap preparation process forms an integrally molded hygroscopic body) comprising a plurality of different animal attractants (abstract, fig. 3A-4B, 7A-10B & 12, and para 51-52 & 54-55, wherein the first and second phase each include a different aroma for attracting a human) and a plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different animal attractants (fig. 3A-4B, 7A-10B & 12, again wherein each phase includes a different aroma for attracting a human).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose the plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different animal attractants however, Son discloses a method of forming such a multiphase soap. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of the dual-phase hygroscopic body taught by Son to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by allowing a dual-phase lure with two animal attractants (i.e. the deer urine and other synthetic animal attractant [Ab, col 4; 17-20, wherein phases 1 and 2 are respectively deer urine and another synthetic attractant]) such that the animals in the surrounding environment are given a variety of scent as thus are less like to become wise thereto. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
Re claim 9, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab fails to disclose the integrally molded hygroscopic body (para 209-211, the multiphase soap preparation process forms an integrally molded hygroscopic body) comprising a wax material. However, Son discloses wherein an integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a wax material (para 52, 55, & 156, wherein the multiphase soap further comprises wax).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a wax material however, Son discloses such an additive. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of the solid-forming components as taught by Ab to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by adding wax to improve the delivery devices hardness and longevity. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab as applied to claim 1 above.
Re claim 3, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body can come in a plurality of shapes (col 2; 43-48, wherein the formulation could be any shape).
Ab discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a sphere-shaped body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize a sphere for an ergonomic design that allows for easy handling and a large surface area of the delivery compound, since it has been held that such a modification would only involve a mere change in shape of a component which is generally recognized as an obvious modification. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.
Re claim 4, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body can come in a plurality of shapes (col 2; 43-48, wherein the formulation could be any shape).
Ab discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a rectangle box-shaped body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize a rectangle for the ease of manufacturing and/or cutting, since it has been held that such a modification would only involve a mere change in shape of a component which is generally recognized as an obvious modification. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Schmidt, U.S. Patent No. 3,341,457 A; herein Mid.
Re claim 5, the combination of Ab and Son discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab further discloses wherein the at least one support structure comprises a loop (120; the loop, fig. 5-6) having a proximal end extending within the integrally molded hygroscopic body (fig. 5, wherein ends; 122 & 124 are located within the solid member) and a distal end (fig. 5-6, the end of the loop opposite the solid member), and configured to permit the loop to be wrapped around the anchor body (fig. 6).
The combination of Ab and Son fails to disclose a closeable connector coupled to the distal end. However, Mid discloses at least one support structure comprising a loop (fig. 1-2, formed by the encircling band) having a proximal end extending within an integrally molded hygroscopic body (fig. 1-2, the portion of the band extending from the bar of soap; 10) and a distal end (as shown in fig. 1-2, adjacent the snap fastener portions & buckle; 14-16), and a closeable connector (14 & 15; the two way female snap fastener and the male snap fastener, fig. 1-3) coupled to the distal end (again see fig. 1-2).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose a closeable connector coupled to the distal end however, Mid discloses such a connector. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art element of the snap fastener taught by Mid to the lure device of the prior art to yield the predictable result of a closable connector for fastening the lure device to an anchor. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Root, U.S. Patent No. 4,913,319 A.
Re claim 6, the combination of Sus and Son discloses the invention of claim 1, the combination fails to disclose wherein at least one support structure comprises a flexible container with an opening, and a closure configured to close the opening. However, Root discloses a support structure (44; the soap holder, fig. 1 & 3) comprising a flexible container (abstract, fig. 1 & 3, and col 3; 14-25, the flexible piece of mesh) with an opening (col 3; 14-16 & col 4; 1-5, the opening of the “loose fitting bag” is formed when the clip is removed), and a closure (42; the clasping device/pinch clamp, fig. 1 & 3) configured to close the opening (col 3; 14-25, the clasping device functions to close the opening of the mesh about the soap).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the at least one support structure comprises a flexible container with an opening, and a closure configured to close the opening however, Root discloses such a support structure. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art elements of the mesh and clasp as taught by Root to the body of the compound delivery device of the prior art to yield the predictable result of preventing the lure from dissolving and disengaging the string over time. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
Re claim 7, the combination of Ab and Root discloses the invention of claim 6, Root further discloses wherein the flexible container comprises a mesh material (abstract, fig. 1 & 3, and col 3; 14-25, the flexible piece of mesh).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Maruyama, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0174569 A1; herein Yama.
Re claim 11, as best understood, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab fails to disclose lamb tallow, pork blood, garlic, sulfur bacteria, putrescent egg solid, and predator urine as the plurality of different animal attractants.
However, Yama discloses an attracting tool utilizing pork blood (para 84, wild boar blood) and predator urine (para 84, urine of bear/coyote)
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose lamb tallow, pork blood, garlic, sulfur bacteria, putrescent egg solid, and predator urine as the plurality of different animal attractants however, Yama discloses such a technique. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art elements of pork blood and deer predator urine as taught by Yama to the lure device of the prior art to yield the predictable result of attracting deer to the area. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
Claims 12-14 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab in view of Son.
Re claim 12, Ab discloses a compound delivery device comprising:
an integrally molded (fig. 4 and col 5; 1-9, the solid members are integrally molded) hygroscopic (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the base material of the solid member described is hygroscopic based on the content of humectants, the glycerin, propylene glycol, and sorbitol content will act to draw moisture out of the surrounding air) body (14 or 114; the solid member, fig. 1-2 or 5-6) comprising
a hygroscopic glycerin soap base material (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the base material or compounds forming a solid; 20 as described forms a melt-and-pour soap base and further includes anywhere from 10-18wt% glycerin),
a hardening material (col 3; 18-41 & 52-58, the components of palm oil, sodium hydroxide, and coconut oil act to harden the formulation through a reaction called saponification that occurs after mixing the sodium hydroxide in until homogenous over heat then the mixture of the compounds may solidify),
a deer attractant (22; the attractant being a deer attractant, fig. 1-6, col 4; 33-42, and claim 1), and
the integrally molded hygroscopic body having an external surface directly exposed to an external environment and configured to condense ambient moisture directly thereon (col 4; 49-59 & col 5; 32-40, the scent dispersal apparatus is fastened to a surface of an environment and the outermost surface is exposed thereto, the dispersal of said scent/animal attractant occurs due to the hygroscopic nature of the solid member and ambient moisture will be condensed thereon in the proper conditions); and
at least one support structure (18 or 118; the post or string, fig. 1-2 or 5-6) coupled to the integrally molded hygroscopic body (26 or 122 & 124, the portion of the post or string extending within the solid member, fig. 1-2 or 5-6), and to be coupled to an anchor body (38 or 130; the ground or tree branch, fig. 2 or 6), the at least one support structure extending within the integrally molded hygroscopic body (col 4; 43-44 or col 5; 24-26, there is a portion of the post/string extending within the body of the solid member);
the integrally molded hygroscopic body configured to release the deer attractant in an area adjacent to the anchor body using the ambient moisture (col 4; 49-59 & col 5; 32-40, the scent dispersal apparatus is fastened to a surface of an environment and the outermost surface is exposed thereto, the dispersal of said scent/animal attractant occurs due to the hygroscopic nature of the solid member and ambient moisture will be condensed thereon in the proper conditions).
Ab fails to disclose a compound delivery device comprising plurality of different deer attractants, and a plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different deer attractants, wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body configured to sequentially release the plurality of different deer attractants. However, Son discloses a compound delivery device comprising an integrally molded hygroscopic body (para 209-211, the multiphase soap preparation process forms an integrally molded hygroscopic body) comprising a plurality of different animal attractants (abstract, fig. 3A-4B, 7A-10B & 12, and para 51-52 & 54-55, wherein the first and second phase each include a different aroma for attracting a human) and a plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different animal attractants (fig. 3A-4B, 7A-10B & 12, again wherein each phase includes a different aroma for attracting a human),
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose a compound delivery device comprising plurality of different deer attractants, and a plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different deer attractants, wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body configured to sequentially release the plurality of different deer attractants however, Son discloses a method of forming a compound delivery device with multiple phases of soap that will release in a sequence with each other. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of the multiphase compound delivery device taught by Son to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by employing two deer attractants such as deer urine and another synthetic compound (Ab, col 4; 17-20) so the target spices within the environment do not become suspect or “wise” to the attractant over time. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
Re claim 13, the combination of Ab and Son discloses the invention of claim 12, Ab further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body can come in a plurality of shapes (col 2; 43-48, wherein the formulation could be any shape).
The combination of Ab and Son discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a sphere-shaped body. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize a sphere for an ergonomic design that allows for easy handling and a large surface area of the delivery compound, since it has been held that such a modification would only involve a mere change in shape of a component which is generally recognized as an obvious modification. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.
Re claim 14, the combination of Ab and Son discloses the invention of claim 12, Sus further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body can come in a plurality of shapes (col 2; 43-48, wherein the formulation could be any shape).
The combination of Ab and Son discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a rectangle box-shaped body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize a rectangle for the ease of manufacturing and/or cutting, since it has been held that such a modification would only involve a mere change in shape of a component which is generally recognized as an obvious modification. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.
Re claim 17, the combination of Ab and Son discloses the invention of claim 12, Son further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a wax material (para 52, 55, & 156, wherein the multiphase soap further comprises wax).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a wax material however, Son discloses such an additive. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of the solid-forming components as taught by Ab to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by adding wax to improve the delivery devices hardness and longevity. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab in view of Son as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Mid.
Re claim 15, the combination of Ab and Son discloses the invention of claim 12, Ab further discloses wherein the at least one support structure comprises a loop (120; the loop, fig. 5-6) having a proximal end extending within the integrally molded hygroscopic body (fig. 5, wherein ends; 122 & 124 are located within the solid member) and a distal end (fig. 5-6, the end of the loop opposite the solid member), and configured to permit the loop to be wrapped around the anchor body (fig. 6).
The combination of Ab and Son fails to disclose a closeable connector coupled to the distal end. However, Mid discloses at least one support structure comprising a loop (fig. 1-2, formed by the encircling band) having a proximal end extending within an integrally molded hygroscopic body (fig. 1-2, the portion of the band extending from the bar of soap; 10) and a distal end (as shown in fig. 1-2, adjacent the snap fastener portions & buckle; 14-16), and a closeable connector (14 & 15; the two way female snap fastener and the male snap fastener, fig. 1-3) coupled to the distal end (again see fig. 1-2).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose a closeable connector coupled to the distal end however, Mid discloses such a connector. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art element of the snap fastener taught by Mid to the lure device of the prior art to yield the predictable result of a closable connector for fastening the lure device to an anchor. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab in view of Son as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Root.
Re claim 16, the combination of Ab and Son discloses the invention of claim 12, the combination fails to disclose wherein the at least one support structure comprises a flexible container with an opening, and a closure configured to close the opening. However, Root discloses a support structure (44; the soap holder, fig. 1 & 3) comprising a flexible container (abstract, fig. 1 & 3, and col 3; 14-25, the flexible piece of mesh) with an opening (col 3; 14-16 & col 4; 1-5, the opening of the “loose fitting bag” is formed when the clip is removed), and a closure (42; the clasping device/pinch clamp, fig. 1 & 3) configured to close the opening (col 3; 14-25, the clasping device functions to close the opening of the mesh about the soap); and wherein the flexible container comprises a mesh material (abstract, fig. 1 & 3, and col 3; 14-25, the flexible piece of mesh).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the at least one support structure comprises a flexible container with an opening, and a closure configured to close the opening; and wherein the flexible container comprises a mesh material however, Root discloses such a support structure. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art elements of the mesh and clasp as taught by Root to the body of the compound delivery device of the prior art to yield the predictable result of preventing the lure from dissolving and disengaging the string over time. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab as applied to claim 12 above, in view of Yama.
Re claim 18, as best understood, Ab discloses the invention of claim 1, Ab specifically and Son fail to disclose lamb tallow, pork blood, garlic, sulfur bacteria, putrescent egg solid, and predator urine as the plurality of different animal deer.
However, Yama discloses an attracting tool usable for attracting deer comprising pork blood (para 84, wild boar blood) and predator urine (para 84, urine of bear/coyote)
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose lamb tallow, pork blood, garlic, sulfur bacteria, putrescent egg solid, and predator urine as the plurality of different deer attractants however, Yama discloses such a technique. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art elements of pork blood and deer predator urine as taught by Yama to the lure device of the prior art to yield the predictable result of attracting deer to the area. See MPEP 2143 I. (A).
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ab applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sonnenberg et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0173436 A1; herein Son.
Re claim 20, Ab discloses the invention of claim 19, Ab further discloses wherein the integrally molded hygroscopic body comprises a plurality of overlapping layers carrying the plurality of different animal attractants (col 2; 6-13, the layers of the lure device).
Ab fails to disclose the plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different animal attractants. However, Son discloses an integrally molded hygroscopic body (para 209-211, the multiphase soap preparation process forms an integrally molded hygroscopic body) comprising a plurality of different animal attractants (abstract, fig. 3A-4B, 7A-10B & 12, and para 51-52 & 54-55, wherein the first and second phase each include a different aroma for attracting a human) and a plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different animal attractants (fig. 3A-4B, 7A-10B & 12, again wherein each phase includes a different aroma for attracting a human).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose the plurality of overlapping layers respectively carrying the plurality of different animal attractants however, Son discloses a method of forming such a multiphase soap. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known technique of the dual-phase hygroscopic body taught by Son to improve the similar device disclosed by the prior art in the same way by allowing a dual-phase lure with two animal attractants (i.e. the deer urine and other synthetic animal attractant [Ab, col 4; 17-20, wherein phases 1 and 2 are respectively deer urine and another synthetic attractant]) such that the animals in the surrounding environment are given a variety of scent as thus are less like to become wise thereto. See MPEP 2143 I. (C).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE PAIGE MACCRATE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642