DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed 02 July 2026 in which claims 1, 3, 12, 15, 16, 20, 26, 28, and 30 are amended, claims 2, 5, 7, 22, 24, 25, and 27 are cancelled, and claims 31-37 are new. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-21, 23, 26, and 28-37 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-11, 20, 21, 23, 26, 28-31, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0253169 by Carley et al. (“Carley”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0004099 by Sun et al. (“Sun”).
As to claim 1, Carley discloses a touch module (Carley, device 200 with touch sensing capabilities, Figure 2, ¶ [0033]), comprising:
a touch capacitive layer (Carley, touch sensor 102, Figures 1 and 2), configured to output a capacitance signal (Carley, a change in capacitance at a capacitive node of touch sensor 102 may indicate a touch or proximity input at the position of the capacitive node. Touch-sensor controller 110 may detect and process the change in capacitance to determine the presence and location of the touch or proximity input. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0029]), wherein the capacitance signal is used to determine a touch location of a touch operation (Carley, FIG. 1 illustrates an example touch sensor 102 with a controller 110, according to certain embodiments of the present disclosure. Touch sensor 102 and touch-sensor controller 110 may be used, in combination to detect the presence and location of a touch or the proximity of an object within a touch-sensitive area of touch sensor 102. Figure 1, ¶ [0021]); and
a pressure sensing layer (Carley, force sensing layer 206, Figure 2), configured to change under an action of touch pressure, wherein the touch capacitive layer and the pressure sensing layer are disposed opposite to each other (Carley, Figure 2), and a signal value of the capacitance signal is related to a variation of the pressure sensing layer (Carley, Controller 110 may be used to detect the change in capacitance, which may reflect, that is correspond to, the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. This disclosure contemplates use of controller 110 and/or any other suitable component detecting the distance and/or a change in distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 in any suitable manner. For purposes of the present disclosure, references to determining the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 may include determining an actual distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210, determining a value (other than the actual distance) that corresponds to a distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 (e.g., a capacitance or change in capacitance), or any other value that could be used to reflect an amount of force applied to a surface of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0038]).
Carley does not expressly disclose wherein the pressure sensing layer is closer to a surface configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer.
Sun teaches a touch display module wherein the pressure sensing layer (Sun, force sensing resistor layer 200, Figure 4) is closer to a surface (Sun, top of cover plate 110, Figure 4) configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer (Sun, touch panel 300, Figure 4). As shown in figure 4 of Sun, the force sensing layer is closer to the touch surface, on the cover plate, than the touch panel.
The combination of Carley and Sun teaches the placement of the force sensing layer above the touch sensor layer in the device stack.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Carley’s input sensing layers to include Sun’s sensing layer stack because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Carley’s input sensing layers and Sun’s sensing layer stack perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a force sensing layer and touch sensing layer in a display device. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Carley’s input sensing layers by replacing it with Sun’s sensing layer stack. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the force sensing layer closer to the touch surface than the touch panel.
As to claim 3, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module wherein the pressure sensing layer comprises at least one of the following: a first pressure sensing layer (Carley, cushion layer 208, Figure 2) or a second pressure sensing layer, wherein the first pressure sensing layer is configured to change a thickness under the action of the touch pressure (Carley, Cushion layer 208 is generally located between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. Cushion layer 208 may be used to facilitate making the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 uniform or substantially uniform across all or substantially all of the surface of device 200 for a given received pressure as applied to cover layer 202. Cushion layer 208 may facilitate providing resistance to pressure applied to the surface of device 200… In certain embodiments, cushion layer 208 may be compressible. For example, cushion layer 208 may compress from an original thickness to a lesser thickness when pressure is applied to a surface of cover layer 202 of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0039]), and the second pressure sensing layer is configured to change a resistance value under the action of the touch pressure.
As to claim 6, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module further comprising a first substrate between the touch capacitive layer and the pressure sensing layer (Carley, Tracks 104 of conductive material disposed on the substrate of touch sensor 102 may operably (i.e., physically and electrically) couple the drive or sense electrodes of touch sensor 102 to connection pads 106, also disposed on the substrate of touch sensor 102. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0031]). As described by Carley, touch sensor 102 includes a substrate (first substrate) for the touch electrodes to be placed on. This substrate is between the touch sensor 102 and the force sensing layer 206.
As to claim 8, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module wherein the pressure sensing layer further comprises a first conducting layer (Carley, force sensing layer 206, Figure 2), and the first conducting layer is located on a side of the first pressure sensing layer that faces the first substrate (Carley, Tracks 104 of conductive material disposed on the substrate of touch sensor 102 may operably (i.e., physically and electrically) couple the drive or sense electrodes of touch sensor 102 to connection pads 106, also disposed on the substrate of touch sensor 102. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0031]). As described by Carley, touch sensor 102 includes a substrate (first substrate) for the touch electrodes to be placed on. The force sensing layer 206 is on a side which faces the touch sensor 102 containing the first substrate.
As to claim 9, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module further comprising a second substrate, wherein the second substrate is located on a side of the pressure sensing layer that faces away from the touch capacitive layer, and a side of the second substrate that faces away from the pressure sensing layer is configured to receive the touch operation (Carley, dimples 406 may be formed by adding material to reference layer 210 and/or using a molding device to form dimples in a substrate of a reference layer 210, Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0063]). The second substrate is the substrate which is with the reference layer 210.
As to claim 10, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module further comprising a second substrate wherein the second substrate is located on a side of the pressure sensing layer that faces away from the touch capacitive layer, and a side of the second substrate that faces away from the pressure sensing layer is configured to receive the touch operation (Carley, dimples 406 may be formed by adding material to reference layer 210 and/or using a molding device to form dimples in a substrate of a reference layer 210, Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0063]). The second substrate is the substrate which is with the reference layer 210.
As to claim 11, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module further comprising a third substrate, wherein the third substrate is located on a side of the touch capacitive layer that faces away from the pressure sensing layer, a side of the third substrate that faces away from the touch capacitive layer is configured to receive the touch operation, the pressure sensing layer further comprises a second conducting layer, and the second conducting layer is located on a side of the pressure sensing layer that faces away from the touch capacitive layer (Carley, The cover layer 202 may be, in whole or in part, transparent and made of a resilient material suitable for repeated touching, such as, for example, glass, polycarbonate, or poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA). This disclosure contemplates any suitable cover layer 202 made of any suitable material. Figure 2, ¶ [0034]). The cover layer 202 is a substrate which received touch operation from the user and on a side, of the touch sensor 102, away from the force sensing layer 206.
As to claim 20, Carley discloses a method (Carley, touch sensing, Figure 2, ¶ [0033]), comprising:
obtaining a capacitance signal output by a touch module (Carley, touch sensor 102, Figures 1 and 2), and using the capacitance signal to determine a touch location of a touch operation (Carley, a change in capacitance at a capacitive node of touch sensor 102 may indicate a touch or proximity input at the position of the capacitive node. Touch-sensor controller 110 may detect and process the change in capacitance to determine the presence and location of the touch or proximity input. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0029]), wherein a signal value of the capacitance signal is related to touch pressure of the touch operation (Carley, Controller 110 may be used to detect the change in capacitance, which may reflect, that is correspond to, the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. Figure 2, ¶ [0038]); and
sending, based on the signal value of the capacitance signal, an instruction corresponding to the touch operation (Carley, FIG. 1 illustrates an example touch sensor 102 with a controller 110, according to certain embodiments of the present disclosure. Touch sensor 102 and touch-sensor controller 110 may be used, in combination to detect the presence and location of a touch or the proximity of an object within a touch-sensitive area of touch sensor 102. Figure 1, ¶ [0021]) (Carley, Controller 110 may be used to detect the change in capacitance, which may reflect, that is correspond to, the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. This disclosure contemplates use of controller 110 and/or any other suitable component detecting the distance and/or a change in distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 in any suitable manner. For purposes of the present disclosure, references to determining the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 may include determining an actual distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210, determining a value (other than the actual distance) that corresponds to a distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 (e.g., a capacitance or change in capacitance), or any other value that could be used to reflect an amount of force applied to a surface of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0038]); and
wherein the touch module comprises a touch capacitive layer (Carley, touch sensor 102, Figures 1 and 2) and a pressure sensing layer (Carley, force sensing layer 206, Figure 2), the touch capacitive layer and the pressure sensing layer are disposed opposite to each other (Carley, Figure 2), the touch capacitive layer is configured to output the capacitance signal (Carley, a change in capacitance at a capacitive node of touch sensor 102 may indicate a touch or proximity input at the position of the capacitive node. Touch-sensor controller 110 may detect and process the change in capacitance to determine the presence and location of the touch or proximity input. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0029]), the pressure sensing layer is configured to change under an action of the touch pressure, and the signal value of the capacitance signal related to a variation of the pressure sensing layer (Carley, Controller 110 may be used to detect the change in capacitance, which may reflect, that is correspond to, the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. This disclosure contemplates use of controller 110 and/or any other suitable component detecting the distance and/or a change in distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 in any suitable manner. For purposes of the present disclosure, references to determining the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 may include determining an actual distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210, determining a value (other than the actual distance) that corresponds to a distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 (e.g., a capacitance or change in capacitance), or any other value that could be used to reflect an amount of force applied to a surface of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0038]), and wherein the pressure sensing layer is closer to a surface configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer.
Carley does not expressly disclose wherein the pressure sensing layer is closer to a surface configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer.
Sun teaches a touch display module wherein the pressure sensing layer (Sun, force sensing resistor layer 200, Figure 4) is closer to a surface (Sun, top of cover plate 110, Figure 4) configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer (Sun, touch panel 300, Figure 4). As shown in figure 4 of Sun, the force sensing layer is closer to the touch surface, on the cover plate, than the touch panel.
The combination of Carley and Sun teaches the placement of the force sensing layer above the touch sensor layer in the device stack.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Carley’s input sensing layers to include Sun’s sensing layer stack because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Carley’s input sensing layers and Sun’s sensing layer stack perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a force sensing layer and touch sensing layer in a display device. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Carley’s input sensing layers by replacing it with Sun’s sensing layer stack. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the force sensing layer closer to the touch surface than the touch panel.
As to claim 21, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the method further comprising:
determining, based on the signal value of the capacitance signal and a correspondence between a plurality of ranges of signal values of preset capacitance signals and preset instructions, the instruction corresponding to the touch operation (Carley, A pulsed or alternating voltage applied to the drive electrode (by touch-sensor controller 110) may induce a charge on the sense electrode, and the amount of charge induced may be susceptible to external influence (such as a touch or the proximity of an object). When an object touches or comes within proximity of the capacitive node, a change in capacitance may occur at the capacitive node and touch-sensor controller 110 may measure the change in capacitance. By measuring changes in capacitance throughout the array, touch-sensor controller 110 may determine the position of the touch or proximity within the touch-sensitive area(s) of touch sensor 102. ¶ [0024]).
As to claim 23, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the method wherein the capacitance signal comprises a first capacitance signal (Carley, A pulsed or alternating voltage applied to the drive electrode (by touch-sensor controller 110) may induce a charge on the sense electrode, and the amount of charge induced may be susceptible to external influence (such as a touch or the proximity of an object). When an object touches or comes within proximity of the capacitive node, a change in capacitance may occur at the capacitive node and touch-sensor controller 110 may measure the change in capacitance. ¶ [0024]), and
wherein:
when a signal value of the first capacitance signal falls within a first range, the instruction corresponding to the touch operation is a first instruction corresponding to the first range (Carley, proximity detection); and
when a signal value of the first capacitance signal falls within a second range, the instruction corresponding to the touch operation is a second instruction corresponding to the second range (Carley, touch detection); and
wherein the first range and the second range belong to a plurality of ranges, the first range is different from the second range, the first instruction and the second instruction belong to preset instructions, and the first instruction is different from the second instruction (Carley, A pulsed or alternating voltage applied to the drive electrode (by touch-sensor controller 110) may induce a charge on the sense electrode, and the amount of charge induced may be susceptible to external influence (such as a touch or the proximity of an object). When an object touches or comes within proximity of the capacitive node, a change in capacitance may occur at the capacitive node and touch-sensor controller 110 may measure the change in capacitance. By measuring changes in capacitance throughout the array, touch-sensor controller 110 may determine the position of the touch or proximity within the touch-sensitive area(s) of touch sensor 102. ¶ [0024]). The detection of touch or proximity are differentiated and therefore have different instructions.
As to claim 26, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the method wherein the pressure sensing layer comprises: a first pressure sensing layer (Carley, cushion layer 208, Figure 2) or a second pressure sensing layer, wherein the first pressure sensing layer is configured to change a thickness under the action of the touch pressure (Carley, Cushion layer 208 is generally located between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. Cushion layer 208 may be used to facilitate making the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 uniform or substantially uniform across all or substantially all of the surface of device 200 for a given received pressure as applied to cover layer 202. Cushion layer 208 may facilitate providing resistance to pressure applied to the surface of device 200… In certain embodiments, cushion layer 208 may be compressible. For example, cushion layer 208 may compress from an original thickness to a lesser thickness when pressure is applied to a surface of cover layer 202 of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0039]), and the second pressure sensing layer is configured to change a resistance value under the action of the touch pressure.
As to claim 28, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the method wherein the touch module further comprises a first substrate, the first substrate is located between the touch capacitive layer (Carley, touch sensor 102, Figure 2) and the pressure sensing layer (Carley, force sensing layer 206, Figure 2)(Carley, Tracks 104 of conductive material disposed on the substrate of touch sensor 102 may operably (i.e., physically and electrically) couple the drive or sense electrodes of touch sensor 102 to connection pads 106, also disposed on the substrate of touch sensor 102. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0031]), the pressure sensing layer further comprises a first conducting layer (Carley, force sensing layer 206, Figure 2), and the first conducting layer is located on a side of the first pressure sensing layer that is closest to the first substrate. As described by Carley, touch sensor 102 includes a substrate (first substrate) for the touch electrodes to be placed on. This substrate is between the touch sensor 102 and the force sensing layer 206.
As to claim 29, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the method wherein the pressure sensing layer further comprises a second conducting layer (Carley, reference layer 210, Figure 2), the second conducting layer is located on a side of the pressure sensing layer that faces away from the touch capacitive layer, the touch module further comprises a third substrate, the third substrate is located on a side of the touch capacitive layer that faces away from the pressure sensing layer, and a side of the third substrate that faces away from the touch capacitive layer is configured to be in contact with the touch operation (Carley, The cover layer 202 may be, in whole or in part, transparent and made of a resilient material suitable for repeated touching, such as, for example, glass, polycarbonate, or poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA). This disclosure contemplates any suitable cover layer 202 made of any suitable material. Figure 2, ¶ [0034]). The cover layer 202 is a substrate which received touch operation from the user and on a side, of the touch sensor 102, away from the force sensing layer 206.
As to claim 30, Carley discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by at least one processor (Carley, a touch screen device comprises a controller comprising a processor, the processor configured to detect a capacitance between locations of a force sensing layer and corresponding locations of a reference layer spaced from the force sensing layer responsive to an initiated voltage, and a cushion layer between the force sensing layer and the reference layer, ¶ [0005]), enables a computing device to perform operations comprising:
obtaining a capacitance signal output by a touch module (Carley, touch sensor 102, Figures 1 and 2), wherein the capacitance signal is used to determine a touch location of a touch operation (Carley, a change in capacitance at a capacitive node of touch sensor 102 may indicate a touch or proximity input at the position of the capacitive node. Touch-sensor controller 110 may detect and process the change in capacitance to determine the presence and location of the touch or proximity input. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0029]), and a signal value of the capacitance signal is related to touch pressure of the touch operation (Carley, Controller 110 may be used to detect the change in capacitance, which may reflect, that is correspond to, the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. Figure 2, ¶ [0038]); and
sending, based on the signal value of the capacitance signal, an instruction corresponding to the touch operation (Carley, FIG. 1 illustrates an example touch sensor 102 with a controller 110, according to certain embodiments of the present disclosure. Touch sensor 102 and touch-sensor controller 110 may be used, in combination to detect the presence and location of a touch or the proximity of an object within a touch-sensitive area of touch sensor 102. Figure 1, ¶ [0021]) (Carley, Controller 110 may be used to detect the change in capacitance, which may reflect, that is correspond to, the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. This disclosure contemplates use of controller 110 and/or any other suitable component detecting the distance and/or a change in distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 in any suitable manner. For purposes of the present disclosure, references to determining the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 may include determining an actual distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210, determining a value (other than the actual distance) that corresponds to a distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 (e.g., a capacitance or change in capacitance), or any other value that could be used to reflect an amount of force applied to a surface of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0038]); and
wherein the touch module comprises a touch capacitive layer (Carley, touch sensor 102, Figures 1 and 2) and a pressure sensing layer (Carley, force sensing layer 206, Figure 2), the touch capacitive layer and the pressure sensing layer are disposed opposite to each other (Carley, Figure 2), the touch capacitive layer is configured to output the capacitance signal (Carley, a change in capacitance at a capacitive node of touch sensor 102 may indicate a touch or proximity input at the position of the capacitive node. Touch-sensor controller 110 may detect and process the change in capacitance to determine the presence and location of the touch or proximity input. Figures 1 and 2, ¶ [0029]), the pressure sensing layer is configured to change under an action of the touch pressure, and the signal value of the capacitance signal related to a variation of the pressure sensing layer (Carley, Controller 110 may be used to detect the change in capacitance, which may reflect, that is correspond to, the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. This disclosure contemplates use of controller 110 and/or any other suitable component detecting the distance and/or a change in distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 in any suitable manner. For purposes of the present disclosure, references to determining the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 may include determining an actual distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210, determining a value (other than the actual distance) that corresponds to a distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 (e.g., a capacitance or change in capacitance), or any other value that could be used to reflect an amount of force applied to a surface of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0038]), and wherein the pressure sensing layer is closer to a surface configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer.
Carley does not expressly disclose wherein the pressure sensing layer is closer to a surface configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer.
Sun teaches a touch display module wherein the pressure sensing layer (Sun, force sensing resistor layer 200, Figure 4) is closer to a surface (Sun, top of cover plate 110, Figure 4) configured to receive the touch operation than the touch capacitive layer (Sun, touch panel 300, Figure 4). As shown in figure 4 of Sun, the force sensing layer is closer to the touch surface, on the cover plate, than the touch panel.
The combination of Carley and Sun teaches the placement of the force sensing layer above the touch sensor layer in the device stack.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Carley’s input sensing layers to include Sun’s sensing layer stack because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Carley’s input sensing layers and Sun’s sensing layer stack perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a force sensing layer and touch sensing layer in a display device. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Carley’s input sensing layers by replacing it with Sun’s sensing layer stack. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the force sensing layer closer to the touch surface than the touch panel.
As to claim 31, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module wherein a material of the first pressure sensing layer (Carley, cushion layer 208, Figure 2) comprises polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) or polyurethane (PU) (Carley, Cushion layer 208 may include polymeric foam or any other suitable material. For example, cushion layer 208 may include polyurethane foam, low-resilience polyurethane foam, polyvinyl chloride foam, Styrofoam, polyimide foam, silicone foam, or microcellular foam. ¶ [0039]).
As to claim 35, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the touch module wherein the touch capacitive layer comprises a two-dimensional touch electrode array, and touch electrodes of the two-dimensional touch electrode array are mutual-capacitance touch electrodes (Carley, In a self-capacitance implementation, touch sensor 102 may include an array of electrodes of a single type that may each form a capacitive node. When an object touches or comes within proximity of the capacitive node, a change in self-capacitance may occur at the capacitive node and touch-sensor controller 110 may measure the change in capacitance, for example, as a change in the amount of charge needed to raise the voltage at the capacitive node by a predetermined amount. As with a mutual-capacitance implementation, by measuring changes in capacitance throughout the array, touch-sensor controller 110 may determine the position of the touch or proximity within the touch-sensitive area(s) of touch sensor 102. ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 36, Carley, as modified by Sun, teaches the method wherein the pressure sensing layer comprises at least one of the following: a first pressure sensing layer (Carley, cushion layer 208, Figure 2) or a second pressure sensing layer, wherein the first pressure sensing layer is configured to change a thickness under the action of the touch pressure (Carley, Cushion layer 208 is generally located between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. Cushion layer 208 may be used to facilitate making the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 uniform or substantially uniform across all or substantially all of the surface of device 200 for a given received pressure as applied to cover layer 202. Cushion layer 208 may facilitate providing resistance to pressure applied to the surface of device 200… In certain embodiments, cushion layer 208 may be compressible. For example, cushion layer 208 may compress from an original thickness to a lesser thickness when pressure is applied to a surface of cover layer 202 of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0039]), and the second pressure sensing layer is configured to change a resistance value under the action of the touch pressure.
Claims 4, 12-15, 33, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0253169 by Carley et al. (“Carley”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0004099 by Sun et al. (“Sun”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0085213 by Huppi et al. (“Huppi”).
As to claim 4, Carley, as modified by Sun, does not expressly disclose the touch module wherein the first pressure sensing layer comprises a plurality of hollow structures.
Huppi teaches a force sensing device wherein the first pressure sensing layer comprises a plurality of hollow structures (Huppi, the compressible layer 3120 can include a first set of force sensitive structures. The force sensitive structures can include physical elements that are compressible, ¶ [0071])(Huppi, the force sensitive structures can include a set of pyramidal rubber structures or pyramidal silicone structures ("nanostructures") 4010, each of which can be positioned between the flex-drive layer 3110 and the flex-sense layer 3115. Figures 3 and 4A, ¶ [0076]). The hollow structures are the gaps between each of the pyramidal silicone structure.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Carley’s cushion layer to include Huppi’s compressible structures because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Carley’s cushion layer and Huppi’s compressible structures perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a compressible structure for a force sensing system. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Carley’s cushion layer by replacing it with Huppi’s compressible structures. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Carley, as modified by Sun and Huppi, teaches the hollow structures in the compressible layer.
As to claim 12, Carley, as modified by Sun, does not expressly disclose the touch module wherein a side of the first pressure sensing layer that faces away from the surface that is configured to receive the touch operation comprises a plurality of protrusion structures protruding toward the touch capacitive layer.
Huppi teaches a force sensing device wherein a side of the first pressure sensing layer that faces away from the surface that is configured to receive the touch operation comprises a plurality of protrusion structures protruding toward the touch capacitive layer (Huppi, the compressible layer 3120 can include a first set of force sensitive structures. The force sensitive structures can include physical elements that are compressible, ¶ [0071])(Huppi, the force sensitive structures can include a set of pyramidal rubber structures or pyramidal silicone structures ("nanostructures") 4010, each of which can be positioned between the flex-drive layer 3110 and the flex-sense layer 3115. Figures 3 and 4A, ¶ [0076]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Carley’s cushion layer to include Huppi’s compressible structures because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Carley’s cushion layer and Huppi’s compressible structures perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a compressible structure for a force sensing system. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Carley’s cushion layer by replacing it with Huppi’s compressible structures. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Carley, as modified by Sun and Huppi, teaches a plurality of protrusions which protrude towards the touch sensor.
As to claim 13, Carley, as modified by Sun and Huppi, teaches the touch module wherein the plurality of protrusion structures are spaced from each other. As shown in figures 3-4 of Huppi, the compressible structures are spaced in a compressible layer. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 14, Carley, as modified by Sun Huppi, teaches the touch module wherein the plurality of protrusion structures each are a same protrusion structure (Huppi, the force sensitive structures can include a set of pyramidal rubber structures or pyramidal silicone structures ("nanostructures") 4010, each of which can be positioned between the flex-drive layer 3110 and the flex-sense layer 3115. Figures 3 and 4A, ¶ [0076]). As shown in figures 3-4A of Huppi, the compressible layer includes a set of the pyramidal structures. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 15, Carley, as modified by Huppi, teaches the touch module wherein a bottom area of a side of a first protrusion structure that is farthest away from the first pressure sensing layer is smaller than a bottom area of the side of the first protrusion structure and that closest to the first pressure sensing layer (Huppi, the force sensitive structures can include a set of pyramidal rubber structures or pyramidal silicone structures ("nanostructures") 4010, each of which can be positioned between the flex-drive layer 3110 and the flex-sense layer 3115. Figures 3 and 4A, ¶ [0076]). As shown in figure 4A of Huppi, the size of the top side of the compressible structures are smaller than the size of the bottom side. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 33, Carley, as modified by Sun and Huppi, teaches the touch module wherein each protrusion structure of the plurality of protrusion structures comprises one of a pyramid structure (Huppi, the force sensitive structures can include a set of pyramidal rubber structures or pyramidal silicone structures ("nanostructures") 4010, each of which can be positioned between the flex-drive layer 3110 and the flex-sense layer 3115. Figures 3 and 4A, ¶ [0076]), a hemispherical structure, a columnar structure, or a cuboid structure. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 37, Carley, as modified by Sun, does not expressly disclose the touch module wherein the first pressure sensing layer comprises a plurality of hollow structures.
Huppi teaches a force sensing device wherein the first pressure sensing layer comprises a plurality of hollow structures (Huppi, the compressible layer 3120 can include a first set of force sensitive structures. The force sensitive structures can include physical elements that are compressible, ¶ [0071])(Huppi, the force sensitive structures can include a set of pyramidal rubber structures or pyramidal silicone structures ("nanostructures") 4010, each of which can be positioned between the flex-drive layer 3110 and the flex-sense layer 3115. Figures 3 and 4A, ¶ [0076]). The hollow structures are the gaps between each of the pyramidal silicone structure.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Carley’s cushion layer to include Huppi’s compressible structures because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Carley’s cushion layer and Huppi’s compressible structures perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a compressible structure for a force sensing system. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Carley’s cushion layer by replacing it with Huppi’s compressible structures. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Carley, as modified by Sun and Huppi, teaches the hollow structures in the compressible layer.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0253169 by Carley et al. (“Carley”), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0004099 by Sun et al. (“Sun”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0252471 by Liimatta et al. (“Liimatta”).
As to claim 32, Carley, as modified by Sun, does not expressly teach the touch module wherein a Young's modulus of the first pressure sensing layer is less than or equal to 100 MPa.
Liimatta teaches a capacitive touch and pressure sensor wherein a Young's modulus of the first pressure sensing layer is less than or equal to 100 MPa (Liimatta, A thickness of the compressible layer (210 and/or 220) is preferably from 0.05 mm to 5 mm, such as from 0.3 mm to 4 mm, such as from 0.5 mm to 2 mm. A Young's modulus in compression of the compressible layer is preferably from 0.01 MPa to 15 MPa, such as from 0.1 MPa to 5 MPa. ¶ [0133]). The compressible layer (cushion layer) is between electrodes to determine the force applied.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Carley’s cushion layer to include Liimatta’s compressible layer because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Carley’s cushion layer and Liimatta’s compressible layer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing a compressible layer between force sensing electrodes. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Carley’s cushion layer by replacing it with Liimatta’s compressible layer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Carley, as modified by Sun and Liimatta, teaches the compressible layer having a Young’s modulus less than or equal to 100 MPa.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 16, Carley (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0253169) discloses the touch module wherein the pressure sensing layer comprises at least a first pressure sensing layer (Carley, cushion layer 208, Figure 2) and a second pressure sensing layer, the first pressure sensing layer is configured to change a thickness under the action of the touch pressure (Carley, Cushion layer 208 is generally located between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210. Cushion layer 208 may be used to facilitate making the distance between force sensing layer 206 and reference layer 210 uniform or substantially uniform across all or substantially all of the surface of device 200 for a given received pressure as applied to cover layer 202. Cushion layer 208 may facilitate providing resistance to pressure applied to the surface of device 200… In certain embodiments, cushion layer 208 may be compressible. For example, cushion layer 208 may compress from an original thickness to a lesser thickness when pressure is applied to a surface of cover layer 202 of device 200. Figure 2, ¶ [0039]),
Carley does not expressly teach
a second pressure sensing layer,
the second pressure sensing layer is configured to change a resistance value under the action of the touch pressure, and a side of the first pressure sensing layer that faces away from the surface that is configured to receive the touch operation comprises a plurality of protrusion structures protruding toward the touch capacitive layer.
Additional prior art of Huppi (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0085213) teaches compressible protrusion in a compressible layer (Huppi, the force sensitive structures can include a set of pyramidal rubber structures or pyramidal silicone structures ("nanostructures") 4010, each of which can be positioned between the flex-drive layer 3110 and the flex-sense layer 3115. Figures 3 and 4A, ¶ [0076]). However, Huppi does not teach the second pressure sensing layer as claimed.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 17 and 18, these claims are objected to for the same reasons as claim 16 and these claims depend upon objected dependent claim 16.
As to claim 19, Carley (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0253169) does not expressly disclose the touch module wherein a material of the second pressure sensing layer is a composite material having conductive particles, and a concentration of the conductive particles is greater than a permeation threshold.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claim 34, this claim is objected to for the same reasons as claim 19 as this claim depends upon objected dependent claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12 of remarks, filed 02 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 20, and 30 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously cited prior art and newly cited prior art of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0004099 by Sun et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0109615 by Hu et al. teaches a resistive pressure sensor device which includes compressible elements in the compressible layer.
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623