DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170248946 to Ogura et al. (Ogura) in view of US 20170116792 to Jel et al. (Jel) and further in view of US 20160307375 to Toutant et al. (Tout)
With respect to claims 1, 15 and 17 Ogura discloses:
a mobile device comprising a processor, memory, coupled to the processor, the memory containing instructions that when executed cause the processor to provide an autonomy management application, wherein the autonomy management application includes an autonomy approval function;
(¶ 31 remote control apparatus 112; 51 remote control apparatus 112 . . . can be taken out from the auxiliary moving work vehicle 100 and operated while being carried . . . tablet type personal computer; 52 remote control apparatus 112 and the autonomously moving work vehicle 1 can be communicated with each other . . . display device 113 which is a touch panel-type operation screen which can be operated by touching the screen is provided; 55 operator can operate the remote control apparatus 112 while supervising the autonomously moving work vehicle 1; 56-57 remote control area 113A is a screen in which operation members (buttons) for travel, steering and operation of the work machine of the autonomously moving work vehicle 1 are arranged . . . automatic travel start button 203, an automatic travel stop button 204, a sudden stop button 205; ¶¶ 64-67)
the autonomy approval function providing a user interface configured to:
display at least one aspect of an autonomy job1 to a user; and
receive user acceptance of the autonomy job;
(¶ 64 automatic travel start button 203 . . . button for starting work while traveling automatically on the travel route R set previously . . . shifted to automatic travel mode . . . automatic travel control is performed by the control device 30)
(i.e., map in work state display area 113c shown in various figures, i.e., 4 and corresponding descriptions; ¶ 53 the set travel route R is set previously in the field H as shown in Fig. 3)
(mobile device 112, display 113 shown in FIG. 2, 4-12 and corresponding description; ¶¶ 57 -59 remote control area 113A, screen in which operation members (buttons) for travel, steering, an operation of the work machine of the autonomously moving work vehicle are arranged with various examples; 60-67; 71-74); and
the autonomy approval function including a begin mission user interface element, when selected, causes the autonomy approval function to initiate motion.
(i.e., ¶¶ 56-57 remote control area 113A is a screen in which operation members (buttons) for travel, steering and operation of the work machine of the autonomously moving work vehicle 1 are arranged . . . automatic travel start button 203, an automatic travel stop button 204, a sudden stop button 205; ¶¶ 60-67; ¶¶ 57 -59 remote control area 113A, screen in which operation members (buttons) for travel, steering, an operation of the work machine of the autonomously moving work vehicle are arranged with various examples)
Ogura fails to specifically disclose the autonomy approval function being configured to instruct the user to move about a perimeter of an autonomous work machine that will execute the autonomy job, and provide a machine-verified indication of user movement.
Jel, from the same field of endeavor, also discloses a mobile device comprising a processor, memory, instructions and a user interface configured to instruct the user to move about a perimeter of an autonomous work machine that will execute the autonomy job, and
provide a machine-verified indication of user movement
(¶ 104 operator device 110 detect / receive touch screen at the location, in response to detection generate a visual change in the box; mobile device 110 shown in various figures and corresponding descriptions; ¶ 111 “the vehicle inspection system can analyze the location information to determine whether the inspection path 230 would have encompassed the entire vehicle”; i.e., inspection path 230, FIG. 4; 730, FIG. 7A – 7B; 1230, FIG. 13A; i.e., using processes 600, 1000, 1400; 149 “process 1000 can be implemented in conjunction with a mobile computing device with a location device that can communicate with the vehicle management system 130”; 152 vehicle management system 130 can determine the location of the inspection point relative to the location of the vehicle in real-time; 159-160 determine whether an operator conducted a vehicle inspection walk around when completing a vehicle inspection report . . . operator device 110 may additionally include 119 one or more motion detection devices. Additionally, the operator device 1210 and the vehicle management system 130 may include a motion analysis system 148; 162 motion analysis module 148 can track and analyze the movement data over time in order to help determine whether an operator physically walked around an inspection path during the time period in which the operator should be inspecting the vehicle. The motion analysis module 148 can be configured to record time-based information associated with the vehicle inspection report; 167; 174-175 complete path tracked by mobile computing device, vehicle server and/or vehicle; 185-186 use the location-based information to determine the scope and shape of the operators’ movements during the vehicle inspection report. The location-based data can be used to construct a path, such as illustrated in FIG. 7A. The path can be used to estimate the locations that the operator traveled during the inspection . . . evaluate the location data to determine a probability that the operator completed the walk around associated with the vehicle inspection)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date for the autonomy approval function of Ogura to instruct the user to move about a perimeter of an autonomous work machine that will execute the autonomy job, and provide a machine-verified indication of user movement, as taught by Jel above, in order to ensure a proper and accurate inspection of the vehicle has been performed, thereby reducing fuel consumption, preventing breakdowns and preventing increased costs and losses (Jel, ¶¶ 1-4).
Ogura in view of Jel fail to explicitly disclose the begin mission user interface element (i.e., various automatic start travel buttons cited above in Ogura) is displayable after verification that a user has moved about the perimeter of the autonomous work machine.
Tout, from the same field of endeavor teaches that a vehicle start capability is only available to a user after a safety inspection is performed by the user relative to the vehicle.
(¶¶ 50 -57, i.e., ¶ 52 “For the case where the user (the driver) does not perform the safety inspection . . . recording assembly 104 is configured . . . to inhibit (directly or indirectly) the vehicle 900 (that is, inhibition of the vehicle 900) from starting (operating) until the visual safety inspection is performed by the user. For the case where some the detector identification information has not been collected by the movable detector 102 and transmitted to the recording assembly 104 . . . an inhibition signal configured to inhibit the starting or operation of the vehicle 900, and the combination of the audible alarm and the inhibition signal . . . recording assembly 104 prevents the vehicle 900 from starting, and alerts the user (the driver) of this condition. Once the alarm is issued to the user, the user is required to redo the visual safety inspection in order to collect all of the detector identification information from the instances of the detectable-identification device 902. In this manner, once all of the detector identification information is collected, the recording assembly 104 then stops inhibiting the operation of the vehicle 900 once the user attempts to start the vehicle 900)
wherein, like the instant invention and Jel, the safety inspection includes walking around or encircling the vehicle being inspect (¶¶ 3, 5, 11).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date for the begin mission user interface element of Ogura in view of Jel to be displayed after a user has moved about the perimeter of the autonomous work machine, in view of the combined teachings cited above, in order ensure problems and defects are identified prior to use of the vehicle, thereby improving safety (Tout, ¶ 2)
With respect to claim 2, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout disclose the mobile device is a smartphone.
(Ogura, ¶ 52)
(Jel, ¶¶ 32, 44 operator device 110 can be any type of computing device, such as a smart phone or tablet computing device)
With respect to claim 3, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout disclose the mobile device is a tablet computer.
(Ogura, ¶ 52)
(Jel, ¶¶ 32, 44 operator device 110 can be any type of computing device, such as a smart phone or tablet computing device)
With respect to claim 4, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout disclose the autonomy approval function includes a display that tracks user movement about the perimeter of the autonomous work machine in substantially real-time.
(¶ 124 a plurality of inspection points may be displayed in a single interface; 165 plurality of inspection points 210, inspection path 1230; FIG. 4, 7A-7B, 13A depicting the tracked user movement; 130 nodes 732 can be connected with a line, as illustrated by path 730, as a representation of a likely path of movement of an operator during an inspection; 162)
With respect to claims 12 and 20, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout disclose the autonomy approval function provides a halt user interface element that, when actuated, halts motion of the autonomous work machine
(Ogura, ¶ 57, automatic travel stop button 204; 60 “the automatic travel and the work are stopped. By touching the sudden stop button 205, the engine is stopped so as to stop the travel and the work, thereby preventing dangerous state”)
With respect to claim 13, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout disclose the autonomy management application provides a user interface element that, when selected, allows the user to edit the autonomy job
(Ogura, ¶ 57 change autonomous speed, change autonomous engine rotation speed; setting button; 58; 59; 72; 84).
With respect to claim 14, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout disclose the begin mission user interface element requires the user to slide the user interface element.
(Ogura, ¶ 66 by sliding the automatic travel start button . . . shifted to automatic travel mode)
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170248946 to Ogura et al. (Ogura) in view of US 20170116792 to Jel et al. (Jel) and further in view of US 20160307375 to Toutant et al. (Tout) and further in view of US 20210362718 to Ikenori (Ikenori)
With respect to claims 5 and 18, Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout fail to explicitly disclose the autonomy approval function provides a display indicative of at least one system check, i.e., internal check, performed by the autonomous work machine.
Ikenori, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a mobile terminal with a display (3, Fig. 1-2) that displays an autonomy approval function that provides a display indicative of at least one system check performed by the autonomous work machine
(FIG. 15-22 and corresponding description, i.e., FIG. 21, “check complete”, FIG. 22 check completed . . . start autonomous drive 32d)
(¶ 148 As illustrated in FIG. 15, a home screen 32A of the liquid crystal monitor 32 displays a mode selection button (mode selector) 32a that enables selection of the autonomous drive mode and the like. When the autonomous drive mode is selected through operation of the mode selection button 32a, the autonomous drive control unit 22F performs a condition establishment determination process of determining whether or not all conditions for the transition of the drive mode of the tractor 1 from the manual drive mode to the autonomous drive mode are established. If all of the conditions are established, the autonomous drive control unit 22F causes the drive mode of the tractor 1 to transition from the manual drive mode to the autonomous drive mode, and notifies the mobile communication terminal 3 about the transition of the drive mode of the tractor 1 to the autonomous drive mode so as to enable the start of autonomous drive by operation of the mobile communication terminal 3.; ¶ 152 The execution of an initial check is premised on the establishment of all of first to ninth conditions described below conditions for starting the operation check process);
(¶ 191-192 The safety brake function unit 22Fa keeps the display of the completion of the initial check on the safety brake check screen 32C for a predetermined time in the initial check successful state. When the predetermined time elapses, the safety brake function unit 22Fa causes a transition to an initial check completed state (operation confirmed state) (“Check_OK” in FIG. 24), causes the display screen of the liquid crystal monitor 32 to transition to the autonomous drive start screen 32D illustrated in FIG. 22, and permits the transition of the drive mode from the manual drive mode to the autonomous drive mode. When various setting operations necessary for the autonomous drive of the tractor 1, such as the setting of the engine speed for autonomous drive through an operation of the accelerator bar and the setting of the vehicle speed for autonomous drive through an operation of the speed change lever, are performed after the safety brake function unit 22Fa has caused a transition to the initial check completed state, all conditions for the transition of the drive mode to the autonomous drive mode are established. In a state in which all conditions are established, if an autonomous drive start button 32d displayed on the autonomous drive start screen 32D illustrated in FIG. 22 is operated, the autonomous drive control unit 22F causes the drive mode of the tractor 1 to transition from the manual drive mode to the autonomous drive mode, notifies the mobile communication terminal 3 about the transition of the drive mode of the tractor 1 to the autonomous drive mode, and enables the autonomous drive to be started by an operation of the mobile communication terminal 3)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date for the autonomy approval function in Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout to provide a display indicative of at least one system check performed by the autonomous work machine, as disclosed by Ikenori, in order to improve safety by preventing automatic driving of the work vehicle while an error continues inside the vehicle (i.e., Ikenori, ¶ 28) and to prevent a decrease in work efficiency (Ikenori ¶202).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170248946 to Ogura et al. (Ogura) in view of US 20170116792 to Jel et al. (Jel) and further in view of US 20160307375 to Toutant et al. (Tout) and further in view of US 20210362718 to Ikenori (Ikenori) in view of US 20170079195 to Yokoyama (Yoko)
With respect to claim 6, Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori disclose an indication of a perception system check.
Yoko, from the same field of endeavor, discloses displaying an indication of a perception system check (i.e., FIG. 5 S4, sensors have abnormality? S5 display; ¶ 71 In step S4, the sensors are checked (S4). It is checked whether in each of the sensors, a predetermined output voltage is outputted (an abnormal voltage is not outputted), a short circuit or disconnection is caused or not, and so on. If there is any abnormality, a sensor name and an abnormality content are displayed on the display 113 (S5), and the processing shifts to step S6. As the sensors are cited, for example, the steering sensor 20, the vehicle speed sensor 27, the level sensor 29, the gyro sensor 31, the azimuth sensor 32, an obstacle sensor 41, the camera 42, a position sensor that detects a speed change position of a main speed change lever, a speed change position of a sub-speed change lever, and a speed change position of a PTO speed change lever, a position sensor that detects a raising/lowering height of the rotary tilling device 24, a voltage sensing sensor of the battery and the like. As for a rotation sensor, a water temperature sensor, a hydraulic sensor and the like provided in the engine 3, if there is any abnormality, the abnormality is sensed and displayed as an abnormality of the engine through an engine controller 60. If there is no abnormality in the sensors, the processing also shifts to step S6.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement the perception system check of Yoko into the system of Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori in order to prevent accidents (Yoko, ¶ 18).
With respect to claim 7, Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori fail to explicitly disclose the display provides an indication of a positioning system check.
Yoko, from the same field of endeavor, discloses displaying an indication of a perception system check (i.e., FIG. 5 S8, satellite positioning has abnormality? S9 display; ¶¶ 73-76)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement the position system check of Yoko into the system of Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori in order to prevent accidents (Yoko, ¶ 18).
With respect to claim 8, Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori fail to disclose the display provides an indication of a tractor subsystem check.
Yoko, from the same field of endeavor, discloses displaying an indication of a tractor subsystem check (i.e., FIG. 5 S6, actuators have an abnormality? S7 display; ¶¶ 72-76; 25 swash plate; 27 steering cylinder; 31 tilling device; 43 raising/ lowering actuator; 50 axle actuator; 57 braking actuator; 69; claim 5)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement the tractor subsystem check of Yoko into the system of Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori in order to prevent accidents (Yoko, ¶ 18).
With respect to claim 9, Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori fail to disclose the display provides an indication of an implement subsystem check.
Yoko, from the same field of endeavor, discloses displaying an indication of an implement subsystem check (i.e., FIG. 5 S6, actuators have an abnormality? S7 display; ¶¶ 72-76; 25 swash plate; 27 steering cylinder; 31 tilling device; 43 raising/ lowering actuator; 50 axle actuator; 57 braking actuator; 69; claim 5)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement the tractor subsystem check of Yoko into the system of Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori in order to prevent accidents (Yoko, ¶ 18).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170248946 to Ogura et al. (Ogura) in view of US 20170116792 to Jel et al. (Jel) and further in view of US 20160307375 to Toutant et al. (Tout) and further in view of US 20210362718 to Ikenori (Ikenori) in view of US 20180297611 to Fujisawa et al. (Fuji)
With respect to claim 10, Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori fail to disclose the display provides a countdown timer indicating time until the autonomous work machine will begin motion.
Fuji, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a display that provides a visually indicated alert that an autonomous vehicle will begin a particular motion.
(FIG. 5-7 and corresponding description; FIG. 8, “countdown”; FIG. 12 countdown; ¶¶ 63, 64, 66-67 countdown display part 51; 73-81; 84-87; 98-101; 106-116, etc., i.e., element 51 in FIG. 5-7 is a countdown that is a visual indication the autonomous work machine is initiating an autonomous motion. Element 251 in FIG. 14-16 is also a visual indication the autonomous work machine is initiating an autonomous motion; arrow 355 shown in FIG. 18 with display 314a/314b is a display of a depiction of the autonomous vehicle indicating when the AV will be initiating a motion as indicated by the position of the start of arrow 355 and as also indicated by countdown display 351. Arrow 355 is also shown in FIG. 8 (D) with vehicle A and its corresponding representation indicated by the arrow emerging from vehicle A (¶¶ 112-116))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement countdown timing display of Fuji into the system of Yoko into the system of Ogura in view of Jel in view of Tout and Ikenori in order to improve operator awareness and notice of impending autonomous movement, reduce uneasiness of the operator, to improve safety of autonomous operations and reduce operator uncertainty of impending autonomous actions (Fuji, 7, 11, 94-100; 110).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170248946 to Ogura et al. (Ogura) in view of US 20170116792 to Jel et al. (Jel) and further in view of US 20160307375 to Toutant et al. (Tout) and further in view of US 20180297611 to Fujisawa et al. (Fuji)
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout fail to explicitly disclose the display provides an indication that motion is initiating.
Fuji, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a display that provides a visually indicated alert that an autonomous vehicle will begin a particular motion.
(FIG. 5-7 and corresponding description; FIG. 8, “countdown”; FIG. 12 countdown; ¶¶ 63, 64, 66-67 countdown display part 51; 73-81; 84-87; 98-101; 106-116, etc., i.e., element 51 in FIG. 5-7 is a countdown that is a visual indication the autonomous work machine is initiating an autonomous motion. Element 251 in FIG. 14-16 is also a visual indication the autonomous work machine is initiating an autonomous motion; arrow 355 shown in FIG. 18 with display 314a/314b is a display of a depiction of the autonomous vehicle indicating when the AV will be initiating a motion as indicated by the position of the start of arrow 355 and as also indicated by countdown display 351. Arrow 355 is also shown in FIG. 8 (D) with vehicle A and its corresponding representation indicated by the arrow emerging from vehicle A (¶¶ 112-116))
(51 in FIG. 5-7 is a countdown that is a visual indication the autonomous work machine is initiating an autonomous motion. Element 251 in FIG. 14-16 is also a visual indication the autonomous work machine is initiating an autonomous motion; arrow 355 shown in FIG. 18 with display 314a/314b is a display of a depiction of the autonomous vehicle indicating when the AV will be initiating a motion as indicated by the position of the start of arrow 355 and as also indicated by countdown display 351. Arrow 355 is also shown in FIG. 8 (D) with vehicle A and its corresponding representation indicated by the arrow emerging from vehicle A (¶¶ 112-116)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement countdown timing display of Fuji into the system of Ogura in view of Gol and further in view of Foster and further in view of Ikenori in order to improve operator awareness and notice of impending autonomous movement, reduce uneasiness of the operator, to improve safety of autonomous operations and reduce operator uncertainty of impending autonomous actions (Fuji, 7, 11, 94-100; 110).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170248946 to Ogura et al. (Ogura) in view of US 20170116792 to Jel et al. (Jel) and further in view of US 20160307375 to Toutant et al. (Tout) and further in view of US 20220161783 to Golgiri et al. (Gol)
With respect to claim 16, Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout disclose tracking the user motion is performed using at least one camera
(Jel, ¶¶ 62 The capture device 116 can be a camera or other capture device that is configured to capture still images and/or video. The capture device 116 can be embedded in the operator device 110. In some embodiments, the capture device 116 is a separate device from the operator device 110, and, optionally, can be in wired or wireless communication with the operator device 110, using known data, and/or image transfer techniques; 64 The location device 118 can be a GPS device or other similar location device 118 that can be used to identify a location of the operator device 110. The location information can be provided and recorded automatically during operation of the operator device 110. In some embodiments, the location information may be recorded periodically, aperiodically, recorded based on triggering events (such as capturing an image), and/or recorded based on another defined criteria. For example, in some embodiments the location device 118 can be configured to provide location information that can be embedded within images and/or video information that can be used to identify the location of the operator device 110 during image and/or video capture)
Although Ogura in view of Jel and further in view of Tout fail to explicitly disclose the camera is mounted to the autonomous work machine, Jel at least suggests this as Jel teaches the camera could be placed in any location (¶ 62 “In some embodiments, the capture device 116 is a separate device from the operator device 110, and, optionally, can be in wired or wireless communication with the operator device 110, using known data, and/or image transfer techniques”)
Gol, from the same field of endeavor discloses vehicle mounted camera to track the location of a user (system 10 including sensors 22, 22a, 22b; ¶ 54 detection of the user relative to the vehicle via a system 10 camera; 39 range detection sensors 22a, detection sensors 22 may include . . . cameras; 42 system 10 detects the location of the user U based one the range
and/ or image sensors; claims 1 and 9 detection device capture detection data, determines location of user based on detection data, detection device comprises a camera)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to track the user with a vehicle mounted camera in view of the teachings of Gol, because of the suggestion of Ogura above, and in order to increase efficiency by making use of cameras already included on the vehicle and reduce lag required to communicate data from non-vehicle cameras.
Conclusion
/KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667
1 No limiting definition of “autonomy job” is provided in the specification.