DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16th, 2013 is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Sheet
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC §112f
The following elements are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Regarding claims 2 and 12, “loading member” (because A – “member” is the placeholder/nonce term, B – “configured to retain and feed a substrate to a cutting assembly” designates the function, and C – no additional structure is provided in the claim body, thus “loading member” is understood as equivalent to “means for retaining and feed a substrate to a cutting assembly”). A review of the specification suggests that the corresponding structure is an unwinder for retaining, supporting, and feeding the web of substrate (described in ¶ [0033] of the US PG Pub document) or equivalent.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, “unwinder member” (because A – “member” is the placeholder/nonce term, B – “for supporting and feeding a web of substrate to the cutting assembly” designates the function, and C – no additional structure is provided in the claim body, thus “unwinder member” is understood as equivalent to “means for supporting and feeding a web of substrate to the cutting assembly”). A review of the specification fails to describe the requisite structure for the unwinder member. Therefore, subsequent rejections under 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) are provided below.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, “folder member” (because A – “member” is the placeholder/nonce term, B – “configured to fold prescored portions of the given piece of substrate” designates the function, and C – no additional structure is provided in the claim body, thus “folder member” is understood as equivalent to “means for folding prescored portions of the given piece of substrate”). While the specification does not provide a specific recitation of the specific structure, the use of mechanical folders in the state of the art would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to understand the mechanical folding guides or plows involved.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, “pre-feeder assembly” (because A – “assembly” is the placeholder/nonce term, B – “for receiving envelopes and feeding said envelopes to an envelope inserter station of the document inserter system” designates the function, and C – no additional structure is provided in the claim body, thus “pre-feeder assembly” is understood as equivalent to “means for receiving envelopes and feeding said envelopes to an envelope inserter station of the document inserter system”). A review of the specification suggests that the corresponding structure is a transport deck including a ramp feed (see ¶ [0030] of the US PG Pub) or equivalent.
If the applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre -AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre –AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites, “…one or more pieces of cut and scored, substrate with…” However, it appears that the comma should be removed such that the passage should instead recite “…one or more pieces of cut and scored
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112(a)
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 2-8 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 12-13, as identified above, the claims lack sufficient structural support in the specification. Therefore, these claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(a) due to the lack of written description for the limitations of “a loading member” and “an unwinder member.”
Regarding claims 4-8 and 14-18, these claims are also rejected under 35 USC 112(a) due to their dependence upon rejected claims 2-3 and 12-13.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112(b)
Claims 2-8, 10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 12-13, claim limitations “a loading member” and “an unwinder member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the structure of the claim limitations of “a loading member” and “an unwinder member.” Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claims 4-8 and 14-18, these claims are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) due to their dependence upon rejected claims 2-3 and 12-13.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the claim recite “the feeder module.” However, there is no prior introduction or antecedent basis for a “feeder module” in the claims. It is unclear if this is intended to refer to the “wrapper-like envelope creation module” or the “pre-feeder assembly” as introduced in claims 9 and 19.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,350,956. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims merely represent an obvious broadening of the patenting claims. Specifically, claims 1 and 11 of the ‘956 patent recite an envelope creation module and method constrained to operating in a “first mode” (fabricating envelopes) and a “second mode” (allowing the system to be loaded with premade envelopes). Current claims 1 and 11 remove the dual mode operation limitations entirely, claiming the apparatus and method solely based on the envelope fabrication function. Omitting the dual-mode limitation from the patented claims merely genericizes the invention or claims a sub-combination of the patented system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the envelop creation module of the ‘956 patent without the second mode of operation, as this simply omits a feature and its corresponding function. Therefore, the current claims are an obvious variation of the patented claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wooley (US 4,443,211) in view of Ballestrazzi (US 6,155,031).
Regarding claim 1, Wooley teaches a wrapper-like envelope creation module configured to fabricate wrapper-like outer envelopes (Figures 1 and 2 illustrate a device for the fabrication of an outer envelope #40).
Wooley does not specifically teach the module is configured to feed said wrapper-like outer envelopes to a document inserter system operably coupled thereto.
Ballestrazzi teaches a module configured to feed said wrapper-like outer envelopes to a document inserter system operably coupled thereto (Figure 1 illustrates a device configured to receive formed envelopes #18 and feed in a series of documents. This is further described in the abstract and col 3, lines 10-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wooley to incorporate the teachings of Ballestrazzi to include feeding the outer envelopes to a document inserter system with the motivation of creating an automatic envelope inserting machine, as recognized by Ballestrazzi in the abstract.
Regarding claim 11, Wooley teaches a method for fabricating a mailpiece, the method comprising: fabricating, via a wrapper-like envelope creation module, wrapper-like outer envelopes (Figures 1 and 2 illustrate a device for the fabrication of an outer envelope #40).
Wooley does not specifically teach the module is configured to feed said wrapper-like outer envelopes to a document inserter system operably coupled thereto.
Ballestrazzi teaches feeding, via said wrapper-like envelope creation module, said fabricated wrapper-like outer envelopes to a document inserter system operably coupled thereto (Figure 1 illustrates a device configured to receive formed envelopes #18 and feed in a series of documents. This is further described in the abstract and col 3, lines 10-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wooley to incorporate the teachings of Ballestrazzi to include feeding the outer envelopes to a document inserter system with the motivation of creating an automatic envelope inserting machine, as recognized by Ballestrazzi in the abstract.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wooley in view of Ballestrazzi, and in further view of Hipko (US 5,155,973).
Regarding claim 2, Wooley in view of Ballestrazzi does not specifically teach a loading member configured to retain and feed a substrate to a cutting assembly.
Hipko teaches a loading member configured to retain and feed a substrate to a cutting assembly (Figure 5 illustrates a device to retain and feed a substrate to a cutting unit #164).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wooley in view of Ballestrazzi to incorporate the teachings of Hipko to include Hipko with the motivation of providing a device for separating the substrate into individual portions, as recognized by Hipko in col 4, lines 34-39.
Regarding claim 12, Wooley in view of Ballestrazzi does not specifically teach providing a loading member configured to retain and feed a substrate to a cutting assembly.
Hipko teaches providing a loading member configured to retain and feed a substrate to a cutting assembly (Figure 5 illustrates a device to retain and feed a substrate to a cutting unit #164).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wooley in view of Ballestrazzi to incorporate the teachings of Hipko to include Hipko with the motivation of providing a device for separating the substrate into individual portions, as recognized by Hipko in col 4, lines 34-39.
Allowable Subject Matter
If the above prior art rejections and rejections under 35 USC 112(a)/112(b) are overcome, claims 3-10 and 13-20 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached Notice of References Cited.
/JACOB A SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731