DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to Application filed on July 7, 2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 11, 15 and dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, 18 and dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,369,670. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 11, 7, 11, 15 and dependent claims are anticipated by the conflicting patented claims 1, 16 18, and dependent claims as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Present Application
Patent No. 12,369,670
1. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
an electrical connector located on the visor and being operatively connected to the heating system,
the electrical connector being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the visor to enable removably attaching the power cable on the visor,
the cable retaining element having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a portion extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector such that a disconnection force applied to the power cable is reoriented by the cable retaining element to define a force axially aligned with the electrical connector in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of the power cable, the electrical connector and the visor.
1. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions with respective visor mounting sections pivotally connectable to respective mounting assemblies of the helmet shell and a front portion,
the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface,
the visor being provided with a heating system;
a connection assembly comprising an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion,
the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the outer surface of the visor proximate one of the left and right visor mounting sections,
the cable retaining element having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
2. wherein the clip comprises a first portion having a first end and extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward the connection assembly such that a first section of the power cable extends from the first end of the clip and toward the front portion of the visor in general alignment with the electrical connector.
5. wherein the first portion of the clip is adapted to position the first section of the power cable such that a disconnection force applied to the power cable defines a force axially aligned with the connection assembly in order to at least partially prevent damaging one of the first section of the power cable and the connection assembly.
2. wherein the cable retaining element comprises a second portion extending in a second direction at an angle relative to the first direction such that the first portion and the second portion cooperate to define an arcuate channel adapted to receive and redirect the power cable into the general alignment with the electrical connector.
3. wherein the clip comprises a second portion having a second end, and wherein the first portion and the second portion together define a hook-shaped channel, the second portion extending in a second direction at an angle relative to the first direction, and wherein the hook-shaped channel is adapted to receive and redirect the power cable into the general alignment with the electrical connector.
3. wherein the first portion and the second portion of the cable retaining element are spaced from one another, and wherein the arcuate channel extends between the first and second portions.
4. wherein the first portion and the second portion of the clip are spaced from one another, and wherein the hook-shaped channel extends between the first and second portions.
5. wherein the cable retaining element is integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit.
15. wherein the cable retaining element is integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit.
7. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
an electrical connector located on the visor, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and comprising a magnetic connection adapted to enable magnetically connecting a power cable thereto for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the visor and adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
1. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions with respective visor mounting sections pivotally connectable to respective mounting assemblies of the helmet shell and a front portion,
the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface,
the visor being provided with a heating system;
a connection assembly comprising an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion,
the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the outer surface of the visor proximate one of the left and right visor mounting sections,
the cable retaining element having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
13. wherein the electrical connector comprises a magnetic connection adapted to enable magnetically connecting with the power cable.
10. wherein the cable retaining element includes a first portion defining a first end of the arcuate channel, the first end being oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a section thereof extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector.
2. wherein the clip comprises a first portion having a first end and extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward the connection assembly such that a first section of the power cable extends from the first end of the clip and toward the front portion of the visor in general alignment with the electrical connector.
11. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
an electrical connector located on the visor, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit therewith and having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
1. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions with respective visor mounting sections pivotally connectable to respective mounting assemblies of the helmet shell and a front portion,
the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface,
the visor being provided with a heating system;
a connection assembly comprising an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion,
the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the outer surface of the visor proximate one of the left and right visor mounting sections,
the cable retaining element having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
15. wherein the cable retaining element is integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit.
12. wherein the clip comprises clip portions configured to redirect the power cable from a power source towards the electrical connector.
13. wherein at least one of the clip portions is hooked- shaped and resilient to enable clipping the power cable therein.
3. wherein the clip comprises a second portion having a second end, and wherein the first portion and the second portion together define a hook-shaped channel, the second portion extending in a second direction at an angle relative to the first direction, and wherein the hook-shaped channel is adapted to receive and redirect the power cable into the general alignment with the electrical connector.
15. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
a sealing member extending across the at least one surface of the visor to define a sealed area thereon; and
an electrical connector provided within the sealed area on the visor on a surface opposite the heating system,
the visor being provided with an aperture defined within the sealed area to enable establishing a connection between the electrical connector and the heating system.
1. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions with respective visor mounting sections pivotally connectable to respective mounting assemblies of the helmet shell and a front portion,
the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface,
the visor being provided with a heating system;
a connection assembly comprising an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion,
the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the outer surface of the visor proximate one of the left and right visor mounting sections,
the cable retaining element having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
7. further comprising a continuous sealing member provided on the inner surface of the visor and extending along a general periphery of the front portion thereof to define a sealed area, the connection assembly being located within the sealed area.
9. wherein the visor comprises an aperture located within the sealed area adapted to enable operatively connecting the electrical connector to the heating system.
8. wherein the cable retaining element is located outside of the sealed area.
17. further comprising a status indicator adapted to visually display a status indicative of an activation of the heating system, the status indicator being operatively connected to the electrical connector and located toward a front portion of the visor in order to be in line of sight of a user wearing the helmet when the visor is in a lowered position.
11. further comprising a status indicator adapted to visually display a status indicative of an activation of the heating system, the status indicator being operatively connected to the connection assembly and located toward the front portion of the visor.
12. wherein the status indicator is positioned in line of sight of a user wearing the helmet when the visor is in a lowered position.
1. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
an electrical connector located on the visor and being operatively connected to the heating system,
the electrical connector being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the visor to enable removably attaching the power cable on the visor,
the cable retaining element having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a portion extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector such that a disconnection force applied to the power cable is reoriented by the cable retaining element to define a force axially aligned with the electrical connector in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of the power cable, the electrical connector and the visor.
16. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions with respective visor mounting sections pivotally connectable to respective mounting assemblies of the helmet shell and a front portion,
the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface being provided with a heating system; and
a connection assembly comprising an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system.
17. further comprising a cable retaining element located on the outer surface of the visor proximate one of the left and right visor mounting sections, the cable retaining element having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor, the clip having a first portion extending in a first direction toward the connection assembly such that a first section of the power cable extends from the first portion of the clip and toward the front portion of the visor in general alignment with the electrical connector to facilitate connection therewith.
7. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
an electrical connector located on the visor, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and comprising a magnetic connection adapted to enable magnetically connecting a power cable thereto for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element located on the visor and adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
10. wherein the cable retaining element includes a first portion defining a first end of the arcuate channel, the first end being oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a section thereof extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector.
16. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions with respective visor mounting sections pivotally connectable to respective mounting assemblies of the helmet shell and a front portion,
the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface being provided with a heating system; and
a connection assembly comprising an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system.
17. further comprising a cable retaining element located on the outer surface of the visor proximate one of the left and right visor mounting sections, the cable retaining element having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor, the clip having a first portion extending in a first direction toward the connection assembly such that a first section of the power cable extends from the first portion of the clip and toward the front portion of the visor in general alignment with the electrical connector to facilitate connection therewith.
11. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
an electrical connector located on the visor, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a cable retaining element integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit therewith and having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
14. wherein the clip protrudes outwardly from an outer surface of the visor to enable attaching the power cable on an exterior of the visor.
16. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions with respective visor mounting sections pivotally connectable to respective mounting assemblies of the helmet shell and a front portion,
the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface being provided with a heating system; and
a connection assembly comprising an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system.
17. further comprising a cable retaining element located on the outer surface of the visor proximate one of the left and right visor mounting sections, the cable retaining element having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor, the clip having a first portion extending in a first direction toward the connection assembly such that a first section of the power cable extends from the first portion of the clip and toward the front portion of the visor in general alignment with the electrical connector to facilitate connection therewith.
15. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor;
a sealing member extending across the at least one surface of the visor to define a sealed area thereon; and
an electrical connector provided within the sealed area on the visor on a surface opposite the heating system,
the visor being provided with an aperture defined within the sealed area to enable establishing a connection between the electrical connector and the heating system.
18. A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity,
the visor assembly comprising:
a visor having lateral portions pivotally connected to the helmet shell and a front portion, the visor having an inner surface facing the cavity of the helmet shell and an outer surface opposite the inner surface,
the inner surface being provided with a heating system; and
a connection assembly comprising
an electrical connector located on the outer surface of the visor proximate the front portion, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system; and
a sealing member provided on the inner surface of the visor and extending along a periphery thereof to define a sealed area of the visor, wherein the connection assembly is located within the sealed area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutour et al. (2021/0282493)[Dutour] in view of Avasarala et al. (11,109,625).
Regarding claim 1, Dutour teaches, A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity (110/120 of 100 having 102 defining a cavity, [0106], [0108], [0114], figure 1), the visor assembly comprising: a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor (“The helmet 100 includes a visor 110 pivotally connected to the helmet shell 102. The visor 110 is pivotally movable between (a) a raised position, in which the visor 110 is at least partially above the opening 108 and substantially out of the wearer's field of vision (as shown in FIG. 1), and (b) a lowered position, in which the visor 110 closes the opening 108 in front of the wearer's eyes (as shown in FIG. 2A) as well as many positions therebetween.”, [0108], “The visor 110 is a double-layer, semi-crescent-shaped optically clear shield. The visor 110 includes an outer, semi-spherical, semi-crescent shaped visor portion 302 and a smaller inner, semi-cylindrically shaped visor portion 304.”, [0118], “A visor heating element 310 is further attached to the inner visor portion 304. It is contemplated that the heating element 310 could be integrated within the inner visor portion 304.”, [0119], therefore, 110/120 comprising: 110 pivotally connectable to 102 and provided with 310 operable for heating at least one surface of 110, figure 1, see also [0120]); an electrical connector located on the visor and being operatively connected to the heating system, the electrical connector being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system (“visor heating element 310 is further attached to the inner visor portion 304. It is contemplated that the heating element 310 could be integrated within the inner visor portion 304…The heating element 310 when operating, heats the air space 308 and discourages water and frost from forming on the inner visor portion 304, as a result of the heated air in the air space 308.”, [0119], “The manner in which the heating element 310 is implemented on the inner visor portion 304 is generally known to the art and will not be described at length here. The inner visor portion 304 includes an upper connector 312 attached about the upper edge of the inner visor portion 304, and a lower connector 314 attached about the lower edge of the inner visor portion 304. The heating element 310 establishes an electrical connection between the upper connector 312 and the lower connector 314, thereby heating the inner visor portion 304.”, [0120], “The lower connector 314 is connected to a right visor electrical contact 320 via an electrical wire 318 which runs along the lower edge of the inner visor portion 304.”, [0121], therefore, 320/321 located on 110 and being operatively connected to 310, 320/321 being adapted to be connected to 318 for providing electrical power to 310, figures 7A and 7B).
Dutour fails to teach, a cable retaining element located on the visor to enable removably attaching the power cable on the visor, the cable retaining element having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a portion extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector such that a disconnection force applied to the power cable is reoriented by the cable retaining element to define a force axially aligned with the electrical connector in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of the power cable, the electrical connector and the visor.
Avasarala, a helmet with a visor and an electrical connection, Col. 9 ln. 25-31, figure 1, teaches, a cable retaining element located on the visor to enable removably attaching the power cable on the visor (“as shown in FIG. 1, light 103 may be coupled to shield 102, for example, to a top portion of screen 217 and/or to a portion of extension 212. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, extension 212 may include a mount 218, which may support light 103. Light 103 may be electrically connected to one or more power supplies and/or controls, for example, via one or more wires 104. Wire 104 may extend along outer portions of shield 102, for example, along outer portions of screen 217 and/or extension 212. Additionally, wire 104 may be retained along the outer portions of shield 102 by one or more clips or retention mechanisms 501. Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104. As shown in FIG. 5, retention mechanisms 501 may include one or more clips, brackets, etc.”, Col. 9 ln. 25-40, therefore, 501 located on 102 to enable removably attaching 104 on the visor, figures 1, 2, 5, 6A and 6B), the cable retaining element having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a portion extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment such that a disconnection force applied to the power cable is reoriented by the cable retaining element to define a force axially aligned with the electrical connector in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of the power cable, the electrical connector and the visor (“Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, 501 having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented such that 104 coupled to 501 has a portion extending from the first portion of 501 such that a disconnection force applied to 104 is reoriented by 501 to define a force axially aligned in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of 104, and 102, figures 1-2, 5, 6A-6B, see also Col. 10 ln. 49-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the visor of Dutour with a cable retaining element as taught by Avasarala, in order to secure the power cable along the shield for additional safety from pulling or snagging.
The combined references teach, the cable retaining element having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a portion extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector such that a disconnection force applied to the power cable is reoriented by the cable retaining element to define a force axially aligned with the electrical connector in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of the power cable, the electrical connector and the visor (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, as combined above, wherein 501 (Avasarala) having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward oriented toward 320/321 (Dutour) such that 318 (Dutour) coupled to 501 (Avasarala) has a portion extending from the first portion of 501 (Avasarala) in general alignment with 320/321 (Dutour) such that a disconnection force applied to 318 (Dutour) is reoriented by 501 (Avasarala) to define a force axially aligned with 320/321 (Dutour) in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of 318 (Dutour), 320/321 (Dutour) and 110 (Dutour), see Avasarala figure 1 and Dutour figures 7A and 7B).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references teach, wherein the cable retaining element comprises a second portion extending in a second direction at an angle relative to the first direction such that the first portion and the second portion cooperate to define an arcuate channel adapted to receive and redirect the power cable into the general alignment with the electrical connector (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, as combined above, wherein 501 (Avasarala)
comprises a second portion extending in a second direction at an angle relative to the first direction such that the first portion and the second portion cooperate to define an arcuate channel (“opening between”) adapted to receive and redirect 318 (Dutour) into the general alignment with 320 (Dutour), see Avasarala figure 1 and Dutour figure 7B).
Regarding claim 3, the combined references teach, wherein the first portion and the second portion of the cable retaining element are spaced from one another, and wherein the arcuate channel extends between the first and second portions (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, wherein the first portion and the second portion of 501 are spaced from one another, and wherein the arcuate channel extends between the first and second portions, Avasarala figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references teach, wherein the cable retaining element comprises a resilient hooked-shaped clip configured to enable laterally and removably inserting the power cable therein (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, wherein 501 comprises a resilient hooked-shaped clip configured to enable laterally and removably inserting 318 (Dutour) therein, Avasarala figures 1 and 6B).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references teach, the cable retaining element located on the visor (as combined above, 501 (Avasarala) is located on 110 (Dutour), see Avasarala figure 1, and Dutour 7A-7B).
The combined references fail to teach, wherein the cable retaining element is integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit.
Avasarala further teaches, wherein the cable retaining element is integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit (“Referring to FIGS. 2 and 5, shield 102 may include a support system 500. Support system 500 may help to couple screen 217 to other components in protective system 100. For example, support system 500 may include left and right holders 211A and 211B and bottom holders 209A and 209B... Screen 217 may be coupled to left holder 211A and right holder 211B, for example, via one or more of an adhesive, screws, bolts, etc.”, Col. 9 ln. 10-24, “Wire 104 may extend along outer portions of shield 102, for example, along outer portions of screen 217 and/or extension 212. Additionally, wire 104 may be retained along the outer portions of shield 102 by one or more clips or retention mechanisms 501. Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104. As shown in FIG. 5, retention mechanisms 501 may include one or more clips, brackets, etc. wire 104 may be retained along the outer portions of shield 102 by one or more clips or retention mechanisms 501. Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104. As shown in FIG. 5, retention mechanisms 501 may include one or more clips, brackets, etc.”, Col. 9 ln. 31-40, therefore, wherein 501 is integrated to 102 to form a one-piece unit, figures 1, 6A and 6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cable retaining element and the visor of the combined references as being integrated to form a one-piece unit as further taught by Avasarala, in order to ensure that the cable retaining element remains on the visor during use and wear and tear of the visor.
Regarding claim 11, Dutour teaches, A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity (110/120 of 100 having 102 defining a cavity, [0106], [0108], [0114], figure 1), the visor assembly comprising: a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor (“The helmet 100 includes a visor 110 pivotally connected to the helmet shell 102. The visor 110 is pivotally movable between (a) a raised position, in which the visor 110 is at least partially above the opening 108 and substantially out of the wearer's field of vision (as shown in FIG. 1), and (b) a lowered position, in which the visor 110 closes the opening 108 in front of the wearer's eyes (as shown in FIG. 2A) as well as many positions therebetween.”, [0108], “The visor 110 is a double-layer, semi-crescent-shaped optically clear shield. The visor 110 includes an outer, semi-spherical, semi-crescent shaped visor portion 302 and a smaller inner, semi-cylindrically shaped visor portion 304.”, [0118], “A visor heating element 310 is further attached to the inner visor portion 304. It is contemplated that the heating element 310 could be integrated within the inner visor portion 304.”, [0119], therefore, 110/120 comprising: 110 pivotally connectable to 102 and provided with 310 operable for heating at least one surface of 110, figure 1, see also [0120]); an electrical connector located on the visor, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and being adapted to be connected to a power cable for providing electrical power to the heating system (“visor heating element 310 is further attached to the inner visor portion 304. It is contemplated that the heating element 310 could be integrated within the inner visor portion 304…The heating element 310 when operating, heats the air space 308 and discourages water and frost from forming on the inner visor portion 304, as a result of the heated air in the air space 308.”, [0119], “The manner in which the heating element 310 is implemented on the inner visor portion 304 is generally known to the art and will not be described at length here. The inner visor portion 304 includes an upper connector 312 attached about the upper edge of the inner visor portion 304, and a lower connector 314 attached about the lower edge of the inner visor portion 304. The heating element 310 establishes an electrical connection between the upper connector 312 and the lower connector 314, thereby heating the inner visor portion 304.”, [0120], “The lower connector 314 is connected to a right visor electrical contact 320 via an electrical wire 318 which runs along the lower edge of the inner visor portion 304.”, [0121], therefore, 320/321 located on 110, 320/321 being operatively connected to 310 and being adapted to be connected to 318 for providing electrical power to 310, figures 7A and 7B).
Dutour fails to teach, a cable retaining element integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit therewith and having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
Avasarala, a helmet with a visor and an electrical connection, Col. 9 ln. 25-31, figure 1, teaches, a cable retaining element integrated to the visor to form a one-piece unit therewith and having a clip adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor (“Referring to FIGS. 2 and 5, shield 102 may include a support system 500. Support system 500 may help to couple screen 217 to other components in protective system 100. For example, support system 500 may include left and right holders 211A and 211B and bottom holders 209A and 209B... Screen 217 may be coupled to left holder 211A and right holder 211B, for example, via one or more of an adhesive, screws, bolts, etc.”, Col. 9 ln. 10-24, “Wire 104 may extend along outer portions of shield 102, for example, along outer portions of screen 217 and/or extension 212. Additionally, wire 104 may be retained along the outer portions of shield 102 by one or more clips or retention mechanisms 501. Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104. As shown in FIG. 5, retention mechanisms 501 may include one or more clips, brackets, etc. wire 104 may be retained along the outer portions of shield 102 by one or more clips or retention mechanisms 501. Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104. As shown in FIG. 5, retention mechanisms 501 may include one or more clips, brackets, etc.”, Col. 9 ln. 31-40, therefore, 501 integrated to 102 to form a one-piece unit therewith and having a clip adapted to removably attach 104 on 102, figures 1, 2, 5, 6A and 6B),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the visor of Dutour with a cable retaining element as taught by Avasarala, in order to secure the power cable along the shield for additional safety from pulling or snagging.
Regarding claim 12, the combined references teach, wherein the clip comprises clip portions configured to redirect the power cable from a power source towards the electrical connector (as combined above, wherein 501 (Avasarala) comprises clip portions configured to redirect 318 (Dutour) from a power source (Dutour, “The helmet further comprises a visor connected to the helmet shell and a visor heating element attached to the visor. The helmet further comprises a controller electrically connected to the visor heating element. The controller is adapted for controlling an amount of electrical power being supplied from a power source to the visor heating element.”, [0033]) towards 320/321, see Dutour figures 7A and 7B and Avasarala figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references teach, wherein at least one of the clip portions is hooked- shaped and resilient to enable clipping the power cable therein (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, as combined above, wherein at least one of the clip portions of 501 is hooked- shaped and resilient to enable clipping 318 (Dutour) therein, Avasarala figures 1 and 6B).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references teach, wherein the clip protrudes outwardly from an outer surface of the visor to enable attaching the power cable on an exterior of the visor (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, as combined above, wherein 501 protrudes outwardly from an outer surface of 110 (Dutour) to enable attaching 318 (Dutour) on an exterior of 110 (Dutour), Dutour figures 7A and 7B and Avasarala figures 1 and 6B).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutour et al. (2021/0282493)[Dutour] in view of Avasarala et al. (11,109,625) in view of Bowers (2020/0373746).
Regarding claim 6, the combined references teach, wherein the cable retaining element is connected to the visor (Avasarala, “wire 104 may be retained along the outer portions of shield 102 by one or more clips or retention mechanisms 501. Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104. As shown in FIG. 5, retention mechanisms 501 may include one or more clips, brackets, etc.”, Col. 9 ln. 25-40, therefore, as combined above, wherein 501 (Avasarala) is connected to 110 of Dutour).
The combined references fail to teach, wherein the cable retaining element is removably connectable to the visor.
Bowers, a device with a power supply and cord, [0015], [0018], figure 1, teaches, wherein the cable retaining element is removably connectable to the visor “A first end 14 of the cord and/or tube 22 is connected to a power supply 24 and the power supply 24 is connected to a power source 26 such as an electrical outlet or source of pressurized air.”, [0015], “At least one, and preferably more than one, connecting members 28 are attached to the conduit 12. The connecting members 28 are of any size, shape, or structure and can be attached anywhere along the conduit 12. In the example shown, the connecting member 28 has a magnet 30 attached to a mounting bracket 32 of a clip 34. The connecting members 28 are attached to a support 36 such as a work table, or the like, to hold the conduit 12 in an upright or vertical position.”, [0016], “In operation, the conduit 12 is attached to a support 36 using the connecting members 28. The wire/tube 22 is connected to the power supply 24 and the power supply 24 connected to a power source 26.”, [0018], “15. The assembly of claim 7 further comprising the connecting member having a mounting bracket and a clip, wherein the clip receives the hollow elongated conduit and the mounting bracket has a magnet to attach the connecting member to a support.”, Claim 15, therefore, wherein 28 is removably connectable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cable retaining element of the combined references as being removably connectable as taught by Bowers, in order to allow the user to place the cable retaining element in a desired location based on preference or user needs.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutour et al. (2021/0282493)[Dutour] in view of Bouchard Fortin et al. (2019/0000674)[Bouchard] in view of Avasarala et al. (11,109,625)
Regarding claim 7, Dutour teaches, A visor assembly of a helmet having a helmet shell defining a cavity (110/120 of 100 having 102 defining a cavity, [0106], [0108], [0114], figure 1), the visor assembly comprising: a visor pivotally connectable to the helmet shell and provided with a heating system operable for heating at least one surface of the visor (“The helmet 100 includes a visor 110 pivotally connected to the helmet shell 102. The visor 110 is pivotally movable between (a) a raised position, in which the visor 110 is at least partially above the opening 108 and substantially out of the wearer's field of vision (as shown in FIG. 1), and (b) a lowered position, in which the visor 110 closes the opening 108 in front of the wearer's eyes (as shown in FIG. 2A) as well as many positions therebetween.”, [0108], “The visor 110 is a double-layer, semi-crescent-shaped optically clear shield. The visor 110 includes an outer, semi-spherical, semi-crescent shaped visor portion 302 and a smaller inner, semi-cylindrically shaped visor portion 304.”, [0118], “A visor heating element 310 is further attached to the inner visor portion 304. It is contemplated that the heating element 310 could be integrated within the inner visor portion 304.”, [0119], therefore, 110/120 comprising: 110 pivotally connectable to 102 and provided with 310 operable for heating at least one surface of 110, figure 1, see also [0120]); an electrical connector located on the visor, the electrical connector being operatively connected to the heating system and connecting a power cable thereto for providing electrical power to the heating system (“visor heating element 310 is further attached to the inner visor portion 304. It is contemplated that the heating element 310 could be integrated within the inner visor portion 304…The heating element 310 when operating, heats the air space 308 and discourages water and frost from forming on the inner visor portion 304, as a result of the heated air in the air space 308.”, [0119], “The manner in which the heating element 310 is implemented on the inner visor portion 304 is generally known to the art and will not be described at length here. The inner visor portion 304 includes an upper connector 312 attached about the upper edge of the inner visor portion 304, and a lower connector 314 attached about the lower edge of the inner visor portion 304. The heating element 310 establishes an electrical connection between the upper connector 312 and the lower connector 314, thereby heating the inner visor portion 304.”, [0120], “The lower connector 314 is connected to a right visor electrical contact 320 via an electrical wire 318 which runs along the lower edge of the inner visor portion 304.”, [0121], therefore, 320/321 located on 110, 320/321 being operatively connected to 310, and connecting 318 thereto for providing electrical power to 310, figures 7A and 7B).
While Dutour discloses an electrical connector connecting a power cable thereto for providing electrical power to the heating system (see above), Dutour fails to teach, an electrical connector comprising a magnetic connection adapted to enable magnetically connecting a power cable thereto for providing electrical power to the heating system; and a cable retaining element located on the visor and adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
Bouchard, electric goggles with a heated lens and an electric socket connected to a power supply by a power cable, Abstract, teaches, an electrical connector comprising a magnetic connection adapted to enable magnetically connecting a power cable thereto for providing electrical power to the heating system (“The goggles include a conductive lens mounted onto a frame adapted to be electrically connected to an electric socket in order to raise the temperature of the lens, when powered.”, Abstract, “. In the present embodiment, the lens 300 is a conductive lens provided with a heating assembly and the strap clip 500 can comprise an electrical assembly 515 for providing an electrical current to said heating assembly of the conductive lens 300, therefore effectively heating up the lens 300. In this manner, the goggles 100 are thus particularly adapted and configured to prevent fog accumulation or condensation on the conductive lens 300, especially in cold weather conditions and/or during outdoor activities such as skiing or riding a snowmobile.”, [0024], “In a possible embodiment, the connections provided within the electric goggles 100 can be magnetic to reduce the risk of damaging the wires and/or cables. For example, the connection between the electrical wire 800, wire connector 802 and lens electrical wire 804 can be magnetic. Another example is the connection between the power cable 700 and the electric socket 516, or the power cable 700 and the power supply. Furthermore, as mentioned above, the power cable 700 can be comprised of two segments, in this embodiment, the connection between the two segments can also be magnetic.”, [0040], therefore, 802 comprising a magnetic connection adapted to enable magnetically connecting 800/804 thereto for providing electrical power to the heating system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electrical connector and power cable of Dutour with a magnetic connection as taught by Bouchard, in order to provide protection for the connection between the electrical connector and power cable.
The combined references fail to teach, a cable retaining element located on the visor and adapted to removably attach the power cable on the visor.
Avasarala, a helmet with a visor and an electrical connection, Col. 9 ln. 25-31, figure 1, teaches, a cable retaining element located on the visor to enable removably attaching the power cable on the visor (“as shown in FIG. 1, light 103 may be coupled to shield 102, for example, to a top portion of screen 217 and/or to a portion of extension 212. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, extension 212 may include a mount 218, which may support light 103. Light 103 may be electrically connected to one or more power supplies and/or controls, for example, via one or more wires 104. Wire 104 may extend along outer portions of shield 102, for example, along outer portions of screen 217 and/or extension 212. Additionally, wire 104 may be retained along the outer portions of shield 102 by one or more clips or retention mechanisms 501. Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104. As shown in FIG. 5, retention mechanisms 501 may include one or more clips, brackets, etc.”, Col. 9 ln. 25-40, therefore, 501 located on 102 to enable removably attaching 104 on the visor, figures 1, 2, 5, 6A and 6B), the cable retaining element having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a portion extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector such that a disconnection force applied to the power cable is reoriented by the cable retaining element to define a force axially aligned with the electrical connector in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of the power cable, the electrical connector and the visor (“Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, 501 having a first portion extending in a first direction substantially oriented such that 104 coupled to 501 has a portion extending from the first portion of 501 such that a disconnection force applied to 104 is reoriented by 501 to define a force axially aligned in order to at least partially prevent damaging at least one of 104, and 102, figures 1-2, 5, 6A-6B, see also Col. 10 ln. 49-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the visor of Dutour with a cable retaining element as taught by Avasarala, in order to secure the power cable along the shield for additional safety from pulling or snagging.
Regarding claim 8, the combined references teach, wherein the cable retaining element comprises a resilient hooked-shaped clip configured to enable laterally and removably inserting the power cable therein (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, wherein 501 comprises a resilient hooked-shaped clip configured to enable laterally and removably inserting 318 (Dutour) therein, Avasarala figures 1 and 6B).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references teach, wherein the cable retaining element is configured to define an arcuate channel extending along the visor such that the power cable follows the arcuate channel when coupled to the cable retaining element (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, 501 (Avasarala) is configured to define an arcuate channel extending along 110 (Dutour) such that 118 (Dutour) follows the arcuate channel when coupled to 501 (Avasarala), see Avasarala figure 1 and Dutour figures 7A and 7B).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references teach, wherein the cable retaining element includes a first portion defining a first end of the arcuate channel, the first end being oriented toward the electrical connector such that the power cable coupled to the cable retaining element has a section thereof extending from the first portion of the cable retaining element in general alignment with the electrical connector (Avasarala, “Retention mechanisms 501 may include two stepped portions with an opening between, for example, to receive a portion of wire 104.”, Col. 9 ln. 36-38, therefore, as combined above, wherein 501 (Avasarala) includes a first portion defining a first end of the arcuate channel, the first end being oriented toward 320/321 (Dutour) such that the 318 (Dutour) coupled to 501 (Avasarala) has a section thereof extending from the first portion of 501 (Avasarala) in general alignment with 320/321 (Dutour), see Avasarala figure 1 and Dutour figures 7A and 7B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are not rejected with prior art.
Claim 15 recites an electrical connector provided within the sealed area on the visor opposite the heating system, the visor provided with an aperture defined within the sealed area to enable establishing a connection between the electrical connector and the heating system. Dutour does not teach or disclose these structural elements and modifying Dutour to include the structures as claimed would necessitate improper hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. 4,682,007 by Hollander discloses a sealing member on the inner surface of the visor, but does not disclose electrical connector provided within the sealed area opposite the heating system or the visor being provided with an aperture defined within the sealed area to enable establishing a connection between the electrical connector and the heating system.
2. 2019/0222912 by Topay discloses cable retaining element integrated into a microphone assembly, but does not disclose the cable retaining element integrated into a visor.
3. 5,694,650 by Hong discloses a face shield assembly with a connection assembly with an electrical connector connected to a heating system connected to a power cable.
4. 5,525,989 by Holt discloses a face shield assembly with a connection assembly with an electrical connector connected to a heating system connected to a power cable.
/Jillian K Pierorazio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732