DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low explosive” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low explosive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "Low explosive"For the purposes of examination, this is being read as a combustion element that results in gas (par. 0017, 0058, and 0070 of the specification).
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the moveable wedge" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clemens et al. (US 2015/0247368 A1), hereinafter Clemens.
Regarding claim 1, Clemens discloses a release tool (202 fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056]) for releasably securing a workstring (116, fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056]) to a downhole tool (226 fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056 and 0059]) deployable into a wellbore (104, fig. 1, [0007 and 0047]) extending through a subterranean earthen formation (110, fig. 1, [0007 and 0047]), the release tool (see below) comprising:
a downhole housing (224, fig. 2a-c, [0057-0060]) having a downhole end for connecting to the downhole tool (226, fig. 2a-c, [0059]) and an uphole end opposite the downhole end (fig. 2a-c); and
an uphole assembly (see below), comprising:
an uphole housing (208, fig. 2a-c, [0056-0058]) having a proximal end connectable to the workstring (204, fig. 2a-c, [0056-0058]) and a distal end connectable to the downhole housing (224, fig. 2a-c, [0056-0058]);
a lock ring (216, fig. 2a-c, [0060-0062 and 0067-0068]) configured to releasably secure the uphole housing to the downhole housing (224 [0060-0062 and 0067-0068]), wherein the lock ring has a locked state (fig. 2a) in which the lock ring is pressed outwardly towards a locking groove of the downhole housing (shoulder of 224, fig. 2a-c, [0060-0061]) whereby the lock ring is prevented from deflecting radially inwards (fig. 2a-c, [0060-0061]), and an unlocked state (fig. 2c) in which the lock ring is allowed to deflect radially inwards away from the locking groove whereby the uphole housing may disconnect from the downhole housing (fig. 2a-c, [0061-0062]));
a movable wedge (210, fig. 2a-c, [0062], wherein mandrel 210 is ramped) moveable between an uphole position preventing the lock ring from transitioning from the locked state to the unlocked state and a longitudinally spaced downhole position permitting the lock ring to transition from the locked state to the unlocked state (fig. 2a-c, [0060-0062]); and
a combustion element ([0061 and 0072]) located longitudinally between the movable wedge and the uphole end of the uphole housing (fig. 2a-c) and configured to propel the movable wedge in a downhole direction from the uphole position to the downhole position to release the downhole housing from the uphole housing ([0061-0062) in response the release tool receiving a release signal ([0063-0069]).
Regarding claim 2, Clemens further discloses wherein the uphole assembly further comprises a mandrel (210 which includes 232, fig. 2a-c, [0058 and 0060]) which extends into the downhole housing when the uphole assembly is connected to the downhole housing (fig. 2a) and wherein the mandrel carries the lock ring (fig. 2a) and an electrical contact for carrying electrical signals and/or data to the downhole tool ([0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Clemens further discloses wherein the uphole assembly further comprises a piston (214, fig. 2a-c, [0058, 0060, and 0068]) carried on a periphery of the mandrel whereby the piston seals against both a periphery of the mandrel and a radially inner surface of at least one of the uphole housing and the downhole housing, and wherein the piston engages a radially inner surface of the lock ring with a surface defining the movable wedge (fig. 2a-c, [0058, 0060, and 0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Clemens further discloses wherein the mandrel (210) comprises a catch sleeve at a downhole end thereof (232), the catch sleeve comprising a ring shoulder projecting uphole towards the uphole housing with an annular space for the piston (space between 232, fig. 2a-c) whereby the catch sleeve is configured to apply, in response to the application of tension against the uphole housing, an uphole directed compressive force against a downhole end of the lock ring sufficient to deflect the lock ring inwardly when the movable wedge is in the downhole position ([fig. 2a-c, 0061-0062 and 0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Clemens further discloses wherein the combustion element comprises a unitized ignitor and power cartridge ([0065-0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Clemens further discloses wherein the combustion element comprises low explosive configured to avoid the formation of a supersonic shockwave in response to ignition of the low explosive ([0066], wherein shockwaves are not referenced).
Regarding claim 11, Clemens discloses a
release tool (202 fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056]) for releasably securing a workstring (204, fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056]) to a downhole tool (226 fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056 and 0059]) deployable into a wellbore (104, fig. 1, [0007 and 0047]) extending through a subterranean earthen formation (110, fig. 1, [0007 and 0047]), the release tool (see below) comprising:
an uphole housing (208, fig. 2a-c, [0056-0058]) connectable to the workstring (fig. 2a-c);
a downhole housing (224, fig. 2a-c, [0059-0060]) connected to the uphole housing when the release tool is in a locked state (fig. 2a) and disconnected from the uphole housing when the release tool is in a released state (fig. 2c);
a moveable wedge (210, fig. 2a-c, [0062]) coupled to the uphole housing and positioned in the downhole housing (fig. 2a);
a lock ring (216, fig. 2a-c, [0060-0062 and 0067-0068]) disposed in the downhole housing (fig. 2a) and having a locked state (fig. 2a) in which the lock ring is restricted from radially contracting by the moveable wedge to lock the downhole housing to the uphole housing (fig. 2a-c, [0060-0062]), and an unlocked state (fig. 2c) in which the lock ring is permitted to radially contract thereby permitting the downhole housing to be released from the uphole housing (fig. 2a-c, [0060-0062]); and
an actuation module (212, fig. 2a-c, [0058 and 0061]; see also [0063-0069]) positioned at an uphole end of the uphole housing (fig. 2a) whereby the actuation module is removeable from the uphole housing without disassembling the lock ring from the moveable wedge (the actuation module 212 is removable from uphole housing 208 without disassembling the lock ring 210 since 208 is “made up of multiple parts” therefore it is possible to remove parts other than the lock ring in order to remove the actuation module ), the actuation module configured to move, in response to receiving a release signal ([0063-0069]), the moveable wedge relative to the lock ring to transition the lock ring from the locked state to the unlocked state (fig. 2a-c, [0060-0062]).
Regarding claim 12, Clemens further discloses wherein the lock ring, when in the locked state, is at least partially received in an outer circumferential groove formed in the downhole housing (216 is within a groove of 224 in fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 12, Clemens further discloses wherein the lock ring is released from the outer circumferential groove formed in the downhole housing when in the unlocked state (216 is outside a groove of 224 in fig. 2c).
Regarding claim 15, Clemens discloses a release tool (202 fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056]) for securing a workstring (204, fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056]) to a downhole tool (226 fig. 1 and 2A-C, [0056 and 0059]) deployable into a wellbore (104, fig. 1, [0007 and 0047]) extending through a subterranean earthen formation (110, fig. 1, [0007 and 0047]), the release tool (see below) comprising:
a downhole housing (224, fig. 2a-c, [0059-0060]) having an uphole end, and a downhole end connectable to the downhole tool (fig. 2a-c); and
an uphole assembly (see below), comprising:
an uphole housing (208, fig. 2a-c, [0056-0058]) having a proximal end connectable to the workstring (204, fig. 2a-c, [0056-0058]) and a distal end connectable to the downhole housing (224, fig. 2a-c, [0056-0058]);
a lock ring (216, fig. 2a-c, [0060-0062 and 0067-0068]) secured to the uphole housing and disposed within the downhole housing when the release tool is in a locked state (fig. 2a), wherein the lock ring has a locked state in which the lock ring locks the uphole housing to the downhole housing (fig. 2a, [0060-0061]), and an unlocked state (fig. 2c, [0061-0062]) in which the lock ring is unlocked from at least one of the uphole housing and the downhole housing such that the downhole housing is permitted to move relative to the uphole housing along a central axis of the release tool (fig. 2c, [0061-0062]);
a piston (214, fig. 2a-c, [0058, 0061, 0064, 0067, and 0072]) having an uphole position that maintains the lock ring in the locked state and a longitudinally spaced downhole position that permits the lock ring to transition from the locked state to the unlocked state (fig. 2a-c, [0058, 0061, 0064, 0067, and 0072]); and
a combustion element ([0061 and 0072]) located uphole from the piston (fig. 2a-c) and configured to shift, in response to the uphole assembly receiving a release signal ([0063-0069]), the piston from the uphole position to the downhole position ([0060-0062]) and thereby transition the release tool from the locked state to a released state in which the downhole housing is released from the uphole housing (fig. 2a to fig. 2c, [0060-0062]).
Regarding claim 16, Clemens further discloses wherein the uphole assembly further comprises a mandrel (210 which includes 232, fig. 2a-c, [0058 and 0060]) which extends into the downhole housing when the uphole assembly is connected to the downhole housing (fig. 2a) and wherein the mandrel carries the lock ring (fig. 2a) and an electrical contact for carrying electrical signals and/or data to the downhole tool ([0065]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10, 14, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-7 would be allowable because Clemens, which is considered the closest prior art, fails to teach or disclose “a secondary shear pin” and “a secondary shear groove”. There is no obvious reason to modify Clemens to include a secondary shear pin and a secondary shear groove without undo hindsight when taken in conjunction with the rest of the claim and the independent claim.
Claims 10 and 14 would be allowable because Clemens, which is considered the closest prior art, fails to teach or disclose “a push-off lug”. There is no obvious reason to modify Clemens to include a push-off lug without undo hindsight when taken in conjunction with the rest of the claim and the independent claim.
Claim 17 would be allowable because Clemens, which is considered the closest prior art, fails to teach or disclose wherein “the piston engages a radially inner surface of the lock ring with a surface defining the moveable wedge”. There is no obvious reason to modify Clemens to include a push-off lug without undo hindsight when taken in conjunction with the rest of the claim and the independent claim.
Claims 18-19 would be allowable because Clemens, which is considered the closest prior art, fails to teach or disclose “a secondary groove” and “a third groove”. There is no obvious reason to modify Clemens to include a secondary groove and a third groove without undo hindsight when taken in conjunction with the rest of the claim and the independent claim. Claim 19 would be allowable for depending off of claim 18.
Claim 20 would be allowable because Clemens, which is considered the closest prior art, fails to teach or disclose wherein “a lug ring positioned in the downhole housing, wherein a downhole end of the piston is configured to impact the lug ring”. There is no obvious way to modify Clemens to include “a lug ring positioned in the downhole housing, wherein a downhole end of the piston is configured to impact the lug ring” when taken in conjunction with the rest of the claim and the independent claim because of the arrangement of parts of Clemens.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,371,959 B2 in view of Clemens et al. (US 2015/0247368 A1), hereinafter Clemens. Claim 1 of the present application 19/261,356 is largely identical from claim 1 of its parent Patent US 12,371,959 B2 except the phrases “a first position” has been changed to a “an uphole position” and “a secondary position” has been changed to “a longitudinally spaced downhole position.” Additionally, claim 1 has the phrases “located longitudinally between the movable wedge and the uphole end of the uphole housing” and “in a downhole direction” that are not present in the parent application. This arrangement can be taught from Clemens.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,371,959 B2 in view of Clemens et al. (US 2015/0247368 A1), hereinafter Clemens. Claim 1 of the present application 19/261,356 is largely identical from claim 20 of its parent Patent US 12,371,959 B2 except the phrase “positioned at an uphole end of the uphole housing whereby the actuation module is removeable from the uphole housing without disassembling the lock ring from the moveable wedge.” This arrangement can be taught from Clemens.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,371,959 B2 in view of Clemens et al. (US 2015/0247368 A1), hereinafter Clemens. Claim 1 of the present application 19/261,356 is largely identical from claim 20 of its parent Patent US 12,371,959 B2 except the phrases
“an uphole end” has been changed to a “a proximal end”
“an downhole end” has been changed to a “a distal end”
“a first position” has been changed to a “an uphole position” and
“a secondary position” has been changed to “a longitudinally spaced downhole position.”
Additionally, claim 15 has the phrase “element located uphole from the piston” that are not present in the parent application. This arrangement can be taught from Clemens.
The following is a chart of the rest of the claims that have double patenting. The substance of these is the same except for what has already been addressed when taken in combination as noted and with dependencies.
Application - 19261356
Patent - US 12371959 B2
1
1
2
1+2
3
1+3
4
1+3+4
5
1+3+5
6
1+3+6
7
1+3+7
8
1+8
9
1+9
10
1+15
11
14
12
14+17
13
14+17+18
14
14+19
15
20
16
14+20
17
14+20
18
14+20+21+23
19
14+20+21+23+24
20
14+20+21
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672