DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. US 20210018865 in view of Kato US 20200209786.
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image forming portion (PK/PC/PM/PY) (FIG. 2) configured to form a toner image on an image bearing member (40K/40C/40M/40Y) (FIG. 2);
a belt unit (11) (FIGs. 2 and 4) detachably mountable to a main assembly of the image forming apparatus and including an endless belt (12) (FIGs. 2 and 4) onto which the toner image is transferred from the image bearing member and a collected toner container (18) (FIGs. 2 and 4) which is provided in a region constituted by an inner peripheral surface of the belt and which is configured to accommodate toner collected in the main assembly [0030];
an acquiring portion (30/controller) (FIG. 9A) [0042] configured to acquire a value relating to a remaining lifetime of the collected toner container [0066 and 0070]; and
a processing portion (controller) [0042] configured to execute processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of an acquisition result by the acquiring portion [0086].
Matsumoto et al. discloses replacing the belt unit including the collected toner container due to component expiration [0047], but does not explicitly disclose an acquiring portion configured to acquire a value relating to a remaining lifetime of the belt or the processing portion executing processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of an acquisition result of the acquiring portion.
Kato discloses a belt unit (500) (FIG. 1) detachably mountable to a main assembly of the image forming apparatus [0027] and including an endless belt (8) (FIG. 1), an acquiring portion (300) (FIG. 1) configured to acquire a value relating to a remaining lifetime of the belt [0044], and a processing portion (300) (FIG. 1) configured to execute processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of an acquisition result by the acquiring portion [0044].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Matsumoto et al. to include the acquiring and processing portion as disclosed by Kato in order to ensure the endless belt is replaced before image defects occur [0044] (Kato).
When making such a modification, Matsumoto et al. in view of Kato teaches wherein the processing portion is configured to execute processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a first acquisition result by the first acquiring portion (when the endless belt is determined to be expired) and a second acquisition result by the second acquiring portion (when the collected toner container is determined to be full).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto et al. in view of Kato teaches:
wherein the processing portion executes the processing so as to notify the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a lower one of a remaining lifetime value indicated by the first acquisition result and a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result (when the endless belt expires and the collected toner container is not full or when the toner container is full and the endless belt is not expired).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto et al. in view of Kato teaches:
a display portion [0086] (Matsumoto et al.) (250) (FIG. 1) (Kato) configured to display information,
wherein the processing portion executes the processing so as to display the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit in the display portion [0086] (Matsumoto et al.) [0044] (Kato).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto et al. in view of Kato teaches:
wherein the processing portion executes the processing so as to display the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit in a device communicatably connected to the image forming apparatus [0086] (Matsumoto et al.) [0031-32] (Kato).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto et al. in view of Kato teaches an input portion (control panel) (Matsumoto et al.) (200) (FIG. 1) (Kato) configured to input an instruction to the processing portion, but does not explicitly teach wherein in response to the instruction inputted from the input portion, the processing portion executes the processing so as to notify the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result of the first and second acquisition results.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Matsumoto et al. in view of Kato to include wherein in response to the instruction inputted from the input portion, the processing portion executes the processing so as to notify the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result of the first and second acquisition results in order to allow the user to become aware of the amount of toner in the collected toner container. Displaying an amount of stored toner in response to a user input is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Matsumoto et al. discloses:
a cleaning device (19) (FIGs. 2 and 3) configured to remove the toner from the belt,
wherein the collected toner container accommodates the toner removed from the belt by the cleaning device [0030].
Regarding claim 8, Matsumoto et al. in view of Kato teaches:
a controller [0042] (Matsumoto et al.) configured to execute pieces of control different between a case where a remaining lifetime value indicated by the first acquisition result reaches a first value corresponding to a lifetime of the belt set in advance and a case where a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result reaches a second value corresponding to a lifetime of the collected toner container set in advance (the control is different when determining the endless belt is expired and when determining the collected toner container is full).
Claims 2 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. US 20210018865 in view of Okano US 20070140710.
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image forming portion (PK/PC/PM/PY) (FIG. 2) configured to form a toner image on an image bearing member (40K/40C/40M/40Y) (FIG. 2);
a belt unit (11) (FIGs. 2 and 4) detachably mountable to a main assembly of the image forming apparatus and including an endless belt (12) (FIGs. 2 and 4) for carrying and conveying a recording material onto which the toner image is transferred from the image bearing member [0106] (Claim 11) and a collected toner container (18) (FIGs. 2 and 4) which is provided in a region constituted by an inner peripheral surface of the belt and which is configured to accommodate toner collected in the main assembly [0030];
an acquiring portion (30/controller) (FIG. 9A) [0042] configured to acquire a value relating to a remaining lifetime of the collected toner container [0066 and 0070]; and
a processing portion (controller) [0042] configured to execute processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of an acquisition result by the acquiring portion [0086].
Matsumoto et al. discloses replacing the belt unit including the collected toner container due to component expiration [0047], but does not explicitly disclose an acquiring portion configured to acquire a value relating to a remaining lifetime of the belt or the processing portion executing processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of an acquisition result of the acquiring portion.
Okano discloses a belt unit (15) (FIG. 1) detachably mountable to a main assembly of the image forming apparatus [0090 and 0108-109] and including an endless belt (18) (FIG. 1), an acquiring portion (100) (FIG. 4) configured to acquire a value relating to a remaining lifetime of the belt [0109], and a processing portion (100) (FIG. 4) configured to execute processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of an acquisition result by the acquiring portion [0109].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Matsumoto et al. to include the acquiring and processing portion as disclosed by Okano in order to ensure the endless belt is replaced when expired [0109] (Okano).
When making such a modification, Matsumoto et al. in view of Okano teaches wherein the processing portion is configured to execute processing for notifying information on a remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a first acquisition result by the first acquiring portion (when the endless belt is determined to be expired) and a second acquisition result by the second acquiring portion (when the collected toner container is determined to be full).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumoto et al. in view of Okano teaches:
wherein the processing portion executes the processing so as to notify the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a lower one of a remaining lifetime value indicated by the first acquisition result and a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result (when the endless belt expires and the collected toner container is not full or when the toner container is full and the endless belt is not expired).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumoto et al. in view of Okano teaches:
a display portion [0086] (Matsumoto et al.) (80) (FIG. 4) (Okano) configured to display information,
wherein the processing portion executes the processing so as to display the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit in the display portion [0086] (Matsumoto et al.) [0109] (Okano).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumoto et al. in view of Okano teaches:
wherein the processing portion executes the processing so as to display the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit in a device communicatably connected to the image forming apparatus [0086] (Matsumoto et al.) [0101] (Okano).
Regarding claim 13, Matsumoto et al. in view of Okano teaches an input portion (control panel) (Matsumoto et al.) (Okano) configured to input an instruction to the processing portion, but does not explicitly teach wherein in response to the instruction inputted from the input portion, the processing portion executes the processing so as to notify the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result of the first and second acquisition results.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Matsumoto et al. in view of Okano to include wherein in response to the instruction inputted from the input portion, the processing portion executes the processing so as to notify the information on the remaining lifetime of the belt unit on the basis of a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result of the first and second acquisition results in order to allow the user to become aware of the amount of toner in the collected toner container. Displaying an amount of stored toner in response to a user input at a control panel is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Matsumoto et al. discloses:
a cleaning device (19) (FIGs. 2 and 3) configured to remove the toner from the belt,
wherein the collected toner container accommodates the toner removed from the belt by the cleaning device [0030].
Regarding claim 15, Matsumoto et al. in view of Okano teaches:
a controller [0042] (Matsumoto et al.) configured to execute pieces of control different between a case where a remaining lifetime value indicated by the first acquisition result reaches a first value corresponding to a lifetime of the belt set in advance and a case where a remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result reaches a second value corresponding to a lifetime of the collected toner container set in advance (the control is different when determining the endless belt is expired and when determining the collected toner container is full).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 9 and 16, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the recited “wherein the controller executes control so that formation of the toner image by the image forming portion is permitted without a condition that the belt unit is exchanged in the case where the remaining lifetime value indicated by the first acquisition result reaches the first value and so that the formation of the toner image by the image forming portion is permitted on condition that the belt unit is exchanged in the case where the remaining lifetime value indicated by the second acquisition result reaches the second value” along with the remaining claim limitations.
Conclusion
/THOMAS S GIAMPAOLO II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852