DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-26 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) SO as to prevent the
unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent
and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. See In re Goodman, 11
F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ
645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In
re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970);and, In re Thorington, 418 F.2d
528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory
double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to
be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of
activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. A terminal
disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be
used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will
determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled
out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all
requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more
information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp.
Claims 1-26 of the instant application are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over some claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,811,524.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 22, 25 and 26, claims 1-3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19 and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,811,524 contains every element of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 22, 25 and 26 of the instant application and as such anticipate claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 22, 25 and 26 of the instant application. Although the conflicting claims are
not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because modifications are
obvious.
As to the remaining claims 4, 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, 20, 21, 23, 24, they are also rejected under obvious type double patenting as stated in claims 1, 6, 12 and 22 above.
Art Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., US Pub. No.20150006248.
As to claim 1, Li discloses a method for managing user data associated with online platforms, comprising:
monitoring, with a user device, a plurality of interaction events occurring during
interactions with a plurality of online platforms by the user device, storing interaction information in memory of the user device, the interaction information including first entries of data, wherein each of the first entries indicates details of a respective one of the plurality of interaction events, the details including at least an event type for the respective interaction event and a time associated with the respective interaction event;
analyzing the first entries with the user device (using the account interest engine for taking input parameters individual interest scores of a plurality of users who interacted with one or more items of content and using comparison of various accounts' propensity to purchase the product or service at a particular time based on their account interest scores for the product or service, see abstract, fig.2, [0041] to [0042]);
calculating, with the user device based on the analyzing, at least one user interaction score indicative of an amount of verified interactions between a user of the user device and at least one of the plurality of online platforms and providing the at least one user interaction score to a first online platform for use in assessing trust in information provided by the user to the first online platform (identifying the account as a buying candidate based on determining that the account interest score for the product or service, see [0043] to [0046]).
As to claim 2, Li discloses permitting the user to control whether to provide the at least one user interaction score to the first online platform, receiving, with the user device, first user input indicating that the at least one user interaction score is to be provided to the first online platform and providing the at least one user interaction score to the first online platform based on the first user input (comparing with a buyer threshold score to
determine whether the buyer sentiment of the account is high and whether the account
has a high propensity to purchase the respective product or service, see [0046] to
[0047]).
As to claim 3, Li discloses permitting the user to control whether to provide at least one of the first entries to the first online platform, receiving, with the user device, first user input indicating that at least one of the first entries is to be provided to the first online platform and providing at least one of the first entries to the first online platform based on the first user input (identifying the account as a buying candidate based on
determining that the account interest score ranks in a pre-determined percentage of
account interest scores, see [0047]-[0048]).
As to claim 5, Li discloses reordering a previous purchase made by the user of the user device by: displaying to the user one of the first entries indicating a purchase of at least one item by the user, receiving, with the user device, second user input selecting the one of the first entries displayed to the user and providing, by the user device and without further input from the user, information from the first entry to the first online platform for requesting a purchase of the at least one item determine, using the
account data, the levels of purchasing influence of the first user and the second user for
the product or service within the account, see [0049] to [0050]).
Claims 17-19 and 21 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1-3 and 5 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Li as in above and in view of Lyon, US Pub. No.20100122316.
As to claims 4 and 20, Li Li does not specifically storing second entries of data in memory of the user device, each of the second entries of data including an instance of personally identifiable information, wherein at least one of the second entries includes a first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information generated on the user device, permitting the user of the user device to select which of the second entries to provide to the first online platform, receiving, with the user device, second user input for selecting which of the second entries to provide to the first online platform, the second user input indicating selection of the at least one of the second entries including the first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information and causing the user device to transmit the selected second entries from the user device to the first online platform, including the first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information. However, Lyon discloses storing second entries of data in memory of the user device, each of the second entries of data including an instance of personally identifiable information, wherein at least one of the second entries includes a first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information generated on the user device, permitting the user of the user device to select which of the second entries to provide to the first online platform, receiving, with the user device, second user input for selecting which of the second entries to provide to the first online platform, the second user input indicating selection of the at least one of the second entries including the first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information and causing the user device to transmit the selected second entries from the user device to the first online platform, including the first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information (upon enrollment the user, may receive a token, from the service provider or directly from the identity server for security logins, see [0035] and [0041]-[0042]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Lyon's teachings into the computer system of Li to provide user security access because it would have allowed multi-factor authentication logically and physically with as many tokens and devices and/or passwords or consolidated within one device (see Lyon's [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-16 and 22-26 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the cited prior art discloses or teaches a method for managing user data associated with online platforms comprising a combination of: selecting which of the first entries to provide to the first online platform, the first user input indicating selection of the at least one of the first entries including the first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information, causing the user device to transmit the selected first entries from the user device to the first online platform, including the first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information, monitoring a plurality of events occurring during interactions with the online platforms by the user device, storing interaction information in the memory of the user device, the interaction information including second entries of data, wherein each of the second entries indicates details of a respective one of the plurality of events, the details including at least an event type for the respective interaction event and a time associated with the respective interaction event, associating at the user device each of a plurality of the second entries with a respective one or more of the first entries, wherein at least one of the plurality of second entries is associated with the at least one of the first entries including the first tokenized instance of personally identifiable information and permitting the user to view the interaction information grouped according to the associating.
Conclusion
/KHANH Q DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458