Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 19 August 2026 have been fully considered.
No claim
has been amended; the claim listing filed 19 August 2026 is identical to the listing filed 16 April 2026.
Claims 1-3 and 8-14 remain under examination; claims 4-7 remain withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3, 8 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Kim et al (US 2022/0013072 A1) are persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose, with the specificity required for anticipation, the recitation of claim 1 that, in the first step, a voltage value of at least one of the sensing driving data voltage and the sensing driving reference voltage is set so that a difference between them corresponds to a threshold voltage of the driving transistor.
Kim discloses that the sensing data voltage VSD “may be any voltage higher than a reference voltage VREF” and may be “a 255-gray voltage, a 128-gray voltage, or the like” (Paragraph 74), and the saturation relationship relied upon in the prior action (Paragraph 68) describes the source voltage after the second node is floated rather than the setting of the sensing data voltage.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) was made expressly subject to the contingency that Kim be found to disclose this feature with insufficient specificity, and the alternative rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kim in view of Miwa was stated for that event.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 8 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the alternative rejection of claims 1-3, 8 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kim in view of Miwa et al (US 2016/0189623 A1) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
(a) that the rejection must identify where the claimed voltage-setting relationship is taught or suggested,
(b) that no reason supported by the references is given for modifying Kim to set the sensing driving data voltage and/or the sensing driving reference voltage so that their difference corresponds to the threshold voltage “in the manner and sequence required by claim 1”, and
(c) that Miwa does not cure the deficiency absent a teaching or reasoned basis for modifying Kim’s initialization operation.
Each point is addressed in turn.
Where the feature is taught.
Miwa discloses, in its updated threshold voltage sensing (FIGS. 10-11), that the data voltage applied to the gate node of the driving transistor for the sensing operation is itself formed from the previously sensed and stored threshold voltage: “a compensated data voltage Vdata1=Vdata1+Vth1, obtained by adding the initial threshold voltage Vth1 to the data voltage Vdata1 of the relevant subpixel, is applied to the first node NI of the driving transistor DRT in the relevant subpixel, and a reference voltage Vref is applied to the second node N2” (Paragraph 118).
The initial threshold voltage Vth1 is obtained by a prior sensing operation and saved in memory 760 (Paragraph 114);
Fig. 10 shows the gate voltage Vg=Vdata1+Vth1 supplied to the subpixel from the stored data compensation amount.
The second node is then floated and boosted (Paragraph 118), the saturated voltage is sensed (Paragraph 120), and the threshold voltage change ΔVth1 is obtained from the sensed voltage (Paragraph 122).
The difference between the sensing data voltage and the reference voltage at initialization is therefore set, before the second node is floated, as a function of the stored threshold voltage - that is, it is set so that it corresponds to the threshold voltage of the driving transistor. (Miwa’s Paragraph 118 writes the compensated voltage as Vdata1=Vdata1+Vth1; Paragraph 119, Paragraph 122 and Fig. 11 denote the same voltage Vdata2=Vdata1+Vth1.)
Claim construction.
Claim 1 recites that the difference corresponds to a threshold voltage of the driving transistor; it does not recite that the difference equals the threshold voltage, nor that the second node does not rise.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, a difference that is set from the stored threshold voltage and varies with it corresponds to that threshold voltage.
The instant specification uses the same language for a voltage that equals a difference - the saturated voltage V2 “may correspond to a difference Vdata-Vth between the data voltage Vdata and the threshold voltage Vth” (Specification Paragraph 80) - and
for a voltage that is merely a function of a characteristic - the sensing voltage Vsen “is a voltage which corresponds to the mobility of the driving transistor DRT” (Specification Paragraph 96).
The specification distinguishes the claimed first type sensing from conventional sensing by whether the initialization voltage difference is set from the stored threshold voltage information:
in the first type sensing the voltage difference Vgs1 “may be set to correspond to the threshold voltage Vth of the corresponding driving transistor DRT identified from the threshold voltage-related information stored in the memory” (Specification Paragraph 179),
whereas in the second type sensing the voltage difference Vgs2 “does not correspond to the threshold voltage Vth of the corresponding driving transistor DRT identified from the threshold voltage-related information stored in the memory” (Specification Paragraph 204).
Miwa sets the initialization difference from the stored threshold voltage Vth1 and thereby falls on the claimed side of the applicant’s own distinction.
The narrower reading applicant appears to urge - that the difference be substantially equal to the threshold voltage so that the second node rises only when the threshold voltage has shifted - is a feature of withdrawn claims 4-5 and is not recited in claim 1.
Reason to modify.
The reason to modify Kim is drawn from the references’ own teachings and is set out in paragraph 16 below.
In brief: Miwa teaches that sensing with a fixed data voltage “does not reflect changes in the unique characteristics of the transistor, such as the threshold voltage” (Paragraph 9),
that repeatedly sensing and compensating for the updated threshold voltage corrects the drift of the driving transistors “thereby further improving image quality” (Paragraph 10; see also Paragraph 125), and
that sensing the threshold voltage change with the threshold-voltage-compensated data voltage permits the data voltages to be supplied “in a range narrower than the predetermined gamma reference voltage range” when the threshold voltage is updated (Paragraph 15),
so that the change can be sensed “in more precise units” (Paragraph 11).
Kim already stores the threshold voltage of each driving transistor (Paragraph 66), already uses the threshold voltage “obtained by a previous sensing operation” in its own sensing computation (Paragraph 12),
already forms a data voltage by adding the stored threshold voltage to a voltage corresponding to the input image data (Paragraph 67), and
leaves the value of the sensing data voltage open – “any voltage higher than a reference voltage VREF” (Paragraph 74).
Applying Miwa’s threshold-voltage-compensated sensing data voltage to Kim’s sensing data voltage VSD is the use of a knwn technique to improve a similar device in the same way, with the predictable result that Kim’s real-time sensing measures the change in threshold voltage directly.
Manner and sequence.
The combination does not modify Kim’s initialization operation or its sequence;
it modifies only the value of the sensing data voltage VSD that Kim applies at the start of the sensing time.
Applicant acknowledges that Kim’s period TS-T3 is the counterpart of the claimed initialization (Remarks, page 7).
In that period Kim applies VSD to the gate and VREF to the sensing line, then floats the source at T3 and samples at T1 and T2 (Paragraphs 74-77; Fig. 6).
Substituting a threshold-voltage-compensated value for VSD leaves every step of that sequence in place.
Miwa’s own sequence is the claimed one: the compensated data voltage is formed from the stored threshold voltage, applied to the first node with the reference voltage on the second node, the second node is floated, and the saturated voltage is sensed (Paragraphs 118-120).
The voltage-setting relationship is thus established in the first step, in connection with initialization and before the second node is floated, exactly as claim 1 requires.
Applicant presents no separate argument for dependent claims 2, 3, 8 and 11-14, which are argued only by their dependence from claim 1, or for claims 9-10.
With the withdrawal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), the branch of the rejection of claims 9-10 over Kim in view of Uchino alone is withdrawn; the alternative rejection of claims 9-10 over Kim in view of Miwa and further in view of Uchino is maintained.
Accordingly, the rejections of claims 1-3, 8 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kim in view of Miwa, and of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kim in view of
Miwa and further in view of Uchino, are maintained and are restated in full below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2022/0013072 A1) in view of Miwa et al (US 2016/0189623 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method for driving a display device [e.g., Fig. 1: 100], comprising:
first step of setting a voltage value of at least one of
a sensing driving data voltage [e.g., Paragraph 64: the data driver 130 may provide the sensing data voltage VSD to the pixels PX in a selected pixel row in a vertical blank period of each frame period; Figs. 3, 6: VSD] and
a sensing driving reference voltage [e.g., Paragraph 65: The sensing circuit 140 may provide a reference voltage VREF to the selected pixel row on which a sensing operation is performed through the plurality of sensing lines SL; Fig. 3: VREF];
second step [e.g., Fig. 6: TS to T3] of, by
applying the sensing driving data voltage to a first node [e.g., Fig. 2: gate node of TDR, between TDR and TSW1] of a driving transistor [e.g., Fig. 2: TDR; Paragraph 74: the driving transistor TDR may have a gate voltage corresponding to the sensing data voltage VSD] and
applying the sensing driving reference voltage to a second node [e.g., Fig. 2: source node of TDR, between TDR and EL] of the driving transistor [e.g., Paragraph 74: the sensing circuit 140 may apply the reference voltage VREF to a plurality of sensing lines SL, and line capacitors CL of the plurality of sensing lines SL may be precharged to the reference voltage VREF; Paragraph 82: the threshold voltage parameter ɣ may be calculated by subtracting the reference voltage VREF (or Vs(0)) from the first source voltage Vs(T1); Paragraph 87: Vs(0) may be the source voltage of the driving transistor TDR before being increased, or the source voltage of the driving transistor TDR at the start time point TS or at the third time point T3], initializing the first node and the second node of the driving transistor;
third step [e.g., Fig. 6: T3 to T1 or T2] of,
by floating the second node of the driving transistor [e.g., Paragraph 75: the first switch 141 of the sensing circuit 140 may be turned off in response to the reference signal SREF having a low level, and the reference voltage VREF may not be applied to the sensing line SL; Fig. 6: SREF low at T3],
varying a voltage [e.g., Fig. 6: Vs rises from T3; Paragraph 76: a voltage of the sensing line SL may be gradually increased until the driving transistor TDR is turned off] of the second node of the driving transistor; and
fourth step [e.g., Fig. 6: T1, T2] of sampling a voltage [e.g., Fig. 6: Vs(T1), Vs(T2); Paragraph 77: the sensing circuit 140 may measure the first source voltage Vs(T1) of the driving transistor TDR at the first time point T1 by measuring the voltage of the sensing line SL at the first time point T1 of the sensing time ST] of the second node of the driving transistor
after a selected time period elapses [e.g., Paragraph 77: a time from the start time point TS of the sensing time ST to the first time point T1 may be, but not be limited to, about 200 microseconds (µs), and a time from the first time point T1 to the second time point T2 may be, but not be limited to, about 10 VIS’, Fig. 6: T1-T3, T2-T3]
from a time point [e.g., Fig. 6: T3] at which a voltage of the second node of the driving transistor is varied (e.g., see Paragraphs 54-118).
Kim further discloses that the threshold voltage of the driving transistor is obtained by sensing and stored [e.g., Paragraph 66: the characteristic parameter memory 150 may store the threshold voltage and the mobility parameter of the driving transistor TDR; Paragraph 12: Vth represents the threshold voltage of the driving transistor obtained by a previous sensing operation],
that the stored threshold voltage is added to a data voltage [e.g., Paragraph 67: the controller 160 may generate the output image data ODAT representing the data voltage VDAT where the threshold voltage stored in the characteristic parameter memory 150 is added to a voltage corresponding to the input image data IDAT], and
that the value of the sensing data voltage is not fixed [e.g., Paragraph 74: The sensing data voltage VSD may be any voltage higher than a reference voltage VREF; Paragraph 74: the sensing data voltage VSD may be, but not be limited to a 255-gray voltage, a 128-gray voltage, or the like].
Kim does not expressly disclose that, in the first step, a voltage value of at least one of the sensing driving data voltage and the sensing driving reference voltage is set so that a difference between the sensing driving data voltage and the sensing driving reference voltage corresponds to a threshold voltage of the driving transistor.
However, Miwa discloses, in a method for driving a display device [e.g., Fig. 1: 100] having the same sensing sequence –
initializing a first node and a second node of a driving transistor with a data voltage and a reference voltage, floating the second node, and sensing its voltage [e.g., Paragraph 90: the sensing operations in the sensing mode of the OLED display device 100 according to the exemplary embodiments include an initializing operation; Paragraph 91: a data voltage Vdata and a reference voltage Vref are applied to a first node NI and a second node N2 of a DRT in a relevant subpixel; Figs. 4-5: steps 1-3] –
that, in the first step, a voltage value of the sensing driving data voltage is set so that a difference between the sensing driving data voltage and the sensing driving reference voltage corresponds to a threshold voltage of the driving transistor [e.g., Paragraph 118: a compensated data voltage Vdata1=Vdata1+Vth1, obtained by adding the initial threshold voltage Vth1 to the data voltage Vdata1 of the relevant subpixel, is applied to the first node NI of the driving transistor DRT in the relevant subpixel, and a reference voltage Vref is applied to the second node N2; Paragraph 114: The timing controller 140 save the obtained initial threshold voltage Vth1 in the memory 760 as the data compensation amount ΔData (ΔVth1); Fig. 10: Vg=Vdata1+Vth1, memory 760; Fig. 11: Vdata2=Vdata1+Vth1, Vref],
the second node then being floated and its voltage varied [e.g., Paragraph 118: as the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT, i.e. the source node thereof, is floated, the voltage of the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT is boosted] and
sampled [e.g., Paragraph 120: a saturated voltage Vdata2-ΔVth1=(Vdata1+Vth1)-ΔVth1 of the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT is sensed]
so that the change in the threshold voltage is obtained directly [e.g., Paragraph 122: the threshold voltage change ΔVth1 is obtained by subtracting the compensated data voltage Vdata2=Vdata1+Vth1 from the saturated voltage; Fig. 12: curves 4 and 7] (e.g., see Paragraphs 88-125).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of corresponds to set out in paragraph 7 (“Claim construction”) above, a difference set as the stored threshold voltage plus the data voltage Vdata1, offset from and varying with that threshold voltage, is set so that it corresponds to the threshold voltage of the driving transistor. (Miwa’s Paragraph 118 writes the compensated voltage as Vdata1=Vdata1+Vth1; Paragraph 119, Paragraph 122 and Fig. 11 denote it Vdata2=Vdata1+Vth1.)
Kim and Miwa are analogous art, because they are from the shared inventive field of driving display devices, and both are directed to the same problem of sensing the threshold voltage of a driving transistor through its source node in order to compensate image data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set Kim’s sensing data voltage VSD as Miwa’s threshold-voltage-compensated data voltage –
that is, to form VSD by adding the threshold voltage stored in Kim’s characteristic parameter memory 150 to a data voltage, so that the difference between VSD and the reference voltage VREF corresponds to the stored threshold voltage –
because Miwa teaches that sensing with a fixed data voltage does not reflect changes in the threshold voltage of the driving transistor [e.g., Paragraph 9: this approach of compensating the unique characteristics of a transistor, such as a threshold voltage, does not reflect changes in the unique characteristics of the transistor, such as the threshold voltage],
that repeatedly sensing and compensating for the updated threshold voltage corrects the differences that develop between the driving transistors over time and thereby improves image quality [e.g., Paragraph 10: repeat the operation of sensing and compensating for an updated threshold voltage of a subpixel, and after the lapse of time, correct differences in the threshold voltage between the driving transistors based on changes in the threshold voltage of the driving transistors in order to reduce or remove the differences in the luminance between the subpixels, thereby further improving image quality; Paragraph 125: repeats the operation of sensing and compensating for the updated threshold voltage of a subpixel], and
that sensing with the compensated data voltage permits the threshold voltage change to be sensed over a narrower range and in finer units [e.g., Paragraph 15: supply the data voltages based on the gamma reference voltages in a range narrower than the predetermined gamma reference voltage range to the data lines when the threshold voltage is updated; Paragraph 11: sense a threshold voltage and changes in the threshold voltage in more precise units in the operation of sensing an initial threshold voltage and an updated threshold voltage in order to more completely compensate for the threshold voltage, thereby removing stains on the screen having low-grayscale luminance].
Kim is concerned with the same degradation over time [e.g., Paragraph 3: as the OLED display device operates over time, the plurality of pixels may be degraded, and the driving characteristics of the driving transistors may be degraded],
already stores the threshold voltage of each driving transistor and uses the previously sensed threshold voltage in its own sensing computation (Paragraphs 12, 66),
already adds the stored threshold voltage to a data voltage (Paragraph 67), and
leaves the value of the sensing data voltage open (Paragraph 74);
Kim’s prediction of the saturated source voltage takes the gate voltage as a parameter [e.g., Paragraph 87: Vg may represent the gate voltage of the driving transistor TDR, or the sensing data voltage VSD], so a threshold-voltage-compensated VSD changes the operand of Kim’s computation and not its sequence.
The modification is the use of a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way, yielding the predictable result that Kim’s real-time sensing within the vertical blank period measures the change in the threshold voltage directly.
See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007); Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined Miwa’s threshold-voltage-compensated sensing data voltage with Kim’s sensing data voltage VSD as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the first step to the fourth step is performed during a blank time period [e.g., Figs. 5-6: VBP; Paragraph 68: The vertical blank period of each frame period may include the sensing time in which the sensing circuit 140 performs the sensing operation on the selected pixel row] between active time periods [e.g., Fig. 5: AP] (e.g., see Paragraphs
71-81).
The same is true of the combination, which retains Kim’s timing.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses information on a threshold voltage of the driving transistor is generated by threshold voltage sensing driving performed before the first step is performed, and is stored in a memory [e.g., Fig. 1: 150;
Paragraph 12: Vth represents the threshold voltage of the driving transistor obtained by a previous sensing operation; Paragraph 66: the characteristic parameter memory 150 may store the threshold voltage and the mobility parameter of the driving transistor TDR] (e.g., see Paragraphs 66-67).
Miwa likewise discloses that the initial threshold voltage Vth1 used to set the sensing data voltage is generated by a prior threshold voltage sensing and stored in a memory [e.g., Paragraph 114: The timing controller 140 save the obtained initial threshold voltage Vth1 in the memory 760 as the data compensation amount ΔData (ΔVth1); Fig. 10: 760], and
in the combination the stored threshold voltage of the driving transistor is the value from which the sensing data voltage is set, for the reasons given for claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a subpixel [e.g., Fig. 2: PX] including:
the driving transistor [e.g., Fig. 2: TDR];
a scan transistor [e.g., Fig. 2: TSW1] connected between the first node and a data line [e.g., Fig. 2: DL; Paragraph 58: The first switching transistor TSW1 may couple the data line DL to the first electrode of the storage capacitor CST in response to the scan signal SC]; and
a sensing transistor [e.g., Fig. 2: TSW2] connected between the second node and a sensing driving reference voltage line [e.g., Fig. 2: SL; Paragraph 59: The second switching transistor TSW2 may couple the sensing line SL to the second electrode of the storage capacitor CST and a source of the driving transistor TDR in response to the sensing signal SS] (e.g., see Paragraphs 56-62).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the active time period is a period during which a voltage for image display is supplied to the first node [e.g., Paragraph 64: The data driver 130 may generate the data voltages VDAT based on output image data ODAT and a data control signal DCTRL received from the controller 160, and may provide the data voltages VDAT to the plurality of pixels PX in the active period of each frame period], and
the blank time period is a period during which a voltage for sensing a characteristic [e.g., threshold voltage; Paragraph 70: the sensing operation that senses the driving characteristic (e.g., the threshold voltage Vth and/or mobility) of the driving transistor TDR] of the driving transistor is supplied to the first node [e.g., Paragraph 64: the data driver 130 may provide the sensing data voltage VSD to the pixels PX in a selected pixel row in a vertical blank period of each frame period; Paragraph 74: the driving transistor TDR may have a gate voltage corresponding to the sensing data voltage VSD] (e.g., see Paragraphs 64-81).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the voltage sampled in the fourth step is converted into sensing data by a data driving circuit [e.g., Fig. 1: 143; Paragraph 65: the ADC 143 that converts the source voltage Vs received through the sensing line SL into a digital signal; Paragraph 65: the sensing circuit 140 may be included in the data driver 130] (e.g., see Paragraphs 63-69).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the sensing data is transmitted to a controller [e.g., Fig. 1: 160; Paragraph 77: the controller 160 may receive the first source voltage Vs(T1) in the form of the digital signal from the sensing circuit 140] (e.g., see Paragraphs 63-69).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the controller compensates image data [e.g., Fig. 1: IDAT] based on the sensing data [e.g., Paragraph 67: the controller 160 may generate the output image data ODAT by correcting the input image data IDAT based on the threshold voltage and the mobility parameter of the driving transistor TDR stored in the characteristic parameter memory 150] (e.g., see Paragraphs 63-69).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2022/0013072 A1) in view of Miwa et al (US 2016/0189623 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uchino et al (US 2009/0033652 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Miwa do not expressly disclose that a threshold voltage of the driving transistor is negatively shifted;
Miwa discloses that the threshold voltage changes with time [e.g., Paragraph 119: when the previously sensed threshold voltage Vth of The driving transistor DRT changes with the lapse of time] without specifying the direction of the change, and
Kim’s worked example is a threshold voltage that increases with degradation [e.g., Paragraph 98: the threshold voltage Vth is increased by about 0.4V].
However, Uchino discloses a display device whose pixels include a driving transistor [e.g., Fig. 3: TR2] and teaches that a threshold voltage of a thin film transistor is negatively shifted, decreasing with time, when the gate is held negative with respect to the source [e.g., Paragraph 32: when the gate voltage Vg is held as a negative voltage with respect to the source voltage Vs, the threshold voltage Vth decreases with time; Fig. 17: L3, L4].
Kim, Miwa and Uchino are analogous art, because they are from the shared inventive field of driving display devices, and Uchino is reasonably pertinent to the problem of threshold voltage variation of the driving transistor with which Kim and Miwa are concerned.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of Kim in view of Miwa to a driving transistor whose threshold voltage is negatively shifted as taught by Uchino,
so as to sense and compensate the threshold voltage change of a commonly available transistor type whose threshold voltage decreases with time and thereby prevent the resulting deterioration of image quality;
the method of Kim in view of Miwa senses the change in threshold voltage regardless of its direction (Miwa, Paragraph 119),
so applying it to a negatively shifted driving transistor yields the predictable result of sensing that shift.
See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007); Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined Uchino’s negatively shifted driving transistor with the method of Kim in view of Miwa as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Regarding claim 10, Uchino discloses a threshold voltage of the driving transistor at a first time point has a higher voltage level than a threshold voltage of the driving transistor at a second time point after the first time point [e.g., Paragraph 32: when the gate voltage Vg is held as a negative voltage with respect to the source voltage Vs, the threshold voltage Vth decreases with time; Fig. 17: L3 (initial state), L4 (after the variation with age)], for the same reasons given for claim 9.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 16 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to at least a nonelected species/invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 April 2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Jeff Piziali/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628
21 August 2026