DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on July 7, 2025. Claims 1-20 are
pending. Claims 1-20 represent COMMUNICATION METHOD, NETWORK DEVICE, AND TERMINAL DEVICE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen U.S. 20230038071 in view of Wang et al. U.S. 20250386228.
Shen teaches the invention substantially including Resource Configuration Method and Apparatus, Device, and Storage Medium (see abstract).
As to claim 1, Shen teaches a communication method performed by a terminal device or a chip in a terminal device, comprising:
determining a quantity of artificial intelligence (AI) resources needed for simultaneously running a first artificial intelligence AI model and a second AI model at a first moment, wherein the first AI model is used to determine a first report, and the second AI model is used to determine a second report (paragraph 58);
determining, based on a quantity of available AI resources at the first moment and the quantity of needed AI resources, that the first report is reported at a second moment (paragraph 85); and
reporting the first report at the second moment, and reporting the second report at a third moment after the second moment (paragraph 145); or
reporting the first report at the second moment, and skipping reporting the second report at the second moment (paragraph 145); or
reporting the first report and a third report at the second moment, wherein the third report is determined based on a non-AI model, and the third report is related to the second report (paragraph 145).
Shen teaches substantial features of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach first, second or third report.
However, Wang teaches methods, devices, and medium for communication. Wang teaches first, second or third report (paragraph 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Shen to include the teaching of “the first bean report and the second bean report” of Wang with the motivation being to allow the payload of the beam report may be reduced, thus save the uplink resource (abstract)
As to claim 2, Shen and Wang teach the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, based on the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment and the quantity of needed AI resources, that the first report is reported at the second moment comprises: determining, based on the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment and the quantity of needed AI resources, that the first report is reported at the second moment, and determining that the second report cannot be reported at the second moment (paragraph 145 of Shen).
As to claim 3, Shen and Wang teach the method according to claim 2, wherein when the terminal device reports the first report at the second moment, and reports the second report at the third moment after the second moment, determining that the second report cannot be reported at the second moment comprises: determining to report the second report at the third moment after the second moment (paragraph 85 of Shen).
As to claim 4, Shen and Wang teach the method according to claim 2, wherein when the terminal device reports the first report at the second moment, and skips reporting the second report at the second moment, determining that the second report cannot be reported at the second moment comprises: determining not to report the second report at the second moment (paragraph 85 of Shen).
As to claim 5, Shen and Wang teach the method according to claim 2, wherein when the terminal device reports the first report and the third report at the second moment, determining that the second report cannot be reported at the second moment comprises: determining to determine the third report at the first moment based on the non-AI model, and report the third report at the second moment (paragraph 76 of Wang).
As to claim 6, Shen and Wang teach the method according to claim 2, wherein determining, based on the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment and the quantity of needed AI resources, that the first report is reported at the second moment, and determining that the second report cannot be reported at the second moment comprises:
determining, based on the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment and the quantity of needed AI resources, that the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment is less than the quantity of needed AI resources, wherein the quantity of needed AI resources is a sum of a first quantity of AI resources needed for the first AI model and a second quantity of AI resources needed for the second AI model (paragraph 58);
determining that the first quantity of AI resources is less than the second quantity of AI resources, and allocating the first quantity of AI resources in the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment to the first AI model (paragraph 163); and
determining that the first report corresponding to the first AI model to which the first quantity of AI resources is allocated is reported at the second moment, and determining that the second report corresponding to the second AI model to which the second quantity of AI resources are not allocated cannot be reported at the second moment (paragraph 184).
As to claim 7, Shen and Wang teach the method according to claim 2, wherein determining, based on the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment and the quantity of needed AI resources, that the first report is reported at the second moment, and determining that the second report cannot be reported at the second moment comprises:
determining, based on the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment and the quantity of needed AI resources, that the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment is less than the quantity of needed AI resources, wherein the quantity of needed AI resources is a sum of a first quantity of AI resources needed for the first AI model and a second quantity of AI resources needed for the second AI model (paragraph 58);
determining that a priority of the first AI model is higher than a priority of the second AI model, and allocating the first quantity of AI resources in the quantity of available AI resources at the first moment to the first AI model (paragraph 163); and
determining that the first report corresponding to the first AI model to which the first quantity of AI resources is allocated is reported at the second moment, and determining that the second report corresponding to the second AI model to which the second quantity of AI resources are not allocated cannot be reported at the second moment (paragraph 184).
Claims 8-20 does not teach anything different from above rejected claims 1-7, therefore are rejected similarly.
Conclusion
/EL HADJI M SALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457