DETAILED ACTION
Per the 2019 (PEG) guidance, claim(s) 1-17 were reviewed for abstract idea. Claim(s) 1 can be streamlined to determine the subject matter eligibility, and the eligibility of the claims is “self-evident.”
This communication is responsive to Remarks filed on 08/28/2026. Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-17 were fully considered; however, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the limitation of claim 1, “receiving a response signal from each of the plurality of RFID tags, the response signal including information pertaining to the respective medical device, the information including an order of use in a medical procedure.” Applicant states, “DiSilestro fails to teach the medical instrument as transmitting an order of use information back to the controller. Instead, DiSilestro teaches the medical device as transmitting only, ‘a signal indicating that the medical device 10 is in use’ and later ‘a signal indicating that use of the medical instrument 10 has been completed.’… Nothing in the signal from the instrument conveys where that instrument falls in an order of use. The controller has already defined the order because the controller stores and executes the sequence.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The argued limitation is being rejected in view of the specification, “the system 200 can determine information about the procedure based on the removal and replacement of the medical devices 230 from the kit 232. For example, a catheter medical device 230A can be removed from the tray kit 232 and no longer provides a response signal 243 indicating to the console 110 that the catheter is being used and a time stamp can be applied to this event. When the catheter 230A has been finished with and replaced to the tray kit 232, the system 200 can detect the presence of the catheter 230A based on the resumption of the response signal 242A. In an embodiment, the order with which each medical device 230 is used can be logged and analyzed by the system 200.” See ¶ 0065, “Time stamps can be applied to these events and information about the procedure, order of use, start time, end time, duration of use, duration of each step, order of use, rate of use, combinations thereof, or the like, can be determined” See ¶ 0068. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification, “the response signal including information pertaining to … an order of use in a medical procedure,” that is analyzed by the system 200.
DiSilestro teaches, “[t]he controller may be configured to track a sequence of use and/or duration of use, of ones of the number of medical instruments used in the surgical procedure. The controller may be configured to save the sequence and/or use duration in a database.” See ¶ 0016. DiSilestro teaches, “FIG. 5 is a side elevational view of an operating room environment including another illustrative embodiment of a system for identifying appropriate sequences of medical instruments to be used in surgical procedures.” See ¶ 0024. DiSilestro teaches, “[t]he controller 94 of FIG. 5 includes conventional memory having stored therein one or more software programs defining a sequence of medical instruments to be used for a predefined surgical procedure. In one embodiment, the controller 94 is configured to receive images from the video camera 98, and to process the images to determine the number, type and placement of the various medical trays 1001-100J, as well as the contents of each. Based on the images, the controller 94 is then configured to determine coordinates of the various medical instruments contained in the trays 1001-100J … once the location of each tray 1001-100J is determined, the position of each medical instrument within each tray 1001-100J J can thus be ascertained from the stored medical instrument tray information. when the one or more software algorithms defining a sequence of medical instruments to be used for a predefine surgical procedure are executed, an initialization procedure is first executed to determine the coordinates, or other location information, of each medical instrument stored in each of the medical instrument storage trays 1001-100J.” See ¶ 0050. DiSilestro teaches, “if the communications controller 72 determines that the first medical instrument to be used during the predefined medical procedure is present within the network environment 70, the wireless transceiver circuit 30 broadcasts a message instructing the wireless transceiver circuit 30 associated with the first medical instrument to be used during the predefined procedure to activate the associated instrument identification electronic component, 16 or 361- 367, to thereby provide a visual guide for selecting the first medical instrument. When the first medical instrument is selected and used, a signal is broadcast by the wireless transceiver circuit 30 associated with the first medical instrument indicating that the first medical instrument is in use, as described hereinabove. The wireless transceiver circuit 30 of the communications controller 72 receives this signal and awaits a further signal indicating that the user is finished with the first medical instrument. This further signal is sent by the wireless transceiver circuit 30 associated with the first medical instrument when the user is finished with the first medical instrument, as described hereinabove. When this signal is received by the wireless communication circuit 30 of the communications controller 72, the communications controller 72 then determines whether a second medical instrument to be used in the predefined medical procedure.” See ¶ 0045. Therefore, DiSilestro teaches to “provide a visual guide for selecting the first medical instrument” See ¶ 0045, and “to be used in a particular surgical procedure by communicating with all medical instruments in the network space and sequentially identifying, and thereby controlling the order of use” See ¶ 0036.
Applicant further argues, “DiSilestro fails to teach an RFID tag as asserted… DiSilestro's wireless communication module cannot properly be considered an RFID tag… The active, battery-powered transceiver architecture of DiSilestro differs fundamentally from the reader-powered passive RFID architecture of Lindekugel and Yarin.” Applicant therefore concludes, “DiSilestro's self-powered broadcasting instruments onto the passive RFID architecture of Lindekugel/Yarin would require replacing the reader-powered passive tag with an active battery-powered node, a change in the basic principle under which the Lindekugel system was designed to operate.” According to this logic: Lindekugel and Yarin can only adopt teaching form “the reader-powered passive RFID architecture.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Even if, Lindekugel and Yarin only disclosed “reader-powered passive RFID architecture” and never mention the embodiment where RFID tag can be battery powered1, <<strictly arguendo>> that still would not change the principle operation of Lindekugel and Yarin. Regardless of the whether the RFID architecture is reader powered or battery powered, it would behoove Lindekugel and Yarin to incorporate the teaching of DiSilestro in an effort to provide a “computer assisted surgery system” See ¶ 0018; and to “provide a visual guide for selecting the first medical instrument” See ¶ 0045.
Applicant further argues, “the Office Action also fails to provide an articulated reason with some rational underpinning as to how one of ordinary skill would arrive at the claimed invention in view of the asserted art… DiSilestro’s wireless communication module cannot properly be considered an RFID tag.” Applicant further argues, “Applicant respectfully submits the Office Action fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. DiSilestro states, “FIG. 1, a perspective view of a medical instrument 10 is shown having a wireless communication module 12 mounted thereto. The wireless communications module 12 includes a wireless transceiver circuit 30, a battery 32, and an electronic instrument identification component 16, ” See ¶ 0030. DiSilestro teaches, “transceiver circuit capable of broadcasting information in the radio frequency range (e.g., 402-405 MHz or so-called MICS band) or other frequency range including, but not limited to, sub radio frequencies” See ¶ 0037. The elements 12, 30, 32, and 16 are well-known component of an RFID; therefore, it is Examiner’s position that DiSilestro medical instrument comprise wireless transceiver circuit 30 that operates in radio frequency range and has an instrument identification component 16, i.e. storage device for storing the unique ID associated with each instrument. One of ordinary skilled in the art would know that it is well known to use MICS band by RFID tags, and therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that “DiSilestro’s wireless communication module cannot properly be considered an RFID tag.” With respect to the prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Lindekugel-Yarin and have “software programs defining a sequence of medical instruments to be used for a predefined surgical procedure” See ¶ 0050, as suggested by DiSilestro in an effort to provide a “computer assisted surgery system” See ¶ 0018; and to “provide a visual guide for selecting the first medical instrument” See ¶ 0045, “to be used in a particular surgical procedure by communicating with all medical instruments in the network space and sequentially identifying, and thereby controlling the order of use” See ¶ 0036.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,354,738 B2 in view of over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), and further in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1). See Examiner’s analysis in the table below.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,354,738 B2 in view of over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), and further in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1), and further in view of Caputo (US 2014/0197954 A1). See Examiner’s analysis in the table below.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,354,738 B2 in view of over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), and further in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1), and further in view of White (US 2018/0082480 A1). See Examiner’s analysis in the table below.
Claim 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,354,738 B2 in view of over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), and further in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1), and further in view of Nycz, Jeffrey H. et al. (US 2006/0043179 A1). See Examiner’s analysis in the table below.
Claims 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,354,738 B2 in view of over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), and further in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1), and further in view of Newman, Jon B. et al. (US 2018/0116551 A1). See Examiner’s analysis in the table below.
Subject claim
Patented claim
1. A medical method, comprising:
providing an interrogation signal from a radio frequency identification (RFID) emitter communicatively coupled to a console,
the interrogation signal impinging on a plurality of RFID tags in
a medical device tray, each of the plurality of RFID tags associated with a respective medical device of a plurality of medical devices; and
receiving a response signal from each of the plurality of RFID tags, the response signal including information pertaining to the respective medical device, the information including an order of use in a medical procedure.
1. An RFID enabled medical device kit, comprising:
an RFID emitter communicatively coupled to a console and configured to provide an interrogation signal that can
impinge on each RFID tag to trigger a response signal,
a tray including a compartment configured to contain a plurality of medical devices;
an RFID tag associated with each medical device of the plurality of medical devices; and
the response signal configured to provide information to the console about each medical device, the information including an order with which each medical device of the plurality of medical devices is to be used for a procedure,
[[wherein the RFID emitter is disposed within a support surface configured to support the tray, the support surface including a table, a cart, a rolling stand, or a flexible membrane]].
2. The method according to claim 1,
wherein the RFID emitter is disposed within a surface configured to support the tray, the surface selected from the group consisting of a table, a cart, and a rolling stand.
Claim 1:
wherein the RFID emitter is disposed within a support surface configured to support the tray, the support surface including a table, a cart, a rolling stand, or a flexible membrane.
2. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the RFID emitter is disposed within the tray.
3. The method according to claim 2, further comprising a rigid or flexible membrane positioned between the tray and the surface.
Claim 1 in view of Lindekugel
4. The method according to claim 1,
further comprising providing a first interrogation signal from a first RFID emitter and a second interrogation signal from a second RFID emitter.
3. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the RFID emitter is configured to provide a first interrogation signal which can induce a first response signal from a first medical device and a second response signal from a second medical device.
5. The method according to claim 4, wherein
the first interrogation signal impinges on a first RFID tag associated with a first medical device of the plurality of medical devices to induce a first response signal, and
wherein the second interrogation signal impinges on a second medical device of the plurality of medical devices to induce a second response signal.
4. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein:
the RFID emitter is a first RFID emitter configured to provide a first interrogation signal to a first medical device of the plurality of medical devices, wherein the first interrogation signal can induce a first response signal from the RFID tag associated with the first medical device, and the RFID enabled medical device kit further includes:
a second RFID emitter configured to provide a second interrogation signal to a second medical device of the plurality of medical devices, wherein the second interrogation signal can induce a second response signal from the RFID tag associated with the second medical device.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the response signal is triggered when the RFID emitter is in a range of less than 1 cm.
5. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the RFID emitter is configured to trigger the response signal when the RFID tag is within a range of less than 1 cm.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of medical devices are selected from the group consisting of an indwelling device, a procedural device, a maintenance device, a personnel identification equipment, and combinations thereof.
6. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein each medical device can include one of an indwelling device, a procedural device, a packaging of each medical device, a maintenance device, or a personnel identification equipment.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device is selected from the group consisting of medical device identification, medical device specification information, personnel information, analytics information, compliance information, post-procedure and identification information, automatic device update information, and combinations thereof.
7. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the information provided to the console includes one of medical device identification, medical device specification information, personnel information, analytics information, compliance information, post-procedure and identification information, or automatic device update information.
9. The method according to claim 1, further comprising writing information from the RFID emitter to the plurality of RFID tags.
8. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the RFID emitter is configured to write information to the RFID tag.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes the order of use.
Claim 1: the response signal configured to provide information to the console about each medical device, the information including an order with which each medical device of the plurality of medical devices is to be used for a procedure,
10. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, further including … to
indicate the order with which each medical device of the plurality of medical devices is used.
11. The method according to claim 1, further comprising overlaying an image of the plurality of medical devices in the order of use of the medical procedure using an augmented reality viewer communicatively coupled to the console.
10. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, further including an augmented reality viewer communicatively coupled to the console and configured to provide an image overlay of the RFID enabled medical device kit to
indicate the order with which each medical device of the plurality of medical devices is used.
12. The method according to claim 1, further comprising logging the order of use and analyzing the order of use in conjunction with one or more regulations, standard operating procedures, or an information for use protocol.
11. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the console is configured to log the order, and analyze the order in conjunction with one or more of regulations, standard operating procedures, or an information for use protocol to ensure compliance therewith.
13. The method according to claim 1, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes a post-procedure accounting that the respective medical device is returned to the tray.
12. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the information includes a post-procedure accounting that one or more of the plurality of medical devices are returned to the tray.
14. The method according to claim 1, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes procedure information based on removal of the respective medical device from the tray and returning of the respective medical device to the tray.
13. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 1, wherein the information includes medical device procedure information based on removal of at least one of the plurality of medical devices from the RFID enabled medical device kit and replacement of the at least one of the plurality of medical devices to the RFID enabled medical device kit.
15. The method according to claim 14, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes a use period of the respective medical device between the removal and the returning.
14. The RFID enabled medical device kit according to claim 13, wherein the information includes a use period of the at least one of the plurality of medical devices between the removal and the replacement.
16. The method according to claim 1, further comprising calibrating the console to the plurality of medical devices via the RFID emitter and the plurality of RFID tags.
Claim 1 and further in view of Newman.
17. The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of medical devices includes a fiber optic stylet configured to map a vascular pathway.
Claim 1 and further in view of Newman.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), and further in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1).
Consider claim 1, Lindekugel teaches, a medical method, comprising:
providing an interrogation signal from a radio frequency identification (RFID) emitter (1560) communicatively coupled to a console (1120), Lindekugel teaches, “a magnetizing system for use in selectively magnetizing a needle (or other cannula or magnetizable component for insertion into a patient) of a medical device. Once magnetized, the needle can be tracked by a needle guidance system, which assists the clinician placing the needle by visualizing the position and orientation of the needle after its insertion into a body of a patient.” See ¶ 0002, Lindekugel teaches, “FIGS. 15 and 16 depict various aspects of a ultrasound-based guidance system (“system”), generally designated at 1110” See ¶ 0033, Lindekugel teaches, “[a] corresponding RFID reader 1560 can be positioned under the first portion 1504A of the magnetizer body receptacle 1504 (FIG. 9C) to read the RFID tag 1550 of the tray 1510 when it is positioned on the magnetizer body 1502. The RFID reader 1560 includes an interface, such as a USB interface 1564 to enable it to be powered by and operably connect with the system 1110 (see also FIG. 16). In this way, the guidance system 1110 (FIGS. 15, 16)—of which the magnetizer 1500 is a part in the present embodiment—can read the information encoded on the tray RFID tag 1550 to identify the insertion tool 10 and determine such characteristics as the size, length, type, material, etc. of the insertion tool or its needle 16 (including needle length, gauge, etc.) (or other medical device) disposed therein. This in turn enables the guidance system 1110 to configure itself for specific use with the insertion tool 10 and needle 16 corresponding to the information included on the RFID tag 1550.” See ¶ 0082
the interrogation signal impinging on a plurality of RFID tags (1550) in a medical device tray (1510), Lindekugel teaches, “an RFID tag 1550, or other mode of identification, can be attached to the tray 1510, such as is seen in FIGS. 9A-9C and 11A-11C.” See ¶ 0082, Lindekugel teaches, “the tray receptacle 1514 is sized to receive therein the insertion tool 10 (or other suitable medical device) in a predetermined orientation.” See ¶ 0069. Although this step is inherent for the RFID reader to read the RFID tag, nonetheless, in an analogous art, Yarin teaches, “Smart Tray is equipped with a reader that interrogates each respective electromagnetic tag to identify medicament(s) contained within each container.” See ¶ 0016. “each RF coil in the array 41 is configured to communicate with an electromagnetic tag attached to an object in the vicinity of the RF coil. Preferably, each RF coil serves as a ‘reader’ that can ‘interrogate’ an electromagnetic tag (or other identifier) to obtain information stored within the electromagnetic tag (or other identifier).” See ¶ 0046. “RFID tags typically contain circuitry that stores and transmits information about the item attached to the tag in cooperation with a compatible RFID reader/writer. Conventional RFID circuitry does not require a battery or an external energy source. However, a battery may be included. RF energy is typically transmitted by an RF reader specifically adapted to interact with the RF circuitry of an RFID tag. RFID tags are described in U.S. Pat. No. 5,528,222 which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety.” See ¶ 0048.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention of Lindekugel and transmit an interrogation signal that can RF energy to the RFID tag to trigger a response signal as suggested by Yarin, in an effort to read the identification data associated with the RFID tag, so the Lindekugel can properly configure itself.
each of the plurality of RFID tags associated with a respective medical device of a plurality of medical devices, Yarin teaches, “[a] Smart Tray is equipped with a reader that interrogates each respective electromagnetic tag to identify medicament(s) contained within each container.” See ¶ 0016, Yarin teaches, “[i]n the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 3, five medication containers 34 are disposed within five respective receptacles 32.” See ¶ 0050. Yarin teaches, each, “medication container 34 has an RFID tag 50 affixed to the bottom surface 34a” See ¶ 0049. Nonetheless, in an analogous art, DiSilestro teaches, “during a predefined surgical procedure may comprise a number of steps. For example, the method may include the step of displaying a first one of a number of medical instruments to be used in the predefined surgical procedure. Another step may be displaying a next one of the number of medical instruments to be used in the predefined surgical procedure when use of the previous one of the number of medical instruments is complete.” See ¶ 0009. DiSilestro states, “FIG. 1, a perspective view of a medical instrument 10 is shown having a wireless communication module 12 mounted thereto. The wireless communications module 12 includes a wireless transceiver circuit 30, a battery 32, and an electronic instrument identification component 16, ” See ¶ 0030. DiSilestro teaches, “transceiver circuit capable of broadcasting information in the radio frequency range (e.g., 402-405 MHz or so-called MICS band) or other frequency range including, but not limited to, sub radio frequencies” See ¶ 0037. The elements 12, 30, 32, and 16 are well-known component of an RFID; therefore, it is Examiner’s position that DiSilestro medical instrument comprise wireless transceiver circuit 30 that operates in radio frequency range and has an instrument identification component 16, i.e. storage device for storing the unique ID associated with each instrument. DiSilestro teaches, “FIG. 2, a top plan view of one embodiment of a medical instrument tray 20, including instrument identification electronic components 361-367 coupled to a wireless transceiver circuit 30 [claimed RFID tag, see elements 12, 30, 32, and 16 of Fig. 1], is shown. The medical instrument tray 20 defines a number of medical instrument storage receptacles 221-227, each sized and shaped to store a corresponding medical instrument 241-247 therein.” See ¶ 0032; and
receiving a response signal from each of the plurality of RFID tags, the response signal including information pertaining to the respective medical device, the information including an order of use in a medical procedure, DiSilestro teaches, “[t]he controller may be configured to track a sequence of use and/or duration of use, of ones of the number of medical instruments used in the surgical procedure. The controller may be configured to save the sequence and/or use duration in a database.” See ¶ 0016. DiSilestro teaches, “FIG. 5 is a side elevational view of an operating room environment including another illustrative embodiment of a system for identifying appropriate sequences of medical instruments to be used in surgical procedures.” See ¶ 0024. DiSilestro teaches, “[t]he controller 94 of FIG. 5 includes conventional memory having stored therein one or more software programs defining a sequence of medical instruments to be used for a predefined surgical procedure. In one embodiment, the controller 94 is configured to receive images from the video camera 98, and to process the images to determine the number, type and placement of the various medical trays 1001-100J, as well as the contents of each. Based on the images, the controller 94 is then configured to determine coordinates of the various medical instruments contained in the trays 1001-100J … once the location of each tray 1001-100J is determined, the position of each medical instrument within each tray 1001-100J J can thus be ascertained from the stored medical instrument tray information. when the one or more software algorithms defining a sequence of medical instruments to be used for a predefine surgical procedure are executed, an initialization procedure is first executed to determine the coordinates, or other location information, of each medical instrument stored in each of the medical instrument storage trays 1001-100J.” See ¶ 0050. DiSilestro teaches, “if the communications controller 72 determines that the first medical instrument to be used during the predefined medical procedure is present within the network environment 70, the wireless transceiver circuit 30 broadcasts a message instructing the wireless transceiver circuit 30 associated with the first medical instrument to be used during the predefined procedure to activate the associated instrument identification electronic component, 16 or 361- 367, to thereby provide a visual guide for selecting the first medical instrument. When the first medical instrument is selected and used, a signal is broadcast by the wireless transceiver circuit 30 associated with the first medical instrument indicating that the first medical instrument is in use, as described hereinabove. The wireless transceiver circuit 30 of the communications controller 72 receives this signal and awaits a further signal indicating that the user is finished with the first medical instrument. This further signal is sent by the wireless transceiver circuit 30 associated with the first medical instrument when the user is finished with the first medical instrument, as described hereinabove. When this signal is received by the wireless communication circuit 30 of the communications controller 72, the communications controller 72 then determines whether a second medical instrument to be used in the predefined medical procedure.” See ¶ 0045. Therefore, DiSilestro teaches to “provide a visual guide for selecting the first medical instrument” See ¶ 0045, and “to be used in a particular surgical procedure by communicating with all medical instruments in the network space and sequentially identifying, and thereby controlling the order of use” See ¶ 0036.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Lindekugel-Yarin and have “software programs defining a sequence of medical instruments to be used for a predefined surgical procedure” See ¶ 0050, as suggested by DiSilestro in an effort to provide a “computer assisted surgery system” See ¶ 0018; and to “provide a visual guide for selecting the first medical instrument” See ¶ 0045, “to be used in a particular surgical procedure by communicating with all medical instruments in the network space and sequentially identifying, and thereby controlling the order of use” See ¶ 0036.
Consider claim 3, the method according to claim 2, further comprising a rigid (“The tray 1510 in the present embodiment includes PETG, though other polyethylene, thermoplastic, or suitable materials can be employed.” See ¶ 0073) or flexible membrane positioned between the tray and the surface, Lindekugel teaches, “FIGS. 5-8C depict various details of a magnetizing system according to one embodiment, …the magnetizer includes a body 1502 that defines a receptacle 1504 below which a plurality of permanent magnets 1508 are linearly disposed in a multipole arrangement (FIG. 6B).” See 0068.
Consider claim 4, the method according to claim 1, further comprising providing a first interrogation signal from a first RFID emitter and a second interrogation signal from a second RFID emitter, Yarin teaches, “each RF coil within the array 41 is associated with (and is preferably positioned adjacent to) a respective receptacle 32. An RF coil in the array 41 is also associated with (and positioned adjacent to) the sensing surface 37. Each RF coil is configured to independently sense the presence of an object having an electromagnetic tag, such as a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag, secured thereto. For example, an RF coil associated with a particular receptacle 32 can sense the presence of an object having an electromagnetic tag disposed within the receptacle. It will also be understood that one RF coil can sense multiple RFID tags on one or more containers. As such, one RF coil may be utilized for more than one receptacle 32.” See ¶ 0045. Yarin teaches, “each RF coil in the array 41 is configured to communicate with an electromagnetic tag attached to an object in the vicinity of the RF coil. Preferably, each RF coil serves as a "reader" that can "interrogate" an electromagnetic tag (or other identifier) to obtain information stored within the electromagnetic tag (or other identifier).” See ¶ 0046.
Consider claim 5, the method according to claim 4, wherein the first interrogation signal impinges on a first RFID tag associated with a first medical device of the plurality of medical devices to induce a first response signal, and wherein the second interrogation signal impinges on a second medical device of the plurality of medical devices to induce a second response signal, See Yarin ¶ 0045, and 0046.
Consider claim 7, the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of medical devices are selected from the group consisting of an indwelling device, [a procedural device, a maintenance device, a personnel identification equipment, and combinations thereof,] Lindekugel teaches, “insertion tool 10 is used by a clinician to insert the catheter 42 into the venous system (or other location) of a patient so as to enable fluids, medicaments, etc. to be infused into and/or removed from the patient… the catheter 42 can include a catheter of a variety of lengths, including relatively shorter peripheral catheters, peripherally inserted central catheters, CVCs, etc. Also, other elongate medical devices can be employed … including solid and hollow needles and cannulae, blood-draw needles, biopsy needles, introducer needles, guidewires, stylets, tissue-penetrating medical components, etc. Further details regarding the insertion tool 10 and its operation can be found in U.S. Pat. No. 9,950,139, titled “Catheter Placement Device Including Guidewire and Catheter Control Elements,” which is incorporated by reference in its entirety into this application.” See ¶ 0032.
Consider claim 8, the method according to claim 1, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device is selected from the group consisting of medical device identification, medical device specification information, [personnel information, analytics information, compliance information, post-procedure and identification information, automatic device update information, and combinations thereof,] Lindekugel teaches, “RFID reader 1560 includes an interface, such as a USB interface 1564 to enable it to be powered by and operably connect with the system 1110 (see also FIG. 16). In this way, the guidance system 1110 (FIGS. 15, 16)—of which the magnetizer 1500 is a part in the present embodiment—can read the information encoded on the tray RFID tag 1550 to identify the insertion tool 10 and determine such characteristics as the size, length, type, material, etc. of the insertion tool or its needle 16 (including needle length, gauge, etc.) (or other medical device) disposed therein. This in turn enables the guidance system 1110 to configure itself for specific use with the insertion tool 10 and needle 16 corresponding to the information included on the RFID tag 1550.” See ¶ 0082.
Consider claim 12, the method according to claim 1, further comprising logging the order of use, DiSilestro teaches, “controller 94 of FIG. 5 includes conventional memory having stored therein one or more software programs defining a sequence of medical instruments to be used for a predefined surgical procedure.” See ¶ 0050 and analyzing the order of use in conjunction with one or more regulations, standard operating procedures, or an information for use protocol, DiSilestro teaches, “software that allows the system to track the order of instrument use during the surgical procedure, and to upload that information at the surgeon's command (e.g., after a quality control review) [i.e. claimed regulations, standard operating procedure, or protocol to ensure compliance] to a medical records database resident within, or accessible by, the system. This provides an automatic record of surgical instrument use order and use duration for each surgical procedure, and also provides a surgical instrument use template for future use by the surgeon.” See ¶ 0062.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1), and further in view of Caputo (US 2014/0197954 A1).
Consider claim 2, the method according to claim 1, wherein the RFID emitter (1560) is disposed within a surface (1502) configured to support the tray, Lindekugel teaches, “RFID reader 1560 can be positioned under the first portion 1504A of the magnetizer body receptacle 1504 (FIG. 9C) to read the RFID tag 1550 of the tray 1510 when it is positioned on the magnetizer body 1502.” See ¶ 0082 and Fig. 9C;
With respect to, the surface selected from the group consisting of a table, a cart, and a rolling stand, in an analogous art, Caputo teaches, “mobile dispensing cart having a plurality of locked drawers has medical articles stored therein for particular patients… An HCP (health care provider) for a particular patient obtains access to the drawers and opens a drawer. An RFID scanning system takes an inventory of the cart after the drawer is closed to determine if any medical article was taken, and if so which one.” See abstract. Caputo teaches, “FIGS. 3 and 4, the tracking system 50 is shown for identifying articles in an enclosure and comprises a transmitter 52 of EM energy as part of an RFID reader. The transmitter 52 has a particular frequency, such as 915 MHz, for transmitting EM energy into a drawer 20 by means of a transmitting antenna 54. The transmitter 52 is configured to transmit the necessary RFID EM energy and any necessary timing pulses and data into the enclosure 20 in which the RFID tags are disposed.” See ¶ 0068.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Lindekugel-Yarin and incorporate Lindekugel tray assembly in the RFID reader 344 of mobile dispensing cart as suggested by Caputo in an effort to keep track of expensive medical equipment in the facility.
Consider claim 6, the method according to claim 1, wherein the response signal is triggered when the RFID emitter is in a range of less than 1 cm, Caputo teaches, “Depending on the requirements of the RFID tag application, such as the physical size of the articles to be identified, their location, and the ability to reach them easily, tags may need to be read from a short distance or a long distance by an RFID reader. Such distances may vary from a few centimeters to ten or more meters.” See ¶ 0011. Caputo teaches, “the detection range of the RFID systems is typically limited by signal strength to short ranges, frequently less than about thirty centimeters for 13.56 MHz systems.” See ¶ 0014. Therefore, if the RFID reader can read within 30 centimeter of range it can read within less than 1 cm of range. Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. [A] modification of a process parameter may be patentable if it ‘produce[s] a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233.
Consider claim 9, the method according to claim 1, further comprising writing information from the RFID emitter to the plurality of RFID tags, Yarin teaches, “RFID tags typically contain circuitry that stores and transmits information about the item attached to the tag in cooperation with a compatible RFID reader/writer.” See ¶ 0048. Lindekugel does not explicitly discuss writing this information, in an analogous art, Caputo teaches, “the RFID tag may contain more information about the article to which it is attached, such as the name or identification of the article, its expiration date, its dose, the patient name, and other information. The RFID tag may also be writable so that it can be updated.” See ¶ 0062.
Consider claim 10, the method according to claim 9, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes the order of use, DiSilestro teaches, “[t]he LEDs 361- 367 are each electrically connected to the wireless transceiver circuit 30 via a multi-wire signal path 38 as illustrated in FIG. 2. The wireless transceiver circuit 30 is configured to activate and deactivate each of the LEDs 361- 367 in a known manner… additionally still, the wireless transceiver circuit 30 may be electrically connected to a number of instrument presence sensors 401-407 via a multi-wire signal path 42, with each sensor positioned within a different one of the medical instrument storage receptacles 221-227. Each of the number of instrument presence sensors 401-407 is configured to produce a signal indicative of the presence or absence of a corresponding one of the instruments 241-247 within a corresponding one of the medical instrument storage receptacles 221-227.” See ¶ 0033. DiSilestro teaches, “the network may thus proceed in the foregoing manner to manage the sequence of medical instruments to be used in a particular surgical procedure by communicating with all medical instruments in the network space and sequentially identifying, and thereby controlling the order of use of, appropriate ones of a number of medical instruments.” See ¶ 0036.
Consider claim 11, the method according to claim 1, further comprising overlaying an image of the plurality of medical devices in the order of use of the medical procedure using an augmented reality viewer communicatively coupled to the console, In an analogous art, White teaches, “[t]he surgical field 100 is illustrated in FIG. 1 including a surgeon 102, a patient 108, and may include a camera 112. The surgeon 102 is wearing an augmented reality (AR) device 104 which may be used to display a virtual object 110 to the surgeon 102.” See ¶ 0021. White teaches, “AR system may present virtual aspects that are fixed to a real object without regard to a perspective of a viewer or viewers of the AR system (e.g., the surgeon 102). For example, the virtual object 110 may exist in a room, visible to a viewer of the AR system within the room and not visible to a viewer of the AR system outside the room.” See ¶ 0022. White teaches, “a surgeon or surgical assistant may perform an inspection of the surgical procedure room. The case 205 may be open such that it is ready for when the surgical procedure is to begin. The surgical assistant, utilizing an AR device, may scan the identification component 215 on the case 205 in the surgical procedure room. By scanning the identification component 215, two actions may occur. First, a confirmation may be made that the case 205 is to be used for the surgical procedure. In an example, the AR device may alert the surgical assistant if any necessary cases are not scanned. Second, using the case identifier, an inventory of the items in the case 205 may be retrieved, such as from a database. The inventory may include three-dimensional representations of the contents and identifying information for the contents, such as the name of the intended patient, procedure information, or other patient related information. The surgical assistant may then be presented with a display on the AR device of the intended inventory of the case. The surgical assistant, viewing both the actual contents of the case and the virtual representations of the case contents on the AR headset display may inspect the case contents and confirm the intended case contents are physically present. The confirmation step for the surgical assistant may include inspecting an item for proper assembly. The system may recognize a surgical assistant inspection is occurring and provide the surgical assistant's AR device with a three-dimensional representation of the assembled item instead of the pieces or assembly instructions a previous operator may have had displayed.” See ¶ 0044.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Lindekugel-Yarin-DiSilestro and provide the surgeon an AR viewer that can provide the surgeon the assemble instruction of the components used in the surgical procedure; in an effort to make it easier for the surgeon to properly assemble the components and tools.
Claim 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1), and further in view of Nycz, Jeffrey H. et al. (US 2006/0043179 A1).
Consider claim 13, the method according to claim 1, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes a post-procedure accounting that the respective medical device is returned to the tray, Nycz teaches, “apparatus for automatically and wirelessly inventorying surgical instruments and the like, by retrieving information from the instrument… provide for real-time data collection resulting in fast data acquisition that speeds up the inventory updating of such instruments.” See ¶ 0010. Nycz teaches, “an instrument tray, (e.g., a "smart" instrument tray), including a plurality of medical and/or surgical instruments that optionally may be positioned in or on the tray, comprises one or more radio frequency identification tags (RFID Tags) that identify each instrument and the accompanying tray.” See ¶ 0013, Nycz teaches, “the RFID tags are interrogated by a combination of transceivers 315 and antenna 320, and in response to an interrogation signal, the RFID tags on the instruments respond by transmitting a signal back to the transceiver/antenna combination.” See ¶ 0027, Nycz teaches, “data then can be compared against a database 345 containing information about the contents of each smart instrument tray. If it is determined that an individual RFID tag belongs to the individual instrument tray, a signal can be transmitted to module 330 on the exterior of the smart instrument tray 310, where a green light emitting diode 335 is activated. On the other hand, if data from an RFID tag does not match the information in the database 345, a signal can be transmitted to activate red LED 340 signifying that the instrument belongs to another instrument tray or some other inconsistency. This automatic signaling allows faster processing of inbound instrument trays that are returned from the customers” See ¶ 0028.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Lindekugel-Yarin-DiSilestro and provide user feedback in regards to instruments returned from the customers, as suggested by Nycz, thereby allowing automatic signaling allows faster processing of inbound instrument.
Consider claim 14, the method according to claim 1, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes procedure information, See DiSilestro ¶ 0016, and 0024, based on removal of the respective medical device from the tray and returning of the respective medical device to the tray, See Nycz ¶ 0027 and 0028.
Consider claim 15, the method according to claim 14, wherein the information pertaining to the respective medical device includes a use period of the respective medical device between the removal and the returning, DiSilestro teaches, “[t]he controller may be configured to track a sequence of use and/or duration of use, of ones of the number of medical instruments used in the surgical procedure. The controller may be configured to save the sequence and/or use duration in a database.” See ¶ 0016. DiSilestro teaches, “FIG. 5 is a side elevational view of an operating room environment including another illustrative embodiment of a system for identifying appropriate sequences of medical instruments to be used in surgical procedures.” See ¶ 0024. See Nycz ¶ 0027 and 0028.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindekugel (US 2018/0310955 A1), in view of Yarin (US 2002/0027507 A1), in view of DiSilestro (US 2006/0142739 A1), and further in view of Newman, Jon B. et al. (US 2018/0116551 A1).
Consider claim 16, the method according to claim 1, further comprising calibrating the console to the plurality of medical devices via the RFID emitter and the plurality of RFID tags, in an analogous art, Newman teaches, “an integrated catheter placement system configured for accurately placing a catheter within the vasculature of a patient.” See ¶ 0002, “e system 1110 can be informed these and/or other pertinent parameters in various ways, including scanning by the system of a barcode included on or with the needle, the inclusion of a radiofrequency identification (“RFID”) chip with the needle for scanning by the system, color coding of the needle, manual entry of the parameters by the clinician into the system, etc. For instance, an RFID chip 1354 is included on the needle 1200 shown in FIG. 33A. The probe 1140 or other component of the system 1110 can include an RFID reader to read the information included on the RFID chip 1354, such as the type or length of the needle 1200, etc.” See ¶ 0166, Newman teaches, “[a] calibration of the system 1110 is then initiated, in which algorithms are executed by the processor 1122 of the console 1120 to determine a baseline for any ambient magnetic fields in the vicinity of where the procedure will be performed. The system 1110 is also informed of the total length of the needle 1200, and/or position of the magnetic element with respect to the distal needle tip such as by user input, automatic detection, or in another suitable manner, as has been discussed above.” See ¶ 0168.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Lindekugel-Yarin-DiSilestro and allowing the user to calibrating the console, as suggested by Newman, thereby allowing to determine a baseline for any ambient magnetic fields in the vicinity of where the procedure will be performed and caliberating the total length of the needle 1200, and/or position of the magnetic element with respect to the distal needle tip such as by user input, automatic detection.
Consider claim 17, the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of medical devices includes a fiber optic stylet configured to map a vascular pathway, Newman teaches, a fiber optic stylet, “the TLS utilizes a stylet to enable the distal end of the catheter 72 to be tracked during its advancement through the vasculature. FIG. 5 gives an example of such a stylet 100, which includes a proximal end 100A and a distal end 100B. A handle is included at the stylet proximal end 100A, with a core wire 104 extending distally therefrom.” See ¶ 0097. Newman teaches, “suitable sensors and gauges can optionally be used for measuring needle/stylet bending, including a flex sensor 1420, as shown in FIG. 40 for instance, and capacitance and fiber optic-based strain gauges/sensors.” See ¶ 0196. Newman teaches, “the TLS sensor 50 is configured to detect the magnetic field of the magnetic elements 144 as the stylet advances with the catheter 72 through the patient vasculature. In this way, a clinician placing the catheter 72 is able to generally determine the location of the catheter distal end 76A within the patient vasculature and detect when catheter malposition is occurring, such as advancement of the catheter along an undesired vein, for instance.” See ¶ 0115. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the prior art that a fiber optic stylet configured to map a vascular pathway. Whether the plurality of medical devices includes a fiber optic stylet or any other medical device have nothing to do with the invention of claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Omer S Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686
1 “a battery may be included. RF energy is typically transmitted by an RF reader specifically adapted to interact with the RF circuitry of an RFID tag.” Yarin ¶ 0048