Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the cage, when the baffle is against the backstop, comprises a plurality of air pathways defining a cross-sectional area that is substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the air hole” of Claim 12 and “wherein the cage defines a depth of between about four times and about ten times a thickness of the baffle.” of Claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a means for removably attaching the cage to the mouth insert” in Claim 2.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Claim 3: “means comprises a groove defined about a perimeter of the second end and a ridge defined about a perimeter of a proximal end of the cage.”.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means to removably engage a mouthpiece” in Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation " the removable attachment means" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that the “the removable attachment means” should be --the means for removably attaching the cage to the mouth insert--.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the mouthpiece engagement means" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that the “the mouthpiece engagement means” should be --the means to removably engage a mouthpiece--.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12,350,551. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the instant application is more broad than Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12,350,551.
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,350,551
Difference
1.A one-way breath training device, comprising:a mouth insert having an air hole defined through the mouth insert from a first end to a second end, wherein the first end is configured to engage a person's mouth and the second end defines an impact surface;a cage attached to the second end and configured for the passage of air, the cage having at least one guiding track and a backstop; anda baffle housed within the cage and movable between the backstop and the impact surface.
1. A one-way breath training device, comprising: a mouth insert having an air hole defined through the mouth insert from a first end to a second end, wherein the first end is configured to engage a person's mouth and the second end defines an impact surface; a cage attached to the second end and configured for the passage of air, the cage having at least one guiding track and a backstop; and a baffle housed within the cage and movable between the backstop and the impact surface, wherein the baffle is configured to completely block air passage through the air hole when the baffle is positioned against the impact surface.
wherein the baffle is configured to completely block air passage through the air hole when the baffle is positioned against the impact surface.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No.12,350,551. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boutros (US 20190046757 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Boutros teaches a one-way breath training device, comprising: a mouth insert 20 having an air hole 27 defined through the mouth insert from a first end to a second end, wherein the first end 28 is configured to engage a person's mouth and the second end defines an impact surface 26; a cage 50 attached to the second end and configured for the passage of air, the cage having at least one guiding track 54 and a backstop 55 (Refer to Fig. 4C Paragraph [0043]:” The end shield 54 may be configured as a grill or grate having one or more support members 55 arranged in a crisscross pattern. As will be described in more detail later, the support member 55 are configured to act as a “stop” or barrier against which upper and lower sections of the resistance member 30 will bear against when resisting exhaled air.”); and a baffle 30 housed within the cage 50 and movable between the backstop 55 and the impact surface 26 (Refer to Fig. 4b to depict the baffle movement between the backstop 55 and the impact surface 26”)
Regarding Claim 2, Boutros continues to teach wherein the second end further comprises a means 58 for removably attaching the cage 50 to the mouth insert 20 (Refer to Figs. 4C,D Pargraph [0042] The vent member 50 may have a mounting portion 51 having a diameter slightly smaller than a diameter of the central orifice 27 of the external portion 26 of the mouthpiece 20 so as to be slidably received therein in a tight friction fit arrangement. More particularly, the vent member 50 may include a shape configuration complementary to that of the external portion 26 for coupling in a snap-fit arrangement (FIG. 4c).”)
Regarding Claim 3, Boutros continues to teach wherein the removable attachment means comprises a groove defined about a perimeter of the second end and a ridge defined about a perimeter of a proximal end of the cage, wherein the groove is configured to receive the ridge (Refer to annotated Fig. 4c below).
Regarding Claim 6, Boutros continues to teach wherein the at least one guiding track comprises a plurality of guiding tracks 54 (Refer to Paragraph [0043]:” The end shield 54 may be configured as a grill or grate having one or more support members 55 arranged in a crisscross pattern”..The Office takes the position that the tracks are formed by the walls of the support in so much as Applicant has shown).
Regarding Claim 10, Boutros continues to teach wherein the baffle 30 comprises a free- floating disc having rounded edges (Refer to FIGS. 2 & 4c..The Office takes the position that the edges are round and free floating to allow flexion).
Regarding Claim 11, Boutros continues to teach wherein the baffle 30 comprises a substantially oval-shaped disc (Refer to Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 13, Boutros continues to teach wherein normal inspiration causes a pressure differential in the air hole sufficient to move the baffle 30 (Refer to Fig. 4c Paragraph [0045]:” More particularly, the upper and lower sections are constructed so as to bow inwardly in the direction of the mouthpiece 20 when air is inhaled such that inhaled air passes over and under the upper section 34 and lower section 36 without resistance (FIG. 4c).”).
Regarding Claim 14, Boutros continues to teach wherein the baffle 30 moves against the impact surface 26 and covers the air hole when a negative pressure differential is created by air being sucked through the air hole 27 (Refer to Fig. 4d Paragraph [0047]:” However, in the preferred embodiment, the resistance member 30 is positioned adjacent the support members 55 such that exhaled air urges the upper section 34 and lower section 36 to a planar configuration that bears against and blocks the open end of the vent member 50 (FIG. 4d). At this configuration, the resistance member 30 establishes an airtight seal within the vent member 50 such that exhaled air is blocked—unless another opening is provided.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Boutros continues to teach further comprising at least one opening defined through the backstop to allow air to enter the cage 50 (Refer to Figs. 7&8a to depict the openings between the supports 54,55) .
Regarding Claim 19, Boutros continues to teach wherein the mouth insert 20 further comprising an elongated portion connecting the first end to the second end, wherein the air hole 27 extends through the elongated portion from the first end to the second end (Refer to Figs. 5&6 to depict that the entire body is considered the elongated portion).
Regarding Claim 20, Boutros continues to teach wherein the elongated portion is sized to accommodate a user's lips circumvolving the first end (Refer to Paragraph [0040]:” The mouth shield 28 may have a generally hemispherical shape configuration and be both configured and positioned to press against the lips and cheeks of the patient when the intraoral portion 21 is taken into the patient's mouth.”).
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liardet (US 5018517).
Regarding Claim 1, Liardet teaches a one-way breath training device, comprising: a mouth insert 2 having an air hole 4 defined through the mouth insert from a first end to a second end, wherein the first end 2 is configured to engage a person's mouth and the second end defines an impact surface 5; a cage 9 attached to the second end 3 and configured for the passage of air, the cage having at least one guiding track and a backstop (Refer to annotated Fig. 1 below Col 2 Lines 4-28:” As shown in FIG. 1, the apparatus comprises a first element in the form of a bent cylindrical tube 1, open at its two ends, comprising a first rectilinear tubular part 2 intended to be held in a horizontal position and a second tubular part 3 which is inclined upwardly relatively to the first part. The first tubular part 2 comprises an air inlet orifice 4, into which the patient is able to expirate. A conical element 5, of which the walls have the form of a truncated right cone of revolution, is disposed within the second tubular part 3, so that its end of larger diameter 7 is located at the level of the end of the second tubular part 3, the end of smaller diameter 6 of the conical element being disposed within the tubular element. A ball 8, having a diameter which is larger than the smallest diameter 6 of the conical element is simply positioned against the internal wall of the conical element and completely obstructs the passage formed by the conical element, before the patient breathes out. The apparatus also comprises a cover 9, which is disposed at the end of the second tubular part 3 and has for its purpose to prevent the ball 8 from becoming loose. In order to permit the air which is expired to escape from the apparatus, the cover comprises one or more openings 10 which are shaped so as to prevent the passing through of the ball.”); and a baffle 8 housed within the cage 9 and movable between the backstop and the impact surface 5.
Regarding Claim 12, Liardet continues to teach wherein the cage, when the baffle is against the backstop, comprises a plurality of air pathways defining a cross-sectional area that is substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the air hole (Refer to annotated Fig. 1 below as interpreted).
Regarding Claim 16, Liardet continues to teach wherein the baffle 8 is configured to completely block air passage through the air hole 4 when the baffle is positioned against the impact surface 5 (Col 2 Lines 4-28:” A ball 8, having a diameter which is larger than the smallest diameter 6 of the conical element is simply positioned against the internal wall of the conical element and completely obstructs the passage formed by the conical element, before the patient breathes out”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutros (US 20190046757 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Boutros teaches the claimed invention as noted above but fails to teach wherein the cage defines a depth of between about four times and about ten times a thickness of the baffle. The Office takes the position that Applicant does not provide criticality to the case depth being between about four times and about ten times a thickness of the baffle, and further does not appear to show such dimensions in the drawings and therefore such dimensions appear to be a matter of obvious design choice lacking criticality and therefore does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts such as Boutros. Refer to MPEP 2144.04 IV. CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutros (US 20190046757 A1) in view of Mueller (US 20220040555A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Boutros teaches the claimed invention as noted above but fails to teach wherein the first end further comprises a means to removably engage a mouthpiece. Mueller teaches a respiratory exercise device comprising a mouthpiece 126 which is removable from the main body 132,134 (Refer to Fig. 27..the Office takes the position that the means of Mueller performs the same function as the means and is therefore considered equivalent). Mueller is from the same field of endeavor as Applicants invention and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the first end to comprise a means to removably engage a mouthpiece for the purpose of allowing the mouthpiece to be replaced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Boutros, Lairdet, and Martucci (US 20120000472 A1) are the closest prior arts to the claimed invention but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole comprising a mouth insert having an air hole defined through the mouth insert from a first end to a second end, wherein the first end is configured to engage a person's mouth and the second end defines an impact surface; a cage attached to the second end and configured for the passage of air, the cage having at least one guiding track and a backstop; and a baffle housed within the cage and movable between the backstop and the impact surface; wherein the first end further comprises a means to removably engage a mouthpiece, wherein the mouthpiece engagement means comprises a retaining ring formed at a proximal end of the first end, the retaining ring configured to frictionally engage an inner surface of an opening defined through the mouthpiece; wherein the at least one guiding track comprises a plurality of guiding tracks, wherein each of the guiding tracks defines a curvature extending from a distal end of the cage to a proximal end of the cage; wherein the cage, when the baffle is against the backstop.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attach list of references cited for prior arts pertinent to claimed and unclaimed subject matter.
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784