Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US PGPUB 20160048288 hereinafter referenced as Lee in view of Flynt et al., US PGPUB 20100293056 hereinafter referenced as Flynt and Zaman et al., US PGPUB hereinafter referenced as Zaman.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a method for providing control functionality of a display of an electronic device, the method comprising: determining, by the electronic device, an event associated with the display of the electronic device (e.g., [0103] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a designating mechanism of a segmentation area),
the electronic device comprising a front and a rear side (e.g., touchpads 124 and 125 respectively, fig. 1A);
partitioning, by the electronic device, a rear side of the electronic device into a plurality of dynamic tiles based on a plurality of parameters associated with the display of the electronic device, in response to determining the event (e.g., determining segmentation areas A, B, C and D, fig. 5);
detecting, by the electronic device, at least one gesture on at least one dynamic tile of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side of the electronic device ([0111] When holding the mobile terminal 100, the user moves the index finger (or another finger) and selects a segmentation area);
classifying, by the electronic device, the at least one gesture into a gesture category ([0128] The types of touch inputs may include at least one of tap input for touching the segmentation area one time, touch and drag input for moving slidingly to the segmentation area from the basic input point and long touch input for keeping a segmentation area touching state for a preset time period);
determining, by the electronic device, at least one functionality to be performed on the display based on the at least one gesture on the rear side of the electronic device and the gesture category; and controlling, by the electronic device, the at least one functionality on the display of the electronic device (e.g., [0114] when the user selects a left segmentation (C) by moving the finger 1, a call conversation is recorded as shown in FIG. 7C. When the right segmentation area (D) is selected, the recording is ended as shown in FIG. 7D and the recorded file is stored).
Lee does not explicitly disclose, partitioning the electronic device into a plurality of dynamic tiles.
However, in the same endeavor, Flynt discloses partitioning the electronic device into a plurality of dynamic tiles ([0007] The user interface can include a set of dynamic tiles. The tiles can include graphics, text or any other visual data. A number of tiles can be displayed using thumbnail views that provide minimal data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Lee to further include Flynt’s dynamic tiles arrangement, in order to improve the device functionality with intention of the mobile terminal to support more complicated functions.
The combination of Lee and Flynt does not specifically disclose a size of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side is based on a location or a number of interface components of the display on the front side.
However, in the same endeavor, Zaman discloses a size of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side is based on a location or a number of interface components of the display on the front side ([0082] Block 1106 determines that a number of the subset or a fraction of the subset relative to the set exceeds a threshold. This threshold can be pre-determined, such as when set by a user or by default. It may also be determined (during or prior to method 1100), such as by interface manager 210 based on a number of tiles viewable on display 206, the size of interface 220, the size of the tiles themselves, as well as types of indications, whether they be a small, simple indication or a complex animation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Lee and Flynt to further include Zaman’s tile size arrangement, in order to improve the device functionality with intention of the mobile terminal to support more complicated functions.
As to claim 13, Lee discloses an electronic device for providing control functionality of a display, the electronic device comprising: a memory (e.g., memory 170, fig. 1A);
a processor coupled to the memory (e.g., controller 180, fig. 1A);
a communicator coupled to the memory and the processor (e.g., wireless communication unit 110 , fig. 1A);
a touch management controller coupled to the memory, the processor, and the communicator (e.g., input unit 120, fig. 1A),
the touch management controller being configured to: determine an event associated with the display of the electronic device (e.g., user input unit 123, fig. 1A),
the electronic device comprising a front and a rear side (e.g., touchpads 124 and 125 respectively, fig. 1A);
partition a rear side of the electronic device into plurality of dynamic tiles based on a plurality of parameters associated with the display of the electronic device, in response to determining the event (e.g., determining segmentation areas A, B, C and D);
detect at least one gesture on at least one dynamic tile of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side of the electronic device ([0111] When holding the mobile terminal 100, the user moves the index finger (or another finger) and selects a segmentation area);
classify the at least one gesture into a gesture category ([0128] The types of touch inputs may include at least one of tap input for touching the segmentation area one time, touch and drag input for moving slidingly to the segmentation area from the basic input point and long touch input for keeping a segmentation area touching state for a preset time period);
determine at least one functionality to be performed on the display based on the at least one gesture on the rear side of the electronic device and the gesture category; and control the at least one functionality on the display of the electronic device (e.g., [0114] when the user selects a left segmentation (C) by moving the finger 1, a call conversation is recorded as shown in FIG. 7C. When the right segmentation area (D) is selected, the recording is ended as shown in FIG. 7D and the recorded file is stored).
Lee does not explicitly disclose, partitioning the electronic device into a plurality of dynamic tiles.
However, in the same endeavor, Flynt discloses partitioning the electronic device into a plurality of dynamic tiles ([0007] The user interface can include a set of dynamic tiles. The tiles can include graphics, text or any other visual data. A number of tiles can be displayed using thumbnail views that provide minimal data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Lee to further include Flynt’s dynamic tiles arrangement, in order to improve the device functionality with intention of the mobile terminal to support more complicated functions.
The combination of Lee and Flynt does not specifically disclose a size of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side is based on a location or a number of interface components of the display on the front side.
However, in the same endeavor, Zaman discloses a size of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side is based on a location or a number of interface components of the display on the front side ([0082] Block 1106 determines that a number of the subset or a fraction of the subset relative to the set exceeds a threshold. This threshold can be pre-determined, such as when set by a user or by default. It may also be determined (during or prior to method 1100), such as by interface manager 210 based on a number of tiles viewable on display 206, the size of interface 220, the size of the tiles themselves, as well as types of indications, whether they be a small, simple indication or a complex animation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Lee and Flynt to further include Zaman’s tile size arrangement, in order to improve the device functionality with intention of the mobile terminal to support more complicated functions.
As to claim 2, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. The combination further discloses the event associated the display of the electronic device comprises at least one of a non-responsiveness of the display of the electronic device and a reduction in user experience during interaction with the display of the electronic device ([0018] When a locked state where a function of the mobile terminal is limited, the basic input may be the touch input initially input to the first touch pad or the second touch pad).
As to claim 3, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. The combination further discloses the plurality of parameters associated with the display of the electronic device comprises at least one of an aspect ratio of the electronic device, a user touch area, or a sensor location and proximity of at least one actionable element with respect to other actionable elements on the display of the electronic device (Lee, [0110] A color or size of the icon (A) corresponding to the selected segmentation area (A) may be differentiated from the other icons to be distinguishably displayed).
As to claim 4, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 2. The combination further discloses the non-responsiveness of the display of the electronic device is detected based on one of a capacitance change of the display, a temperature of the electronic device, or a ghost touch on the display of the electronic device (Lee, [0110] A color or size of the icon (A) corresponding to the selected segmentation area (A) may be differentiated from the other icons to be distinguishably displayed).
As to claim 5, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 2. The combination further discloses the reduction in the user experience during interaction with the display of the electronic device is determined based on at least one of a size of the display, a number of actionable elements on the display. and a distribution pattern of the number of the actionable elements on the display (Lee, [0128] The types of touch inputs may include at least one of tap input for touching the segmentation area one time, touch and drag input for moving slidingly to the segmentation area from the basic input point and long touch input for keeping a segmentation area touching state for a preset time period).
As to claim 6, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. The combination further discloses the gesture category comprises one of a single tap, a double tap, a long tap, a triple tap, a scroll with a single finger, a scroll with double fingers, and a horizontal swipe (Lee, [0128] The types of touch inputs may include at least one of tap input for touching the segmentation area one time, touch and drag input for moving slidingly to the segmentation area from the basic input point and long touch input for keeping a segmentation area touching state for a preset time period).
As to claim 7, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. The combination further discloses partitioning, by the electronic device, the rear side of the electronic device into the plurality of dynamic tiles based on the plurality of parameters associated with the display of the electronic device, in response to determining the event comprises: dividing, by the electronic device, the rear side of the electronic device into the plurality of dynamic tiles based on an aspect ratio of the electronic device; dividing, by the electronic device, a front side of the electronic device into a first set of blocks based on pixel coordinates, wherein each block of the first set of blocks comprises a block area; determining, by the electronic device, a touch area of a user on the display of the electronic device; determining, by the electronic device, that the touch area on the display is greater than the block area of each block of the first set of blocks; merging, by the electronic device, at least two blocks of the first set of blocks to form a second set of blocks based on one of the touch area and a position of actionable elements on the front side of the electronic device; determining, by the electronic device, a pattern of sensor features and coordinate values of each of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side of the electronic device; mapping, by the electronic device, the coordinate values of each of the plurality of dynamic tiles on the rear side of the electronic device to corresponding ones of the second set of block son the front side of the electronic device; and partitioning, by the electronic device, the rear side of the electronic device into the plurality of dynamic tiles based on the mapping (Flynt, [0007] The user interface can include a set of dynamic tiles. The tiles can include graphics, text or any other visual data. A number of tiles can be displayed using thumbnail views that provide minimal data).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. The combination further discloses classifying, by the electronic device, the at least one gesture into the gesture category comprises: detecting, by the electronic device, at least one touch coordinate associated with the at least one gesture on the rear side of the electronic device; determining, by the electronic device, a time stamp of the at least one touch coordinate associated with the at least one gesture; inputting, by the electronic device, the at least one touch coordinate associated with the at least one gesture and the time stamp of the at least one touch coordinate associated with the at least one gesture to a third machine learning (ML) model; and classifying, by the electronic device, the at least one gesture into the gesture category using the third ML model (Flynt, [0073] Furthermore, as will be appreciated various portions of the disclosed systems above and methods below may include or consist of artificial intelligence or knowledge or rule based components, sub-components, processes, means, methodologies, or mechanisms (e.g., support vector machines, neural networks, expert systems, Bayesian belief networks, fuzzy logic, data fusion engines, classifiers . . . )).
As to claim 9, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. The combination further discloses determining, by the electronic device, the at least one functionality to be performed on the display based on the at least one gesture on the rear side of the electronic device and the gesture category comprises: mapping, by the electronic device, coordinates associated with the at least one gesture on the rear side of the electronic device and the gesture category into a second set of blocks on the front side of the electronic device, wherein the mapping comprises a start coordinate and an end coordinate of at least one tile of the plurality of dynamic tiles, a tile number, and a list of applications within a tile area of the at least one tile; and determining, by the electronic device, the at least one functionality to be performed on the display based on the mapping (Flynt, [0056] In a further example, a tile can provide user with access to one or more maps frequently utilized by the user. Typically, geographic data sets such as maps are large. A mobile device may not have the capacity to store multiple maps. Here, a tile can provide quick access to a selected set of maps stored in a remote data store).
As to claim 10, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 9. The combination further discloses comprising: determining, by the electronic device, a plurality of functionalities to be performed on the display based on the at least one gesture on the rear side of the electronic device; inputting, by the electronic device, actionable elements within the tile area, a frequency of usage of the actionable elements, a last activity on the electronic device, and the gesture category of the at least one gesture to a fourth ML model; and determining, by the electronic device, a priority score for each of the plurality of functionalities to be performed on the display using the fourth ML model (Flynt, [0031] Many of the most frequently used functions or data can be accessed without navigating away from the tile space. The tile space can be capable of managing any number of tiles. One or more sets of tiles can be customized to provide for a particular user).
As to claim 11, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 10. The combination further discloses storing, by the electronic device, the at least one gesture, the gesture category, and the priority score for each of the plurality of functionalities to be performed on the display; determining, by the electronic device, the at least one gesture on the rear side of the electronic device for performing the plurality of functionalities; and automatically determining, by the electronic device, the at least one functionality to be performed based on the priority score for each of the plurality of functionalities (Flynt, [0056] In a further example, a tile can provide user with access to one or more maps frequently utilized by the user).
As to claim 12, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. The combination further discloses detecting, by the electronic device, the at least one gesture on the at least one dynamic tile on the rear side of the electronic device comprises: inputting, by the electronic device, predefined features and derived features associated with the at least one gesture to a first ML model; determining, by the electronic device, a quadrant of a set of four quadrants of the at least one gesture by the first ML model; inputting, by the electronic device, the quadrant of the at least one gesture into a second ML model, wherein the second ML model is a TensorFlow's Keras sequential model; determining, by the electronic device, coordinates of the at [east one gesture by the second ML model; and detecting, by the electronic device, the at least one gesture on the at least one dynamic tile on the rear side of the electronic device based on coordinates of the at least one gesture (Lee, [0103] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a designating mechanism of a segmentation area. FIG. 5 (a) illustrates one embodiment showing two segmentation areas and FIG. 5 (b) illustrates one embodiment showing four segmentation areas).
As to claim 14, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 13. The combination further discloses the event associated the display of the electronic device comprises at least one of non-responsiveness of the display of the electronic device and a reduction in user experience during interaction with the display of the electronic device ([0018] When a locked state where a function of the mobile terminal is limited, the basic input may be the touch input initially input to the first touch pad or the second touch pad).
As to claim 15, the combination of Lee, Flynt and Zaman discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 14. The combination further discloses the plurality of parameters associated with the display of the electronic device comprises at least one of an aspect ratio of the electronic device, a user touch area, a sensor location and proximity of at least one actionable element with respect to other actionable elements on the display of the electronic device (Lee, [0110] A color or size of the icon (A) corresponding to the selected segmentation area (A) may be differentiated from the other icons to be distinguishably displayed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zalewski et al., US PGPUB 20100299595 discloses a hand-held electronic device, method of operation and computer readable medium are disclosed. The device may include a case having one or more major surfaces. A visual display and a touch interface are disposed on at least one of the major surfaces. A processor is operably coupled to the visual display and touch screen. Instructions executable by the processor may be configured to a) present an image on the visual display containing one or more active elements; b) correlate one or more active portions of the touch interface to one or more corresponding active elements in the image on the visual display; c) operate the one or more active elements according to a first mode of operation in response to a first mode of touch on one or more of the active portions; and d) operate the one or more active elements according to a second mode of operation in response to a second mode of touch on one or more of the active portions, wherein in the second mode of operation, the second mode of touch activates an enhancement of one or more of the active elements.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAHLU OKEBATO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
8/26/2026