CTNF 19/261,918 CTNF 89258 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 20 claims and claims 1-20 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) which papers have been placed of record in the file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 10, 11,12, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2023/056455 A1; filed Sept. 30, 2022) in view of FRANCK et al. (GB 2599171 A) . Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for decoding immersive media data , the method comprising([abstract]-a method for media file decoding process): obtaining a media file of immersive media, the immersive media including N alternative bitstreams ([abstract; [0005];[0078]]- performing a conversion between a media file of a video and a bitstream of the video, wherein the media file comprises a data structure indicating video decoder initialization information (VDII) for decoding the bitstream), the media file including relationship indication information, the relationship indication information indicating an alternative relationship between the N alternative bitstreams, and N being an integer greater than 1 ([abstract; [0005];[0078]];[0087]- media file of the video and the bitstream, wherein the media file comprises a data structure indicating video decoder initialization information (VDII) for decoding the bitstream, the data structure being at a level higher than a track level). However, Wang does not exclusively disclose decoding the media file based on the relationship indication information to present the immersive media. In an analogous art, FRANCK discloses decoding the media file based on the relationship indication information to present the immersive media ([pg. 9; lines 20-35]- obtaining from the media file the bitstream comprising a plurality of operating points, the plurality of operating points being associated with at least two independent layers of video data related to a composition, video data in the bitstream being organized into NAL units; - obtaining from the media file at least one metadata structure describing the composition; decoding the at least two independent layers related to the composition and to generate a video sequence based on the composition information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of FRANCK to the modified system of Wang a method of encapsulating a bitstream of encoded video data in a media file, the method comprising: obtaining the bitstream comprising a second plurality of operating points, video data in the bitstream being organized into NAL [FRANCK; abstract]. Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses wherein the decoding the media file comprises: determining a to-be-presented bitstream from the N alternative bitstreams based on the alternative relationship indicated by the relationship indication information([abstract; [0005];[0078]];[0087]- media file of the video and the bitstream, wherein the media file comprises a data structure indicating video decoder initialization information (VDII) for decoding the bitstream, the data structure being at a level higher than a track level); and decoding the to-be-presented bitstream([abstract; [0005];[0078]]- performing a conversion between a media file of a video and a bitstream of the video, wherein the media file comprises a data structure indicating video decoder initialization information (VDII) for decoding the bitstream). Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the obtaining the media file comprises: obtaining signaling information of the immersive media, the signaling information including description information of the relationship indication information([abstract; para 0005; 0078]- performing a conversion between a media file of a video and a bitstream of the video, wherein the media file comprises a data structure indicating video decoder initialization information (VDII) for decoding the bitstream); and FRANCK discloses obtaining at least a portion of the media file based on the signaling information([pg. 9; lines 20-35]- obtaining from the media file the bitstream comprising a plurality of operating points, the plurality of operating points being associated with at least two independent layers of video data related to a composition, video data in the bitstream being organized into NAL units; - obtaining from the media file at least one metadata structure describing the composition; decoding the at least two independent layers related to the composition and to generate a video sequence based on the composition information). Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 12 have been met in claim 1. Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses wherein the relationship indication information includes an alternative information data box, and the alternative information data box includes information indicating alternative group identifiers, shared affiliation relationships, and association relationships between components of a same bitstream([see in Summary Section]- video coding and video file format. Specifically, it is related to signalling of video decoder initialization information in a media file based on an entity grouping mechanism. The ideas may be applied individually or in various combinations, for video bitstreams coded by any codec, e.g., the VVC standard, and for any video file format, e.g., the ISO base media file format (ISOBMFF)). Regarding claim 18, FRANCK discloses generating signaling information including description information of the relationship indication information, the description information indicating the N alternative bitstreams having the alternative relationship([pg. 9; lines 20-35]- obtaining from the media file the bitstream comprising a plurality of operating points, the plurality of operating points being associated with at least two independent layers of video data related to a composition, video data in the bitstream being organized into NAL units; - obtaining from the media file at least one metadata structure describing the composition; decoding the at least two independent layers related to the composition and to generate a video sequence based on the composition information). Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 20 have been met in claim 1 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 2-6, 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of FRANCK as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of WANG-2 et al. ( US 2020/0154116 A1) . Regarding claim 2 , the combination of Wang and FRANC do not exclusively discloses wherein the immersive media includes time sequence immersive media, the N alternative bitstreams are encapsulated in M media tracks in the media file, and Mis an integer and is greater than or equal to N; and the relationship indication information is set in at least one of the M media tracks. In an analogous art, WANG-2 discloses wherein the immersive media includes time sequence immersive media, the N alternative bitstreams are encapsulated in M media tracks in the media file, and Mis an integer and is greater than or equal to N; and the relationship indication information is set in at least one of the M media tracks([para 0008;0020]-a method of processing a file for storage of video contents, the method comprising: receiving a file comprising a first track and a second track, the first track including a first access unit of a coded video sequence of a bitstream, the second track including a second access unit of the coded video sequence, the first access unit including a first EOS NAL unit, the second access unit including a second EOS NAL unit, and the second EOS NAL unit being different from the first EOS NAL unit, the first access unit and the second access unit belonging to different temporal sub-layers; and outputting, based on a comparison of a time associated with the first EOS NAL unit and a time associated with the second EOS NAL unit, the first EOS NAL unit and discarding the second EOS NAL unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang-2 to the modified system of Wang and FRANC computing devices that performing video coding and use file formats for coded video data which may improve handling of end of sequence (EOS) Network Abstraction Layer (NAL) units and end of bitstream (EOB) NAL units for High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) and layered HEVC bitstreams carried in multiple tracks, where at least some temporal sub-layers are carried in different tracks [Wang-2;para 0002]. Regarding claim 3, Wang-2 discloses wherein a bitstream i of the N alternative bitstreams is encapsulated into a media track Mi of the M media tracks, i being a positive integer less than or equal to N; and the relationship indication information is set in the media track Mi([para 0008;0020]-a method of processing a file for storage of video contents, the method comprising: receiving a file comprising a first track and a second track, the first track including a first access unit of a coded video sequence of a bitstream, the second track including a second access unit of the coded video sequence, the first access unit including a first EOS NAL unit, the second access unit including a second EOS NAL unit, and the second EOS NAL unit being different from the first EOS NAL unit, the first access unit and the second access unit belonging to different temporal sub-layers; and outputting, based on a comparison of a time associated with the first EOS NAL unit and a time associated with the second EOS NAL unit, the first EOS NAL unit and discarding the second EOS NAL unit). Regarding claim 4, Wang-2 discloses wherein a bitstream i of the N alternative bitstreams is encapsulated into a plurality of media tracks of the M media tracks, i being a positive integer less than or equal to N; and the relationship indication information is set in a media track Mi, the media track Mi being one of the plurality of media tracks([para 0008;0020]-a method of processing a file for storage of video contents, the method comprising: receiving a file comprising a first track and a second track, the first track including a first access unit of a coded video sequence of a bitstream, the second track including a second access unit of the coded video sequence, the first access unit including a first EOS NAL unit, the second access unit including a second EOS NAL unit, and the second EOS NAL unit being different from the first EOS NAL unit, the first access unit and the second access unit belonging to different temporal sub-layers; and outputting, based on a comparison of a time associated with the first EOS NAL unit and a time associated with the second EOS NAL unit, the first EOS NAL unit and discarding the second EOS NAL unit). Regarding claim 5, Wang-2 discloses wherein the relationship indication information indicates an association relationship between the media track Mi and at least one other media track of the plurality of media tracks, and the association relationship indicates that the media track Mi and the at least one other media track belong to the bitstream i([para 0008;0020]-a method of processing a file for storage of video contents, the method comprising: receiving a file comprising a first track and a second track, the first track including a first access unit of a coded video sequence of a bitstream, the second track including a second access unit of the coded video sequence, the first access unit including a first EOS NAL unit, the second access unit including a second EOS NAL unit, and the second EOS NAL unit being different from the first EOS NAL unit, the first access unit and the second access unit belonging to different temporal sub-layers; and outputting, based on a comparison of a time associated with the first EOS NAL unit and a time associated with the second EOS NAL unit, the first EOS NAL unit and discarding the second EOS NAL unit). Regarding claim 6, Wang-2 discloses wherein the immersive media includes non-timesequence immersive media, the N alternative bitstreams are encapsulated as P media items in the media file, and Pis an integer greater than or equal to N; and the relationship indication information is set in at least one of the P media items. ([para 0008;0020]-a method of processing a file for storage of video contents, the method comprising: receiving a file comprising a first track and a second track, the first track including a first access unit of a coded video sequence of a bitstream, the second track including a second access unit of the coded video sequence, the first access unit including a first EOS NAL unit, the second access unit including a second EOS NAL unit, and the second EOS NAL unit being different from the first EOS NAL unit, the first access unit and the second access unit belonging to different temporal sub-layers; and outputting, based on a comparison of a time associated with the first EOS NAL unit and a time associated with the second EOS NAL unit, the first EOS NAL unit and discarding the second EOS NAL unit). Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2. Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4. Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of FRANCK as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kammachi et al. ( US 2021/0314626 A1) . Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and FRANC do not exclusively discloses wherein the N alternative bitstreams belong to an alternative group, bitstreams in the alternative group being interchangeable during presentation, and the relationship indication information including an alternative information data box. In an analogous art, Kammachi discloses wherein the N alternative bitstreams belong to an alternative group, bitstreams in the alternative group being interchangeable during presentation, and the relationship indication information including an alternative information data box([para 0210-0211]- a media file including or inferring to a container file comprising a first video-based point cloud compression (V-PCC) bitstream and a second V-PCC bitstream, wherein said first and second V-PCC bitstreams are associated with a common group based on at least one logical context, and an indication about the common group between the first V-PCC bitstream and the second V-PCC bitstream; a first representation belonging to a first adaptation set associated with the first V-PCC bitstream and a second representation belonging to a second adaptation set associated with the second V-PCC bitstream; means for parsing, from the MPD file, at least one information element describing grouping information of the first representation belonging to the first adaptation set and the second representation belonging to the second adaptation set, wherein said information element is provided with at least one attribute indicating that said first and second V-PCC bitstreams are user-switchable alternatives). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Kammachi to the modified system of Wang and FRANC method for indicating grouping of representations to improve a mechanism to have multiple volumetric objects encoded in the same file so that they could be switched between each other as an alternate representation during playback [Kammachi ; para 0004 ] . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 8, 9, 14, 15, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 8, wherein the alternative information data box includes an alternative group identifier flag indicating whether the alternative information data box specifies an alternative group identifier, and an alternative group identification information indicating the alternative group identifier when the alternative group identifier flag has a first value. Citation of Pertinent Prior Art The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: 1. Wang et al., US 2022/0086446 A1, discloses techniques that can be used by video encoders and decoders for processing coded representation of a video or an image according to a file format. 2. Song et. al., US 2021/0084096 A1, discloses a video processing method and apparatus the method includes: adding, by a server, perception attribute information of an object and spatial location information of the object to a video bitstream or a video file, and encapsulating the video bitstream or the video file, where the perception attribute information is used to indicate a property presented when the object is perceived by a use. 3. HUANG et al., US 2025/0039477 A1, discloses field of communications, and in particular, to a video bitstream encapsulation method and apparatus, a video bitstream decoding method and apparatus, and a video bitstream access method and apparatus. 4. Sadhwani et al., US 2016/0277768 A1, discloses improving decoder performance (in terms of, for example, memory usage, computational resources, and/or latency) using application-specific or standard-specific information . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MD NAZMUL HAQUE whose telephone number is (571)272-5328. The examiner can normally be reached IFW. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Czekaj can be reached at 5712727327. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MD N HAQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 2 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 3 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 4 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 5 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 6 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 7 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 8 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 9 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 10 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 11 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 12 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 13 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/261,918 Page 14 Art Unit: 2487