DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0051858, hereafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka’. With respect to claim 1, Hatanaka discloses a vehicle lighting device [1; see title], comprising: a socket [10] formed from highly thermally conductive resin [para. #’s 38 and 40, socket 10 is made from highly thermally conductive resin); a light emitting module [20] provided on one end side of the socket and including a light emitting element [22]; a heat transfer part [15 & 15b] formed from metal [see para. # 30, the heat radiation portion 10b includes heat transfer part 15, 15b and see para. #’s 38 and 40, the heat radiation portion 10b which includes heat transfer part 15, 15b is made of metal, such as a highly conductive resin with metal or aluminum filler], provided between the socket [10] and the light emitting module [20], wherein in a case of being viewed in a direction along a central shaft of the vehicle lighting device [1], a contour of the heat transfer part [15, 15b] includes an arc [outer circular edge of element 15b] protruding outward, and a portion of the heat transfer part [15b] including the arc [outer circular edge of element 15b] is located outside the light emitting module [20]; wherein the contour of the heat transfer part [15, 15b] includes the arc [outer circular edge of element 15b], a pair of straight lines [see sketch below, ‘line pair’ marked below] each having one end connected to each of both end points of the arc [outer circular edge of element 15b], and a straight line [marked ‘straight line’ below] connecting ends on a side of the pair of straight lines opposite to the arc.
With respect to claim 3, Hatanaka discloses a vehicle lighting device [1; see title], comprising: a socket [10] formed from highly thermally conductive resin [para. #’s 38 and 40, socket 10 is made from highly thermally conductive resin); a light emitting module [20] provided on one end side of the socket and including a light emitting element [22]; a heat transfer part [15 & 15b] formed from metal [see para. # 30, the heat radiation portion 10b includes heat transfer part 15, 15b and see para. #’s 38 and 40, the heat radiation portion 10b which includes heat transfer part 15, 15b is made of metal, such as a highly conductive resin with metal or aluminum filler], provided between the socket [10] and the light emitting module [20], wherein in a case of being viewed in a direction along a central shaft of the vehicle lighting device [1], a contour of the heat transfer part [15, 15b] includes an arc [outer circular edge of element 15b] protruding outward, and a portion of the heat transfer part [15, 15b] including the arc [outer circular edge of element 15b] is located outside the light emitting module [20]; wherein the contour of the heat transfer part [15, 15b] includes the arc and a chord connecting both end points of the arc [see sketch below, ‘arc and cord contour’ marked below. The shape is inherent but not shown well].
With respect to claim 5, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device of claim 1. Hatanaka further teaches wherein the heat transfer part 15, 15b further includes at least one fin [16] extending inside the socket [figures 1-2].
With respect to claim 6, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device of claim 1. Hatanaka further teaches wherein a step [12, 14, 14a, fig. 1] is provided outside a region where the light emitting module is provided in the heat transfer part [15, 15b].
With respect to claim 7, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device [1] as claimed in claim 1. Hatanaka further discloses a housing [101] to which the vehicle lighting device [1] is attached [fig. 7].
With respect to claim 8, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device of claim 3. Hatanaka further teaches wherein the heat transfer part 15, 15b further includes at least one fin [16] extending inside the socket [figures 1-2].
With respect to claim 9, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device of claim 3. Hatanaka further teaches wherein a step [12, 14, 14a, fig. 1] is provided outside a region where the light emitting module is provided in the heat transfer part [15, 15b].
With respect to claim 10, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device [1] as claimed in claim 3. Hatanaka further discloses a housing [101] to which the vehicle lighting device [1] is attached [fig. 7].
With respect to claim 11, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device [1] as claimed in claim 8. Hatanaka further discloses a housing [101] to which the vehicle lighting device [1] is attached [fig. 7].
With respect to claim 12, Hatanaka discloses the vehicle lighting device [1] as claimed in claim 9. Hatanaka further discloses a housing [101] to which the vehicle lighting device [1] is attached [fig. 7].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/09/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the first non-final action, the socket should have been identified as detail 10, not detail 31.
Conclusion
/THOMAS M SEMBER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875