DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits of application 19/262,225. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the coupling elements of claims 8-9 and the load indicator of claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the carrier receivers" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites the limitation “one or more carrier receivers” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for plural carrier receivers as recited in claim 6.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the coupling elements" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2545953 A (Hall).
Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses:
A multipurpose crossbeam (11) for lifting a vehicle, the crossbeam comprising:
- a carrier beam (23, figure 6);
- one or more vehicle supports (40) that are provided to the carrier beam and are configured for engaging the vehicle (F, figure 1); and
- one or more carrier receivers (18) that are configured for receiving one or more carrier legs (16, figure 5) of a lifting device, wherein the one or more carrier receivers are hingedly connected to the carrier beam (at shaft 25).
Regarding claim 2, Hall further discloses:
wherein the one or more carrier receivers (18) are operatively connected to a carrier shaft (25) configured for hingedly connecting the one or more carrier receivers (18) to the carrier beam (23, figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hall further discloses:
wherein the carrier shaft (25) extends in a substantially horizontal direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Hall further discloses:
further comprising a carrier frame (19) that comprises two carrier receivers (18, figure 6) and one carrier shaft (25).
Regarding claim 5, Hall further discloses:
further comprising a carrier frame (19) that comprises two carrier receivers (18) and one carrier shaft (25).
Regarding claim 6, Hall further discloses:
wherein the carrier receivers extend in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the length direction of the carrier beam (18 extend at ends of 19, perpendicular to the length direction of 23).
Regarding claim 7, Hall further discloses:
wherein the carrier receivers extend in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the length direction of the carrier beam (18 extend at ends of 19, perpendicular to the length direction of 23).
Regarding claim 10, Hall further discloses:
further comprising carrier surfaces (vertical surfaces of I-beam shaped beams 23) at or near respective ends of the carrier beam (23, figure 7, 8) that are configured for engaging a carrier (50) of a lifting device (figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Hall further discloses:
comprising a number of side legs (39’, figure 6) that extend in a direction that is substantially perpendicular (vertical as shown in figure 6) to the length direction of the carrier beam (horizontal as shown in figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Hall further discloses:
further comprising a set of wheels (12, figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Hall further discloses:
further comprising an extended adapter (39).
Regarding claim 14, Hall further discloses:
further comprising a vehicle adapter (39).
Regarding claim 15, Hall further discloses:
further comprising a side-shift mechanism (clamping mechanisms of 39’ allow side-shift adjustment of 39, 39’).
Regarding claim 17, Hall discloses:
A lifting system for lifting a vehicle (figure 6), the lifting system comprising a number of lifting devices (two lifting devices, one on the left side of figure 1 and one on the right side of figure 1, each including reference numbers 16, 30-33, and 36-38) and a multipurpose crossbeam (11) comprising:
- a carrier beam (23);
- one or more vehicle supports (40) that are provided to the carrier beam and are configured for engaging the vehicle (F); and
- one or more carrier receivers (18) that are configured for receiving one or more carrier legs (16) of a lifting device, wherein the one or more carrier receivers are hingedly connected to the carrier beam (at shaft 25).
Regarding claim 18, Hall further discloses:
wherein the lifting devices comprise one or more mobile lifting columns (each lifting device, left and right of figure 1, is collectively a lifting column that is mobile by operation of the wheels 12, figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Hall discloses:
A method for lifting a vehicle, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a multipurpose crossbeam (11) and/or lifting system comprising such multipurpose crossbeam comprising:
- a carrier beam (23);
- one or more vehicle supports (40) that are provided to the carrier beam and are configured for engaging the vehicle (F); and
- one or more carrier receivers (18) that are configured for receiving one or more carrier legs (16) of a lifting device, wherein the one or more carrier receivers are hingedly connected to the carrier beam (at 25);
- positioning one or more lifting devices (two lifting devices, one on the left side of figure 1 and one on the right side of figure 1, each including reference numbers 16, 30-33, and 36-38) relative to the crossbeam (positioned on either side of 23); and
- lifting the vehicle (figure 1 shows the vehicle, indicated by frame “F”, in the lifted position).
Regarding claim 20, Hall further discloses:
further comprising the step of stabilizing a load with the hingedly connection (“the frame supporting shaft 25 extends rotatably through the adjacent cross beams 19 and at its end is equipped with a turning gear wheel 45. This gear meshes with a driven gear of a reduction gear mechanism designated at 48 operated in connection with an electric motor 47,” col. 5, lines 26-32) between the one or more carrier receivers (18) and the carrier beam (23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2545953 A (Hall) in view of EP 0790164 A1 (Gordon).
Regarding claim 8, Hall teaches:
The multipurpose crossbeam according to claim 1.
Hall is silent to coupling elements for coupling to the vehicle.
However, Gordon teaches:
A vehicle lift, and
further comprising one or more coupling elements (73, figure 4) configured for coupling to the vehicle (truck 71).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one or more coupling elements with the crossbeam of Hall, as taught by Gordon, to further secure the vehicle to the lift for safety during any tilting or pivoting of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Gordon further teaches:
wherein the coupling elements (73) are configured for coupling to adapter eyes (“tow hook” col. 5, line 6) of the vehicle.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2545953 A (Hall) in view of WO 9503992 A1 (Hagara).
Regarding claim 16, Hall teaches:
The multipurpose crossbeam according to claim 1.
Hall does not teach further comprising a load indicator.
However, Hagara teaches:
A vehicle lift,
further comprising a load indicator (19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a load indicator as taught by Hagara with the lift and carrier beam of Hall as a visual indication of the load status of the carrier beam when pivoted away from a level position. The load indicator taught by Hagara indicates by color the state of equilibrium of the pivotable lift to make users aware of an overloading situation that would be unsafe. The load indicator would improve safety for the lift of Hall.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-2882012-A, US-2903258-A, US-2962262-A, US-3205977-A, US-3405781-A, US-3734466-A, US-3788414-A, DE-102018215155-A1, US-5174414-A, US-5339926-A, US-6702064-B2, US-20180207700-A1, US-20180362308-A1, US-20220204322-A1, US-11667501-B2, and US-20240367956-A1 are cited to show vehicle lifts including pivoting or hinged connections between the lift and vehicle carriers.
US-9499378-B2, US-6814342-B1, US-4640495-A, US-4599034-A, US-4267901-A, US-4084790-A, US-4212374-A are cited to show carrier beams attached to post lifts for lifting vehicles.
/M.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654