DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-13 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-13 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed on 07/08/2025 and on 05/01/026 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vermeulen (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20230011564 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vermeulen teaches a mounting assembly comprising:
an adjustable chock (100), and
a rod (3) having an external thread,
wherein the adjustable chock comprises:
a first component (110) having an upper bearing surface (upper surface of 110) and a first through-hole (central opening of 110) having an internal thread,
a second component (120) having a lower bearing surface () and having a second through hole (central opening of 120), and
a bearing element (130) having an upper surface (upper surface of 130) and a third through-hole (central opening of 130) and a lower bearing surface (lower surface of 130) in contact with the upper bearing surface of the first component,
wherein a portion (111) of the first component extends into the second through hole,
wherein the rod extends through the first through hole and the third through hole, and
wherein the external thread of the rod engages the internal thread of the first though hole.
Alternatively, claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolf (U.S. Pat. No. 4141527).
Regarding claim 1, Wolf teaches a mounting assembly comprising:
an adjustable chock (Fig. 2), and
a rod (62) having an external thread,
wherein the adjustable chock comprises:
a first component (2) having an upper bearing surface (upper surface of 2) and a first through-hole (central opening of 2) having an internal thread,
a second component (6 or 4) having a lower bearing surface (lower surface of 6 or 4) and having a second through hole (central opening of 6 or 4), and
a bearing element (56) having an upper surface (upper surface of 56) and a third through-hole (central opening of 56) and a lower bearing surface (lower surface of 56) in contact with the upper bearing surface of the first component,
wherein a portion (14) of the first component extends into the second through hole,
wherein the rod extends through the first through hole and the third through hole, and
wherein the external thread of the rod engages the internal thread of the first though hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermeulen (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20230011564 A1) in view of Wolf (U.S. Pat. No. 4141527).
Regarding claim 2, Vermeulen teaches wherein the upper surface. However, Vermeulen is silent to disclose sliding means having a lower coefficient of friction than a material of the bearing element. Wolf teaches the sliding means having a lower coefficient of friction than a material of bearing element (Wolf; Col. 4; lines 5-7).
Vermeulen and Wolf are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the surface of Vermeulen having a lower coefficient of friction. The motivation would have been to facilitate the movement.
Regarding claim 3, Vermeulen as modified teaches the sliding means comprises a coating on the upper surface of the bearing element (Wolf; Col. 4; lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Vermeulen the sliding means comprises a washer (150) mounted on the upper surface of the bearing element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631