DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hobbs (WO 2014/078902)
As to claim 1, Hobbs discloses in method of therapy and haptic gaming system for sensory agnosia having claimed:
a. an operating device an operating unit configured to receive an input from a user read on ¶ 0057, (an input apparatus (or input device) embodied as a two-handed controller and associated serious games have been developed which provide contextually relevant selective haptic feedback to an affected hand.);
b. a housing body configured to support the operating unit read on ¶ 0082, (input apparatuses (devices) have also been developed to provide isolated haptic feedback in serious games. Figure 2 shows a schematic diagram of an embodiment of the input apparatus 1. The input apparatus 1 is a two-handed controller and comprises a base 10, a top section 30 and a mount 20 for mounting the top section 30 relative to the base 10. The mount allows the top section to move in two axes (or dimensions) relative to the base to define the input provided by the device);
c. one or more vibrating bodies configured to generate vibration read on ¶ 0082, (the input apparatus further comprises a first surface 42 on a first side 40 of the pivoting element for a firsthand of the user and a second surface 52 on a second side 50 of the pivoting element for a second hand of the user. The input apparatus also comprises a first haptic actuator 44 to provide haptic feedback to the first haptic portion or surface 42 and a second haptic actuator 54 to provide haptic feedback to the second haptic portion or surface 52);
d. one or more grips configured to store the one or more vibrating bodies; and
one or more coupling portions that couple the one or more grips to the housing body in a manner such that the one or more grips are structurally configured to move relative to the housing body read on ¶ 0082, (The input apparatus further comprises a first surface 42 on a first side 40 of the pivoting element for a first hand of the user and a second surface 52 on a second side 50 of the pivoting element for a second hand of the user. The input apparatus also comprises a first haptic actuator 44 to provide haptic feedback to the first haptic portion or surface 42 and a second haptic actuator 54 to provide haptic feedback to the second haptic portion or surface 52. In some embodiments, the first haptic portion may be the entire first side and the second haptic portion may be the second side. The input apparatus comprises at least one haptic actuator that can be used to selectively provide haptic feedback to the first or second haptic portion. In one embodiment the input apparatus comprises a first haptic actuator for providing haptic feedback to the first haptic portion and a second haptic actuator for providing feedback to the second haptic portion).
As to claim 2, Hobbs further discloses:
a. a damper between the housing body and the one or more grips read on ¶ 0082, (The input apparatus comprises at least one haptic actuator that can be used to selectively provide haptic feedback to the first or second haptic portion. In one embodiment the input apparatus comprises a first haptic actuator for providing haptic feedback to the first haptic portion and a second haptic actuator for providing feedback to the second haptic portion. In one embodiment the first side is isolated from the second side and in another embodiment the first and second surfaces are mounted in their respective sides using isolation mounts 38 so that the haptic feedback can be provided independently to the first and second surfaces 42 52 to prevent or substantially minimize transfer of haptic feedback (vibrations) from one side to the other. That is, the isolation mounts are configured or include materials to dampen vibrations so that any cross vibration effect is prevented or minimized in order to avoid or reduce sensory extinction. In some embodiments, the shape of the controller and location of the haptic surfaces in the respective sides of the controller are selected to provide haptic feedback to the fingers and palm of each hand).
As to claim 3, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein an elastic modulus of the damper is greater than an elastic modulus of the housing body and an elastic modulus of the one or more grips read on ¶ 0093, ( The first central axis portion 33 has a plate like section in the top section which is used to mount the first central axis portion 33 to the central stem plate 27 using a triangular arrangement of three tubular rubber isolation mounts 38 The rubber isolation material are cylindrical tubes of natural rubber, although a other shapes could be used (e.g. rectangular or hexagonal cross sectional profile), or the isolation material could be a solid block. The exact dimensions (eg length, diameter, wall thickness) can be varied as required to suit the specific design to ensure/maximize dampening or transfer of vibrations across the isolation mount. The central stem plate 27 extends up from a hollow shaft 35 that is located over the central axis 25 that extends up from pivoting mount 24. A similar arrangement is used on the second side. This design maximizes the travel path of vibrations (haptic feedback) from the source in the side wall to the mounting points on the central stem plate 27. The use of a minimal set of rubber isolation mounts 38 further acts to minimize transfer of haptic feedback from one side to the other (one hemisphere to the other hemisphere)).
As to claim 4, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein the vibrating body is configured to generate that vibration in a direction that intersects a line segment that connects the one or more coupling portions to the one or more vibrating bodies read on ¶ 0095-0096, (the first and second haptic surfaces are provided as grips 42 52, which are spaced apart from each other by a distance greater than a typical arm width and each mounted within a top section. An input button 12 is placed between them. IR proximity sensors 37 and 57 are located in the rear top section of the grips to detect a palm placed over the grip. Apertures for receiving a strap 60 are also shown on the side of the grips. Figure 8 A is a first sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 7 A to 7D and Figure 8B is an isometric view of a first grip of the controller illustrated in Figures 7A to 7D. The base of the grip is an isolation mount 38 in the form of a plate with C shaped mounts 59 extending above and below the plate to create cavities 58 to receive the isolation material 39. The C shaped mounts are filled, both above and below the plate with an isolation material 39 such as high density foam, and the mounts are secured to the bottom surface of the top section. The base also contains an electronics board 14).
As to claim 5, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein: the one or more vibrating bodies include a first vibrating body and a second vibrating body, the one or more grips include a first grip configured to store the first vibrating body and a second grip configured to store the second vibrating body, and the one or more coupling portions include a first coupling portion that couples the first grip to the housing body and a second coupling portion that couples the second grip to the housing body read on ¶ 0095, (the top section 30 is moveable (translatable) in a plane parallel to the base 10. The first and second haptic surfaces are provided as grips 42 52, which are spaced apart from each other by a distance greater than a typical arm width and each mounted within a top section. An input button 12 is placed between them. IR proximity sensors 37 and 57 are located in the rear top section of the grips to detect a palm placed over the grip. Apertures for receiving a strap 60 are also shown on the side of the grips).
As to claim 6, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein the second vibrating body is located symmetrically to the first vibrating body with respect to a virtual plane that includes a geometric gravity center of the housing body read on ¶ 0096, (Figure 8 A is a first sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 7 A to 7D and Figure 8B is an isometric view of a first grip of the controller illustrated in Figures 7A to 7D. The base of the grip is an isolation mount 38 in the form of a plate with C shaped mounts 59 extending above and below the plate to create cavities 58 to receive the isolation material 39. The C shaped mounts are filled, both above and below the plate with an isolation material 39 such as high density foam, and the mounts are secured to the bottom surface of the top section. The base also contains an electronics board 14).
As to claim 7, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein one direction orthogonal to a direction in which the first grip and the second grip are arranged is defined as a positive direction, and a direction opposite to the positive direction is defined as a negative direction the operating unit is exposed from the housing body at a surface of outer surfaces of the housing body that face the positive direction, and the one or more coupling portions are located on a surface of the outer surfaces of the housing body that faces the negative direction read on ¶ 0096, (Figure 8 A is a first sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 7 A to 7D and Figure 8B is an isometric view of a first grip of the controller illustrated in Figures 7A to 7D. The base of the grip is an isolation mount 38 in the form of a plate with C shaped mounts 59 extending above and below the plate to create cavities 58 to receive the isolation material 39. The C shaped mounts are filled, both above and below the plate with an isolation material 39 such as high density foam, and the mounts are secured to the bottom surface of the top section. The base also contains an electronics board 14).
As to claim 8, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein: a direction in which the first grip and the second grip are arranged is defined as a first direction, and a distance from the first coupling portion to a gravity center of the first vibrating body in the first direction is equal to or greater than one third of a maximum dimension of the operating device in the first direction read on ¶ 0096, (Figure 8 A is a first sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 7 A to 7D and Figure 8B is an isometric view of a first grip of the controller illustrated in Figures 7A to 7D. The base of the grip is an isolation mount 38 in the form of a plate with C shaped mounts 59 extending above and below the plate to create cavities 58 to receive the isolation material 39. The C shaped mounts are filled, both above and below the plate with an isolation material 39 such as high density foam, and the mounts are secured to the bottom surface of the top section. The base also contains an electronics board 14).
As to claim 9, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion are located on a line segment that connects a gravity center of the first vibrating body to a gravity center of the second vibrating body read on ¶ 0096, (Figure 8 A is a first sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 7 A to 7D and Figure 8B is an isometric view of a first grip of the controller illustrated in Figures 7A to 7D. The base of the grip is an isolation mount 38 in the form of a plate with C shaped mounts 59 extending above and below the plate to create cavities 58 to receive the isolation material 39. The C shaped mounts are filled, both above and below the plate with an isolation material 39 such as high density foam, and the mounts are secured to the bottom surface of the top section. The base also contains an electronics board 14).
As to claim 10, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein the one or more grips each include an overhanging portion that is not in direct contact with a surface of the housing body, such that a gap is provided between the respective overhanging portion and the surface of the housing body read on ¶ 0096, (Figure 8 A is a first sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 7 A to 7D and Figure 8B is an isometric view of a first grip of the controller illustrated in Figures 7A to 7D. The base of the grip is an isolation mount 38 in the form of a plate with C shaped mounts 59 extending above and below the plate to create cavities 58 to receive the isolation material 39. The C shaped mounts are filled, both above and below the plate with an isolation material 39 such as high-density foam, and the mounts are secured to the bottom surface of the top section. The base also contains an electronics board 14).
As to claim 11, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein the damper includes an intermediate cushioning material, a back- side cushioning material, and a screw read on Fig. 6A & ¶ 0083, (These haptic feedback surfaces 42 52 could be made of a different material to the rest of the controller, such as a different plastic or rubber and may act to amplify haptic vibrations to maximize delivery to fingers and palms of the user. In another embodiment the first and second surface may be adapted or constructed to receive replaceable pads. For the sake of clarity, when attached, the pads will transmit haptic feedback to the hand, and effectively form part of the haptic feedback surface. These replaceable pads could clip on, be screwed on, or attached via magnets or other arrangements. Providing replaceable pads allow them to be removed for cleaning or in case surface texturing wears down or becomes less effective through use. Alternatively, the pads may be permanently fixed (e.g. glued or fastened) in place).
As to claim 12, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein the intermediate cushioning material is disposed on a surface of the overhanging portion closer to the housing body read on ¶ 0092, (Figure 5A is an internal side view of a first side of the controller illustrated in Figures 4A to 4D, Figure 5B is a isometric view of the controller illustrated in Figures 4A to 4D with the second side and part of the base removed, Figure 5C is a first sectional view and Figure 5D is a second orthogonal sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 4A to 4D. Figure 6A is an exploded isometric view of a first side of the controller illustrated in Figures 4A to 4D and Figure 6B is an exploded side view of a first side of the controller illustrated in Figures 4A to 4D).
As to claim 13, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein the intermediate cushioning material blocks a screw hole of the screw of the overhanging portion read on ¶ 0093, (the first central axis portion 33 has a plate like section in the top section which is used to mount the first central axis portion 33 to the central stem plate 27 using a triangular arrangement of three tubular rubber isolation mounts 38 The rubber isolation material are cylindrical tubes of natural rubber, although a other shapes could be used (e.g. rectangular or hexagonal cross sectional profile), or the isolation material could be a solid block. The exact dimensions (e.g. length, diameter, wall thickness) can be varied as required to suit the specific design to ensure/maximize dampening or transfer of vibrations across the isolation mount. The central stem plate 27 extends up from a hollow shaft 35 that is located over the central axis 25 that extends up from pivoting mount 24. A similar arrangement is used on the second side. This design maximizes the travel path of vibrations (haptic feedback) from the source in the side wall to the mounting points on the central stem plate 27. The use of a minimal set of rubber isolation mounts 38 further acts to minimize transfer of haptic feedback from one side to the other (one hemisphere to the other hemisphere). Additionally the base 10 includes a plurality of LED supports 74 that are used to support LED lights that illuminate the bottom edge of the sides (i.e. the rim) to indicate the controller is powered on).
As to claim 14, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein a thickness of the intermediate cushioning material is substantially the same as a distance between the overhanging portion and the housing body read on ¶ 0018 ¶ 0086 and ¶ 0096, (the first haptic actuator is mounted in a haptic module mount located in the first side and the first side is mounted to a central plate via a plurality of isolation mounts, and the second haptic actuator is mounted in a haptic module mount located in the second side and the second side is mounted to the central plate via a plurality of isolation mounts. In one form, the isolation mounts are rubber mounts. The first haptic actuator is mounted in a horizontal orientation in the first side and located to maximize the travel path between the actuator (the source of vibrations) and the mounting location of the first side to a central mounting portion of the top section. Rubber isolation mounts are used to mount the first side to the central mounting portion to further dampen and prevent transfer of vibration signals from the first side to the second side. A similar arrangement is used for the second side. In another embodiment the first haptic actuator is mounted under the first surface to form a first haptic module, and the first haptic module is mounted in a haptic module mount in the first side).
As to claim 15, Hobbs further discloses:
a. wherein a gap is provided between an outer peripheral surface of the one or more coupling portions and an inner peripheral surface of a through-hole of the respective overhanging portion of the one or more grips read on ¶ 0096, (Figure 8 A is a first sectional view of the controller illustrated in Figures 7 A to 7D and Figure 8B is an isometric view of a first grip of the controller illustrated in Figures 7A to 7D. The base of the grip is an isolation mount 38 in the form of a plate with C shaped mounts 59 extending above and below the plate to create cavities 58 to receive the isolation material 39. The C shaped mounts are filled, both above and below the plate with an isolation material 39 such as high density foam, and the mounts are secured to the bottom surface of the top section. The base also contains an electronics board 14).
As to claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 1.
As to claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claims 2 and 3.
As to claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claims 5 and 6.
As to claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 8.
As to claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 9.
Citation of pertinent Prior Arts
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
i. Grant (US 20130194085 A1) discloses in a force feedback trigger includes an input device comprising a communication subsystem configured to provide bidirectional communication with a computing device. The input device further comprises a force feedback trigger assembly including a user-actuatable trigger configured to pivot about a trigger axis responsive to an applied external force. The input device further comprises a trigger vibrator directly coupled to the force feedback trigger assembly and communicatively coupled to the communication subsystem, the trigger vibrator configured to vibrate the user-actuatable trigger responsive to a vibration signal received from the computing device via the communication subsystem, and
ii. Rihn (US 10556175 B2) discloses in a rendering haptic effects on at least one of a first haptic actuator or a second haptic actuator based on a state of a trigger. In response, the haptic effects are optimized to reflect game play.
Conclusion
6. If the claimed invention is amended, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification, which dictate(s) the structure/description relied upon to assist the Examiner in proper interpretation of the amended language and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fekadeselassie Girma whose telephone number is (571) 270-5886. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday, 8:30 – 5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on (571) 272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Fekadeselassie Girma/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2689