DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Response to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
(MPEP section 2106.05(F)
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument.(please read MPEP)
MPEP said: Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, claiming a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1356, 119 USPQ2d at 1743.
By way of example, in Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One Fin. Corp., 850 F.3d 1332, 121 USPQ2d 1940 (Fed. Cir. 2017), the steps in the claims described "the creation of a dynamic document based upon ‘management record types’ and ‘primary record types.’" 850 F.3d at 1339-40; 121 USPQ2d at 1945-46. The claims were found to be directed to the abstract idea of "collecting, displaying, and manipulating data." 850 F.3d at 1340; 121 USPQ2d at 1946. In addition to the abstract idea, the claims also recited the additional element of modifying the underlying XML document in response to modifications made in the dynamic document. 850 F.3d at 1342; 121 USPQ2d at 1947-48. Although the claims purported to modify the underlying XML document in response to modifications made in the dynamic document, nothing in the claims indicated what specific steps were undertaken other than merely using the abstract idea in the context of XML documents. The court thus held the claims ineligible, because the additional limitations provided only a result-oriented solution and lacked details as to how the computer performed the modifications, which was equivalent to the words "apply it". 850 F.3d at 1341-42; 121 USPQ2d at 1947-48 (citing Electric Power Group., 830 F.3d at 1356, 1356, USPQ2d at 1743-44 (cautioning against claims "so result focused, so functional, as to effectively cover any solution to an identified problem")).
Other examples where the courts have found the additional elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome include:
Wireless delivery of out-of-region broadcasting content to a cellular telephone via a network without any details of how the delivery is accomplished, Affinity Labs of Texas v. DirecTV, LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262-63, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Response to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s arguments but firmly believes the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations i.e. transmitting, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to paragraphs 0097, 0100-0101, TANG where discloses that UE obtains first indication information. The UE can obtain one or more S-NSSAI, and indication information corresponding to the one or more S-NSSAI indicating whether it is needed to perform second authentication and the UE sends a registration request message to AMF (i.e., communication apparatus). The registration request message may include a UE ID, a requested first S-NSSAI, and authentication information corresponding to the first S-NSSAI (read on: the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization). The authentication information may be authentication information related to the first S-NSSAI, or authentication information related to both the first S-NSSAI and a DNN.
Further, Applicant argues against Hu, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to paragraphs 0125-0128, Hu where discloses that the UE sends a registration request to the AMF entity and the registration request may include an identifier ID of the UE, and may further include information such as network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), the registration request includes at least one of a mobility management (MM) security service capability of the UE and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE may be used to represent an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE may be used to represent an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and request may include information such as session management-network slice selection assistance information (SM-NSSAI), a domain network name (DNN). In paragraphs 0391, 0450, Hu also teaches that include at least one of network slice selection assistance information and an MM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Anticipatory reference need not duplicate, word for word, what is in claims; anticipation can occur when claimed limitation is “inherent” or otherwise implicit in relevant reference (Standard Havens products Incorporated v. Gencor Industries Incorporated, 21 USPQ2d 1321). Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated, by TANG (20220095106).
Regarding claim 1, TANG discloses, a method of a user equipment (UE, Fig. 1-9, abstract), the method comprising:
communicating with a communication apparatus(¶ 131); and transmitting, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (Fig. 2-4, ¶ 061, 069, 081, 097, 100-107, UE sends a registration request message to AMF. The registration request message may include a UE ID, a requested first S-NSSAI, and authentication information corresponding to the first S-NSSAI. The authentication information may be authentication information related to the first S-NSSAI, or authentication information related to both the first S-NSSAI and a DNN, the AMF may obtain a network slice signed by the UE from a unified data management (UDM) entity based on a UE identity (ID) and the AMF sends the authentication information to a third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI to enable the third-party server to perform authentication on the UE. The AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to a local configuration. For example, the AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to the first S-NSSAI and a corresponding relationship between the first S-NSSAI and the third-party server stored locally).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 13, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, receiving, from the communication apparatus, a response message including a cause value related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization in response to the Registration Request message in a case where the capability information indicates that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization and Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (Requested NSSAI) included in the Registration Request message includes one or more Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAIs) which map to one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice- Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 101-110, The AMF sends an S-NSSAI whose the authentication is passed and an S-NSSAI signed by the UE to NSSF, the NSSF takes an intersection of the S-NSSAI whose authentication is passed and the S-NSSAI signed by the UE to obtain an allowed NSSAI, and send the allowed NSSAI to the AMF, the AMF sends a registration response message to the UE. The registration response message includes the allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI.
If a certain S-NSSAI is rejected due to that the authentication of the third-party server to the UE fails, the AMF can also send the reason to the UE together. In other words, the response message can carry an authentication result of the third-party server to the UE).
Regarding claims 3, 10, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, wherein a procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE supports the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization, and wherein the procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is not triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 101-110, The AMF sends an S-NSSAI whose the authentication is passed and an S-NSSAI signed by the UE to NSSF, the NSSF takes an intersection of the S-NSSAI whose authentication is passed and the S-NSSAI signed by the UE to obtain an allowed NSSAI, and send the allowed NSSAI to the AMF, the AMF sends a registration response message to the UE. The registration response message includes the allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI. If a certain S-NSSAI is rejected due to that the authentication of the third-party server to the UE fails, the AMF can also send the reason to the UE together. In other words, the response message can carry an authentication result of the third-party server to the UE).
Regarding claims 4, 12, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, wherein the capability information is for determining whether to trigger a procedure related to Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 101-110, The AMF sends an S-NSSAI whose the authentication is passed and an S-NSSAI signed by the UE to NSSF, the NSSF takes an intersection of the S-NSSAI whose authentication is passed and the S-NSSAI signed by the UE to obtain an allowed NSSAI, and send the allowed NSSAI to the AMF, the AMF sends a registration response message to the UE. The registration response message includes the allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI.
If a certain S-NSSAI is rejected due to that the authentication of the third-party server to the UE fails, the AMF can also send the reason to the UE together. In other words, the response message can carry an authentication result of the third-party server to the UE).
Regarding claims 5, 14, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is an Access Management Function (AMF) (¶ 101-110, The AMF sends an S-NSSAI whose the authentication is passed and an S-NSSAI signed by the UE to NSSF, the NSSF takes an intersection of the S-NSSAI whose authentication is passed and the S-NSSAI signed by the UE to obtain an allowed NSSAI, and send the allowed NSSAI to the AMF, the AMF sends a registration response message to the UE. The registration response message includes the allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI. If a certain S-NSSAI is rejected due to that the authentication of the third-party server to the UE fails, the AMF can also send the reason to the UE together. In other words, the response message can carry an authentication result of the third-party server to the UE).
Regarding claims 6, 15, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is for access management (¶ 101-110, The AMF sends an S-NSSAI whose the authentication is passed and an S-NSSAI signed by the UE to NSSF, the NSSF takes an intersection of the S-NSSAI whose authentication is passed and the S-NSSAI signed by the UE to obtain an allowed NSSAI, and send the allowed NSSAI to the AMF, the AMF sends a registration response message to the UE. The registration response message includes the allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI.
If a certain S-NSSAI is rejected due to that the authentication of the third-party server to the UE fails, the AMF can also send the reason to the UE together. In other words, the response message can carry an authentication result of the third-party server to the UE).
Regarding claim 7, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, a method of a communication apparatus, the method comprising:
communicating with a user equipment (UE); and receiving, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (Fig. 2-5, ¶ 061, 069, 081, 097, 100-107, UE sends a registration request message to AMF. The registration request message may include a UE ID, a requested first S-NSSAI, and authentication information corresponding to the first S-NSSAI. The authentication information may be authentication information related to the first S-NSSAI, or authentication information related to both the first S-NSSAI and a DNN, the AMF may obtain a network slice signed by the UE from a unified data management (UDM) entity based on a UE identity (ID) and the AMF sends the authentication information to a third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI to enable the third-party server to perform authentication on the UE. The AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to a local configuration. For example, the AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to the first S-NSSAI and a corresponding relationship between the first S-NSSAI and the third-party server stored locally).
Regarding claim 9, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, wherein the one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization are obtained from a Unified Data Management (UDM(¶ 102).
Regarding claim 16, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, a user equipment (UE, fig. 2-9, abstract) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: communicate with a communication apparatus; and
transmit, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (Fig. 2-5, ¶ 061, 069, 081, 097, 100-107, UE sends a registration request message to AMF. The registration request message may include a UE ID, a requested first S-NSSAI, and authentication information corresponding to the first S-NSSAI. The authentication information may be authentication information related to the first S-NSSAI, or authentication information related to both the first S-NSSAI and a DNN, the AMF may obtain a network slice signed by the UE from a unified data management (UDM) entity based on a UE identity (ID) and the AMF sends the authentication information to a third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI to enable the third-party server to perform authentication on the UE. The AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to a local configuration. For example, the AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to the first S-NSSAI and a corresponding relationship between the first S-NSSAI and the third-party server stored locally).
Regarding claim 17, TANG discloses in claim 1, further, TANG discloses, a communication apparatus comprising (UE, fig. 2-9, abstract):
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: communicate with a user equipment (UE, fig. 5); and receive, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (Fig. 2-4, ¶ 061, 069, 081, 097, 100-107, UE sends a registration request message to AMF. The registration request message may include a UE ID, a requested first S-NSSAI, and authentication information corresponding to the first S-NSSAI. The authentication information may be authentication information related to the first S-NSSAI, or authentication information related to both the first S-NSSAI and a DNN, the AMF may obtain a network slice signed by the UE from a unified data management (UDM) entity based on a UE identity (ID) and the AMF sends the authentication information to a third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI to enable the third-party server to perform authentication on the UE. The AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to a local configuration. For example, the AMF may determine the third-party server corresponding to the first S-NSSAI according to the first S-NSSAI and a corresponding relationship between the first S-NSSAI and the third-party server stored locally).
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al (20200029205).
Regarding claim 1, Hu et al discloses, a method of a user equipment (UE, Fig. 1-13), the method comprising:
communicating with a communication apparatus; and transmitting, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 13, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, receiving, from the communication apparatus, a response message including a cause value related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization in response to the Registration Request message in a case where the capability information indicates that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization and Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (Requested NSSAI) included in the Registration Request message includes one or more Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAIs) which map to one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice- Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claims 3, 10, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, wherein a procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE supports the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization, and wherein the procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is not triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claims 4, 12, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, wherein the capability information is for determining whether to trigger a procedure related to Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claims 5, 14, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is an Access Management Function (AMF) (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claims 6, 15, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is for access management (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claim 7, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, a method of a communication apparatus, the method comprising:
communicating with a user equipment (UE); and receiving, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claim 9, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, wherein the one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization are obtained from a Unified Data Management (UDM)(¶ 008, 019, 191-121, 178, 204, etc..).
Regarding claim 16, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, a user equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: communicate with a communication apparatus (fig. 23, ¶ 610); and
transmit, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Regarding claim 17, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, a communication apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (fig. 21, ¶ 600): communicate with a user equipment (UE); and receive, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 125-128, 281-287, 295, 343-349, 388, 391-392, 450-451, 462, 504, etc.., fig. 1-13, the registration request may include a subscriber permanent identifier or a temporary user identifier, and may further include at least one of network slice selection assistance information, an MM security service capability of the UE, and an SM security service capability of the UE. The MM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an MM security service procedure supported by the UE. The SM security service capability of the UE is used to indicate an SM security service procedure supported by the UE and based on the identifier of the slice service, a correspondence table that is between the identifier of the slice service and the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier indicates any security service procedure. If the MM security service identifier does not indicate any security service procedure, block S808 is performed. If the MM security service identifier indicates a security service procedure, the AMF entity determines whether the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier. If the MM security service identifier includes the UE MM security service identifier, the AMF entity obtains the UE MM security service identifier and performs block S806.).
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated, by 3GPP (ХР051475217 [cited by applicant]).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses, a method of a user equipment (UE, Fig. 1-13), the method comprising:
communicating with a communication apparatus; and transmitting, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (section 6.3.2.2, "the AMF executes on top of any required PLMN specific Authentication and Authorization step, an Authentication
and Authorization step that is run with the UE and involves the AAA Server for the specific S-NSSAI(s).", where the authentication step is performed by the AMF for the specific slice as indicated in the request by the UE, as above indicating the slice for which authentication is required implicitly is indicating that the terminal supports slice specific authentication).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 13, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, receiving, from the communication apparatus, a response message including a cause value related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization in response to the Registration Request message in a case where the capability information indicates that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization and Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (Requested NSSAI) included in the Registration Request message includes one or more Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAIs) which map to one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice- Specific Authentication and Authorization (section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, wherein a procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE supports the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization, and wherein the procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is not triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, wherein the capability information is for determining whether to trigger a procedure related to Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claims 5, 14, Hu et al discloses in claim 1, further, Hu et al discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is an Access Management Function (AMF) (section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is for access management (section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, a method of a communication apparatus, the method comprising:
communicating with a user equipment (UE); and receiving, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, wherein the one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization are obtained from a Unified Data Management (UDM(section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claim 16, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, a user equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: communicate with a communication apparatus; and
transmit, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (section 6.3.2.2).
Regarding claim 17, 3GPP discloses in claim 1, further, 3GPP discloses, a communication apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: communicate with a user equipment (UE); and receive, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (section 6.3.2.2).
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al (20220225165).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al discloses, a method of a user equipment (UE, Fig. 8-51), the method comprising:
communicating with a communication apparatus; and transmitting, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 13, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, receiving, from the communication apparatus, a response message including a cause value related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization in response to the Registration Request message in a case where the capability information indicates that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization and Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (Requested NSSAI) included in the Registration Request message includes one or more Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAIs) which map to one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice- Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claims 3, 10, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein a procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE supports the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization, and wherein the procedure related to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is not triggered based on the capability information indicating that the UE does not support the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claims 4, 12, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the capability information is for determining whether to trigger a procedure related to Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claims 5, 14, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is an Access Management Function (AMF) (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claims 6, 15, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the communication apparatus is for access management (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, a method of a communication apparatus, the method comprising:
communicating with a user equipment (UE); and receiving, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the one or more S-NSSAIs subject to the Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization are obtained from a Unified Data Management (UDM), using Ndm_SDM_Get (¶ 204).
Regarding claim 16, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, a user equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: communicate with a communication apparatus (fig. 3); and
transmit, to the communication apparatus, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, a communication apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (fig. 3): communicate with a user equipment (UE); and receive, from the UE, a Registration Request message including capability information, the capability information indicating whether the UE supports Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (¶ 191, fig. 8).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643