DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1-30 are pending and examined herein par Applicant’s 07/08/2025 filing with the USPTO.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/15/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: System and Method for Information Management within a Dealership Hierarchical Structure or whatever the Applicant finds to be more descriptive of the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-30 objected to because of the following informalities: the claimed limitations include the undefined acronym “CRM”. For purposes of examination the claimed CRM is understood in the light of the instant specification to mean Customers Relationship Management, see instant specification in at least [3]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (i.e. certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes) without practical application or significantly more when the elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination.
Step 1: Is the claimed invention to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claims fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject. Claims 1-10 are to a method (process) and 21-30 are to a system (machine).
No, claims 11-20 do not fall within least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject. See the additional rejection at 7.
Step 2A, prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law or nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claims are found to recite an abstract idea. Specifically, the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes.
Where certain methods of organizing human activity include fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II).
Where mental processes relates to concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 1 (as a representative claim) recites the following, where the limitations found to contain elements of the abstract idea are in bold italics:
A computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising:
defining a dealership hierarchical structure within a CRM overlay that is configured to interface with a generic customer relationship management platform, wherein the dealership hierarchical structure identifies a plurality of dealership entities associated with a dealership group;
receiving a new sales lead from a potential customer for a specific dealership entity within the dealership group;
determining if the potential customer has previously-submitted any sales leads to the specific dealership entity within the dealership group; and
if the potential customer has previously-submitted any sales leads for the specific dealership entity within the dealership group:
selectively reconciling the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity, and
maintaining the autonomy of the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with respect to any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for any other dealership entities within the dealership group.
Applicant’s claimed invention is to managing sales leads within a dealership group hierarchy. The claims are found to be fundamental economic practice under the abstract category of certain methods of organizing human activity. Where sales leads are long prevalent in our system of commerce – word of mouth, cold calls, referrals, customer contact. In the instant claims the leads comes from potential customers, the claimed invention seeks to manage those leads through a reconciling process.
The claims are also found to be a mental process done within a computer environment. Where the courts do not distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). The claimed limitations could reasonably be performed in the mind of a human using its ability to reason and make judgments based on known information. The instant claims could be performed by a user using, for example, a spreadsheet.
Step 2A, prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, the claimed invention does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Where a practical application is described as integrating the abstract idea by applying it, relying on it, or using the abstract idea in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on it such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize it, see October 2019: Subject Matter Eligibility at p. 11.
The identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites the additional limitations see non-bold-italicized elements above. The receiving elements are determined to be insignificant extra-solution activity, a step of data gathering.
Where 2106.05(g) MPEP states, “term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent.”
The Office finds that merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea; adding insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception; or only generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea?
No, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, when considered individually and as part of the ordered combination. The claimed invention uses a generic general purpose computer (Spec. [149]) and generic customer relationship management platform (Spec. [10]).
Where 2106.05(d)(I)(2) of the MPEP states, “A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 1368, 125 USPQ2d 1649, 1654 (Fed. Cir. 2018). However, this does not mean that a prior art search is necessary to resolve this inquiry. Instead, examiners should rely on what the courts have recognized, or those in the art would recognize, as elements that are well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the relevant field when making the required determination. For example, in many instances, the specification of the application may indicate that additional elements are well-known or conventional. See, e.g., Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1317; 120 USPQ2d at 1359 ("The written description is particularly useful in determining what is well-known or conventional"); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1418 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (relying on specification’s description of additional elements as "well-known", "common" and "conventional"); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 614, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (Specification described additional elements as "either performing basic computer functions such as sending and receiving data, or performing functions ‘known’ in the art.").”
These limitations do NOT offer an improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, or add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application; or other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Therefore, these additional limitations when considered individually or in combination do not provide an inventive concept that can transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter.
The other independent claims recite similar limitations and are rejected for the same reasoning given above.
The dependent claims do not further limit the claimed invention in such a way as to direct the claimed invention to statutory subject matter.
Claim 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is to a computer storage medium. Where the specification provides support for the claimed element in “the present disclosure may take the form of a computer program product on a computer-usable storage medium having computer-usable program code embodied in the medium” (Instant Spec [146]). The Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media memorandum (01/26/2010) states “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium . . . typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signal per se . . . particularly when the specification is silent”, Also see MPEP 2106.03(I). It is suggested that Applicant add “non-transitory” to the claimed limitation to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al (US 2020/0126117 A1) in view of Young et al (US 2023/0237419 A1).
Claims 1, 11, and 21
White teaches a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device (White [7] “computer-implemented method”), comprising:
receiving a new sales lead from a potential customer for a specific dealership entity within the dealership group (White [16] “system that identifies automotive consumer candidates based on accessing, integrating, and evaluating lead data (representing potential candidates for purchasing a vehicle) from one or more disparate data store(s). In another aspect, the integrated data can be grouped and classified into a respective data category representing a candidate data type (e.g., anonymous lead data with no customer data record, anonymous lead data with an existing customer data record, or self-identified lead data).”);
determining if the potential customer has previously-submitted any sales leads to the specific dealership entity within the dealership group (White [27] “classification component 140 determines the subset of first data corresponding to an existing customer to be a lead, such data is grouped with other similar first data subsets into a previous customer lead data group representing a customer that has self-identified that they are a previous customer”); and
if the potential customer has previously-submitted any sales leads for the specific dealership entity within the dealership group (White [22] “system 100 can employ processor 112 to execute matching component 120 that determines, by matching server device 106, whether a subset of first data matches second data representing existing customer information”):
selectively reconciling the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity (White [22] “processor 112 can employ matching component 120 to compare a subset of first data to second data (e.g., historical data associated with an intake form, previous interactive website activity, browsing data, location data of interested automotive vendors, etc.) based on whether any similar identification data (e.g., name information, phone number information, address information, automotive vendor location data, etc.) is identified in first data and second data. If matching component 120 finds a comparative similarity, then matching component 120 determines the subset of first data corresponds with existing customer data (e.g., second data) and the subset of first data can be integrated with the second data or a subset of second data (e.g., existing customer profile data). In the event, matching component 120 determines a satisfactory match above a threshold level of similarity (e.g., indicative of matching customer identification information) between the first data and the second data, then the customer identification information can be assigned a flag to indicate that the activity data is associated with a user having a prior record of engagement with a vendor (e.g., OEM, vehicle dealer, etc.) rather than a candidate consumer having no prior record of engagement.”), and
maintaining the autonomy of the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with respect to any previously- submitted sales leads from the potential customer for any other dealership entities within the dealership group (White [22] “a lead may represent a consumer with a greater level of interest in purchasing a vehicle from a respective dealership”).
White seeks to solve “challenges that automotive dealerships currently face with respect to accessing potential vehicle purchaser leads” where dealerships inherently is more than one, a plurality. White teaches “first data can be extracted from one or more first data store 170 such as a data store representing a dealer customer relationship management storage device” (White [19]). White however does not further teach the claimed limitation of defining a dealership hierarchical structure within a CRM overlay that is configured to interface with a generic customer relationship management platform, wherein the dealership hierarchical structure identifies a plurality of dealership entities associated with a dealership group
Young in the analogous art of organization hierarchy, teaches the claimed limitation of defining a dealership hierarchical structure within a CRM overlay that is configured to interface with a generic customer relationship management platform, wherein the dealership hierarchical structure identifies a plurality of dealership entities associated with a dealership group (Young Abstract “ disclosure provides systems, methods, and apparatuses, including computer programs encoded on computer storage media, for management of one or more organizational hierarchies. In one aspect of the disclosure, a method for managing member information associated with multiple organization hierarchies includes storing member information”, [44] “ management of members at any level of the organization hierarchy”, and [182] “a total number of dealerships included in an organizational hierarchy” where the method/system of Young functions as a CRM see for example [2] “ customized and static nature of each solution provides limited flexibility to modify the solution as the organization's or customer's needs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of White the defining a dealership hierarchical structure within a CRM overlay that is configured to interface with a generic customer relationship management platform, wherein the dealership hierarchical structure identifies a plurality of dealership entities associated with a dealership group as taught by Young since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Independent claims 11 and 21 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claim 11 recites the additional limitations of a computer program product residing on a computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: (White [8] “computer program product can comprise a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor”).
Claim 21 recites the additional limitations of computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations comprising (White [6] “system comprises a processor that executes computer executable components stored in memory” and [53] “computer 612 can also include a processing unit 614, a system memory 616, and a system bus 618. The system bus 618 couples system components including, but not limited to, the system memory 616 to the processing unit”).
Claims 2, 12, and 22
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein selectively reconciling the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity (White [22-23]) includes:
associating the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with a previously-submitted sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity within the CRM overlay if the new sales lead and the previously-submitted sales lead are temporally proximate (White [22] and [37]).
Dependent claims 12 and 22 are also taught by Lyons, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 3, 13, and 23
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein selectively reconciling the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity (White [22-23]) includes:
maintaining the autonomy of the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with respect to the previously- submitted sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity within the CRM overlay if the new sales lead and the previously-submitted sales lead are temporally distant (White [22] see location).
Dependent claims 13 and 23 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 4, 14, and 24
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein selectively reconciling the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity (White [22-23]) includes:
determining a status for the previously-submitted sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity (White [16] and [22]).
Dependent claims 14 and 24 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 5, 15, and 25
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein maintaining the autonomy of the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity with respect to any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for any other dealership entities within the dealership group (White [22]) includes:
enabling the new sales lead from the potential customer for the specific dealership entity to coexist within the CRM overlay with respect to any previously-submitted sales leads from the potential customer for any other dealership entities within the dealership group (White [37]).
Dependent claims 15 and 25 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 6, 16, and 26
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1 further comprising:
enabling group level access to business intelligence data for the plurality of dealership entities that are members of the dealership group (White [37]).
Dependent claims 16 and 26 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 7, 17, and 27
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 6 further comprising:
enabling group level reporting based, at least in part, upon the business intelligence data for the plurality of dealership entities that are members of the dealership group (White [37]).
Dependent claims 17 and 27 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 8, 18, and 28
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein the generic customer relationship management platform is a configurable and programmable customer relationship management platform (White [24] and [28]).
Dependent claims 18 and 28 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 9, 19, and 29
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1, White does not expressly teach the limitation of wherein the dealership hierarchical structure identifies a plurality of vehicle dealership entities associated with a vehicle dealership group.
Young in the analogous art of organization hierarchy, teaches the claimed limitation of wherein the dealership hierarchical structure identifies a plurality of vehicle dealership entities associated with a vehicle dealership group (Young [65-66] and fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of White the wherein the dealership hierarchical structure identifies a plurality of vehicle dealership entities associated with a vehicle dealership group as taught by Young since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Dependent claims 19 and 29 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Claims 10, 20, and 30
White in view of Young teaches all the limitations of the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein the CRM overlay includes a dealer CRM solution that runs on top of and/or interfaces with the generic customer relationship management platform (White [22] and [37], where the limitation is made in the alternative only one element needs to be present in the art.).
Dependent claims 20 and 30 are also taught by White in view of Young, where the limitations of these claims are substantially similar to those rejected above therefore these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning given above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lyons et al (US 2018/0181625 A1) teaches client/company matching to alleviate the issues surrounding multiple name variants, corporate hierarchies, and incorrect spelling, which thus enables the broker to readily determine whether the broker already has an existing business relationship with the prospect or if there is some preexisting relationship (e.g., at a hierarchical level) that can be leveraged in engaging the new prospect.
Siebel et al (US 2022/0405775 A1) teaches Dealership management can be used to integrate more data sources, from marketing leads to after-market services, to build a 360° view of all dealership and cross-dealership customers in order to track customers across multiple sites.
/FOLASHADE ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623