DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1-10, applicant’s disclosure does not describe a representative number of species for the claimed genus “cleaning blade” (see MPEP 2163). According to applicant’s disclosure the “cleaning blade” is disclosed solely as an electrophotographic cleaning blade for cleaning a photoconductor or intermediate transfer member. The claims should be amended to indicate the cleaning blade is used in an electrophotographic apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Juri et al. US 20250244696.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Juri et al. discloses:
A cleaning blade comprising:
a blade substrate (622) (FIG. 1) including an elastic body having a tip portion (62c) (FIG. 1) to be in contact with a surface of an object (22) (FIG. 1) to clean the surface of the object;
a blade support (621) (FIG. 1) supporting the blade substrate; and
a coating layer coating (623) (FIG. 3) at least the tip portion of the elastic body to form a tip ridge in contact with the surface of the object,
the coating layer having a developed interfacial area ratio (Sdr) of 1.2% or more and 1.8% or less in a 100 µm square region inward from the tip ridge of the coating layer on the blade substrate [0124, 0127, 0128, and 0134] (when forming coating layer with dispersions A, D, or E which uses same dipping process as disclosed by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the developed interfacial area ratio (Sdr) is 1.4% or more and 1.7% or less [0124, 0127, 0128, and 0134] (when forming coating layer with dispersions A, D, or E which uses same dipping process as disclosed by applicant).
Regarding claim 3, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer has a thickness of 0.5 µm or more and 12 µm or less at a position 100 µm inward from the tip ridge [0135-136] (Table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes particles and binder resin [0038].
Regarding claim 5, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes multiple particles having different particle diameters (at least some of the multiple particles must have slightly different particle diameters).
Regarding claim 6, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes:
a coating film including:
the particles made of polytetrafluoroethylene [0124]; and
the binder resin made of fluorine-based resin [0124]; or
a coating film including:
the particles made of acrylic resin [0128]; and
the binder resin made of polyvinyl alcohol resin or polyvinyl acetal resin [0128].
Regarding claim 7, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the blade substrate has one of:
a single-layer structure of polyurethane rubber [0058-59]; and
a laminated structure including multiple layers of polyurethane rubber, and the multiple layers have different Martens hardnesses [0058-59].
Claims 1-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Juri et al. US 20250244707.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Juri et al. discloses:
A cleaning blade comprising:
a blade substrate (622) (FIG. 1) including an elastic body having a tip portion (62c) (FIG. 1) to be in contact with a surface of an object (3) (FIG. 1) to clean the surface of the object;
a blade support (621) (FIG. 1) supporting the blade substrate; and
a coating layer coating (623) (FIG. 2) at least the tip portion of the elastic body to form a tip ridge in contact with the surface of the object,
the coating layer having a developed interfacial area ratio (Sdr) of 1.2% or more and 1.8% or less in a 100 µm square region inward from the tip ridge of the coating layer on the blade substrate [0156, 0158, 0159, and 0166] (when forming coating layer with dispersions A, D, or E which uses same dipping process as disclosed by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the developed interfacial area ratio (Sdr) is 1.4% or more and 1.7% or less [0156, 0158, 0159, and 0166] (when forming coating layer with dispersions A, D, or E which uses same dipping process as disclosed by applicant).
Regarding claim 3, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer has a thickness of 0.5 µm or more and 12 µm or less at a position 100 µm inward from the tip ridge [0173] (Table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes particles and binder resin [0043].
Regarding claim 5, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes multiple particles having different particle diameters (at least some of the multiple particles must have slightly different particle diameters).
Regarding claim 6, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes:
a coating film including:
the particles made of polytetrafluoroethylene [0156]; and
the binder resin made of fluorine-based resin [0156]; or
a coating film including:
the particles made of acrylic resin [0160]; and
the binder resin made of polyvinyl alcohol resin or polyvinyl acetal resin [0160].
Regarding claim 7, Juri et al. discloses:
wherein the blade substrate has one of:
a single-layer structure of polyurethane rubber [0066-67]; and
a laminated structure including multiple layers of polyurethane rubber, and the multiple layers have different Martens hardnesses [0066-67].
Regarding claim 9, Juri et al. discloses:
A process cartridge comprising:
an image bearer (3) (FIGs. 1 and 5);
at least one of
a charger (4) (FIG. 5) to charge a surface of the image bearer,
an irradiator (40) (FIG. 4) to irradiate the surface of the image bearer with light to form an electrostatic latent image,
a developing device (5) (FIG. 5) to develop the electrostatic latent image and form a toner image, and
a transferor (14) (FIG. 4) to transfer the toner image onto a recording medium; and
the cleaning blade according to claim 1 contacting the surface of the image bearer to remove residue on the surface of the image bearer (FIGs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 10, Juri et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearer (3) (FIGs. 1 and 5);
a charger (4) (FIG. 5) to charge a surface of the image bearer;
an irradiator (40) (FIG. 4) to irradiate the surface of the image bearer with light to form an electrostatic latent image;
a developing device (5) (FIG. 5) to develop the electrostatic latent image and form a toner image;
a transferor (14) (FIG. 4) to transfer the toner image onto a recording medium;
a fixing device (80) (FIG. 4) to fix the toner image transferred onto the recording medium; and
the cleaning blade according to claim 1 contacting the surface of the image bearer to remove residue on the surface of the image bearer (FIGs. 1 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmori et al. US 20240255889.
Regarding claim 1, Ohmori et al. discloses:
A cleaning blade comprising:
a blade substrate (622) (FIG. 1) including an elastic body having a tip portion (62c) (FIG. 1) to be in contact with a surface of an object (3) (FIG. 1) to clean the surface of the object;
a blade support (621) (FIG. 1) supporting the blade substrate; and
a coating layer coating (623) (FIG. 2) at least the tip portion of the elastic body to form a tip ridge in contact with the surface of the object.
Ohmori et al. does not explicitly disclose the coating layer having a developed interfacial area ratio (Sdr) of 1.2% or more and 1.8% or less in a 100 µm square region inward from the tip ridge of the coating layer on the blade substrate.
Ohmori et al. discloses forming a coating layer using the same dipping process disclosed by applicant with a dispersion having a different ratio of the same components disclosed by applicant [0258-259] (Ohmori et al. discloses using 95 parts PMMA and 5 parts PVB while applicant discloses a dispersion using 97 parts PMMA and 3 parts PVB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the dispersion as disclosed by Ohmori et al. to include the same ratio of PMMA to PVB as disclosed by applicant in order to optimize the cleaning performance of the blade since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
When making such a modification, Ohmori et al. teaches the coating layer having a developed interfacial area ratio (Sdr) of 1.2% or more and 1.8% or less in a 100 µm square region inward from the tip ridge of the coating layer on the blade substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Ohmori et al. as modified above teaches
wherein the developed interfacial area ratio (Sdr) is 1.4% or more and 1.7% or less (when forming coating layer with same dispersion and dipping process as disclosed by applicant).
Regarding claim 3, Ohmori et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer has a thickness of 0.5 µm or more and 12 µm or less at a position 100 µm inward from the tip ridge [0051 and 0270] (Table 3).
Regarding claim 4, Ohmori et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes particles and binder resin [0038].
Regarding claim 5, Ohmori et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes multiple particles having different particle diameters (at least some of the multiple particles must have slightly different particle diameters).
Regarding claim 6, Ohmori et al. discloses:
wherein the coating layer includes:
a coating film including:
the particles made of polytetrafluoroethylene [0255-257]; and
the binder resin made of fluorine-based resin [0255-257]; or
a coating film including:
the particles made of acrylic resin [0258]; and
the binder resin made of polyvinyl alcohol resin or polyvinyl acetal resin [0258].
Regarding claim 7, Ohmori et al. discloses:
wherein the blade substrate has one of:
a single-layer structure of polyurethane rubber [0104 and 0108]; and
a laminated structure including multiple layers of polyurethane rubber, and the multiple layers have different Martens hardnesses [0104, 0106, and 0108].
Regarding claim 8, Ohmori et al. teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 7 as set forth above. Furthermore, Ohmori et al. discloses wherein the blade substrate has: the single-layer structure of polyurethane rubber [0104 and 0108], but does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate has a Martens hardness of 5.0 N / mm2 or more and 30.0 N / mm2 or less.
Ohmori et al. discloses wherein the Martens hardness of the substrate affects cleaning performance and damage resistance [0110].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Ohmori et al. to include wherein the substrate has a Martens hardness of 5.0 N / mm2 or more and 30.0 N / mm2 or less in order to ensure optimal cleaning performance and damage resistance since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, Ohmori et al. discloses:
A process cartridge comprising:
an image bearer (3) (FIGs. 1 and 8);
at least one of
a charger (4) (FIG. 8) to charge a surface of the image bearer,
an irradiator (40) (FIG. 7) to irradiate the surface of the image bearer with light to form an electrostatic latent image,
a developing device (5) (FIG. 8) to develop the electrostatic latent image and form a toner image, and
a transferor (14) (FIG. 7) to transfer the toner image onto a recording medium; and
the cleaning blade according to claim 1 contacting the surface of the image bearer to remove residue on the surface of the image bearer (FIGs. 1 and 8).
Regarding claim 10, Ohmori et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearer (3) (FIGs. 1 and 8);
a charger (4) (FIG. 8) to charge a surface of the image bearer;
an irradiator (40) (FIG. 7) to irradiate the surface of the image bearer with light to form an electrostatic latent image;
a developing device (5) (FIG. 8) to develop the electrostatic latent image and form a toner image;
a transferor (14) (FIG. 7) to transfer the toner image onto a recording medium;
a fixing device (80) (FIG. 7) to fix the toner image transferred onto the recording medium; and
the cleaning blade according to claim 1 contacting the surface of the image bearer to remove
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Juri et al. US 20250244696.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 8, Juri et al. discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 7 as set forth above. Furthermore, Juri et al. discloses wherein the blade substrate has: the single-layer structure of polyurethane rubber [0058-59], but does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate has a Martens hardness of 5.0 N / mm2 or more and 30.0 N / mm2 or less.
Juri et al. discloses wherein the Martens hardness of the substrate affects cleaning performance and damage resistance [0061].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Juri et al. to include wherein the substrate has a Martens hardness of 5.0 N / mm2 or more and 30.0 N / mm2 or less in order to ensure optimal cleaning performance and damage resistance since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Juri et al. US 20250244707.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 8, Juri et al. discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 7 as set forth above. Furthermore, Juri et al. discloses wherein the blade substrate has: the single-layer structure of polyurethane rubber [0066-67], but does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate has a Martens hardness of 5.0 N / mm2 or more and 30.0 N / mm2 or less.
Juri et al. discloses wherein the Martens hardness of the substrate affects cleaning performance and damage resistance [0069].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Juri et al. to include wherein the substrate has a Martens hardness of 5.0 N / mm2 or more and 30.0 N / mm2 or less in order to ensure optimal cleaning performance and damage resistance since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/THOMAS S GIAMPAOLO II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852