DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments of the specification are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s amendments of claims 1-4, 7, 10, 12, 16-17, and 19-20 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 5-6, 8, and 13-15 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s addition of new claims 21-26 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s amendments of claim 10, and the cancelation of claim 5 has overcome the previous drawing objections. Therefore, the previous drawing objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment of the specification, and claim 10 has overcome the previous specification objections. Therefore, the previous specification objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment of claims 2, 7, 10, and 16 has overcome the previous claim objections. Therefore, the previous claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s cancelation of claim 14 has overcome the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Therefore, the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, and 16-26 are pending in the current Application.
Oath/Declaration
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 09/08/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 1 based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as set forth in the last Office action because:
It refer(s) only to the system described in the above referenced application and not to the individual claims of the application. Thus, there is no showing that the objective evidence of nonobviousness is commensurate in scope with the claims. See MPEP § 716.
In the brief instances where it does refer to the prior art reference of Toong (paragraphs 6, 8, and 9), it either argues intended uses of the claimed invention which Toong is capable of performing as discussed in the non-final rejection mailed 06/05/2026, or argues features which were not previously presented which are addressed below.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no disclosure or suggestion of disposing an EMG sensor over a predetermined muscle, or of using EMG signal feedback from a predetermined muscle to confirm successful recruitment of a predetermined nerve, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention (i.e. positioning the dressing which comprises an EMG sensor and an electrode over a predetermined muscle) must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case Toong discloses a therapeutic dressing (110; see [0146]; see figure 13), which comprises a stimulating electrode (1620; see [0146]; see figure 13), and an EMG sensor (even if briefly mentioned, paragraph [0119] discloses “sensors include an electromyography sensor (“EMG”)”) and thus, the dressing of Toong is capable of being positioned over a predetermined muscle as claimed.
With respect to the limitation of “using EMG signal feedback from a predetermined muscle to confirm successful recruitment of a predetermined nerve that is being electrically stimulated” Toong discloses the EMG sensors detect EMG signals (i.e. provide EMG signal feedback from the muscle the bandage is applied over (see [0119]). EMG sensors such as those disclosed by Toong function to detect the tiny electrical activity (i.e. nerve activation) generated by muscle fibers when they contract and thus, the EMG sensors disclosed by Toong detect electrical activity (i.e. nerve activations) from the stimulating electrode causing the muscle contraction. Therefore, the EMG sensors confirm contraction of the proper muscle and consequently recruitment of a predetermined nerve that is being electrically stimulated.
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding the rejection of claims 4, 9, 12, and 17 containing an impermissible use of hindsight, Applicant has not provided which modification or a reasoning for why said unidentified modification is impermissible hindsight. As such, these arguments are non-persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding the rejection of claim 6, Applicant has canceled claim 6. As such, these arguments are moot.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10 have been considered but are moot because the amendments change the scope of the claim resulting in a new ground of rejection which does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new claim 21 are acknowledged. However, new claim 21 is similar to previously presented claim 17 and will be rejected similarly.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 22 and 26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. These claims are addressed below.
Applicant’s arguments of new claims 23-25 contain limitations not previously presented or considered. However, upon further consideration Toong discloses these limitations as will be discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11, 16, 18-20, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toong et al. (US 2021/0268276 A1) (hereinafter Toong).
In regards to claim 1, Toong discloses A therapeutic dressing (110; see [0146]; see figure 13), comprising:
a central non-adherent portion (first and second 1612; see [0146]; see figure 13);
an adherent portion (adhesive portion of 1610; see [0146]; see figure 13) around the central non-adherent portion and comprising an adhesive (see [0146]);
at least one stimulating electrode (1620; see [0146]; see figure 13);
a sensor (1006; see [0024]; see figure 2; 1000 and 1630 are each control systems on a chip/board which generate stimulation through electrodes, and sense said stimulation (see [0024] and [0148]), thus, 1630 is considered to be configured similar to, and comprise the same structures as 1000); and
an integrated circuit (IC) (1630; see [0148]; see figure 13) in operable communication with, and configured to control, the at least one stimulating electrode (see [0148]),
wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured to provide electrical stimulation to a predetermined nerve of a user during use via the at least one stimulating electrode (see [0018] and [0070]),
wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured such that the at least one stimulating electrode is disposed over the predetermined nerve of the user during use (110 when placed in a predetermined position (i.e. over an incision or wound), disposes 1620 over the predetermined nerve of the user associated with the predetermined position of the dressing during use),
wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured such that the sensor is disposed over a predetermined muscle of the user during use (110 when placed in said predetermined position, disposes 1006 over the predetermined muscle of the user associated with the predetermined position of the dressing during use),
wherein the sensor is an electromyography (EMG) sensor (sensors include an electromyography sensor (“EMG”); see [0119]), and
wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured to gather, via the EMG sensor, EMG signal feedback from the predetermined muscle (EMG signals change with wound healing progress (see [0119]) thus, 110 using the EMG sensor is configured to gather EMG signals from the EMG sensor detecting changes in the predetermined muscle the dressing is applied thereon) and to utilize the EMG signal feedback to confirm that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation (EMG sensors function to detect the tiny electrical activity (i.e. nerve activation) generated by muscle fibers when they contract and thus, the EMG sensors detect electrical activity (i.e. nerve activations) from the muscle’s contraction caused by the electrical stimulation from the stimulating electrode indicative that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation).
In regards to claim 2, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the IC (1630) is configured such that the predetermined nerve receives a same amount of electrical stimulation regardless of a size of the user or a resistance of a skin or tissue of the user (see [0018] and [0148]), and
wherein the IC comprises a microcontroller (1002; see [0024]; see figure 2; as discussed above, 1630 is considered to be configured similar to, and comprise the same structures as 1000), a power source (1636; see [0147]; see figure 13), and a current-controlled voltage pulse generator (1004; see [0025]; see figure 2) configured to provide the same amount of electrical stimulation to the predetermined nerve regardless of the size of the user or the resistance of the skin or tissue of the user (see [0018] and [0148]).
In regards to claim 3, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured to provide the electrical stimulation to the predetermined nerve for a predetermined amount of time before becoming inert (the device applies stimulation during the treatment duration, and then becomes inert after the treatment is over; see [0048-0051]; see figures 4 and 5).
In regards to claim 7, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured such that the sensor is in direct physical contact with a skin of the user during use (110 uses sensors which are electrodes on the skin-facing surface of the patch; See [0131]), and
wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured such that the at least one stimulating electrode is in direct physical contact with the skin of the user during use (see [0166]).
In regards to claim 11, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the therapeutic dressing is a single-use, disposable dressing (110 is capable of being disposed of after a single-use; see [0020]).
In regards to claim 16, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses A method for providing electrical stimulation to a predetermined nerve of a user (see [0002] and [0018]), the method comprising:
applying, to a skin of the user, the therapeutic dressing according to claim 1 (see discussion above; 110 is applied to the user’s skin; see [0018]); and
using the therapeutic dressing to provide the electrical stimulation to the predetermined nerve for a predetermined amount of time (treatment duration; see [0048-0051]).
In regards to claim 18, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses further comprising disposing of the therapeutic dressing after a single use of the therapeutic dressing providing the electrical stimulation to the nerve for the predetermined amount of time (110 is disposable and can be disposed after a single treatment duration if desired; see [0020]).
In regards to claim 19, Toong discloses A method of monitoring a post-operative treatment site of a user (110 may be used to for monitoring a wound site; see [0084]; a wound site including a post-operative treatment wound (i.e. surgical incision)), the method comprising:
applying to the post-operative treatment site a therapeutic dressing (110; see [0146]; see figure 13; 110 is applied to the user’s skin over a wound site; see [abstract]) comprising a circuit (1630; see [0146]; see figure 13), at least one stimulating electrode (1620; see [0146]; see figure 13), and at least one sensor (1006; see [0024]; see figure 2; 1000 and 1630 are each control systems on a chip/board which generate stimulation through electrodes, and sense said stimulation (see [0024] and [0148]), thus, 1630 is considered to be configured similar to, and comprise the same structures as 1000), the at least one sensor comprising an electromyography (EMG) sensor (sensors include an electromyography sensor (“EMG”); see [0119]), the EMG sensor being disposed over a predetermined muscle of the user (110 when placed in a predetermined position (i.e. over an incision or wound), disposes 1006 over the predetermined muscle of the user associated with the predetermined position of the dressing during use), and the at least one stimulating electrode being disposed over the predetermined nerve of the user (110 when placed in said predetermined position, disposes 1020 over the predetermined nerve of the user associated with the predetermined position of the dressing);
providing, by the at least one stimulating electrode, electrical stimulation to a predetermined nerve of the user (electrodes that apply an electrical stimulation to the surface of the user's skin (see [0021]) and consequently apply electrical stimulation to the predetermined nerve associated with the predetermined position of the dressing during use);
receiving a EMG signal feedback from the EMG sensor (EMG sensor detects EMG signal feedback depending on the wound healing progress; see [0119]);
transmitting the EMG signal feedback wirelessly to a remote device (data transmitted via 1010 to external control device; see [0026]);
utilizing the EMG signal feedback to confirm that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation (EMG sensors function to detect the tiny electrical activity (i.e. nerve activation) generated by muscle fibers when they contract and thus, the EMG sensors detect electrical activity (i.e. nerve activations) from the muscle’s contraction caused by the electrical stimulation from the stimulating electrode to utilize and indicate that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation); and
dynamically adjusting one or more stimulation parameters of the therapeutic dressing, based on the EMG signal feedback (any necessary adjustments of the functionality of the device to be made remotely based on input data from sensors (i.e. EMG signal feedback); see [0170]), to deliver or maintain an optimal level of the electrical stimulation according to a predetermined protocol (see [0112-0114], and [0170]).
In regards to claim 20, Toong discloses a method for providing electrical stimulation to a predetermined nerve of a user (see [0018]), the method comprising:
applying, to a skin of the user, a therapeutic dressing (110; see [0146]; see figure 13; 110 is applied to the skin of the user; see [0018]) comprising at least one stimulating electrode (1620; see [0146]; see figure 13), an electromyography (EMG) sensor (1006; see [0024]; see figure 2; 1000 and 1630 are each control systems on a chip/board which generate stimulation through electrodes, and sense said stimulation (see [0024] and [0148]), thus, 1630 is considered to be configured similar to, and comprise the same structures as 1000; see [0119] in reference to the sensor being an EMG sensor), and an integrated circuit (IC) (1630; see [0148]; see figure 13) in operable communication with, and configured to control, the at least one stimulating electrode (see [0018] and [0070]) the EMG sensor being disposed over a predetermined muscle of the user (110 when placed in a predetermined position (i.e. over an incision or wound), disposes 1006 over the predetermined muscle of the user associated with the predetermined position of the dressing during use), and the at least one stimulating electrode being disposed over the predetermined nerve of the user (110 when placed in said predetermined position, disposes 1020 over the predetermined nerve of the user associated with the predetermined position of the dressing);
providing, by the at least one stimulating electrode, electrical stimulation to a predetermined nerve (electrodes that apply an electrical stimulation to the surface of the user's skin (see [0021]) and consequently apply electrical stimulation to the predetermined nerve associated with the predetermined position of the dressing during use);
receiving a EMG signal feedback from the from the predetermined muscle (EMG sensor detects EMG signal feedback depending on the wound healing progress; see [0119]; EMG sensors detect the tiny electrical activity (i.e. nerve activation) generated by muscle fibers when they contract and thus, the EMG sensors detect electrical activity (i.e. nerve activations) from the predetermined muscle);
transmitting the EMG signal feedback wirelessly to a remote device (data transmitted via 1010 to external control device; see [0026]);
utilizing the EMG signal feedback to confirm that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation (EMG sensors function to detect the tiny electrical activity (i.e. nerve activation) generated by muscle fibers when they contract and thus, the EMG sensors detect electrical activity (i.e. nerve activations) from the muscle’s contraction caused by the electrical stimulation from the stimulating electrode to utilize and indicate that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation); and
dynamically adjusting, by a microcontroller of the IC (1002; see [0024]; see figure 2; as discussed above 1630 is considered to be configured similar to, and comprise the same structures as 1000 and thus, comprises 1002), stimulation parameters of the therapeutic dressing, based on the EMG signal feedback (any necessary adjustments of the functionality of the device to be made remotely based on input data from sensors (i.e. EMG signal feedback); see [0170]), to deliver or maintain an optimal level of the electrical stimulation according to a predetermined protocol (see [0112-0114], and [0170]).
In regards to claim 23, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses gathering, via the EMG sensor, EMG signal feedback from the predetermined muscle (EMG signals change with wound healing progress (see [0119]) thus, 110 using the EMG sensor is configured to gather EMG signals from the EMG sensor detecting changes in the predetermined muscle the dressing is applied thereon), and
utilizing the EMG signal feedback to confirm that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation (EMG sensors function to detect the tiny electrical activity (i.e. nerve activation) generated by muscle fibers when they contract and thus, the EMG sensors detect electrical activity (i.e. nerve activations) from the muscle’s contraction caused by the electrical stimulation from the stimulating electrode to utilize and indicate that the predetermined nerve has successfully received the electrical stimulation).
In regards to claim 24, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses dynamically adjusting, by a microcontroller of the IC (1002; see [0024]; see figure 2; as discussed above 1630 is considered to be configured similar to, and comprise the same structures as 1000 and thus, comprises 1002), stimulation parameters of the therapeutic dressing, based on the EMG signal feedback (any necessary adjustments of the functionality of the device to be made remotely based on input data from sensors (i.e. EMG signal feedback); see [0170]), to deliver or maintain an optimal level of the electrical stimulation according to a predetermined protocol (see [0112-0114], and [0170]).
In regards to claim 25, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the therapeutic dressing is configured to dynamically and automatically adjust, via a microcontroller of the IC (1002; see [0024]; see figure 2; as discussed above 1630 is considered to be configured similar to, and comprise the same structures as 1000 and thus, comprises 1002), stimulation parameters of the therapeutic dressing, based on the EMG signal feedback (any necessary adjustments of the functionality of the device to be made remotely based on input data from sensors (i.e. EMG signal feedback); see [0170]), to deliver or maintain an optimal level of the electrical stimulation according to a predetermined protocol (see [0112-0114], and [0170]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, 12, 17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toong et al. (US 2021/0268276 A1) (hereinafter Toong).
In regards to claim 4, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on: characteristics of a procedure that was performed on the predetermined nerve of the user; characteristics of the user; or both (treatment regimens can be automatically adjusted for wound geometries (characteristics of the wound and the wound of the nerve) upon initial application as well as downstream as the environment changes (e.g., changing impedances, degree of user comfort, etc.) (characteristics of the user); see [0170]).
Toong does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined amount of time is in a range of from 2 minutes to 180 minutes.
However, Toong teaches patch 110 can vary treatment durations from minutes to hours to days, and can adjust treatment upon inputs from sensors (e.g., temperature sensors, optical sensors to detect wound size and closure rates, etc.) (see [0170]). Thus, the predetermined amount of time for the provision of electrical stimulation to the nerve is considered to be a result effective variable in that changing the predetermined amount of time affects the ability of the electrical stimulation to promote wound healing by increasing vascularization (and vascular endothelial growth factor, VEGF, expression), promoting regeneration of defective peripheral nerves, increasing collagen deposition, enhancing cell migration and integrative repair function, and by forcing a necessary bacteriostatic state (see [0168]). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the predetermined amount of time of Toong as it involves only adjusting the duration of a treatment disclosed to require adjustment, and because the claimed range of the predetermined amount of time lies inside the range of minutes to days as taught by Toong.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predetermined amount of time of electrical stimulation disclosed by Toong by adjusting the predetermined amount of time to be 2 minutes to 180 minutes as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). Such a modification would add the benefit of ability of the electrical stimulation to promote wound healing by increasing vascularization (and vascular endothelial growth factor, VEGF, expression), promoting regeneration of defective peripheral nerves, increasing collagen deposition, enhancing cell migration and integrative repair function, and by forcing a necessary bacteriostatic state (see [0168]) as needed.
Additionally and/or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predetermined amount of time of the electrical stimulation to the nerve as disclosed by Toong from minutes to days to 2 minutes to 180 minutes as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range contrarily stating “(t)he duration of stimulation can be predetermined, for example based on the specific surgical procedure and/or patient/user characteristics. The stimulation can last for an amount of time in a range of, for example, 1 minute to 600 minutes (or any value, about any value, or subrange therein)” (see Specification [pg 2 ln 25-30]) which discloses the predetermined time can be values of time which are not encompassed by the claimed range (i.e. 181 minutes to 600 minutes) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regards to claim 9, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong does not disclose the first and second stimulating electrode (1620) comprises a positive stimulating electrode and a negative stimulating electrode.
However, Toong teaches a second embodiment of the therapeutic dressing (102; see [0082]; see figure 8) which comprises at least one stimulating electrode (114; see [0082]; see figure 8); wherein the at least one stimulating electrode comprises a positive stimulating electrode and a negative stimulating electrode (see [0082]) for the purpose of creating a lateral electric field across the wound (see [0088]) and to minimize leakage currents which minimizes uncomfortable stimulation sensations (see [0126]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one stimulating electrode as disclosed by Toong to be a positive stimulating electrode and negative stimulating electrode pair as taught by the second embodiment of the therapeutic dressing of Toong in order to have provided an improved pair of stimulating electrodes that would add the benefit of creating a lateral electric field across the wound (see [0088]) which minimizes leakage currents and minimizes uncomfortable stimulation sensations (see [0126]).
In regards to claim 12, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the IC comprises at least one battery (1636; see [0147]; see figure 13), and
wherein the IC is in operable communication with, and configured to control, the sensor (1006; see [0024]; see figure 2),
wherein the IC comprises a wireless communication module (1010; see [0024]; see figure 2) configured to enable remote modification of the one or more stimulation parameters of the electrical stimulation (any necessary adjustments of the functionality of the device to be made remotely; see [0170]).
Toong does not disclose the IC comprises a voltage multiplier.
However, Toong discloses that the therapeutic dressing may include a boosted voltage circuit (200; see [0028]; see figure 3a) which may be controlled by the control unit 1002 which is configured similarly to 1630; wherein the boosted voltage circuit includes a voltage multiplier (voltage doubler; see [0037]) for the purpose of doubling the high voltage output, and reduce voltage stress on the circuitry (see [0037]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the IC of the therapeutic dressing as disclosed by Toong and to have included the boosted voltage circuit and associated voltage multiplier as taught by Toong in order to have provided an improved IC of the therapeutic dressing that would add the benefit of doubling the high voltage output, and reduce voltage stress on the circuitry (see [0037]).
In regards to claim 17, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on: characteristics of a procedure that was performed on the predetermined nerve of the user; characteristics of the user; or both (treatment regimens can be automatically adjusted for wound geometries (characteristics of the wound and the wound of the nerve) upon initial application as well as downstream as the environment changes (e.g., changing impedances, degree of user comfort, etc.) (characteristics of the user); see [0170]).
Toong does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined amount of time is in a range of from 2 minutes to 180 minutes.
However, Toong teaches patch 110 can vary treatment durations from minutes to hours to days, and can adjust treatment upon inputs from sensors (e.g., temperature sensors, optical sensors to detect wound size and closure rates, etc.) (see [0170]). Thus, the predetermined amount of time for the provision of electrical stimulation to the nerve is considered to be a result effective variable in that changing the predetermined amount of time affects the ability of the electrical stimulation to promote wound healing by increasing vascularization (and vascular endothelial growth factor, VEGF, expression), promoting regeneration of defective peripheral nerves, increasing collagen deposition, enhancing cell migration and integrative repair function, and by forcing a necessary bacteriostatic state (see [0168]). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the predetermined amount of time of Toong as it involves only adjusting the duration of a treatment disclosed to require adjustment, and because the claimed range of the predetermined amount of time lies inside the range of minutes to days as taught by Toong.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predetermined amount of time of electrical stimulation disclosed by Toong by adjusting the predetermined amount of time to be 2 minutes to 180 minutes as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). Such a modification would add the benefit of ability of the electrical stimulation to promote wound healing by increasing vascularization (and vascular endothelial growth factor, VEGF, expression), promoting regeneration of defective peripheral nerves, increasing collagen deposition, enhancing cell migration and integrative repair function, and by forcing a necessary bacteriostatic state (see [0168]) as needed.
Additionally and/or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predetermined amount of time of the electrical stimulation to the nerve as disclosed by Toong from minutes to days to 2 minutes to 180 minutes as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range contrarily stating “(t)he duration of stimulation can be predetermined, for example based on the specific surgical procedure and/or patient/user characteristics. The stimulation can last for an amount of time in a range of, for example, 1 minute to 600 minutes (or any value, about any value, or subrange therein)” (see Specification [pg 2 ln 25-30]) which discloses the predetermined time can be values of time which are not encompassed by the claimed range (i.e. 181 minutes to 600 minutes) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regards to claim 21, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong further discloses wherein the electrical stimulation is provided to the predetermined nerve of the user for a predetermined amount of time (treatment duration; see [0048-0051]);
wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on: characteristics of a procedure that was performed on the predetermined nerve of the user; characteristics of the user; or both (treatment regimens can be automatically adjusted for wound geometries (characteristics of the wound and the wound of the nerve) upon initial application as well as downstream as the environment changes (e.g., changing impedances, degree of user comfort, etc.) (characteristics of the user); see [0170]).
Toong does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined amount of time is in a range of from 2 minutes to 180 minutes.
However, Toong teaches patch 110 can vary treatment durations from minutes to hours to days, and can adjust treatment upon inputs from sensors (e.g., temperature sensors, optical sensors to detect wound size and closure rates, etc.) (see [0170]). Thus, the predetermined amount of time for the provision of electrical stimulation to the nerve is considered to be a result effective variable in that changing the predetermined amount of time affects the ability of the electrical stimulation to promote wound healing by increasing vascularization (and vascular endothelial growth factor, VEGF, expression), promoting regeneration of defective peripheral nerves, increasing collagen deposition, enhancing cell migration and integrative repair function, and by forcing a necessary bacteriostatic state (see [0168]). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the predetermined amount of time of Toong as it involves only adjusting the duration of a treatment disclosed to require adjustment, and because the claimed range of the predetermined amount of time lies inside the range of minutes to days as taught by Toong.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predetermined amount of time of electrical stimulation disclosed by Toong by adjusting the predetermined amount of time to be 2 minutes to 180 minutes as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP 2144.05 II A). Such a modification would add the benefit of ability of the electrical stimulation to promote wound healing by increasing vascularization (and vascular endothelial growth factor, VEGF, expression), promoting regeneration of defective peripheral nerves, increasing collagen deposition, enhancing cell migration and integrative repair function, and by forcing a necessary bacteriostatic state (see [0168]) as needed.
Additionally and/or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the predetermined amount of time of the electrical stimulation to the nerve as disclosed by Toong from minutes to days to 2 minutes to 180 minutes as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range contrarily stating “(t)he duration of stimulation can be predetermined, for example based on the specific surgical procedure and/or patient/user characteristics. The stimulation can last for an amount of time in a range of, for example, 1 minute to 600 minutes (or any value, about any value, or subrange therein)” (see Specification [pg 2 ln 25-30]) which discloses the predetermined time can be values of time which are not encompassed by the claimed range (i.e. 181 minutes to 600 minutes) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toong in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0248962 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) and Zanella et al. (US 2009/0227935 A1) (hereinafter Zanella).
In regards to claim 10, Toong discloses the invention as discussed above.
Toong does not disclose further comprising an indicator configured to indicate a function of the IC and/or the at least one stimulating electrode during use,
wherein the indicator is disposed in the adherent portion, and
wherein the IC, the sensor, and the at least one stimulating electrode are disposed in the adherent portion.
However, Zhang teaches an analogous dressing (10; see [0086]; see figure 1a) for applying transcutaneous electrical stimulation (see title) comprising an analogous IC (70; see [0094]; see figure 1a) and at least one stimulation electrode (50; see [0089]; see figure 2a); further comprising an indicator (242; see [0128]; see figure 5) configured to indicate a function of the IC and/or the at least one stimulating electrode during use (see [0128]) for the purpose of indicating the state or condition of the control unit (i.e. the integrated circuit 70; see [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the therapeutic dressing as disclosed by Toong and to have included the indicator as taught by Zhang in order to have provided an improved therapeutic dressing that would add the benefit of providing a means for indicating the state or condition of the control unit (see [0128]).
Toong as now modified by Zhang does not disclose wherein the indicator is disposed in the adherent portion, and
wherein the IC, the sensor, and the at least one stimulating electrode are disposed in the adherent portion.
However, Zanella teaches an analogous therapeutic dressing (1; see [0045]; see figure 1) comprising an analogous central non-adherent portion (6; see [0045]; see figure 2), adherent portion (4; see [0048]; see figure 2), integrated circuit (8; see [0049]; see figure 2), and at least one stimulating electrode (7; see [0045]; see figure 1); wherein the IC and the at least one stimulating electrode are disposed in the adherent portion (the four electrodes 7 are mutually connected so as to form a circuit comprised inside the supporting element 5 (and thus, 7 and 8 utilized to form said circuit are each disposed within the adherent portion); see [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the indicator, the IC, the sensor (the sensor being a portion of the IC), and the at least one stimulating electrode as disclosed by Toong as now modified by Zhang and to have positioned the structures in the adherent portion as taught by Zanella. Such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that "a mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice" In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (See MPEP 2144.04 VI C). In the instant case Applicant's specification has not disclosed that the positioning of the claimed structures within the adherent portion of the therapeutic dressing provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, and contrarily discloses “The IC 150, the sensor 160, the electrode(s) 140, and the indicator 130 (if present) can all be disposed on the adherent portion 120 of the therapeutic dressing 100. The positions of these elements on the adherent portion 120 can vary” (See specification [see pg 7 ln 9-14]), the disclosure that the positions of the claimed structures can vary evidences that the claimed configuration is not critical to the functionality and can be placed on different locations of the therapeutic dressing that are not the adherent portion as long as the sensor is above a muscle of interest and the electrodes are able to stimulate the nerve of interest. Therefore, the specific configuration is considered not critical to the functionality of Applicant's device and is considered to be a design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with regards to claims 22, the subject matter not disclosed either singly or in combination is that of “ wherein the therapeutic dressing comprises a perforated border between the central non-adherent portion and the adherent portion… wherein the method further comprises, after the electrical stimulation has been provided to the predetermined nerve, detaching the adherent portion from the central non-adherent portion, via the perforated border, and removing the adherent portion from the skin of the user, leaving the central non-adherent portion on the post-operative treatment site of the user”. No art could be found in the Examiner’s search of CPC classifications relevant to the claimed invention that reasonably suggests or discloses such perforations which allow for the removal of the adherent portion from the central non-adherent portion. The closest art of record is that of Toong in view of Zhang and Zanella as discussed above. However, the Examiner notes that to modify the combination of Toong in view of Zhang and Zanella to include such a removable adherent portion (and thus, the structures of the IC, the EMG sensor, and the at least one stimulating electrode) would render the primary reference of Toong incapable for its intended use of providing electrical stimulation and therefore, would be an impermissible hindsight modification.
Claim 26 contains similar limitations to that of claim 22 and is considered to contain allowable limitations for the same reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786