DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10-13, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Poole (US 6,449,987).
As noted below in annotated figure 1, Poole teaches the crochet assistance apparatus (figure 1) for supporting a flexible filament (26) as claimed including a base shaft, wherein a lower arm is coupled to the base shaft;- a central shaft coupled to the base shaft, wherein a central arm is coupled to the central shaft;- a guide shaft coupled to the base shaft and the central shaft so that the central shaft is between the guide shaft and the base shaft, wherein an upper arm and a guide support are coupled to the guide shaft, wherein the guide support is positioned to be relatively farther from the central shaft than the upper arm is positioned from the central arm, wherein the guide support comprises a distal guide surface and a proximal guide surface, wherein the proximal guide surface is positioned to be relatively closer to the upper arm than the distal guide surface is positioned from the upper arm; and a tensioner knob that is movably coupled to one of the lower arm, the central arm, and the upper arm.
Regarding claim 2, the tensioner knob is movably coupled to the lower arm. Regarding claim 6, the central arm is movable relative to one of the lower arm and the upper arm. Regarding claim 10, the base comprising an elongated base aperture. Regarding claim 11, Poole teaches the crochet assistance apparatus (figure 1) for supporting a flexible filament (26), the apparatus comprising:- a base shaft, wherein a lower arm is coupled to the base shaft;- a central shaft coupled to the base shaft, wherein a central arm is coupled to the central shaft;- a guide shaft coupled to the base shaft and the central shaft so that the central shaft is between the guide shaft and the base shaft, wherein an upper arm and a guide support are coupled to the guide shaft, wherein the guide support is positioned to be relatively farther from the central shaft than the upper arm is positioned from the central arm, wherein the guide support comprises a distal guide surface and a proximal guide surface, wherein the proximal guide surface is positioned to be relatively closer to the upper arm than the distal guide surface is positioned from the upper arm; and- a tensioner block that is movably coupled to at least one of the lower arm, the central arm, and the upper arm. Regarding claim 12, the tensioner block is movably coupled to the upper arm. Regarding claim 13, tensioner block is movably coupled to the upper arm via a threaded coupler. Regarding claim 17, the central arm is movable relative to the upper arm. Regarding claim 20, the base comprising an elongated base aperture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-9, 14-16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 and its dependent claims are allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest the recitations found therein including the lower arm comprising a channel projection, wherein the tensioner knob is movable between a knob closed position and a knob open position, wherein when the tensioner knob is in the knob closed position the tensioner knob is positioned relatively closer to the channel projection, and wherein when the tensioner knob is in the knob open position the tensioner knob is positioned relatively farther from the channel projection. Claim 7 and its dependent claims are allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest the recitations found therein including
the central arm being movable between an arm open position and an arm closed position, wherein the lower arm comprises an elongated shape, wherein the central arm comprises an elongated shape, wherein the upper arm comprises an elongated shape, and wherein the elongated shape of the lower arm, the elongated shape of the central arm, and the elongated shape of the lower arm are substantially parallel to each other when the central arm is in the closed position. Claim 14 and its dependent claims are allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest the recitations found therein including
the central arm comprising a channel projection, wherein the tensioner block comprises a tensioner projection, wherein the tensioner block is movable between a block closed position and a block open position, wherein when the tensioner block is in the block closed position the tensioner projection is positioned relatively closer to the channel projection, and wherein when the tensioner block is in the block open position the tensioner projection is positioned relatively farther from the channel projection. Claim 18 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest the recitations found therein including the central arm being movable between an arm open position and an arm closed position, wherein the lower arm comprises an elongated shape, wherein the central arm comprises an elongated shape, wherein the upper arm comprises an elongated shape, and wherein the elongated shape of the lower arm, the elongated shape of the central arm, and the elongated shape of the lower arm are substantially parallel to each other when the central arm is in the closed position. Claim 19 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest the recitations found therein including the central arm comprising a distal end, wherein the central arm is movable between an arm closed position and an arm open position, wherein when the central arm is in the arm closed position the distal end is positioned between the upper arm and the lower arm, and wherein when the central arm is in the arm open position the distal end is not positioned between the upper arm and the lower arm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant is reminded that all business with the Patent and Trademark Office should be transacted in writing. The action of the Patent and Trademark Office will be based exclusively on the written record in the Office. No attention will be paid to any alleged oral promise, stipulation, or understanding in relation to which there is disagreement or doubt. 37 C.F.R. 1.2
Further it is noted that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F.R. 1.111, including:
-The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references.
-A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section.
-Moreover, The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06, MPEP 714.02. The "disclosure" includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
/DANNY WORRELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732
ldw