DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action in response to communications received on 7/08/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed 7/08/2025 are acknowledged.
Foreign Priority or Provisional
Priority to 3/21/2025 is recognized.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (2021/0110066) in view of Constable US 20240330466).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses the limitations substantially as follows:
A device for hardware assisted artificial intelligence (Al) model attestation, the device comprising:
an interface to communicate beyond a chiplet that includes the device (paras. [0034]: interface of client device for communicating beyond the AI chipset);
a memory to hold a local repository (para. [0057]: storing AI-models in DP accelerator); and
processing circuitry to:
obtain, via the interface, an Al model for execution on the chiplet (Liu, paras. [0015], [0018], [0025], [0034], [0058]: a DP accelerator with a chipset executes an AI model (i.e. executing the AI model on a chiplet) that it obtains from a host device);
derive a set of identifiers for the Al model (Liu, paras. [0017], [0037]: deriving a watermark to be used an identifier of an AI model comprising a subset of coefficients or parameters such as weights within the AI model);
communicate, via the interface, the set of identifiers to an attestation authority (paras. [0026], [0028], [0052], [0059]: communicating encrypted data to the host device including the AI model and watermark of the AI model);
receive a confirmation from the attestation authority that the Al model is authentic (paras. [0018]-[0019], [0064], [0077], [0111]: the host device validates the AI model and communicates with the DP accelerator to perform one or more operations using the now validated AI model, whereas additional calls for more operations are not made if the validation was unsuccessful); and
register the Al model in the local repository (Liu, paras. [0057], Fig. 2B: storing AI models in memory of the DP accelerator).
Liu does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations of claim 1 as follows:
search the local repository to determine that the Al model is not registered with the chiplet;
register the Al model in the local repository based on the confirmation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Constable discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
search the local repository to determine that the Al model is not registered with the chiplet (paras. [0029], [0082], [0096]-[0097], [0122]: initialization circuitry uploads a received SWF and AI runtime for a runtime model that is only stored in the temporary memory of the integrated circuits until verified (i.e. not yet registered));
receive a confirmation from the attestation authority that the Al model is authentic (paras. [0098]: TEE informs client device that model has been flagged as invalid);
register the Al model in the local repository based on the confirmation (paras. [0097]-[0098]: a model that is flagged as invalid is discarded and not stored in long-term memory whereas a model that is valid is stored/registered).
Liu and Constable are both from the same field of endeavor verifying the integrity of AI-models. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention to integrate Constable’s method of only storing validated AI-based models with the system of Liu in order to save resources and time by only validating AI-models that need to be validated and only storing AI-models that have been validated.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claim 1 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claim 11.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 12 as follows:
wherein the processing circuitry is to obtain communication parameters for the attestation authority from a chiplet assembly controller for a chiplet assembly to which the chiplet belongs (Liu, paras [0026], [0045]: obtaining keys for communicating encrypted AI model data to the host device from a TPM secure boot and root key of the chipset).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claims 1-2 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claims 11-12.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 3 and 13 as follows:
wherein the communication parameters for the attestation authority are retrieved as part of a boot sequence for the chiplet (Liu, paras [0026]: obtaining keys for communicating encrypted AI model data to the host device from a root key of the chipset).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claim 1 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claim 11.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 14 as follows:
wherein the set of identifiers includes a model identifier, a version, or a producer of the Al model (Liu, paras. [0020], [0022]: parameters of the watermark identify the AI-model and can include a signature kernel which identifies the watermark (i.e. model identifier)).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claim 1 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claim 11.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 5 and 15 as follows:
wherein the set of identifiers includes a hash of a portion of the Al model (Liu, paras. [0022]: generating a hash of the input data to be signed including the AI model).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claim 1 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claim 11.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 6 and 16 as follows:
wherein the set of identifiers includes a set of weights or parameters for neurons in the Al model (Liu, paras. [0017], [0020], [0024]: watermark includes parameters such as weights within the watermark of one or nodes of the AI model) (see also Constable, paras. [0054]: neurons).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claim 1 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claim 11.
Constable teaches the limitations of claims 7 and 17 as follows:
wherein the processing circuitry is to execute the Al model based on registering the Al model (paras. [0097]-[0098]: allowing the implementation of the AI model based on storing the model in long term memory (i.e. registering the AI model)).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claims 1 and 11 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claim 1 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claim 11.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 8 and 18 as follows:
wherein, to communicate the set of identifiers, the processing circuitry is to transmit a package to the attestation authority, the set of identifiers included in the package (Liu, paras. [0022], [0026], [0028]: communicating the set of parameters of the watermark to the host device in an encrypted and hashed form).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claims 1, 8 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claims 11, 18.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 9 and 19 as follows:
wherein the package is encrypted (Liu, paras. [0022]: hashing the input data to be signed including the AI model and encrypting it with a private key).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Liu and Constable teach the limitations of the device of claims 1, 8-9 and the non-transitory machine readable media of claims 11, 18-19.
Liu teaches the limitations of claims 10 and 20 as follows:
wherein the package is encrypted with a private key of the chiplet (Liu, paras. [0022]: hashing the input data to be signed including the AI model and encrypting it with a private key of the DPI accelerator comprising the chipset).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the limitations substantially as follows:
A non-transitory machine readable media including instructions for hardware assisted artificial intelligence (Al) model attestation, the instructions, when executed by processing circuitry of a chiplet, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:
obtaining an Al model for execution on the chiplet(Liu, paras. [0015], [0018], [0025], [0034], [0058]: a DP accelerator with a chipset executes an AI model (i.e. executing the AI model on a chiplet) that it obtains from a host device);
deriving a set of identifiers for the Al model (Liu, paras. [0017], [0037]: deriving a watermark to be used an identifier of an AI model comprising a subset of coefficients or parameters such as weights within the AI model);
communicating, via the interface, the set of identifiers to an attestation authority (paras. [0026], [0028], [0052], [0059]: communicating encrypted data to the host device including the AI model and watermark of the AI model);
receiving a confirmation from the attestation authority that the Al model is authentic (paras. [0018]-[0019], [0064], [0077], [0111]: the host device validates the AI model and communicates with the DP accelerator to perform one or more operations using the now validated AI model, whereas additional calls for more operations are not made if the validation was unsuccessful); and
registering the Al model in the local repository (Liu, paras. [0057], Fig. 2B: storing AI models in memory of the DP accelerator).
Liu does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations of claim 1 as follows:
searching the local repository to determine that the Al model is not registered with the chiplet;
registering the Al model in the local repository based on the confirmation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Constable discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
searching the local repository to determine that the Al model is not registered with the chiplet (paras. [0029], [0082], [0096]-[0097], [0122]: initialization circuitry uploads a received SWF and AI runtime for a runtime model that is only stored in the temporary memory of the integrated circuits until verified (i.e. not yet registered));
receiving a confirmation from the attestation authority that the Al model is authentic (paras. [0098]: TEE informs client device that model has been flagged as invalid);
registering the Al model in the local repository based on the confirmation (paras. [0097]-[0098]: a model that is flagged as invalid is discarded and not stored in long-term memory whereas a model that is valid is stored/registered).
Liu and Constable are both from the same field of endeavor verifying the integrity of AI-models. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention to integrate Constable’s method of only storing validated AI-based models with the system of Liu in order to save resources and time by only validating AI-models that need to be validated and only storing AI-models that have been validated.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Prior art considered but not relied upon includes:
1) Nimmagadda (US 2021/0383026) teaches verifying the integrity of an AI model blob by generating an identifier based on characteristics of an AI model in a source code and storing the identifier in a field of the AI blob (paras. [0016]-[0018]).
Conclusion
For the above-stated reasons, claims 1-20 are rejected.
/SHARON S LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438