Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “power device controller” on line 22 which should be changed to – the power device controller --.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “lighting device controller” which should be changed to – the lighting device controller --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen et al. (US 9,228,704) (hereinafter Andersen) in view of Becker (US 2020/0408395) and Ocegueda Gallaga et al. (US 2021/0239287) (hereinafter Gallaga).
Claim 1: Andersen teaches an electric lighting system comprising: a lighting device (106, fig. 5C) comprising: a housing (housing of 18c, fig. 5C) including a lighting element (106, fig. 5C) and a power device holding portion (34, fig. 5C), the power device holding portion (34) including: a first electrical contact (58, fig. 6); a second electrical contact (62, fig. 8); a power device (14, fig. 2), the power device (14) comprising: a third electrical contact (contact 58 of 14, fig. 2); a fourth electrical contact (contact 62 of 14, fig. 2); a coupling component (30, fig. 2), the coupling component (30) removably couplable to the power device holding portion (34); and wherein the third electrical contact (contact of 58 of 14) is operable to engage the first electrical contact (contact of 58 of 34) at any rotational position (see fig. 2) of the power device (14) relative to the lighting device (106) about a shared central axis (central longitudinal axis of 14 in fig. 2 and 30 with 34 in fig. 3A), wherein the fourth electrical contact (contact of 62 of 14) is operable to engage the second electrical contact (contact of 62 of 34) at any rotational position (see fig. 2) of the power device relative to the lighting device (106) about the shared central axis (central longitudinal axis of 14 in fig. 2 and 30 with 34 in fig. 3A).
However, Andersen fails to teach the power device holding portion including: a cavity; a lighting device magnet disposed within the cavity; the first electrical contact disposed within the cavity; the second electrical contact disposed within the cavity; a lighting device controller; and the power device operable to be inserted into the cavity, a power device controller, wherein power device controller can communicate with the lighting device controller to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element.
Becker teaches a power device holding portion (30, fig. 1a) including a cavity (cavity of 3, fig. 1a); a lighting device magnet (30, fig. 1a), a contact profile (20, 30, fig. 1a, 2) disposed within the cavity (see fig. 1a), a power device (3, fig. 1a) operable to be inserted into the cavity (cavity of 3).
Gallaga teaches a power device holding portion (120, fig. 1) including: a lighting device controller (1012, fig. 10), the power device (130, fig. 1) comprising: a power device controller (1020, fig. 10), wherein power device controller (1020) can communicate with the lighting device controller (1012) to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element (configured to control the light source, see para [0048]).
Therefore, in view of Becker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power device holding portion of Andersen to include a cavity and a lighting device magnet disposed within the cavity where the first electrical contact and second electrical contact is disposed within the cavity, in order to improve fastening of the power device holding portion and the form factor of the lighting system.
Therefore, in view of Gallaga, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lighting device controller to the power device holding portion and a power device controller to the power device where power device controller can communicate with the lighting device controller to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element, in order to control the light sources to produce different effects such as flickering [Gallaga, 0048].
Claim 2: Andersen fails to teach lighting device controller is operable to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element.
Gallaga teaches the lighting device controller is operable to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element (setting a brightness level of the light sources, see para [0054]).
Therefore, in view of Gallaga, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lighting device controller to the power device holding portion and a power device controller to the power device where the lighting device controller is operable to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element, in order to control the light sources to produce different effects such as flickering [Gallaga, 0048].
Claim 3: Andersen teaches the lighting element comprises an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (106, fig. 5C).
However, Andersen fails to teach the lighting device controller is operable to independently adjust the brightness of each of the array of LEDs.
Gallaga teaches the lighting device controller is operable to independently adjust the brightness of the LED (adjust and/or modify the flickering effect of the light source, see para [0050]) (specific illumination level, see para [0051[).
Therefore, in view of Gallaga, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lighting device controller to the power device holding portion and a power device controller to the power device where the lighting device controller is operable to independently adjust the brightness of each of the array of LEDs, in order to control the light sources to produce different effects such as flickering [Gallaga, 0048].
Claim 4: Andersen fails to teach the power device controller is operable to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element.
Gallaga teaches the power device controller is operable to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element (1020 may command a specific illumination level, see para [0051]).
Therefore, in view of Gallaga, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lighting device controller to the power device holding portion and a power device controller to the power device where the power device controller is operable to adjust the brightness of light emanating from the lighting element, in order to control the light sources to produce different effects such as flickering [Gallaga, 0048].
Claim 5: Andersen teaches the lighting element comprises an array of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (106, fig. 5C).
However, Andersen fails to teach the power device controller is operable to independently adjust the brightness of each of the array of LEDs.
Gallaga teaches the power device controller is operable to independently adjust the brightness of each of the array of LEDs (1020 may command a specific illumination level, see para [0051]).
Therefore, in view of Gallaga, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lighting device controller to the power device holding portion and a power device controller to the power device where the power device controller is operable to independently adjust the brightness of each of the array of LEDs, in order to control the light sources to produce different effects such as flickering [Gallaga, 0048].
Claim 6: Andersen teaches the power device (14) is operable to power the lighting device (106) through an electrical communication, the electrical communication established between the first electrical contact and the third electrical contact and between the second electrical contact and the fourth electrical contact (see Col. 5 lines 33-47).
Claim 7: Andersen fails to teach the coupling component further comprising a power device magnet positioned to engage with the lighting device magnet.
Becker teaches the coupling component further comprising a power device magnet (10, fig. 2) positioned to engage with the lighting device magnet. (30, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Becker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a power device magnet to the coupling component of Andersen where the power device magnet is positioned to engage with the lighting device magnet, in order to enhance fastening of the coupling component and the power device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liao et al. (US 2014/0099801) and Kaye (US 10,995,940) disclose a similar lighting system using magnets.
/ZHENG SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875