DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 – 21 of U.S. Patent No. US 2022/0283744 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming similar subject matter as showed, for example, in the Claims Comparison Tables below. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the intention was made to modify, add or omit the additional elements of claims to arrive at the claims 1 - 20 of the instant application because the skilled person in the art would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16 , 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Application 19263098 (07/08/2025)
Application 17/703,902 (Patent US 20220283744 A1)
1. A method, comprising: receiving, by hardware of a memory sub-system, a first command associated with a set of management units; writing a pattern to each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on receiving the first command; and performing, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, an operation on each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on writing the pattern to each management unit.
2. A method, comprising: receiving, by hardware of a memory sub-system, a first command associated with a set of management units to perform an operation; dividing, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the first command into a set of second commands, each second command associated with a respective management unit of the set of management units; performing, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the operation on each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on dividing the first command into the set of second commands.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: issuing, prior to performing the operation on each management unit of the set of management units, a set of second commands to each respective management unit of the set of management units.
3. The method of claim 2, further comprising: issuing the set of second commands to each respective management unit of the set of management units.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: formatting each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on the first command indicating to format the set of management units, wherein each command of a set of second commands indicates to format the respective management unit of the set of management units.
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising: formatting each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on the first command indicating to format the set of management units, wherein each command of the set of second commands indicates to format the respective management unit of the set of management units.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the first command comprises a read command associated with the set of management units and a set of second commands comprises a set of read commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
5. The method of claim 2, wherein the first command comprises a read command associated with the set of management units and the set of second commands comprises a set of read commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first command comprises a write command associated with the set of management units and a set of second commands comprises a set of write commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
6. The method of claim 2, wherein the first command comprises a write command associated with the set of management units and the set of second commands comprises a set of write commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: collecting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, validation data for each management unit of the set of management units; and transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the validation data for each management unit of the set of management units to firmware of the memory sub- system.
11. An apparatus, comprising: a memory sub-system controller; a set of management units comprised of one or more management units, each management unit of the one or more management units comprising one or more memory cells; firmware of the apparatus that is configured to send a first command to perform an operation for the set of management units; and an acceleration engine configured to receive the first command from the firmware of the apparatus and divide the first command into a set of second commands, each command of the set of second commands associated with a respective management unit of the set of management units.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, one or more statistics for identifying defective memory cells for one or more management units of the set of management units based at least in part on performing the operation on each respective management unit.
8. The method of claim 2, further comprising: determining, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, one or more statistics for identifying defective memory cells for one or more management units of the set of management units based at least in part on performing the operation on each respective management unit; and transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the one or more statistics of the defective memory cells for the one or more management units to firmware of the memory sub-system.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: processing a plurality of commands concurrently, the plurality of commands associated with a plurality of sets of management units including the set of management units, a plurality of management units, or a combination thereof.
9. The method of claim 2, further comprising: processing a plurality of commands concurrently, the plurality of commands associated with a plurality of sets of management units including the set of management units, a plurality of management units, or a combination thereof.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining a quantity of the plurality of commands for processing concurrently, wherein the quantity of the plurality of commands is programmable for the hardware.
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising: determining a quantity of the plurality of commands for processing concurrently, wherein the quantity of the plurality of commands is programmable for the hardware.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising: writing a pattern to each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on receiving the first command, wherein the pattern corresponds to an arrangement of logic states for the set of management units.
7. The method of claim 2, further comprising: writing a pattern to each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on the first command, wherein the pattern corresponds to an arrangement of logic states for the set of management units.
11. A memory sub-system, comprising: one or more memory devices; and processing circuitry coupled with the one or more memory devices and configured to cause the memory sub-system to: receive, by hardware of the memory sub-system, a first command associated with a set of management units; write a pattern to each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on receiving the first command; and perform, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, an operation on each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on writing the pattern to each management unit.
11. An apparatus, comprising: a memory sub-system controller; a set of management units comprised of one or more management units, each management unit of the one or more management units comprising one or more memory cells; firmware of the apparatus that is configured to send a first command to perform an operation for the set of management units; and an acceleration engine configured to receive the first command from the firmware of the apparatus and divide the first command into a set of second commands, each command of the set of second commands associated with a respective management unit of the set of management units.
12. The memory sub-system of claim 11, further comprising: issue, prior to performing the operation on each management unit of the set of management units, a set of second commands to each respective management unit of the set of management units.
20. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to: issue the set of second commands to each respective management unit of the set of management units
13. The memory sub-system of claim 11, further comprising: format each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on the first command indicating to format the set of management units, wherein each command of a set of second commands indicates to format the respective management unit of the set of management units.
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising: formatting each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on the first command indicating to format the set of management units, wherein each command of the set of second commands indicates to format the respective management unit of the set of management units.
14. The memory sub-system of claim 11, wherein the first command comprises a read command associated with the set of management units and a set of second commands comprises a set of read commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
14. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first command comprises a read command associated with the set of management units and the set of second commands comprises a set of read commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
15. The memory sub-system of claim 11, wherein the first command comprises a write command associated with the set of management units and a set of second commands comprises a set of write commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
15. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first command comprises a write command associated with the set of management units and the set of second commands comprises a set of write commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units.
16. The memory sub-system of claim 11, further comprising: collect, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, validation data for each management unit of the set of management units; and transmit, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the validation data for each management unit of the set of management units to firmware of the memory sub- system.
8. The method of claim 2, further comprising: determining, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, one or more statistics for identifying defective memory cells for one or more management units of the set of management units based at least in part on performing the operation on each respective management unit; and transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the one or more statistics of the defective memory cells for the one or more management units to firmware of the memory sub-system.
17. The memory sub-system of claim 11, further comprising: transmit, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, one or more statistics for identifying defective memory cells for one or more management units of the set of management units based at least in part on performing the operation on each respective management unit.
8. The method of claim 2, further comprising: determining, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, one or more statistics for identifying defective memory cells for one or more management units of the set of management units based at least in part on performing the operation on each respective management unit; and transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the one or more statistics of the defective memory cells for the one or more management units to firmware of the memory sub-system.
18. The memory sub-system of claim 11, further comprising: process a plurality of commands concurrently, the plurality of commands associated with a plurality of sets of management units including the set of management units, a plurality of management units, or a combination thereof.
18. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the acceleration engine is further configured to process a programmable quantity of commands concurrently, the programmable quantity of commands associated with one or more sets of management units, one or more management units of the one or more sets of management units, or a combination thereof.
19. The memory sub-system of claim 18, further comprising: determine a quantity of the plurality of commands for processing concurrently, wherein the quantity of the plurality of commands is programmable for the hardware.
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising: determining a quantity of the plurality of commands for processing concurrently, wherein the quantity of the plurality of commands is programmable for the hardware.
18. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the acceleration engine is further configured to process a programmable quantity of commands concurrently, the programmable quantity of commands associated with one or more sets of management units, one or more management units of the one or more sets of management units, or a combination thereof.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors of a memory sub-system to: receive, by hardware of the memory sub-system, a first command associated with a set of management units; write a pattern to each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on receiving the first command; and perform, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, an operation on each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on writing the pattern to each management unit.
19. An apparatus, comprising a controller associated with a memory device, wherein the controller is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a first command associated with a set of management units to perform an operation; divide the first command into a set of second commands, each second command associated with a respective management unit of the set of management units; and perform the operation on each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on dividing the first command into the set of second commands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable COHEN (KR 2014/0044933 A) in view of Parker (GB 2563881 A).
In regards to claim 1, COHEN teaches:
A method, comprising: receiving, by hardware of a memory sub-system, a first command associated with a set of management units; writing a pattern to each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on receiving the first command; (0678, the CPU 171 may include: command management 173 for tracking and controlling commands received via the external interfaces 110 while commands are in progress; Buffer management 175 for controlling the allocation and use of the buffer 131; Conversion management 177 for controlling the map 141; Coherency management 179 for controlling the correspondence of data addressing and avoiding conflicts, for example, between external data accesses and recycle data accesses; Device management 181 for controlling device interface logic 191; Identity management 182 for controlling modification and communication of identification information, and optionally other management units. Any or all of the management functions performed by the CPU 171 may be performed by the hardware on the host)
COHEN fails to teach:
and performing, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, an operation on each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on writing the pattern to each management unit.
However, Parker teaches:
and performing, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, an operation on each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on writing the pattern to each management unit. (Fig. 4 and corresponding spec; The executing of such an export instruction received from a given process by the realm management unit triggers performance of a command sequence (corresponding to millicode embedded within the realm management units) comprising a plurality of command actions in respect of the specified given memory region.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the I / O device of COHEN with the teaching of Parker, which teaches memory access control techniques in order to improve control. (Parker: ¶1, to provide memory access control techniques for enforcing access rights for particular memory regions.)
In regards to claim 2, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN fails to teach:
further comprising: issuing, prior to performing the operation on each management unit of the set of management units, a set of second commands to each respective management unit of the set of management units.
However, Parker teaches:
further comprising: issuing, prior to performing the operation on each management unit of the set of management units, a set of second commands to each respective management unit of the set of management units. (Fig. 4 and corresponding spec; The executing of such an export instruction received from a given process by the realm management unit triggers performance of a command sequence (corresponding to millicode embedded within the realm management units) comprising a plurality of command actions in respect of the specified given memory region.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the I / O device of COHEN with the teaching of Parker, which teaches memory access control techniques in order to improve control. (Parker: ¶1, to provide memory access control techniques for enforcing access rights for particular memory regions.)
In regards to claim 3, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN teaches:
further comprising: formatting each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on the first command indicating to format the set of management units, wherein each command of a set of second commands indicates to format the respective management unit of the set of management units. (0042, Each entry including entries having the same granularity, including entries with multiple granularities, each containing a header identifying the format and / or layout of the content of the map page, and arbitrary Layout, or configuration)
In regards to claim 4, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN teaches:
wherein the first command comprises a read command associated with the set of management units and a set of second commands comprises a set of read commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units. (0010, In the EC19 method, the specifications of the data access type include two or more of read / write data access type indication, read-only data access type indication, write-only data access type indication, and temporary data access type indication ≪ / RTI >)
In regards to claim 5, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN teaches:
wherein the first command comprises a write command associated with the set of management units and a set of second commands comprises a set of write commands each associated with the respective management unit of the set of management units. (0113, Further comprising the step of: trimming the data stored by the write command in response to a determination that the data stored by the write command should be recycled and in accordance with the non-standard modifier.)
In regards to claim 6, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN fails to teach:
further comprising: collecting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, validation data for each management unit of the set of management units; and transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the validation data for each management unit of the set of management units to firmware of the memory sub- system.
However, Parker teaches:
further comprising: collecting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, validation data for each management unit of the set of management units; and transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, the validation data for each management unit of the set of management units to firmware of the memory sub- system. (Fig. 5 and corresponding spec; In this case, processing proceeds to step 54 at which the contents of the command context buffer pointed to by the pointer is validated using associated metadata which was stored when that partially completed state data was stored to the CCB.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the I / O device of COHEN with the teaching of Parker, which teaches memory access control techniques in order to improve control. (Parker: ¶1, to provide memory access control techniques for enforcing access rights for particular memory regions.)
In regards to claim 7, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN teaches:
further comprising: transmitting, by the hardware of the memory sub-system, one or more statistics for identifying defective memory cells for one or more management units of the set of management units based at least in part on performing the operation on each respective management unit. (0075, The I / O device may be configured so that the updates include a reserved bit in the command context, a reserved bit in any one or more of the types of responses from the I / O device to the computing host, an error report, an interrupt, Notifies the computing host that it is available by one or more of the other techniques for communicating between the device and the computing host.)
In regards to claim 8, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN fails to teach:
further comprising: processing a plurality of commands concurrently, the plurality of commands associated with a plurality of sets of management units including the set of management units, a plurality of management units, or a combination thereof.
However, Parker teaches:
further comprising: processing a plurality of commands concurrently, the plurality of commands associated with a plurality of sets of management units including the set of management units, a plurality of management units, or a combination thereof. (Fig. 1 and corresponding spec; realm management unit commands and which are directed to the associated realm management unit 20, 22, 24 when they are encountered within the program instruction stream in order that they can be executed (actioned) by the relevant realm management unit 20, 22, 24.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the I / O device of COHEN with the teaching of Parker, which teaches memory access control techniques in order to improve control. (Parker: ¶1, to provide memory access control techniques for enforcing access rights for particular memory regions.)
In regards to claim 9, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN teaches:
further comprising: determining a quantity of the plurality of commands for processing concurrently, wherein the quantity of the plurality of commands is programmable for the hardware. (0068, the commands include a write command specifying an amount of data to be written (such as multiple LBA quantities, e.g., sectors) and an address (such as LBA);)
In regards to claim 10, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the method of claim 1.
COHEN teaches:
further comprising: writing a pattern to each management unit of the set of management units based at least in part on receiving the first command, wherein the pattern corresponds to an arrangement of logic states for the set of management units. (0032 & 0419, Error indication; Data comprising a specific pattern and / or value; And any other indication for computing that the data has been deleted or trimmed by the I / O device. And responsive to the read, returning an indication that the data stored by the write command is trimmed as a particular pattern in the returned data.)
In regards to claim 11, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 12, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 13, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 14, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 4 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 15, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 16, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 6 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 17, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 7 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 18, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 8 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 19, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the memory sub-system of claim 18 and corresponds to claim 9 as analyzed accordingly.
In regards to claim 20, COHEN in view of Parker teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Fetik (US-10180809-B2): An improved storage controller that enables the acceleration of datacenter software, by making it easier to deploy application software portions (applets) onto storage devices, in a manner that best supports runtime performance acceleration of storage-network-latency-throttled applications. Means are defined for how server hosted applications cause to have provisioned, initiate execution of, and work with a multitude of applets on a multitude of storage devices, proximate to storage contents. This invention supports the multi-exabyte growth of data storage, by scaling performance acceleration linearly with the growth in the number of storage devices. This in turn supports the evolving cloud and Enterprise Cognitive Computing datacenter by providing the infrastructure necessary for accelerating applications that face enormous heterogeneous datasets. This includes Big Data Analytics of problems that have eluded successful analysis.
Zhu (US 2021/0019051 A1): Methods, systems, and devices for one or more acceleration engines for memory sub-system operations are described. An acceleration engine can receive a first command for performing an operation on a set of management units. The acceleration engine can generate a set of one or more second commands to perform the operation on each management unit of the set of management units based on receiving the first command. The acceleration engine can perform the operation on each management unit of the set of management units based on generating the set of second commands.
Conclusion
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/GUERRIER MERANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 10/21/2026