Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 9, 10, and 15-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kleve (2014/0129053) in view of Moore, Jr. (2014/0247348).
Claim 1: Kleve discloses: A system for remotely controlling a rental vehicle to support rental transactions, the system comprising:
a mobile application for execution by a mobile device; (Kleve ¶0025 disclosing a user’s nomadic device (e.g. cell phone, smart phone, PDA, etc.); ¶0036 disclosing the vehicle rental micro-business including a smart phone application)
a remote computer system; and (Kleve ¶0035 disclosing a vehicle computing system located in a vehicle and includes a remote computing system)
control hardware resident in a rental vehicle, wherein the control hardware includes (1) a wireless transceiver configured to receive a signal from the remote computer system and (2) a vehicle interface configured to interact with one or more vehicle subsystems based on the received signal to perform at least one of an unlock operation for a vehicle door of the rental vehicle, a de-immobilization operation for a vehicle immobilizer of the rental vehicle, and/or a start operation for a vehicle ignition system of the rental vehicle; (Kleve ¶0035 disclosing a vehicle computing system (VCS) with a server; ¶0022 discloses the VCS having a processor and storage; ¶0049 disclosing the VCS also having hardware for credential verification; ¶0025, ¶0029, ¶0061 disclosing the system having a transceiver (communication transceiver and Bluetooth transceiver), ¶0061 further discloses the transceiver allows communication with the nomadic device using a direct signal (see also ¶0026); ¶0060 further disclose a remote communication module in the vehicle receives signals sent from the servers; ¶0071 disclosing the user sending virtual keys to the server requesting access to the vehicle, if the comparison is successful, the vehicle enables drive away access; the temporary user may input the same credentials to unlock and drive)
wherein the remote computer system is configured to (1) create a rental vehicle reservation for a user who is associated with the mobile device and (Kleve ¶0047 discloses when the temporary user and vehicle owner agree to terms [of an offer/proposal], the website may generate the exchange or propose the rental agreement (creating a reservation); the user (and owner) may agree to the rental terms (and sign) using smart phones or a smart phone application)
(2) communicate a notification to the mobile device about the rental vehicle reservation, wherein the notification includes a notification request for the user to activate the rental vehicle reservation, (Kleve ¶0048 after the ID of the user with an accepted agreement, disclosing the micro-business system (remote computer system) generating and delivering virtual keys to the temporary user (notification request); the virtual keys permit entry of the vehicle, which would be an activation of the reservation)
wherein the rental vehicle reservation defines a rental transaction for the user, wherein the rental transaction defined by the rental vehicle reservation cannot be fulfilled unless the rental vehicle reservation is activated; (Kleve ¶0038 disclosing the rental agreement defining the rental transaction with respect to the vehicle and user; ¶0047-¶0048 disclosing the agreement may be accepted (or rejected) and upon acceptance, the system then generates and delivers virtual keys to the user; ¶0068 disclosing the vehicle verifying the virtual keys to verify the user’s access, and transmitting confirmation back to the owner that the user has entered the vehicle and commenced the vehicle rental agreement; see also ¶0069…the owner delivering a virtual key to the vehicle for recognizing a user having authorization to enable keyless drive away after entering into the agreement; see also ¶0071)
wherein the mobile application is configured to receive an activation request from the user in response to the notification request; (Kleve ¶0048 disclosing that the authorized user (accepted rental agreement notification) may present the virtual keys (generated and delivered by the rental micro-business, ¶0048) to the VCS remotely (¶0059) which is also an activation request from the user; see also ¶0059 disclosing the authorized user transmitting a request from their device and also inputting an authorization code at the vehicle)
wherein, in response to the received activation request, the mobile application is further configured to (1) communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device, (Kleve ¶0059 disclosing the user’s nomadic device may transmit the authorization code from their nomadic device to the remote source received through servers (¶0059 and ¶0060); ¶0063 disclosing the virtual key may be sent to the VCS (remote computer system); (see also ¶0066-¶0067, and ¶0071))
Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. discloses:
(2) provide one or more graphical user interfaces (GUIs) for display to the user via the mobile device, wherein the one or more GUIs is configured to present one or more options for the user to make one or more modifications to the rental vehicle reservation, wherein the one or more options includes an option to make a vehicle type modification that modifies a vehicle type for the rental vehicle reservation,
While Kleve discloses that the mobile application is further configured to communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device, Kleve does not appear to disclose the limitation that the mobile application is further configured to provide one or more graphical user interfaces (GUIs) for display to the user via the mobile device, wherein the one or more GUIs is configured to present one or more options for the user to make one or more modifications to the rental vehicle reservation, wherein the one or more options includes an option to make a vehicle type modification that modifies a vehicle type for the rental vehicle reservation. Moore, Jr. appears to suggests or disclose this limitation/concept: (Moore, Jr. ¶0020 disclosing the device being a customer's personal electronic device such as a mobile smartphone, the device may be custom programmed by the user downloading a custom application ("app") provided by a rental car service; ¶0032 disclosing the customer is picking up a car at an airport; the car rental service sends a message (e.g., an SMS text message and/or email to the customer informing him of his rental car details, including the car that was assigned to him as well as the stall number where the car is located; customer may also be given the opportunity to change or upgrade the car that was assigned to him; some customers might not prefer the exact make and/or model of vehicle assigned to them, or their travel plans might have changed and they need a different or larger vehicle; upon receiving the message, the customer may swap out a pre-assigned car for a similar car, or upgrade to different car). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve to include that the mobile application is further configured to provide one or more graphical user interfaces (GUIs) for display to the user via the mobile device, wherein the one or more GUIs is configured to present one or more options for the user to make one or more modifications to the rental vehicle reservation, wherein the one or more options includes an option to make a vehicle type modification that modifies a vehicle type for the rental vehicle reservation as taught by Moore, Jr. in the system of Kleve. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in order to provide a system wherein customers are not required to interact with a rental agent to make a change (see Moore, Jr. ¶0032).
(3) receive input from the user through the one or more GUIs, wherein the received input defines the one or more modifications, wherein the one or more modifications includes the vehicle type modification, and (4) communicate the one or more modifications to the remote computer system via the mobile device;
While Kleve discloses that the mobile application is further configured to communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device, Kleve does not appear to disclose the limitation that the application is configured to receive input from the user through the one or more GUIs, wherein the received input defines the one or more modifications, wherein the one or more modifications includes the vehicle type modification, and communicate the one or more modifications to the remote computer system via the mobile device. Moore, Jr. suggests or discloses these limitations/concepts: (Moore, Jr. ¶0032 disclosing the customer is picking up a car at an airport; the car rental service sends a message (e.g., an SMS text message and/or email to the customer informing him of his rental car details, including the car that was assigned to him as well as the stall number where the car is located; customer may also be given the opportunity to change or upgrade the car that was assigned to him; some customers might not prefer the exact make and/or model of vehicle assigned to them, or their travel plans might have changed and they need a different or larger vehicle; upon receiving the message, the customer may swap out a pre-assigned car for a similar car, or upgrade to different car; the swap/upgrade function is simple and can be completed in as few as three clicks on the customer's device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve to include that the mobile application is further configured to receive input from the user through the one or more GUIs, wherein the received input defines the one or more modifications, wherein the one or more modifications includes the vehicle type modification, and communicate the one or more modifications to the remote computer system via the mobile device as taught by Moore, Jr. in the system of Kleve. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in order to provide a system wherein customers are not required to interact with a rental agent to make a change (see Moore, Jr. ¶0032).
Kleve, as modified above by Moore, Jr., discloses the following limitation:
wherein the remote computer system is further configured to activate the rental vehicle reservation in response to the received and communicated activation request, wherein activation of the rental vehicle reservation enables an automated rental vehicle pickup by the user via the mobile application; and (Kleve ¶0068 disclosing the vehicle may verify the virtual key and verify the user’s access and notify the owner the user has entered the vehicle and commenced the vehicle agreement (activated); ¶0071 disclosing the user sending virtual keys to the server requesting access to the vehicle; the vehicle may compare the credentials input and the virtual key and if the comparison is successful, the vehicle enables drive away access (activate); ¶0062 disclosing the vehicle rental micro-business being structured with a keyless transaction between the vehicle owner and temporary user; ¶0069 disclosing the micro-business distributing and collecting the virtual keys and performing the rental process automated; ¶0090 disclosing the temporary user/renter may complete the entire vehicle rental process using the vehicle rental authorization system without physically meeting the owner; see also ¶0047-¶0048 disclosing the automated rental process via the nomadic device(s) and mobile app)
Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. discloses the following:
wherein, in response to the activated rental vehicle reservation, the mobile application is further configured to cooperate with the mobile device, the remote computer system, and the control hardware to support the automated rental vehicle pick-up of the rental vehicle in accordance with the one or more modifications using an access request produced by the mobile device via the mobile application.
Kleve discloses that in response to the activated rental vehicle reservation, the mobile application is further configured to cooperate with the mobile device, the remote computer system, and the control hardware to support the automated rental vehicle pick-up of the rental vehicle using an access request produced by the mobile device via the mobile application: (Kleve ¶0071 disclosing the reservation being activated, and ¶0072 disclosing the user’s nomadic device being paired with the VCS (the VCS having control hardware, as indicted in above limitation), an supporting an automated pick-up of the self-rent vehicle (¶0068 disclosing the user verifying the user’s virtual key and notifying the owner the user has entered the vehicle and commenced the rental agreement; also ¶0071 disclosing the verification of the credentials and virtual key enabling drive away access; ¶0062 disclosing the vehicle rental micro-business being structured with a keyless transaction between the vehicle owner and temporary user; ¶0069 disclosing the micro-business distributing and collecting the virtual keys and performing the rental process automated; ¶0090 disclosing the temporary user/renter may complete the entire vehicle rental process using the vehicle rental authorization system without physically meeting the owner; see also ¶0047-¶0048 disclosing the automated rental process via the nomadic device(s) and mobile app). Kleve does not disclose supporting the automated rental vehicle pick-up of the rental vehicle in accordance with the one or more modifications. Moore, Jr. discloses this limitation/concept: (Moore, Jr. ¶0032 disclosing the customer is picking up a car at an airport; the car rental service sends a message (e.g., an SMS text message and/or email to the customer informing him of his rental car details, including the car that was assigned to him as well as the stall number where the car is located; customer may also be given the opportunity to change or upgrade the car that was assigned to him; some customers might not prefer the exact make and/or model of vehicle assigned to them, or their travel plans might have changed and they need a different or larger vehicle; upon receiving the message, the customer may swap out a pre-assigned car for a similar car, or upgrade to different car; the swap/upgrade function is simple and can be completed in as few as three clicks on the customer's device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve to include supporting the automated rental vehicle pick-up of the rental vehicle in accordance with the one or more modifications as taught by Moore, Jr. in the system of Kleve. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in order to provide a system wherein customers are not required to interact with a rental agent to make a change (see Moore, Jr. ¶0032).
Claim 9: The system of claim 1 wherein the mobile application is further configured to, in response to the activation of the rental vehicle reservation by the remote computer system, enable the mobile device to interact with the control hardware to support the automated rental vehicle pickup. (Kleve ¶0068 disclosing the vehicle may verify the virtual key and verify the user’s access and notify the owner the user has entered the vehicle and commenced the vehicle agreement (activated); ¶0071 disclosing the user sending virtual keys to the server requesting access to the vehicle; the vehicle may compare the credentials input and the virtual key and if the comparison is successful, the vehicle enables drive away access (activated))
Claim 10: The system of claim 1 wherein the access request includes an identifier that allows the remote computer system or control hardware to verify the user as an authorized user with respect to the activated rental vehicle reservation. (Kleve ¶0071 disclosing the temporary user sending the virtual key to the server requesting access to the vehicle; the vehicle compares the identify credentials and the previously sent virtual key (from the owner, ¶0069…also discloses sending the virtual key to the temporary user and the virtual key is generating using identifying information) to determine authorization; if the comparison is successful, the vehicle enables drive away access to the temporary user)
Claim 15: The system of claim 1 wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to receive the signal from the remote computer system via a network. (Kleve ¶0025, ¶0029, ¶0061 disclosing the system having a transceiver (communication transceiver and Bluetooth transceiver), ¶0061 further discloses the transceiver allows communication with the nomadic device using a direct signal (see also ¶0026); ¶0060 further disclose a remote communication module in the vehicle receives signals sent from the servers through a network)
Claim 16: The system of claim 1 wherein the system is for use by a rental vehicle service provider so that the user can pick up the rental vehicle without a need for personnel of the rental vehicle service provider to deliver a physical key for the rental vehicle to the user. (Kleve ¶0048 disclosing the vehicle rental micro-business delivering virtual keys to the user which allows the user to obtain access to the vehicle (vehicle provider does not need to be present to give a physical key); see also ¶0090 disclosing the user may complete the entire vehicle rental process using the vehicle rental authorization system without physically meeting the owner)
Claim 17: The system of claim 1 wherein the system is for use by the user so that the user can pick up the rental vehicle without a need to interact with personnel of a rental vehicle service provider. (Kleve ¶0048 disclosing the vehicle rental micro-business delivering virtual keys to the user which allows the user to obtain access to the vehicle (vehicle provider does not need to be present to give a physical key); see also ¶0090 disclosing the user may complete the entire vehicle rental process using the vehicle rental authorization system without physically meeting the owner)
Claim 18: The system of claim 1
wherein the mobile application is further configured to communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device before providing the one or more GUIs for display to the user via the mobile device.
Kleve discloses the mobile application is further configured to communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device, but does not appear to disclose that the mobile application is further configured to communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device before providing the one or more GUIs for display to the user via the mobile device. Moore, Jr. suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Moore, Jr. ¶0032 disclosing the customer being given the opportunity to change their vehicle via the link on their mobile device; the customer may swap out a pre-assigned car for a similar car via their device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve to include the mobile application is further configured to communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device before providing the one or more GUIs for display to the user via the mobile device as taught by Moore, Jr. in the system of Kleve. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in order to provide a system wherein customers are not required to interact with a rental agent to make a change (see Moore, Jr. ¶0032).
Claim 19: The system of claim 18
wherein the remote computer system is further configured to (1) retrieve data about the rental vehicle reservation in response to receipt of the communicated activation request and (2) communicate the retrieved data to the mobile device for presentation to the user via the one or more GUIs.
Kleve discloses that the mobile application is further configured to communicate the activation request to the remote computer system via the mobile device, but does not appear to disclose that the remote computer system is further configured to (1) retrieve data about the rental vehicle reservation in response to receipt of the communicated activation request and (2) communicate the retrieved data to the mobile device for presentation to the user via the one or more GUIs. Moore, Jr. suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Moore, Jr. ¶0032 disclosing the customer is picking up a car at an airport; the car rental service sends a message (e.g., an SMS text message and/or email to the customer informing him of his rental car details, including the car that was assigned to him as well as the stall number where the car is located)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve to include the remote computer system is further configured to (1) retrieve data about the rental vehicle reservation in response to receipt of the communicated activation request and (2) communicate the retrieved data to the mobile device for presentation to the user via the one or more GUIs as taught by Moore, Jr. in the system of Kleve. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in order to provide a system wherein customers are not required to interact with a rental agent to make a change (see Moore, Jr. ¶0032).
Claim 20: The system of claim 1 wherein the activation request and the access request use different data to establish that the activation request and access request are authorized. (Kleve ¶0048 disclosing that the authorized user (accepted rental agreement notification) may present the virtual keys (generated and delivered by the rental micro-business, ¶0048) to the VCS remotely (¶0059) which is also an activation request from the user; see also ¶0059 disclosing the authorized user transmitting a request from their device and also inputting an authorization code at the vehicle; ¶0071 disclosing the user sending virtual keys to the server requesting access to the vehicle; the vehicle may compare the credentials input and the virtual key and if the comparison is successful, the vehicle enables drive away access (activate))
Claims 2-6 and 8 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kleve (2014/0129053) in view of Moore, Jr. (2014/0247348) further in view of DeVallance (2008/0097798).
Claim 2: The system of claim 1
wherein the rental vehicle reservation is a replacement rental vehicle reservation created by the remote computer system in response to input from a business partner of a rental vehicle service provider on behalf of the user.
Kleve discloses the processor creating a vehicle reservation, but does not explicitly disclose that the processor is further configured to create the replacement rental vehicle reservation in response to input from a business partner of a rental vehicle service provider. DeVallance discloses this limitation: (DeVallance ¶0023 disclosing a user of the business partner computer having the ability to create and manage vehicle reservations with the rental car company; ¶0024 disclosing the user of the computer being an insurance adjuster who creates and manages reservations for replacement rental vehicles on behalf of insureds/claimants). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. to include that the reservation is a replacement rental vehicle reservation created by the remote computer system in response to input from a business partner of a rental vehicle service provider on behalf of the user as taught by DeVallance in the system of Kleve in view of Moore, Jr.. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. in order to implement the workflows of business partners who have personnel who create and manage rental vehicle reservations who possess differing levels of approval authority with regard to the creation and management of such reservations (DeVallance ¶0010).
Claim 3: The system of claim 2 wherein the received activation request includes a code entered by the user through the mobile application, and wherein the remote computer system is further configured to activate the replacement rental vehicle reservation based on a match existing between an activation code for the replacement rental vehicle reservation and the code entered by the user through the mobile application. (Kleve ¶0059 disclosing the user’s nomadic device may transmit the authorization code from their nomadic device to the remote source received through servers (¶0059 and ¶0060); ¶0063 disclosing the virtual key may be sent to the VCS (remote computer system); (see also ¶0066-¶0067, and ¶0071); ¶0071 disclosing if it is the scheduled time for the rental, the vehicle compares the identity credentials (which may be a code, ¶0037 and ¶0063) and the virtual key (code) to determine authorization; if the comparison is successful the vehicle enables drive away access to the user for the scheduled time period of the rental agreement; for the duration of the term, the user may again input the same credentials to unlock and drive)
Regarding the replacement rental vehicle reservation, see the relevant art and rationale to combine in the relevant claim(s) above from which this claim depends.
Claim 4: The system of claim 3 wherein the notification includes the activation code. (Kleve ¶0047 disclosing the agreement may be sent via the smart phone app to the user, the virtual keys are generated and delivered by the rental micro-business to the user ¶0048))
Claim 5: The system of claim 3 wherein the mobile application is further configured to compare the activation code for the replacement rental vehicle reservation with the code entered by the user through the mobile application to determine whether the match exists. (Kleve ¶0064 disclosing a vehicle may also be equipped to collect and exchange the temporary user credential verification with the use of additional hardware mounted on the outside or inside of the vehicle; the temporary user may also use their nomadic device to exchange or collect information for the enablement of a keyless drive-away system; ¶0029 disclosing the processor is provided with an operating system including an API to communicate with modem application software; modem application software may access an embedded module or firmware on the BLUETOOTH transceiver to complete wireless communication with a remote BLUETOOTH transceiver (such as that found in a nomadic device); both are suitable for wireless communication with a vehicle); ¶0071 that the user may send the virtual keys to the server which requests access to the vehicle via the VCS; also identifications credentials/virtual key may be sent to the VCS; if it is the scheduled time for the rental, the vehicle compares the identity credentials and the virtual key (reservation records) to determine authorization; if the comparison is successful the vehicle enables drive away access to the user for the scheduled time period of the rental agreement; for the duration of the term, the user may again input the same credentials to unlock and drive; ¶0059 disclosing the user’s nomadic device may transmit the authorization code from their nomadic device to the remote source received through servers (¶0059 and ¶0060); ¶0063 disclosing the virtual key may be sent to the VCS (remote computer system); (see also ¶0066-¶0067, and ¶0071); ¶0071 disclosing if it is the scheduled time for the rental, the vehicle compares the identity credentials (which may be a code, ¶0037 and ¶0063) and the virtual key (code) to determine authorization; if the comparison is successful the vehicle enables drive away access to the user for the scheduled time period of the rental agreement; for the duration of the term, the user may again input the same credentials to unlock and drive)
Regarding the replacement rental vehicle reservation, see the relevant art and rationale to combine in the relevant claim(s) above from which this claim depends.
Claim 6: The system of claim 3 wherein the remote computer system is further configured to compare the activation code for the replacement rental vehicle reservation with the code entered by the user through the mobile application to determine whether the match exists. (Kleve ¶0059 disclosing the user’s nomadic device may transmit the authorization code from their nomadic device to the remote source received through servers (¶0059 and ¶0060); ¶0063 disclosing the virtual key may be sent to the VCS (remote computer system); (see also ¶0066-¶0067, and ¶0071); ¶0071 disclosing if it is the scheduled time for the rental, the vehicle compares the identity credentials (which may be a code, ¶0037 and ¶0063) and the virtual key (code) to determine authorization; if the comparison is successful the vehicle enables drive away access to the user for the scheduled time period of the rental agreement; for the duration of the term, the user may again input the same credentials to unlock and drive)
Regarding the replacement rental vehicle reservation, see the relevant art and rationale to combine in the relevant claim(s) above from which this claim depends.
Claim 8: The system of claim 2
wherein the one or more GUIs is configured to (1) present choice options of rental vehicle types for selection by the user that include rental vehicle types whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls outside a range authorized by the business partner and (2) notify the user that the user will be responsible for paying an additional cost if the vehicle type modification corresponds to a rental vehicle type whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls outside a range authorized by the business partner.
Kleve discloses a rental agreement for the vehicle that outlines the terms of the agreement, but does not disclose the one or more GUIs is configured to (1) present choice options of rental vehicle types for selection by the user that include rental vehicle types whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls outside a range authorized by the business partner and (2) notify the user that the user will be responsible for paying an additional cost if the vehicle type modification corresponds to a rental vehicle type whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls outside a range authorized by the business partner. Moore, Jr. suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Moore, Jr. ¶0032 disclosing the customer is picking up a car at an airport; the car rental service sends a message (e.g., an SMS text message and/or email to the customer informing him of his rental car details, including the car that was assigned to him as well as the stall number where the car is located; customer may also be given the opportunity to change or upgrade the car that was assigned to him; upon receiving the message, the customer may swap out a pre-assigned car for a similar car, or upgrade to different car; the customer may also take advantage of a special "deal of the day" promotion and/or upgrade to different car for an additional charge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve to include the one or more GUIs is configured to (1) present choice options of rental vehicle types for selection by the user that include rental vehicle types whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls outside a range authorized by the business partner and (2) notify the user that the user will be responsible for paying an additional cost if the vehicle type modification corresponds to a rental vehicle type whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls outside a range authorized by the business partner as taught by Moore, Jr. in the system of Kleve. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in order to provide a system wherein customers are not required to interact with a rental agent to make a change (see Moore, Jr. ¶0032).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kleve (2014/0129053) in view of Moore, Jr. (2014/0247348) further in view of DeVallance (2008/0097798) further in view of Belanger (2012/0209637).
Claim 7: The system of claim 2
wherein the one or more GUIs is configured to restrict choice options of rental vehicle types for presentation to the user so that only rental vehicle types whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls within a range authorized by the business partner are presented for selection by the user.
As indicated in prior claim limitations, Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. discloses one or more GUIs presented to the user to select modifications (related to vehicle class, etc.). Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. does not explicitly disclose that the one or more GUIs is configured to restrict choice options of rental vehicle types for presentation to the user so that only rental vehicle types whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls within a range authorized by the business partner are presented for selection by the user. Belanger suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Belanger ¶0109 business partners of the reservation booking entity are provided with URLs for these services; through these URLs, employees or persons authorized by the business partner may book reservations via the website using the web services; ¶0166 "deep-linking" customers into a stage of the reservation booking process commensurate with the conditions of a promotion they have selected or a corporate account they are using; when a customer selects a promotional link, it is typical that the promotion has one or more conditions associated therewith; e.g., a rental car company may offer a promotion for a reduced rental price for a particular type of vehicle during a specified time period; ¶0167 if a promotion has a condition that the type of vehicle must be "standard", it is preferable that the customer, upon selection of a link corresponding to that promotion, be linked into the reservation booking process such that the vehicle type is automatically set to "standard"; FIG. 31 illustrates this "deep-linking" concept; e.g., a promotion has one condition: the vehicle type must be "economy"; upon selection of an icon or link associated with that promotion, the customer is preferably linked to a state where V has been automatically set to "economy", and the remaining options are to choose a time and location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. further in view of DeVallance to include the one or more GUIs is configured to restrict choice options of rental vehicle types for presentation to the user so that only rental vehicle types whose rental vehicle class and/or price falls within a range authorized by the business partner are presented for selection by the user as taught by Belanger. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. further in view of DeVallance in order to avoid creating a situation where the customer accidentally enters data that violates the business or company’s conditions (see Belanger ¶0167).
Claims 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kleve (2014/0129053) in view of Moore, Jr. (2014/0247348) further in view of Stanfield (2013/0238167).
Claim 11: The system of claim 1 wherein the mobile application is further configured to (1) receive data representative of driver's license information for the user and (2) communicate the received driver's license information to the remote computer system; and (Kleve ¶0064 disclosing the user may use their nomadic device to exchange or collection information, the user may submit information including forms of ID, driver’s license, etc. (see also ¶0036 disclosing the rental business including a smart phone application or other nomadic device that the user may use to manage their user profile); see also ¶0047disclsoin the user creating a user profile through the website to set up their identity; ¶0086 disclosing the user setting up their profile through the system or personal computer, which may include a driver’s license)
wherein the remote computer system is further configured to (1) perform a verification operation on the driver's license information to assess whether the user is validly licensed as a driver and (2) condition the automated rental vehicle pickup on the verification operation resulting in a determination that the user is validly licensed as a driver.
Kleve discloses the user profile which may include a driver’s license (Kleve Fig. 5 disclosing an image of the driver’s license; ¶0064 disclosing the user submitting information including driver license, facial pictures, forms of ID) but does not explicitly disclose that the remote computer system is further configured to (1) perform a verification operation on the driver's license information to assess whether the user is validly licensed as a driver and (2) condition the automated pickup on the verification operation resulting in a determination that the user is validly licensed as a driver. Stanfield suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Stanfield ¶0037 disclosing the identification information of the user to verify the user as a suitable driver; the system can access a driver’s license from the user’s profile stored in a database contained on a remote server; the system can access a driver's license of the user, based on the identification information, to determine that the user is licensed to drive in the present state or country; the system can withhold access to the vehicle if the user lacks a valid driver's license). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. to include that the remote computer system is further configured to (1) perform a verification operation on the driver's license information to assess whether the user is validly licensed as a driver and (2) condition the automated pickup on the verification operation resulting in a determination that the user is validly licensed as a driver as taught by Stanfield. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. in order to in order to allow the temporary user to rent a vehicle (Stanfield ¶0090) and to verify that the user is a suitable driver (Stanfield ¶0037).
Claim 13: The system of claim 11 wherein the received driver's license information comprises an image of the user's driver's license. (Kleve Fig. 5 disclosing an image of the driver’s license; ¶0064 disclosing the user submitting information including driver license, facial pictures, forms of ID)
Claim 14: The system of claim 11 wherein the received driver's license information comprises a driver's license identifier for the user's driver's license. (Kleve Fig. 5 disclosing an image of the driver’s license with a picture ID; ¶0064 disclosing the user submitting information including driver license, facial pictures, forms of ID)
Claims 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kleve (2014/0129053) in view of Moore, Jr. (2014/0247348) further in view of Stanfield (2013/0238167) further in view of Sehr (US 6,926,203).
Claim 12: The system of claim 11
wherein the remote computer system further comprises a database, the database configured to store a user account for the user, wherein the user account comprises an identifier for the user's mobile device (Kleve ¶0062 disclosing the temporary user setup a user profile within the database; ¶0063-¶0064 further disclosing the temporary user ID and virtual key being sent to the user’s nomadic device (identifier for user’s mobile device); credential verification utilizing driver licenses, forms of ID, etc. for the user to user their device to exchange the information/ID with the system for keyless driveway; see also ¶0037)
Regarding the following limitation:
and a flag indicative of whether the verification operation resulted in a determination that the user is validly licensed as a driver, and wherein the remote computer system is further configured to access the database in support of the automated rental vehicle pickup by the user.
Kleve discloses database configured to store a user account for the user, the account information including driver’s license info and other forms of ID, but does not explicitly disclose a flag indicative of whether the verification operation resulted in a determination that the user is validly licensed as a driver, and wherein the remote computer system is further configured to access the database in support of the automated pickup by the user. Sehr suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Sehr Col. 32, Ln. 10 disclosing communication with remote databases; Col. 32, Ln. 15-20 disclosing an electronic representation of a driver’s license can be stored; the documents can be requested from appropriate authorities such as the DMV; Col. 37, Ln. 20-29 disclosing the driver's license can be verified; e.g., by displaying onto a computer screen the electronic picture associated therewith, or by communicating the license number to the DMV database for further verification; if the picture matches the physical appearance of the cardholder, or the card-based data correlates to the DMV database information, the driver's license is established as being authentic (flag); the driver's license can also be authenticated via the DMV's digital signature, if such a signature is attached to the license; disclosing the passenger can now sign, for example, via a signature pad, the contract; the contractual document can be stored in the passenger card (Col. 31, Ln. 33-35)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. further in view of Stanfield to include a flag indicative of whether the verification operation resulted in a determination that the user is validly licensed as a driver, and wherein the remote computer system is further configured to access the database in support of the automated pickup by the user as taught by Sehr. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kleve in view of Moore, Jr. further in view of Stanfield in order to determine whether the driver has a valid license (Sehr Col. 37, Ln. 25-29).
Conclusion
DIONE N. SIMPSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/DIONE N. SIMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629