Claim Objections
Claims 2-10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-9, the phrase “a built-in oil circuit” should be changed to “the built-in oil circuit”.
Claim 10 should be re-written as following:
A riveting tool, comprising the main body (17), wherein the crankshaft chamber (18) and the oil tank (20) are arranged in the main body (17), the oil tank (20) is communicated with the crankshaft chamber (18), a plunger port (19) for movement of the plunger is provided on a side face of the main body (17), the main body (17) is in a sealed connection with the dual-branch combined plunger pump with the built-in oil circuit as claimed in claim 1 on the wall surface where the plunger port (19) is located, and the oil inlet (2) is communicated with the crankshaft chamber (18).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, the phrase of “a crankshaft chamber in a main body” render the claim indefinite because the claim appears to be drawn to a dual-branch combined plunger pump. Therefore, the recitation to “a crankshaft chamber in a main body” in the body of the claim renders the claim unclear because it is unclear if the scope of the claim is to a riveting tool having a dual-branch combined plunger pump, a crankshaft chamber and main body; or merely a dual-branch combined plunger pump. The crankshaft chamber and main body do not appear to be positively recited in the body of the claim.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “wherein the pump body is provided with an oil inlet on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear which element having “a wall surface”; and claim 1 fails to positively recite mechanical cooperation between the wall surface and the elements of the dual-branch combined plunger pump.
Claims 2-10 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, the phrase of “the outlet of the plunger chamber and the oil inlet (2) are both arranged on the boss” render the claim indefinite because:
Claim 2 is depended from claim 1, and claim 1 recited “wherein the pump body is provided with an oil inlet on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located”; then claim 2 recited “the outlet of the plunger chamber and the oil inlet are both arranged on the boss”;
So, it is unclear if the oil inlet and the outlet of the plunger chamber are located on the wall surface; or the oil inlet and the outlet of the plunger chamber are arranged on the boos”; and
It is unclear what the different between the wall surface and the boos.
Therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite. Proper clarification is required in replying to this office action. The Examiner is provided prior art rejections as bets as understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN218744663U attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-2, Zhang discloses a dual-branch combined plunger pump (figs.2-3) with a built-in oil circuit (figs.9 and 10: (20)), adapted for outputting oil to drive movement of a piston in a riveting work head (paragraphs 0046-0059), comprising
a pump body (fig.1: (8)), a plunger (fig.1: (9)) being arranged in the pump body, and a plunger chamber (fig.3: the chamber of that contained the plunger (9)) for the plunger to move being arranged in the pump body (paragraph 0057),
wherein the pump body is provided with an oil inlet (paragraph 0059: the inlet of the pump body that received oil from channel (10)) and an outlet of the plunger chamber (fig.3: the outlet of the chamber of that contained the plunger (9)), the oil inlet is adapted to communicate with a crankshaft chamber (fig.3: (11)) in a main body (fig.3: (24));
wherein the pump body is provided with a boss for embedding into the crankshaft chamber in the main body, and the outlet of the plunger chamber is both arranged on the boss (fig.3).
Zhang does not disclose the oil inlet on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located; and the oil inlet is arranged on the boss
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange the oil inlet Zhang to be on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located and the outlet of the plunger chamber and the oil inlet is arranged on the boss, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04). Thereby having wherein the pump body is provided with an oil inlet on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located and the outlet of the plunger chamber and the oil inlet are both arranged on the boss.
Regarding claims 3-9, Zhang discloses most of the limitations of the claims; and having the limitations of claims 3-9 would have resulted from routine engineering practices that depend on requirement of the machines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the limitations of claims 3-9 in order to obtain a pump with a specific arrangement as desired.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses a riveting tool, comprising a main body (fig.3: (24)), wherein a crankshaft chamber (fig.3: (11)) arranged in the main body and an oil tank (fig.3: (3)) is attached to the main body (fig.3: (24)), the oil tank is communicated with the crankshaft chamber, a plunger port (fig.3: the port of element (11)) for movement of a plunger (fig.1: (9)) is provided on a side face of the main body (fig.1: (24)), the main body is in a sealed connection with the dual-branch combined plunger pump with a built-in oil circuit (fig.1) as claimed in any one of claims 1 on a wall surface where the plunger port is located, and the oil inlet is communicated with the crankshaft chamber.
Zhang does not disclose the oil tank arranged in the main body.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to rearrange the oil tank of Zhang to be the oil tank arranged in the main body, since it has held that Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN218744663U attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of XU (CN201354718Y attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses Zhang discloses a dual-branch combined plunger pump with a built-in oil circuit (figs.2-3 and 10), adapted for outputting oil to drive movement of a piston in a riveting work head (paragraphs 0046-0059), comprising
a pump body (fig.1: (8)), a plunger (fig.1: (9)) being arranged in the pump body, and a plunger chamber (fig.3: the chamber of that contained the plunger (9)) for the plunger to move being arranged in the pump body (paragraph 0057),
wherein the pump body is provided with an oil inlet (paragraph 0059: the inlet of the pump body that received oil from channel (10)) and an outlet of the plunger chamber (fig.3: the outlet of the chamber of that contained the plunger (9)), the oil inlet is adapted to communicate with a crankshaft chamber (fig.3: (11)) in a main body (fig.3: (24)).
Zhang does not disclose the oil inlet on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located.
XU teaches a dual-branch combined plunger pump comprising a pump body is provided with an oil inlet (fig.2: (4)) on a wall surface where an outlet (fig.2: (5)) of a plunger chamber is located, the oil inlet is adapted to communicate with a crankshaft chamber.
Both of the prior arts Zhang and XU are related to a dual-branch combined plunger pump;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the configuration of the oil inlet of Zhang by the configuration of the oil inlet as taught by XU; since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). (MPEP 2143). Thereby having wherein the pump body is provided with an oil inlet on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located.
Or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the oil inlet of Zhang by the configuration of the oil inlet as taught by XU in order to have few components and simple and reasonable structure (XU : paragraph 0014). Thereby having wherein the pump body is provided with an oil inlet on a wall surface where an outlet of the plunger chamber is located.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725