DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after July 21, 2026, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ claimed invention filed on 07/21/2026 in the matter of Application N° 19/263,721. Said documents are entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Thus, claims 48-66 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen et al. (US20210169759A1), in view of Isaacs et al. (GB2456528A), and Lien et al. (US20140037772A1), and McWherter et al. (US20160243057A1), and Efficacy and Safety of White Willow Bark (Salix alba) Extracts Mohd Shara1 and Sidney J. Stohs2*1Faculty of Pharmacy, Jordan University of Science and Technology, Irbid 22110, Jordan2School of Pharmacy and Health Professions, Creighton University Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68168, USA. And Lin et al. US20040086471A, and Moy et al. US20140066837A1.
Regarding claim 48, Mullen et al. disclose topical compositions comprising cannabidiol (CBD), which is a purified cannabinoid, and various additional ingredients suitable for topical administration. Mullen et al. further disclose ascorbic acid as a vitamin C source, copper as an ingredient, salts of pyrrolidonecarboxylic acid as suitable humectants, and sodium hyaluronate as a moisturizing agent (See Abstract, paragraphs 0116, and 0100).
Mullen et al., however, do not expressly disclose that the coper source comprises copper pyrrolidone carboxylic acid (Copper PCA), as presently claimed.
Isaacs et al. teaches cosmetic compositions comprising copper PCA as a copper-containing ingredient having antioxidant and humectant properties. Isaacs et al. further teaches that copper PCA may be incorporated into topical cosmetic preparations and combined with vitamin C to provide complementary antioxidant activity (See Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the topical composition disclosed by Mullen et al. by selecting copper PCA as the copper containing ingredient, as taught by Isaacs et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make sure a modification because Isaacs et al. expressly teaches the suitability of copper PCA for topical cosmetic preparations and its antioxidant and humectant properties. Furthermore, Isaacs et al. teaches that copper PCA may be combined with vitamin C to provide complementary antioxidant benefits.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to incorporate copper PCA into Mullen et al.’s topical composition to obtain the known antioxidant and skin-conditioning benefits associated with copper PCA, with a reasonable expectation of success in an appropriately formulated topical composition.
Regarding claim 49, Mullen et al. teach wherein some embodiments, the compositions of the disclosure contain antioxidants, such as natural botanical antioxidants such as green tea or grape seed extracts, etc. (See paragraph 0125). The composition can also include any one of, any combination of, additional ingredients such as a chelating agent, and a thickening agent (See paragraph 0095). In some embodiments, the compositions contain one or more vitamins, such as vitamin D (See paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 51, Mullen et al. disclose wherein in some embodiments, the compositions of the disclosure contain antioxidants such as green tea or grape seed extract (See paragraph 0125).
Regarding claim 51, McWherter et al. disclose wherein green tea polyphenols as a natural tumor cell proteasome inhibitor (See paragraph 0390).
Regarding claim 55, Mullen et al. teach CBD extracts contain one or more cannabinoids (See paragraph 0071). The CBD extract contains CBDV. The CBD extract contains between about 0.1% w/w and about 5% w/w CBDV (See paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 59, Mullen et al. teach NHEK cells were grown in keratinocyte serum free media supplemented with gentamycin, and epidermal growth factor (EGF) (See paragraph 0196).
Regarding claim 60, Mullen et al. disclose wherein the disclosure contains products containing the aforementioned products, including a lotion, and an eye cream (See Abstract). In some embodiments, the disclosure provides a topical skin composition comprising a humectant, selected from the group consisting of an eye cream and a lotion (See paragraph 0027). In some embodiments the compositions of the disclosure contain gelling agents (See paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 61, Mullen et al. disclose wherein the compositions of the disclosure are used for regulating a skin condition. The compositions are applied topically to a subject’s skin (See paragraph 0160).
Regarding claim 62, Mullen et al. disclose wherein in some embodiments, glyceryl glucoside reduces sunburn and skin redness (See paragraph 0091). All changes visible to the eye, including fine lines, wrinkles, sagging, and redness (See paragraph 0175). Texture irregularities in the skin which may be detected visually or by feel, including signs of skin aging (See paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 63, Mullen et al. disclose wherein in some embodiments, the compositions are applied one or more times per day (See paragraph 0164).
Regarding claim 64, Mullen et al. disclose wherein the nanosomes of examples 1-4 to treat acne will be measured. Nanosomes which lack one or more of the active ingredients will be used (e.g. nanosomes which contain rose oil and a humectant but not CBD, nanosomes which contain a humectant and CBD but not rose oil). The nanosomes will be incorporated into a lotion and applied to a subject with acne’s face (See paragraph 0188).
However, Mullen et al. do not disclose wherein the azelaic acid source comprises azeloglicina.
Regarding claim 50, Lien et al. disclose wherein a cosmetic or pharmaceutical formulation comprising an azelaic acid or a salt or ester thereof (See Abstract, paragraph 0003, and claim 1). Suitable salts of azelaic acid include a suitable potassium azeloyl diglycinate is Azeloglicina (See paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 56, Lien et al. disclose wherein the sodium hyaluronate crosspolymer is a polymer of hyaluronic acid (See paragraph 0034). The amount of the hyaluronate crosspolymer or a salt thereof in the formulation is 0.005% to 6% w/w; most especially from 0.1 to 2% w/w (See paragraph 0035).
Regarding claims 57 and 58, Lien et al. disclose wherein the formulation may include solvents such as water, an alcohol or an oil (See paragraph 0092). The formulation may further include one or more preservative agents such as glycerin
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the composition of Mullen et al. to include azeloglicina as the azelaic acid source, as taught by Lien et al., because Lien et al. provides explicit guidance that azeloglicina is a suitable derivative of azelaic acid for use in topical cosmetic or pharmaceutical formulations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution in order to obtain the known benefits of azelaic acid derivatives, such as improved skin compatibility, solubility, or delivery in topical applications, which are desirable in treating dermatological conditions. Accordingly, the combination of Mullen et al. and Lien et a. teaches or at least renders obvious the claimed method, including the limitation that the azelaic acid source comprises azeloglicina.
However, Lien et al. do not disclose wherein the botanical extract comprises willow bark extract.
Regarding claim 52, Shara et al. disclose wherein Willow bark extract has been used as an anti-inflammatory, antipyretic, and analgesic (See abstract).
However, Shara et al. do not disclose wherein the vitamin C source is present in an amount of about 0.001 wt% to about 20 wt %.
Regarding claim 53, Lin et al. disclose wherein the cosmetically active agent will be present in the composition of the invention in an amount of from about 0.001% to about 20% by weight of the composition (See paragraph 0072), and examples of vitamins include, vitamin C, and derivatives thereof (See paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 54, Lin et al. disclose wherein the cosmetically active agent will be present in the composition of the invention in an amount of from about 0.001% to about 20% by weight of the composition (See paragraph 0072), and wherein the composition comprises from about 0.001%, by weight, to about 1% by weight, of at least one compound selected from the group consisting of copper PCA. The copper PCA and/or ester will typically be present in the composition in an amount from about 0.001% to about 5% by weight (See claim 7, and paragraph 0022).
However, Lin et al. do not disclose wherein the dermatological procedure comprises non-ablative dermatological procedures, chemical peel, micro-abrasion and laser.
Regarding claim 65, Moy et al. disclose wherein in some embodiments, the permeability-enhancing modality involves applying a chemical peel to the skin (See paragraph 0121). RF devices can be used in using ablative or non-ablative methods to rejuvenate the skin (See paragraph 0168). Further adjuncts to the process increase permeability of skin or decrease skin barrier function. Options for this include, solvent, laser ablation, chemical peeling, microdermabrasion, and laser ablation (See paragraph 0140).
Regarding claims 64, and 66, Moy et al. disclose wherein the technology includes a method for treating skin. The method includes administering a quantity of liposomes to an outer surface of an individual’s skin. A portion of the liposomes encapsulate a DNA repair enzyme, and a portion of the liposomes encapsulate a growth factor (See paragraph 0010).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in response to the previous Office action have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant contends that Mullen et al. fail to disclose or suggest a copper source comprising copper pyrrolidone carboxylic acid (PCA), copper peptide, or a combination thereof.
The Examiner acknowledges that Mullen et al. do not expressly disclose the specifically claimed copper PCA compound. Accordingly, the rejection has been reconsidered in view of the teachings of Isaacs et al., which expressly discloses copper PCA as a known ingredient suitable for use in topical cosmetic compositions.
The present rejection relies upon the combined teachings of Mullen et al. and Isaacs et al. to address the limitations.
Because the present rejection introduces an additional prior art reference to establish the claimed copper source, and the new ground of rejection was not necessitated by an amendment to claim 48, the present Office action is made non-final.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615