2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communications received on July 9, 2025 and September 15, 2025 for application number 19/263,904. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
3. Claims 1-10 are presented in this application.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR 2009913, filed on September 29, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 9, 2025 and September 15, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 in view of HANNUKSELA et al.(US 2015/0269736 A1)(hereinafter Hannuksela).
With regards to claims 1-5, U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 claimed in claims 7, 8 and 9, a method comprising: decoding views simultaneously representing a 3D scene from different positions or different view angles, implemented by a decoding device, the decoding comprising the following, for a depth component of at least one view, said depth component being partitioned into at least one block: reading, in a data signal, at least one depth estimation parameter associated with said at least one block of the depth component, decoding said at least one depth estimation parameter, and obtaining depth information of said at least one block of the depth component, from said at least one depth estimation parameter and from texture data of a reconstructed texture component of at least one of said views; wherein said at least one depth estimation parameter is either a depth value of said at least one block which is greater than each of the depth values of said at least one block, or a depth value of said at least one block which is less than each of the depth values of said at least one block; and wherein said at least one depth estimation parameter is a parameter used by a depth estimation method.
U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 is silent to if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding information that specifies a depth interval associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with the current block; wherein if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, the depth interval associated with each smaller block is defined, for a current smaller block, by a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value out of the depth values of the current smaller block; and wherein if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, the depth interval associated with the current block is defined by a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value out of the depth values of the current block.
However, specifying a depth value interval or depth value range associated with a specific block size was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Hannuksela. More specifically, Hannuksela discloses the apparatus 300 may further be caused to cover the depth layers of the plurality of depth layers with blocks (of size n x n) and calculate the DCT in a block based manner. In an example embodiment, the size of n may be 4, 8, 16, 32, and the like. Blocks and values derived from them may be determined to be associated with a texture view layer, when, according to a first example, at least one pixel of a block is within the texture view layer, or, according to a second example, at least half of the pixels of a block are within the texture view layer. In another example, the derivation of DCT for a texture view layer may exclude pixel values from pixels outside the texture view layer. A fixed block size may be used for the whole image or a combination of different block sizes may be used. The decision on the size of the blocks may be made based on the characteristics of the texture view layer e.g. amount/level of spatial information (SI) in that region… In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals [See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 74-84, 91-105, 146-154].
One of ordinary skill in the art has been motivated to combine the method as taught by U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 with Hannuksela’s depth intervals determination process because this combination has the benefit of providing a depth range or interval method to improve the quality of rendered views[See Hannuksela: at least par. 45, 74-84, 91-105, 146-154].
With regards to claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further, U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 claimed in claim 12, comprising: reconstructing a view in accordance with the decoding, and synthesizing at least a part of a view from the reconstructed view and from the information representative of the depth of said at least one block which has been obtained.
With regards to claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further, U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 claimed in claim 10, wherein information representative of a depth estimation method is decoded.
With regards to claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 claimed in claim 11, a device for decoding views simultaneously representing a 3D scene from different positions or different view angles, said decoding device comprising: a processor which is configured to implement the following, for a depth component of at least one view, said depth component being partitioned into at least one block: reading, in a data signal, at least one depth estimation parameter associated with said at least one block of the depth component, decoding said at least one depth estimation parameter, and obtaining depth information of said at least one block of the depth component, from said at least one depth estimation parameter and from texture data of a reconstructed texture component of at least one of said views.
U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 is silent to if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with the current block.
However, specifying a depth value interval or depth value range associated with a specific block size was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Hannuksela. More specifically, Hannuksela discloses the apparatus 300 may further be caused to cover the depth layers of the plurality of depth layers with blocks (of size n x n) and calculate the DCT in a block based manner. In an example embodiment, the size of n may be 4, 8, 16, 32, and the like. Blocks and values derived from them may be determined to be associated with a texture view layer, when, according to a first example, at least one pixel of a block is within the texture view layer, or, according to a second example, at least half of the pixels of a block are within the texture view layer. In another example, the derivation of DCT for a texture view layer may exclude pixel values from pixels outside the texture view layer. A fixed block size may be used for the whole image or a combination of different block sizes may be used. The decision on the size of the blocks may be made based on the characteristics of the texture view layer e.g. amount/level of spatial information (SI) in that region… In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals [See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 74-84, 91-105, 146-154].
One of ordinary skill in the art has been motivated to combine the method as taught by U.S. Patent No. 12,382,080 B2 with Hannuksela’s depth intervals determination process because this combination has the benefit of providing a depth range or interval method to improve the quality of rendered views[See Hannuksela: at least par. 45, 74-84, 91-105, 146-154].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWARZ et al.(US 2018/0376127 A1; cited in IDS by Applicant)(hereinafter Schwarz) in view of HANNUKSELA et al.(US 2015/0269736 A1)(hereinafter Hannuksela).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Schwarz discloses a method implemented by a decoding device and device [See Schwarz: at least Fig. 1 and par. 33 regarding method for apparatus or decoder 10 to reconstruct the multi-view signal 12 into the multi-view data stream 14 and decoder 10] and comprising / comprising:
decoding views representing a scene from different positions or different view angles[See Schwarz: at least Fig. 1 and par. 33 regarding the apparatus or decoder 10 of FIG. 1 reconstructs the multi-view signal 12 from the multi-view data stream 14 by obeying a coding/decoding order according to which the reference signal 20 is processed prior to dependent view 22. The multi-view signal 12 may, as shown in FIG. 1, not only represent a spatial sampling of one common scene from different view directions or view points associated with respective views 20 and 22], comprising, / comprising for a depth component of at least one view and for a current block of the depth component, said depth component being partitioned into at least one block [See Schwarz: at least par. 36-37, 62, 77 regarding reference reconstructor 24 and dependent view reconstructor 26 may operate on a block-wise basis… (Thus, depth is partitioned into at least a block)]:
reading an information / information that indicates whether the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks[See Schwarz: at least par. 36, 62-63, 106-113, 168 regarding In a particular embodiment of the invention, not only the motion parameters for a block, but also the partitioning information for the block (which can split the block into smaller blocks and assign separate motion parameters to each sub-block) can be derived based on the already coded motion and disparity information…the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode, in which different motion parameters for subblocks of the given block are derived based on the motion parameters in an already coded reference view such as 20 and an estimated depth map 64. Or in other words, the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode for a block, in which the partitioning of the block 50c into smaller subblocks as well as the motion parameters associated with the subblocks are derived based on the motion parameters in an already reference view and an estimated depth map…], if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding information / an information that specifies a depth associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding an information that specifies a depth associated with the current block [See Schwarz: at least par. 36, 62-63, 89-91, 106-113, 168 regarding first a representing depth value d for the given block 50 is obtained based on the given sample-based or block-based depth map…The representing depth value can be obtained by any function of the set of depth values di. Possible functions are the average of the depth values di, the median of the depth values di, the minimum of the depth values di, the maximum of the depth values di, or any other function…Here, the representing depth value is converted to a disparity vector v(depth value and disparity vector are proportional)… In another advantageous embodiment of the invention, the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode, in which different motion parameters for subblocks of the given block are derived based on the motion parameters in an already coded reference view such as 20 and an estimated depth map 64. Or in other words, the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode for a block, in which the partitioning of the block 50c into smaller subblocks as well as the motion parameters associated with the subblocks are derived based on the motion parameters in an already reference view and an estimated depth map.].
Schwarz does not explicitly disclose if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding information / an information that specifies a depth interval associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with the current block.
However, specifying a depth value interval or depth value range associated with a specific block size was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Hannuksela [See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 74-84, 91-105, 146-154 regarding In an embodiment, the apparatus 300 may further be caused to cover the depth layers of the plurality of depth layers with blocks (of size n x n) and calculate the DCT in a block based manner. In an example embodiment, the size of n may be 4, 8, 16, 32, and the like. Blocks and values derived from them may be determined to be associated with a texture view layer, when, according to a first example, at least one pixel of a block is within the texture view layer, or, according to a second example, at least half of the pixels of a block are within the texture view layer. In another example, the derivation of DCT for a texture view layer may exclude pixel values from pixels outside the texture view layer. A fixed block size may be used for the whole image or a combination of different block sizes may be used. The decision on the size of the blocks may be made based on the characteristics of the texture view layer e.g. amount/level of spatial information (SI) in that region… In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals…].
Therefore, it would have obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwarz with Hannuksela teachings by including “if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding information / an information that specifies a depth interval associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, decoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with the current block” because this combination has the benefit of providing a depth range or interval method to improve the quality of rendered views[See Hannuksela: at least par. 45, 74-84, 91-105, 146-154].
Regarding claim 2, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined with Schwarz, Hannuksela teaches or suggests wherein if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, the depth interval associated with each smaller block is defined, for a current smaller block, by a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value out of the depth values of the current smaller block[See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 74-84, 91-105, 146-154 regarding In an embodiment, the apparatus 300 may further be caused to cover the depth layers of the plurality of depth layers with blocks (of size n x n) and calculate the DCT in a block based manner. In an example embodiment, the size of n may be 4, 8, 16, 32, and the like. Blocks and values derived from them may be determined to be associated with a texture view layer, when, according to a first example, at least one pixel of a block is within the texture view layer, or, according to a second example, at least half of the pixels of a block are within the texture view layer. In another example, the derivation of DCT for a texture view layer may exclude pixel values from pixels outside the texture view layer. A fixed block size may be used for the whole image or a combination of different block sizes may be used. The decision on the size of the blocks may be made based on the characteristics of the texture view layer e.g. amount/level of spatial information (SI) in that region… In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals…].
Regarding claim 3, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined with Schwarz, Hannuksela teaches or suggests wherein if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, the depth interval associated with the current block is defined by a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value out of the depth values of the current block[See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 74-84, 91-105, 146-154 regarding In an embodiment, the apparatus 300 may further be caused to cover the depth layers of the plurality of depth layers with blocks (of size n x n) and calculate the DCT in a block based manner. In an example embodiment, the size of n may be 4, 8, 16, 32, and the like. Blocks and values derived from them may be determined to be associated with a texture view layer, when, according to a first example, at least one pixel of a block is within the texture view layer, or, according to a second example, at least half of the pixels of a block are within the texture view layer. In another example, the derivation of DCT for a texture view layer may exclude pixel values from pixels outside the texture view layer. A fixed block size may be used for the whole image or a combination of different block sizes may be used. The decision on the size of the blocks may be made based on the characteristics of the texture view layer e.g. amount/level of spatial information (SI) in that region… In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals…].
Regarding claim 4, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach or suggest wherein the depth interval associated with the current block or the depth interval associated with each smaller block is assigned to a depth estimation parameter [See Schwarz: at least par. 62, 64-67 , 77-78 regarding Derivation of depth/disparity data for the current picture of the current view. Also, derivation of candidate motion or disparity data for a current block based on the derived depth/disparity data... The depth values are given with a particular precision (furthermore, depth values are often estimated, since the actual depths are usually not known). In most cases, depth values are given by integer numbers. Given the depth values and particular camera parameters (such as the focal length, distance between cameras, minimum and maximum depth values, or functions of these parameters), the depth value d can be converted into a disparity vector v=[vx, vy]T… See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 71-84, 91-105, 146-154 regarding At 702, a plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined. In an embodiment, the plurality of depth layers may be defined such that at least one depth layer of the plurality of depth layers is associated with a respective depth limit. In an embodiment, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined based on a method described by 704 and 706. For example, at 704, the respective depth limit for the at least one depth layer of the plurality of depth layers may be determined based on at least one depth criteria… At 706, the depth map may be segmented into the plurality of depth layers based at least on the respective depth limit associated with the at least one depth layer of the plurality of depth layers and the depth criteria…In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals… ].
Regarding claim 5, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 4, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach or suggest further comprising obtaining depth information of said current block from said at least one depth estimation parameter [See Schwarz: at least par. 62, 64-67 , 77 regarding Derivation of depth/disparity data for the current picture of the current view. Also, derivation of candidate motion or disparity data for a current block based on the derived depth/disparity data... See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 71-84, 91-105, 146-154 regarding At 702, a plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined. In an embodiment, the plurality of depth layers may be defined such that at least one depth layer of the plurality of depth layers is associated with a respective depth limit. In an embodiment, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined based on a method described by 704 and 706. For example, at 704, the respective depth limit for the at least one depth layer of the plurality of depth layers may be determined based on at least one depth criteria… At 706, the depth map may be segmented into the plurality of depth layers based at least on the respective depth limit associated with the at least one depth layer of the plurality of depth layers and the depth criteria…In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals…] and from texture data of a reconstructed texture component of at least one of said views [See Schwarz: at least Figs. 1-2 and par. 33, 132 regarding The multi-view signal 12 may, as shown in FIG. 1, not only represent a spatial sampling of one common scene from different view directions or view points associated with respective views 20 and 22, but also a temporal sampling of this scene as it is illustrated in FIG. 1 exemplarily by showing three time instants... For each time instant, each view 20 and 22 comprises a picture 32t1 and 32t2, wherein each picture 32t1,2 represents a respective texture map…(Thus, depth information is obtained from texture data of the views 20 and 22) See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7, par. 146-156 regarding At 708, a plurality of texture view layers corresponding to the plurality of depth layers may be determined. In an example embodiment, the plurality of texture view layers may be determined by mapping the plurality of depth layers to respective texture views layers. In an example embodiment, a texture view may include texture information representative of luminance (brightness or intensity) and chrominance (color, e.g., blue hues and red hues) of the image…].
Regarding claim 6, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach or suggest further comprising: synthesizing at least a part of a view from the decoded view and from the depth information of said current block [See Schwarz: at least Fig. 1 and par. 3 regarding Given a small number of coded views with corresponding depth maps, high-quality intermediate views (virtual views that lie between the coded views)—and to some extend also additional views to one or both ends of the camera array—can be created at the receiver side by a suitable rendering techniques. See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1A-1B and par. 42-55 regarding view synthesis or Depth-image-based rendering (DIBR) refers to generation of a novel view based on one or more existing/received views.].
Regarding claim 9, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach a non-transitory computer-readable information medium, comprising instructions of a computer program stored thereon which when executed by a processor of the decoding device cause the decoding device to implement the method according to claim 1[See Schwarz: par. 170-181 regarding A further embodiment of the inventive methods is, therefore, a data carrier (or a digital storage medium, or a computer-readable medium) comprising, recorded thereon, the computer program for performing one of the methods described herein. See Hannuksela: at least par. 70, 165, 168 regarding The software, application logic and/or hardware may reside on at least one memory, at least one processor, an apparatus or, a computer program product. In an example embodiment, the application logic, software or an instruction set is maintained on any one of various conventional computer-readable media. In the context of this document, a "computer-readable medium" may be any media or means that can contain, store, communicate, propagate or transport the instructions for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer, with one example of an apparatus described and depicted in FIGS. 2 and/or 3. A computer-readable medium may comprise a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that may be any media or means that can contain or store the instructions for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer.].
Regarding claim 10, Schwarz discloses a method implemented by a coding device [See Schwarz: at least Fig. 2 and par. 55-56, 62, 64-67 regarding method for encoding the multi-view signal 12 into the multi-view data stream 14] and comprising:
coding views representing a scene from different positions or different view angles, comprising, for a depth component of at least one view[See Schwarz: at least Figs. 1-2, par. 33, 55-56,62, 64-67, 77-83 regarding The multi-view signal 12 may, as shown in FIG. 1, not only represent a spatial sampling of one common scene from different view directions or view points associated with respective views 20 and 22, but also a temporal sampling of this scene as it is illustrated in FIG. 1 exemplarily by showing three time instants T−1, T and T+1 along a time axis 30. For each time instant, each view 20 and 22 comprises a picture 32t1 and 32t2, wherein each picture 32t1,2 represents a respective texture map…FIG. 2 shows an apparatus for encoding the multi-view signal 12 into the multi-view data stream 14…In the following, we describe the basic derivation of motion data for a given block of the current picture in a particular view (that is not the backwards compatible base view) such as view 22 in FIG. 1, given motion data of an already coded reference view or of a set of already coded reference views such as 20 in FIG. 1. For this description, we assume that an estimate of the depth data for the current picture is given such as 64 in FIG. 1… ]:
partitioning said depth component into at least one block, for a current block of the depth component[See Schwarz: at least par. 36-37, 62, 77 regarding reference reconstructor 24 and dependent view reconstructor 26 may operate on a block-wise basis… (Thus, depth is partitioned into at least a block)]:
transmitting information that indicates whether the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks[See Schwarz: at least par. 36, 62-63, 106-113, 168 regarding In a particular embodiment of the invention, not only the motion parameters for a block, but also the partitioning information for the block (which can split the block into smaller blocks and assign separate motion parameters to each sub-block) can be derived based on the already coded motion and disparity information…the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode, in which different motion parameters for subblocks of the given block are derived based on the motion parameters in an already coded reference view such as 20 and an estimated depth map 64. Or in other words, the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode for a block, in which the partitioning of the block 50c into smaller subblocks as well as the motion parameters associated with the subblocks are derived based on the motion parameters in an already reference view and an estimated depth map…],
if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, encoding an information that specifies a depth associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, encoding an information that specifies a depth associated with the current block[See Schwarz: at least par. 36, 62-63, 89-91, 106-113, 168 regarding first a representing depth value d for the given block 50 is obtained based on the given sample-based or block-based depth map…The representing depth value can be obtained by any function of the set of depth values di. Possible functions are the average of the depth values di, the median of the depth values di, the minimum of the depth values di, the maximum of the depth values di, or any other function…Here, the representing depth value is converted to a disparity vector v(depth value and disparity vector are proportional)… In another advantageous embodiment of the invention, the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode, in which different motion parameters for subblocks of the given block are derived based on the motion parameters in an already coded reference view such as 20 and an estimated depth map 64. Or in other words, the multiview video coding scheme includes a coding mode for a block, in which the partitioning of the block 50c into smaller subblocks as well as the motion parameters associated with the subblocks are derived based on the motion parameters in an already reference view and an estimated depth map.].
Schwarz does not explicitly disclose if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, encoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, encoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with the current block.
However, specifying a depth value interval or depth value range associated with a specific block size was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Hannuksela [See Hannuksela: at least Figs. 1-7 par. 74-84, 91-105, 146-154 regarding In an embodiment, the apparatus 300 may further be caused to cover the depth layers of the plurality of depth layers with blocks (of size n x n) and calculate the DCT in a block based manner. In an example embodiment, the size of n may be 4, 8, 16, 32, and the like. Blocks and values derived from them may be determined to be associated with a texture view layer, when, according to a first example, at least one pixel of a block is within the texture view layer, or, according to a second example, at least half of the pixels of a block are within the texture view layer. In another example, the derivation of DCT for a texture view layer may exclude pixel values from pixels outside the texture view layer. A fixed block size may be used for the whole image or a combination of different block sizes may be used. The decision on the size of the blocks may be made based on the characteristics of the texture view layer e.g. amount/level of spatial information (SI) in that region… In an embodiment, wherein the depth criteria includes the differential value of depth, the plurality of depth layers of the depth map may be defined by determining depth interval of the depth map based on the differential value of depth. In an embodiment, the differential value of depth is determined based on a minimum depth value and a maximum depth value associated with the depth map. In an embodiment, at least a portion of the depth interval may be partitioned into a plurality of intervals to define the plurality of depth layers. For example, a portion of the depth interval that is associated with a depth less than a threshold depth may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals. In an alternate embodiment, the entire depth interval may be partitioned into the plurality of intervals…].
Therefore, it would have obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwarz with Hannuksela teachings by including “if the current block is subdivided into smaller blocks, encoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with each smaller block, else if the current block is not subdivided into smaller blocks, encoding an information that specifies a depth interval associated with the current block” because this combination has the benefit of providing a depth range or interval method to improve the quality of rendered views[See Hannuksela: at least par. 45, 74-84, 91-105, 146-154].
11. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWARZ et al.(US 2018/0376127 A1; cited in IDS by Applicant)(hereinafter Schwarz) in view of HANNUKSELA et al.(US 2015/0269736 A1)(hereinafter Hannuksela) in further view of Kim et al.(US 2011/0122225 A1; cited in IDS by Applicant)(hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Schwarz and Hannuksela teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Schwarz and Hannuksela do not explicitly disclose wherein information representative of a depth estimation method is decoded.
However, utilizing a depth estimation method such as the depth estimation reference software(DERS) for coding depth in depth coding systems was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Kim[See Kim: at least par. 46 regarding it is shown that as the smoothing coefficient in depth estimation reference software (DERS) increases, less detailed and less noisy depth maps were obtained resulting in better qualities of synthesized views. In this case, our objective would be the simplicity of depth coding. We encode depth map in a similar way that chroma is coded in H.264/AVC exploiting the correlation between Cb/Cr and D. Next, we show how coding information can be shared between Cb/Cr and depth in the implementation in H.264/AV..].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwarz and Hannuksela with Kim teachings by including “wherein information representative of a depth estimation method is decoded” because this combination has the benefit of providing a depth estimation method to reduce noise in depth maps to improve quality of the synthesized views[See Kim: at least par. 46].
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Konieczny et al.(US 2016/0134874 A1)
Chen et al.(US 2013/0022111 A1)
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482