DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Response, dated 13 January 2026, which papers have been made of record.
Claims 1-20 are currently presented for examination, of which claims 13-20 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation “connection means” recited in claim 7. The connection means appear to be described at paragraph [00064] of the Specification as filed and in Figure 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent 6,763,563 to Shanahan (hereinafter “Shanahan”)
Regarding claim 1, Shanahan discloses an obround spacing ring (60) for use in the manufacture of an obround shell (intended use) formed of a plurality of rigid panels, the obround spacing ring comprising an obround rim (see Fig. 3; see profile view; rim body 62, 64) formed with an outer U-shaped channel (76, 88; channel surfaces are located at outermost region of opening 92) sized and shaped fittingly to receive an inflatable obround tube (intended use).
Examiner’s Note: the examiner notes that the MPEP instructs that “[a]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” (MPEP 2114(II)). “A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” (MPEP 2114(II)). As best understood by the examiner, the inflatable obround tube is not positively required by the instant claim and is understood to reflect only intended use for the obround spacing ring.
Regarding claim 2, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Shanahan discloses that the obround rim is formed of metal (see Col. 3, lines 56-58; apparatus formed of steel or stainless steel or the like).
Regarding claim 3, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 2, and further Shanahan discloses that the metal is steel (see Col. 3, lines 56-58; apparatus formed of steel or stainless steel or the like).
Regarding claim 5, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Shanahan discloses that the inflatable obround tube is formed of rubber. To the best of the examiner’s understanding, the claimed device would accommodate an inflatable obround tube formed of plastic or rubber in the same manner without modification of the claimed obround spacing ring. Whether the inflatable obround tube can be fittingly received by the spacing ring is at least a function of the respective dimensions of the spacing ring, the inflatable tube, and the pressure present within the inflatable tube. (See MPEP 2114(II)). As best understood by the examiner, the inflatable obround tube is not positively required by the instant claim and is understood to reflect only intended use for the obround spacing ring.
Regarding claim 6, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Shanahan discloses that the inflatable obround tube is formed of plastic. To the best of the examiner’s understanding, the claimed device would accommodate an inflatable obround tube formed of plastic or rubber in the same manner without modification of the claimed obround spacing ring. Whether the inflatable obround tube can be fittingly received by the spacing ring is at least a function of the respective dimensions of the spacing ring, the inflatable tube, and the pressure present within the inflatable tube. See MPEP 2114(II)). As best understood by the examiner, the inflatable obround tube is not positively required by the instant claim and is understood to reflect only intended use for the obround spacing ring.
Regarding claim 7, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Shanahan discloses that the inflatable obround tube comprises connection means operative to connect the inflatable obround tube to a pressure source to pressurize the inflatable obround tube to expand an outer periphery of the inflatable obround tube. To the best of the examiner’s understanding, the claimed device would accommodate an inflatable obround tube regardless of the presence of connection means thereon to a pressure source. Because the inflatable tube is not understood to be positively required by claim 7, the device disclosed by Shanahan is understood to be capable of accommodating the recited inflatable tube including the connection means, which could be placed to not interfere with the spacing ring taught by Shanahan. See MPEP 2114(II)). As best understood by the examiner, the inflatable obround tube is not positively required by the instant claim and is understood to reflect only intended use for the obround spacing ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanahan as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of
United States Patent 8,714,433 to Snead et al. (hereinafter “Snead”).
Regarding claim 4, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 2, however Shanahan does not explicitly disclose that the metal is aluminum. Shanahan teaches that the device (60) may be made of steel, stainless steel, or the like (see Col. 3, lines 56-58).
Snead teaches a clamping device (10) having a semi-circular rims (13, 16) which may be secured together (compare Figures 1A with 2E). The device of Snead may comprise a metal, such as steel, stainless steel, aluminum, or alloys (see Col. 2, lines 53-60). Snead teaches that the particular metal selected may depend on environmental factors and applications, such as high strength, corrosion resistance, and weight factors (Col. 2, lines 56-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device taught by Shanahan to include a metal material such as aluminum, as taught by Snead. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). Because Shanahan appears to be flexible regarding the metal material (“or the like”; Col. 3, lines 56-58), it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device to include an unlisted metal material without modification of the principles of operation of Shanahan. Further, because Snead teaches that different metal materials can be used based on environmental factors, it would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to select a material such as aluminum depending on the use environment of the device taught by the combination to advantageously provide that the device will function in the environment. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)).
Thus, the combination of Shanahan and Snead teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Claims 11-12
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanahan as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 1. Shanahan does not explicitly disclose that semi-annular portions (62, 64) of the obround spacing ring (60) each have a common diameter of between 5’ and 12’.
However, the MPEP teaches that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimension of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). There is nothing of record that suggests that the dimensions would cause the device taught by Shanahan to behave differently in use.
Thus, Shanahan teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Shanahan discloses the limitations of claim 11. Shanahan does not explicitly disclose that opposite straight segments (66) of the obround spacing ring (60) which bridge opposing ends of the semi-annular portions of the obround spacing ring each have a common length of between 10” and 32”.
However, the MPEP teaches that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimension of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). There is nothing of record that suggests that the claimed lengths of opposite straight segments would cause the device taught by Shanahan to behave differently in use.
Thus, Shanahan teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not explicitly disclose or fairly teach “wherein the obround rim comprises at least one through hole for passage of a portion of the inflatable obround tube to facilitate connection of the connection means to the pressure source,” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim. The examiner notes that Shanahan teaches a hole (74) however does not explicitly disclose that the hole is a through hole. Motivation to modify the disclosed hole to be a through hole does not appear to be fairly found in the prior art without relying improperly upon teachings in Applicant’s Specification. The examiner further notes that the inflatable obround tube is not understood to be positively required by the device of claim 1, from which claim 8 depends.
Conclusion
/DARRELL C FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3726