Election/Restrictions
Claim 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/6/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “oil distribution outlet” of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldhoer et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0389269 (hereinafter “Waldhoer”) in view of Maxwell III, U.S. Patent 10,288,081 (hereinafter “Maxwell”).
In Reference to Claim 1:
Waldhoer discloses a cast power end frame comprising a pair of end plates and an outer casing extending between the end plates and defining an interior therein; a crank shaft housing extending between the end plates and within the interior of the outer casing, and a plurality of crosshead tubes, each crosshead tube extending substantially perpendicular to the crank shaft housing, wherein the outer casing, crank shaft housing, and crosshead tubes are cast as a single part. See, Figure 4 and Abstract.
Waldhoer fails to disclose wherein the steel for the power end frame comprises a steel comprising a carbon constituent of 0.06% - 1.99% carbon.
However, in the same field of endeavor the power end of a pump, Maxwell discloses a power end frame wherein the frame is composed of carbon steel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the material of Waldhoer (a cast steel) with that of a Maxwelll (a carbon steel) because such a modification is a simple substitution of one known material used for the power frame for another providing the same predictable results. Furthermore, Examiner notes that the it is well known by a person having ordinary skill in the art that most of the carbon steels fall within the range of .06-1.99 (with the exception being some Ultra High Carbon Steels being above 1.99%).
In Reference to Claim 2:
Waldhoer further discloses cast from alloy steel. Examiner notes that carbon steel is a well known steel alloy and as such the modification of Maxwell disclose the use of a cast from alloy steel.
In Reference to Claim 4:
Waldhoer further discloses wherein at least one oil distribution outlet is provided in the outer casing at a lower portion of the power end frame. Examiner notes that there is a central opening at the bottom of the power end frame between the locations of plates 432 which would allow for the lubrication oil to be drained and as such would serve as a oil outlet.
In Reference to claim 7:
Waldhoer further discloses A reciprocating pump (Figure 1) comprising a power end according to claim 1, and also comprising a fluid end coupled to the power end by a plurality of stay rods (175).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldhoer et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0389269 (hereinafter “Waldhoer”) in view of Maxwell III, U.S. Patent 10,288,081 (hereinafter “Maxwell”) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Byrne et al., Chinese Patent Publication CN 107208625 (hereinafter “Byrne”).
In Reference to Claim 3:
Waldhoer as modified discloses all the limitations set forth in claim 1, but fails to disclose a drainage hole provided in a lower surface of the crosshead tube.
However, in the same field of endeavor, power ends of pump/compressors, Byrne discloses a drainage hole provided in a lower surface of the crosshead tube (via port that connects tubing 57 and 59) to reduce frictional wear and improve longevity of the system
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to further modify Waldhoer with the teachings of Bryne, namely placing a hole into the circumference of the crosshead tube because as taught by Byrne such a port allows for the system to place lubrication into the sidewall reducing the frictional wear between the crosshead and the crosshead tube and improving the longevity of the system without requiring maintenance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 and 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein a rear portion of the power end frame comprises a plurality of vertical struts having widened portions than other portions of the struts.” Examiner notes that while struts are known in the field of endeavor the modification of having widened portions and narrow portions within the same strut is nowhere to be seen and is not merely a design choice per the discussion in Applicants specification.
Claim 6 recites “comprising at least three inwardly projecting ribs within an upper portion of the frame, the ribs extending between the end plates”. Examiner has reviewed the specification wherein Applicant discloses that the configuration of said ribs and how they extend are not merely a design choice but provide a technical advantage of “provide additional structural strength to the power end frame 100 by minimizing lateral movement and resulting vibrations. In some forms, as illustrated, three evenly spaced, inwardly projecting ribs 106a, 106b, 106c are provided at the upper portion 150”. The prior art fails to disclose said ribs and as such would be allowable for this reason.
Conclusion
/DANIEL S COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745