DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-12, 14, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doshi et al US 20240005777.
Regarding claim 1, Doshi teaches processing circuitry (see figures 1 and 3), comprising:
compute circuitry, the compute circuitry including hardware resources to perform compute operations in a computing platform (see figure 3, hardware resource such as process management agent PMA 310a-c, see para 0050); and
telemetry management circuitry (see figure 1, telemetry aggregator 104) to:
detect a communication flow for an application function associated with a process executing on at least one of the hardware resources (see para 0090, in-the-flow telemetry aggregation across chains of microservices, also see para 0037, Telemetry sensors 114 a-114 g may share or report the collected telemetric data to telemetry aggregator 104. Telemetry aggregator 104… telemetry sensors 114 a-114 g may report or share data through a shared data bus, wired communication, or other data communication technology);
retrieve a telemetry configuration based on the communication flow (see para 0129, the collection of telemetry data 202), the telemetry configuration identifying at least one metric of a metric type for the process executing on the at least one of the hardware resources (see figure 4, configuration 424, see para 0091, distributed collection of metrics and high-resolution time-alignment. The metrics may include stack backtraces and/or logs of instrumentation chosen dynamically on the basis of programmed triggers based on a configuration 424);
execute a trace on the at least one metric to obtain metrics results (see para 0107, the hardware instructions may include instructions for what types of data to monitor (e.g., telemetry data 202), also see figure 17, step 1704-1708 and para 0161); and
perform a telemetry action based on the metrics results (see figure 17 step 1710, see para 0161, initiates, by the controller, an action at the first time interval based on the event, also see para 0090, doing so may facilitate filtering for high value information and for triggering responsive actions).
Regarding claim 2, Doshi further teaches the telemetry management circuitry is to: detect an incompatibility between a metrics format of the at least one metric and a standard metrics format associated with the computing platform (see para 0073, telemetry data 202 is noisy, e.g., contains random fluctuations, errors, or interference that makes it difficult to extract meaningful information from the telemetry data 202… techniques to denoise and isolate characteristic variations in telemetry data).
Regarding claim 3, Doshi further teaches the telemetry management circuitry is to: apply a telemetry harmonization function to the at least one metric based on the incompatibility, wherein applying the telemetry harmonization function transforms the at least one metric to the standard metrics format (see para 0081, the denoising technique specifies one or more denoising techniques, such low-pass filters, high pass filters, Kalman filters, smoothing functions).
Regarding claim 4, Doshi further teaches the processing circuitry is a multi-chiplet package, wherein the hardware resources of the compute circuitry include a plurality of chiplets, wherein the telemetry management circuitry includes a chiplet separate from the plurality of chiplets, and wherein the chiplet of the telemetry management circuitry is to: discover a plurality of metrics available at the plurality of chiplets, the plurality of metrics comprising the at least one metric (see para 0030 and 0047, a processor, a single die package, a multi-chip module (MCM), a multi-die package, a chiplet, also see para 0032, TSS 106 describes a set of telemetry information, which can be generated and/or exposed by telemetry aggregator 104, for example, from control signals, information elements, or other signals obtained from ones of telemetry sensors 114 a-114 g. In some examples, the type and form of events and metrics that generate telemetric data and are available in TSS 106 may be dependent on the underlying integrated circuit).
Regarding claim 5, Doshi further teaches the telemetry management circuitry is to: access the plurality of chiplets via one or more telemetry hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) to discover the plurality of metrics (see para 0057, a plurality of application programming interfaces (APIs) to select specific telemetry data from converged telemetry sensors).
Regarding claim 11, Doshi further teaches the telemetry management circuitry is to:
perform a callback to a software stack associated with the process; and encode a notification with the metrics results for transmission to a management software stack associated with the executing of the process (see para 0101, a callback is invoked so that software can take immediate notification of the range of interest (depending on the type of interest) for any further action).
Regarding claim 12, Doshi further teaches the telemetry management circuitry is to: access one or more sensors of a Universal Chiplet Interconnect Express (UCIe) interposer circuit of the compute circuitry to obtain at least one of the metrics results (see para 0167, a Universal Chiplet Interconnect Express (UCIe) interface, also see para 0030, Telemetry architecture 100 can be implemented on an integrated circuit, for example, in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. In some examples, telemetry architecture 100 may be implemented on an integrated circuit. The integrated circuit may be included in a processor, a system-on-chip (SoC), single die package, a multi-chip module (MCM), a multi-die package, a chiplet, a dielet, a bridge, an interposer, a discrete package, an add-in card, a chipset, or any other computing hardware).
Regarding claim 14, Doshi further teaches the UCIe interposer circuit comprises a second telemetry management circuitry, and wherein the telemetry management circuitry is to: retrieve the at least one of the metrics results from the second telemetry management circuitry (see para 0056, remote BMC may collect the output of the synthesized models or processed information and correlates the output to the custom objectives for the configuration 424).
Regarding claims 15-16, please refer to the rejection of claims 1-3 since the claimed subject matter is substantially similar. The claims recite an apparatus comprising means for performing the same steps as performed by the processing circuit of claims 1-3.
Regarding claims 17-20, please refer to the rejection of claims 1-4, and 11 since the claimed subject matter is substantially similar. Further, Doshi teaches at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by telemetry management circuitry, causes the telemetry management circuitry to perform the method (see para 0181, at least one computer-readable storage medium may include instructions that, when executed, cause a system to perform any of the computer-implemented methods described herein).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dalgaard et al US Patent No. 12,321,250 discloses configurable telemetry data processing via observability pipelines
Kommula et al US 20240211368 discloses a metric collector configured to receive, via metric exporters, telemetry data comprising metrics related to a network of computing devices
Hamilton et al US 20240202187 discloses at least one configuration of a trace event is retrieved using an API call received by the execution node process
Van Os US 20230259382 discloses configuring metric collection based on application information
Dubinsky et al US Patent No. 11,516,308 discloses adaptive telemetry sampling by obtaining first telemetry data from a plurality of telemetry data sources
/PHONG H DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184