DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al., Pub. No.: US 20210171212 A1 in view of Nguyen et al., Pub. No.: US 20220068057 A1, further in view of KATHIRCHELVAN et al., Pub. No.: US 20210062726 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Keller et al. discloses a propulsion system for an aircraft ([0031] FIGS. 1A and 1B …”a hybrid propulsion system 10 for use with an aircraft”) comprising:
a first hybrid power plant drivingly engageable to a first propulsor, the first hybrid power plant including a first thermal engine and a first electrical motor ([0022] FIG. 1A … the hybrid propulsion system including a gas turbine engine core; an electric power system having a battery, two motors powering corresponding propulsors, and a generator” & [0031] FIGS. 1A and 1B … a hybrid propulsion system 10 includes a gas turbine engine core 12, an electric power system 14, and a controller 16.) ;
Remarks: A gas turbine engine is considered a thermal engine because it converts heat energy from fuel combustion into mechanical work, operating based on the principles of thermodynamics and utilizing heat transfer to produce power.
a second hybrid power plant drivingly engageable a second propulsor, the second hybrid power plant including a second thermal engine and a second electrical motor ([0033] “FIG. 1B, the electric power system 14 may further include a second motor 30 and second propulsor 32 powered by the second motor 30. In other embodiments, the electric power system 14 could include more than two motors 30 and propulsors 32 powered by respective ones of the motors 30. References herein to the motor 30 and propulsor 32 powered by the motor 30 should be construed to apply similarly to plural motors 30 and propulsors 32 powered by respective ones of the motors 30 in embodiments having plural motors 30 and propulsors 32 powered by respective ones of the motors 30.);
Keller et al. is not explicit on “acoustic sensors operable to measure an initial combined noise signature produced by the propulsion system”, however Nguyen et al., US 20220068057 A1, teaches CLOUD-BASED ACOUSTIC MONITORING, ANALYSIS, AND DIAGNOSTIC FOR POWER GENERATION SYSTEM and discloses;
one or more acoustic sensors operable to measure an initial combined noise signature produced by the propulsion system, the combined noise signature resulting from a combination of a first noise signature generated by the first hybrid power plant and a second noise signature generated the second hybrid power plant ([0021]-[0022] “the sensor(s) 106 may be acoustic sensors” & [0031] FIG. 3 … an acoustic monitoring, analysis, and diagnostic system, which in some embodiments, may be a cloud-based acoustic monitoring, analysis, and diagnostic (CAMAD) system 310 … The recorded acoustic signals 308 may be calculated, processed, and analyzed by the CAMAD system 310.” & [0042]-[0043] “the CAMAD 310 may detect and recognize deviation from the typical noise profile … (e.g., baseline signatures recorded during system initiation may be used to track the system/component over the time as the system/component signatures deviate from the initial baseline).” & [0057] During operations of the power production system 200, the NF noise signature 505 and the FF noise signature 555, combined with other data (such as data identifiers), may be used by the CAMAD system 310 to detect certain events (decision 525) ... The CAMAD system 310 may compare a detected noise pattern identified by the FF noise signature 555 in data analysis of the FF noise measurement 552, to a similar noise pattern identified by the NF noise signature 505 in data analysis of the NF noise measurement 502 (block 525), which has matched tags (e.g., time tags) to the FF noise measurement 552.”)
Remarks: Para. [0021]-[0022], [0031], [0042]-[0044] & [0057] explicitly discloses claim elements.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Nguyen et al. with the system disclosed by Keller et al. in order to provide a system includes an acoustic monitoring, analysis, and diagnostic system having a processor to derive NF and FF noise measurements based on the signals and to synchronize the NF and FF noise measurements to create synchronized NF and FF noise data (see Abstract & para.[0006]).).
Further Keller et al. in view of Nguyen et al. is not explicit on “an initial amplitude variation is greater than an amplitude variation threshold indicative that the initial combined noise signature generates beats”, however, KATHIRCHELVAN et al., US 20210062726 A1, teaches SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR SYNCHROPHASING AIRCRAFT ENGINES and discloses; and
a controller operatively connected to the first hybrid power plant, the second hybrid power plant, and the one or more acoustic sensors, t ([0118] “System 12 can comprise one or more data processors 62 … operationally coupled to receive input data 64 indicative of the sensed vibration level detected by sensor 58.”),
the controller having a processing unit and a computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon executable by the processing unit ([0118] “System 12 can comprise one or more data processors 62 … System 12 can also comprise non-transitory storage medium 66 (i.e., memory) including machine-readable instructions 68 executable by processor 62 and configured to cause controller 56 to perform one or more steps so as to implement a computer-implemented process such that instructions 68, when executed by data processor 62.”) for:
receiving a signal from the one or more acoustic sensors, the signal indicative of the initial combined noise signature produced by the propulsion system ([0043] “controllers operationally coupled to receive signals indicative of the sensed vibration level detected by the one or more sensors” & [0114] System 12 can comprise one or more controllers 56 (referred hereinafter in the singular) and one or more sensors 58 (referred hereinafter in the singular) for acquiring data indicative of a sensed vibration (e.g., structural vibration, noise) level associated with aircraft engines 14A, 14B. In various embodiments, sensor 58 can be a structural vibration sensor (e.g., accelerometer) or an acoustic sensor (e.g., microphone). In embodiments where multiple sensors 58 are used, such sensors 58 can comprise one or more structural vibration sensors and/or one or more acoustic sensors. In some embodiments, sensor 58 can be configured to sense a resultant vibration level (i.e., summation of vibration levels) caused by the operation of both engines 14A, 14B. Alternatively, one or more sensors 58 can be associate with each engine 14A, 14B respectively and a resultant (i.e., summation) vibration level can be determined by combining signals from the plurality of sensors 58.” & see also [0121]-[0122]).
determining, from the signal, that an initial amplitude variation of a periodically fluctuating amplitude of the initial combined noise signature is greater than an amplitude variation threshold indicative that the initial combined noise signature generates beats (([0109] “difference in rotational speed between engines 14 can, in some situations, cause audible noise beats (amplitude modulations) inside of the cabin of aircraft 10.” & [0111] “Noise plot 26 can be representative of a resultant noise level sensed inside a passenger cabin of aircraft 10 over time using a microphone for example. Plot 26 shows a sinusoidal curve that oscillates between a high noise level 28 and a low noise level 30 as the phase angle α between the two engines 14A, 14B is varied. The oscillations in plot 26 can represent audible noise beats.” & [0128] “the target vibration level can be determined by commanding an operating speed difference between the first and second aircraft engines 14A, 14B to intentionally induce beats of a predefined beat period in resultant vibration levels (e.g., noise plot 26) associated with first and second aircraft engines 14A, 14B; and then determining the target vibration level from the resultant vibration levels. It is understood that an initial or default value of the target vibration level may be stored in or used by controller 56… operating speed difference between first and second aircraft engines 14A, 14B to induce beats of a predefined first beat period in resultant vibration levels 26, 308 associated with first and second aircraft engines 14A, 14B (see block 302).);
modulating a thrust produced by the second hybrid power plant, by changing a power output of one of the second thermal engine and the second electrical motor, to produce a modulated combined noise signature having a modulated amplitude variation less than the initial amplitude variation([0109] “Slight differences in the rotational speeds of the same elements in multiple engines 14 can give rise to various acoustic phenomena that can directly impact passenger comfort. For example difference in rotational speed between engines 14 can, in some situations, cause audible noise beats (amplitude modulations) inside of the cabin of aircraft 10.” & [0111] FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary acoustic noise plot 26 showing the effects of phase angle α adjustment between aircraft engines 14A and 14B. Noise plot 26 can be representative of a resultant noise level sensed inside a passenger cabin of aircraft 10 over time using a microphone for example. Plot 26 shows a sinusoidal curve that oscillates between a high noise level 28 and a low noise level 30 as the phase angle α between the two engines 14A, 14B is varied. The oscillations in plot 26 can represent audible noise beats.” & [0128] “an initial or default value of the target vibration level may be stored in or used by controller 56 either for part of method 100 or throughout method 100.” & [0145] commanding an operating speed difference between first and second aircraft engines 14A, 14B to induce beats of a predefined first beat period in resultant vibration levels 26, 308 associated with first and second aircraft engines 14A, 14B (see block 302).); and
compensating for a difference in thrusts generated by the first hybrid power plant and the second hybrid power plant due to the modulating of the thrust produced by the second hybrid power plant ([0110] FIG. 2 ... in cases where the engines 14 operate at substantially the same operating (e.g., rotational) speed, some reduction in vibration can still be achieved by achieving a desired phase angle α between imbalances 22A and 22B of the first and second aircraft engines 14A, 14B respectively. This concept is referred to as “synchrophasing” engines 14A and 14B. … in some situations, the timing of an excitation caused by one engine 14 can be adjusted to partially attenuate an excitation caused by another engine 14 to reduce an overall (e.g., summation) vibration level.” & [0111] FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary acoustic noise plot 26 showing the effects of phase angle α adjustment between aircraft engines 14A and 14B. … maintain the second phase angle α2 during operation of engines 14A, 14B in order to minimize or reduce the noise inside the cabin. …maintaining a phase angle α corresponding to a lowest noise or vibration level based on vibration (e.g., structural vibration, noise) feedback without requiring knowledge of the actual phase angle α.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by KATHIRCHELVAN et al. with the system disclosed by Keller et al. in order to provide systems and method for synchrophasing engines on multi-engine aircraft. The method may comprise commanding the momentary changes in operating speed of the second aircraft engine while the first aircraft engine substantially maintains the same operating speed, until the sensed vibration level substantially reaches a target vibration level. The sensed vibration level may be an acoustic noise level inside a passenger cabin of an aircraft to which the first and second aircraft engines are mounted (see Abstract & para.[0004]-[0019).).
Claim 2, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al., Pub. No.: US 20210171212 A1 in view of Nguyen et al., Pub. No.: US 20220068057 A1, further in view of KATHIRCHELVAN et al., Pub. No.: US 20210062726 A1, and further in view of Gemin et al., Pub. No.: US 20210033101 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Keller et al. is not explicit on “setting rotational speeds of output shafts of the first/second electrical motor”, however Gemin et al., US 20210033101 A1, teaches Active Stability Control of Compression Systems Utilizing Electric Machines and discloses,
wherein the driving of the first propulsor and the driving of the second propulsor includes setting rotational speeds of output shafts of the first electrical motor and of the second electrical motor to meet thrust targets of the first propulsor and of the second propulsor ([0037] “FIG. 3, the electric generator 114 includes a generator rotor 122 that rotates within a generator stator 124 about an axis of rotation…the rotation of the generator rotor 122 places a torque load on the shaft system … Adjustment of the torque load on the shaft system causes the rotational speed of the shaft system to change.” & [0040] “The adjustment of the output of the shaft system ultimately changes the rotational speed of the compressor (e.g., the rotating compressor blades). The relatively small adjustments in the shaft system output may be utilized for damping instability fluctuations of the pressurized air stream within or flowing through the compressor, such as rotating stall and surge.” & [0041] “control parameters of the electric generator 114 (e.g., speed, torque, power) may be adjusted to change an output of the shaft system, e.g., shaft speed.” & [0042] “the pressure fluctuations of the air stream flowing through the compressor 102, and the rotational speed of the low pressure shaft 112.”).
Remarks: Para. [0037]-[0041], [0045]-[0050], [0057]-[0060],[0065]-[0067] explicitly discloses claim elements.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Gemin et al. with the system disclosed by Keller et al. in order to provide turbine engines and systems for active stability control of rotating compression systems utilizing an electric machine operatively coupled thereto. Based on control data indicative of a system state of the compression system, a control parameter of the electric machine is adjusted to control or change an output of the shaft system. Adjusting the shaft system output by adjusting one or more control parameters of the electric machine allows the compression system to dampen instability fluctuations of the fluid stream within the compression system (see Abstract & para.[0001]).
Further Keller et al. discloses;
the modulating of the thrust produced by the second hybrid power plant includes changing the power output of the second thermal engine to change the thrust of the second hybrid power plant ([0039] The controller 16 is configured to vary the flow of fuel F to the combustor 20, thereby varying the power output of the gas turbine engine core 12, the power output of the generator 26, and the amount of power provided to the motor 30 from the generator 26.” & [0041] “the controller 16 is configured to vary the rotational speed of the gas turbine engine core 12, thereby varying the power output of the gas turbine engine core 12, the power output of the generator 26, and the amount of power provided to the motor 30 from the generator 26.”).
Regarding claim 3, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the driving of the first propulsor and the driving of the second propulsor includes setting rotational speeds of output shafts of the first thermal engine and of the second thermal engine to meet thrust targets of the first propulsor and of the second propulsor, the modulating of the thrust produced by the second hybrid power plant includes changing the power output of the second electrical motor to change the thrust of the second hybrid power plant ([0039] The controller 16 is configured to vary the flow of fuel F to the combustor 20, thereby varying the power output of the gas turbine engine core 12, the power output of the generator 26, and the amount of power provided to the motor 30 from the generator 26.” & [0041] “the controller 16 is configured to vary the rotational speed of the gas turbine engine core 12, thereby varying the power output of the gas turbine engine core 12, the power output of the generator 26, and the amount of power provided to the motor 30 from the generator 26.”).
Regarding claim 4, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the modulating of the thrust produced by the second hybrid power plant includes setting a rotational speed of an output shaft of the second thermal engine to be greater than a rotational speed of an output shaft of the first thermal engine ([0036] “The desired force magnitude value is greater than the thrust with a force magnitude value that would be achieved if only the power of the gas turbine engine core 12 was reduced, but no additional power from the battery 34 was supplied.” & [0037] “the sum of the first portion of the power and the second portion of the power is greater than the first portion of the power.” & [0045] “the controller 16 may be configured to respond to the signal S by reducing … rotational speed of the gas turbine engine core 12, consequently reducing the first portion of the power provided to the motor 30 by the generator 26 to a level less than that required to achieve the thrust provided by the hybrid propulsion system 10 at the desired force magnitude value. To compensate for the reduction in the first portion of the power provided to the motor 30 by the generator 26, the controller 16 increases the second portion of the power provided to the motor 30 by the battery 34 to achieve the thrust provided by the hybrid propulsion system 10 at the desired force magnitude value. & [0047]-[0050] “the controller 16 could decrease the second portion of the power and increase the first portion of the power as desired to achieve the desired force magnitude value.” & [0058] “the controller 16 could further be configured to limit noise generated by the gas turbine engine core 12 to no greater than a predetermined threshold value by limiting at least one of the flow of fuel F to the combustor 20 and the rotational speed of the gas turbine engine, and thereby limiting the power output of the gas turbine engine core 12 and the generator 26.” & [0059] “The controller 16 could be configured to vary the flow of fuel F to the combustor and/or the rotational speed of the gas turbine engine core 12 so that the actual or theoretical noise level is no greater than the predetermined threshold value.).
Remarks: Para. [0036]-[0037], [0045]-[0047], [0050],[0058]-[0060] discloses claim elements.
Regarding claim 5, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 4, wherein the compensating for the difference in the thrusts includes increasing a rotational speed of an output shaft of the first electrical motor to be greater than a rotational speed of an output shaft of the second electrical motor until a first thrust generated by the first propulsor is equal to a second thrust generated by the second propulsor, or decreasing the rotational speed of the output shaft of the second electrical motor to be less than the rotational speed of the output shaft of the first electrical motor until the second thrust generated by the second propulsor is equal to the first thrust generated by the first propulsor (As in claim 1; see para.[0045]-[0046] & as in claim 4 see para [0036]-[0037], [0045]-[0047], [0050],[0058]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1, wherein the modulating of the thrust produced by of the first hybrid power plant includes setting a rotational speed of an output shaft of the second electrical motor to be different than a rotational speed of an output shaft of the first electrical motor (As in claim 1; see para.[0045]-[0046] & as in claim 4 see para [0036]-[0037], [0045]-[0047], [0050],[0058]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 6, wherein the compensating for the difference in the thrusts includes increasing a rotational speed of an output shaft of the first thermal engine to be greater than a rotational speed of an output shaft of the second thermal engine until a first thrust generated by the first propulsor is equal to a second thrust generated by the second propulsor, or decreasing the rotational speed of the output shaft of the second thermal engine to be less than the rotational speed of the output shaft of the first thermal engine until the second thrust generated by the second propulsor is equal to the first thrust generated by the first propulsor (As in claim 1; see para.[0045]-[0046] & as in claim 4 see para [0036]-[0037], [0045]-[0047], [0050],[0058]-[0060]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al., Pub. No.: US 20210171212 A1 in view of Nguyen et al., Pub. No.: US 20220068057 A1, further in view of KATHIRCHELVAN et al., Pub. No.: US 20210062726 A1, and further Szmuk et al., Pub. No.: US 20200081432 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Keller et al. is not explicit on “a propeller having blades pivotable about respective blade axes, the compensating for the difference in the thrusts includes pivoting the blades about the blade axes”, however Szmuk et al., US 20200081432 A1, teaches AERIAL VEHICLE PROPELLERS HAVING VARIABLE FORCE-TORQUE RATIOS and discloses,
wherein the second propulsor is a propeller having blades pivotable about blade axes, the compensating for the difference in the thrusts includes pivoting the blades about the blade axes until the thrusts generated by the second propulsor matches a first thrust generated by the first propulsor ([0092] “FIG. 6A, the propeller blade 104 may include a modifiable section, e.g., flap 635-1, that is pivotably or movably coupled to the underside 633 of the propeller blade 104 at a pivotable connection, e.g., hinge 637-1.” & [0162] “thrust generated by a propeller blade may also be modified, e.g., increased or decreased, when modifying or reconfiguring the propeller blade to provide additional torque. In such scenarios, other propeller blades and/or propulsion mechanisms, as well as various other parameters of the aerial vehicle, may consequently also be modified to compensate for any changes to force, lift, or thrust generated by a propeller blade that has been reconfigured to generate additional torque”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Szmuk et al. with the system disclosed by Keller et al. in order to provide systems and methods to improve controllability of an aerial vehicle responsive to degraded operational conditions, for example, one or more propeller blades of an aerial vehicle may be modifiable between two or more configurations. Various aspects or portions of a propeller blade may be modified to increase torque generated by the propeller blade. The additional generated torque may then be used as a source of additional torque to improve controllability of the aerial vehicle responsive to degraded operational conditions (see Abstract & para.[0002]).
Claim 9, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al., Pub. No.: US 20210171212 A1 in view of Nguyen et al., Pub. No.: US 20220068057 A1, further in view of KATHIRCHELVAN et al., Pub. No.: US 20210062726 A1, and further in view of Friedel`797, Pub. No.: US 20150298797A1.
Regarding claim 9, Keller et al. discloses the propulsion system of claim 1.
Keller et al. is not explicit on “compensating for the difference in the thrusts includes changing a position of control surfaces/rudder”, however Friedel`797, US 20150298797A1, teaches Aircraft Having A System For Influencing The Yaw Moment And A Method For Influencing The Yaw Moment Of An Aircraft and discloses,
wherein the compensating for the difference in the thrusts includes changing a position of one or more control surfaces of the aircraft until a propulsor moment created by a thrust difference generated by the first propulsor and the second propulsor about a yaw axis of the aircraft is compensated by a moment created by the one or more control surfaces of the aircraft about the yaw axis ([0003] The flight attitude, in other words the spatial orientation of an aircraft during flight, is generally dependent on a plurality of parameters such as flight speed, altitude, the arrangement of tail units and the position of control surfaces.” & [0008] “a suitable position and orientation of the associated thrust vector and the distance thereof from the yaw axis of the aircraft, can lead to a yaw moment which counters a thrust asymmetry.” & [0035]-[0038] “If one of the engines 6 fails, resulting in an asymmetric thrust-induced yaw moment about the yaw axis 1, the system 4 is able to supply thrust assistance for a short time, which generates an additional yaw moment in the other direction of rotation, which counters the asymmetrically acting yaw moment if an engine fails. The yaw moment balance of the aircraft 2 can thus be compensated at least in part, without a rudder unit 20 of the aircraft 2 having to be excessively large or a rudder 22 having to be fully deflected.” & [0047] “the aircraft 28 is experiencing an asymmetric thrust exclusively from the left engine 6. Alongside the rudder unit 20 and the rudder 22, a thrust generation means 30 serves to compensate the asymmetry,... As a result of the relatively large distance from the yaw axis 1, a particularly high yaw moment, which counters the asymmetric yaw moment, can still be generated using a relatively low thrust force.” & [0051] “FIG. 3, if the speed decreases during the landing approach the weaker effectiveness of the rudder unit can again be compensated at least in part by the thrust generation means.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Friedel`797 with the system disclosed by Keller et al. in order to provide an aircraft system for influencing the yaw moment. The system includes a thrust generation means, an energy store which can be coupled to the thrust generation means for transmitting energy to the thrust generation means, and a trigger device. The thrust generation means is set up so as to provide a thrust force, including a thrust direction vector at a distance from a yaw axis of the aircraft. The dimensioning of a rudder unit of an aircraft comprising a plurality of eccentrically arranged engines is subject to the requirement of being able to compensate an engine failure and a resulting thrust asymmetry (see Abstract & para.[0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
/Jalal C CODUROGLU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665