DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2025 and 12/22/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 7/9/2025 are acceptable for examination by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUZUKI et al. (US 2012/0308254 A1; cited by applicant; SUZUKI).
Regarding claim 1, SUZUKI teaches a fixing device (figure 1; 100) comprising: a fixing member 110 which heats a toner on a medium while rotating around an axis; a pressure member 140 which forms a pressure region with the fixing member 110 and pressurizes the toner on the medium passing through the pressure region while rotating around an axis; a fixing frame which supports both ends of the fixing member 110 and the pressure member 140 in the axial direction; a rolling bearing member which is disposed between either of the fixing member 140 and the pressure member 110 and the fixing frame in an electrically insulated state; and a ground member 300, 400 which electrically grounds either of the fixing member 110 and the pressure member 140 via the rolling bearing member (figures 1-5; [0026, 0035, 0046-0047, 0052, 0059-0061, 0063, 0072] casing is the support frame).
Regarding claim 2, the rolling bearing member includes an inner ring which rotatably supports a rotational shaft portion 141 of either of the fixing member 110 and the pressure member 140 around the axis, an outer ring 142 which is mounted on the fixing frame in an electrically insulated state, and a rolling element held between the inner ring and the outer ring (between the inner and outer ring); and the ground member 400 is in contact with the outer ring 142 (figures 2, 4, [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, the fixing device (figure 2) further comprising: a bearing holder which is made of insulator, mounted on the fixing frame while holding the rolling bearing member and the ground member 300, 400, and have a guide hole into which the ground member is inserted to bring it into contact with the outer ring; and a ground cover which is made of insulator, and mounted on the bearing holder so as to cover the ground member in contact with the outer ring through the guide hole (Figures 4-6, [0026, 0035, 0055-0058] casing is the support frame).
Regarding claim 5, the ground member includes: a first conductive member in contact with the outer ring; a second conductive member in contact with the fixing frame; and a resistance member which is provided between the first conductive member and the second conductive member and connected to the first conductive member and the second conductive member.
Regarding claim 7, an image forming apparatus comprising the fixing
Device (shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI in view of WATARAI (CA 1325240 C).
SUZUKI teaches leaf spring grounding member for a fixing device (figure 4; grounding members 300 and 400).
SUZUKI does not teach a coil spring as part of the grounding member.
WATARAI teaches that leaf spring and coil springs are interchangeable (page 16, lines 5-15; the use of a leaf spring and coil spring can perform the same function).
SUZUKI and WATARAI are concerned with fixing device.
The rationale for combining the teachings of WATARAI with the teachings of SUZUKI relates to the rationale of using a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of WATARAI with the teaching of SUZUKI to obtain a grounding device.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KAJITA (US 2009/0142113 A1) teach a fixing device with grounding means. SUZUKI (US 2011/0206406 A1) teaches a fixing device with grounding feature.
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG