DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new interpretation of the cited prior art and a new interpretation of applicant’s claims.
Applicant argues Yerkes does not disclose a lower band. For support, it is argued the bottom hems 13 and 14 are merely hems formed along a lower portion of the breast portions 1 and 2 themselves, i.e., finished bottom edges of the breast portions the define channels within which portions of the shoulder straps 9 and 10 extend.
In response, examiner provides a new grounds of rejection that reinterprets “a front portion” and introduces US 3,467,105 A, to White, for providing evidence that the bottom hems 13 and 14 of Yerkes can reasonably be interpreted as a lower band. See rejection section below.
Next, Applicant argues that Yerks does not disclose first and second elastic strap coupled to first and second shoulder strap at a position above the front portion.
In response, examiner provides an new grounds of rejection that reinterprets the shoulder strap and an “elastic strap” is given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation which includes a component strap construction with portions that are elastic. See rejection below.
Finaly, Applicant argues that Yerkes does not disclose first and second elastic strap coupled to the lower band at a position proximate a center of the lower band.
In response, the terms “proximate” and “center” are broadly interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation. One skilled in the art would understand that all elements of a system may be considered “proximate” to all other elements of a system. Similar to using the terms “close” or “near,” the limitation can include an arrangement where the recited elements are “close” or “near” to another element. In this case, without a precise definition for the term, the termination of the lower parts of elements 15 and 16 of Yerks can be broadly considered as close or near to the center of the lower band.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III, directed to claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 04/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,134,294 A to Yerkes, and as evidenced by US 3,467,105 A to White.
For claim 1, Yerkes discloses an upper-body support garment (col. 1, lines 1-9) comprising:
a front portion (part or piece of 1 and 2, see annotated fig. 1 below)
configured to cover at least a portion of a wearer's chest (col. 1, lines 1-9);
the front portion connected to a first shoulder strap (23) and a second shoulder strap (24) (see annotate fig. 1 below wherein upper portions of 23, 24 are configured for contacting at least the front shoulder of a wearer and may therefore be considered “shoulder straps”)
and to a lower band (hem 13, 14) (it is noted that hems 13 and 14 are considered separate and distinct from the illustrated front “portion” of annotate fig. 1 of Yerks above. It is further noted that hemming a fabric can reasonably be considered as a band. As evidence for this interpretation, attention is directed to White providing a similar brassiere garment. Specifically, White provides “The lower edge of the panels which are formed with hems or with a facing panel cooperate to form a lower band-like structure which encircles the chest area of the wearer below the breasts and by supporting the band from both the top and bottom edge thereof at the rear will provide for more uplifting force to be exerted under the breasts inasmuch as both the top and bottom edge of the band-like structure will be supporting the shoulder straps and retaining them in an elevated condition” (col. 3, lines 3-12). Therefore, the hemmed elements 13, and 14 of Yerks can, under a broad and reasonable interpretation, be interpreted as band-like structures and/or simply band structures);
a first elastic strap coupled to the first shoulder strap at a position above the front portion (fig. 1) and coupled to the lower band at a position proximate a center of the lower band (col. 1, lines 45-49) (see annotated fig. 2 below wherein component strap 14, 22 and component strap 16, 21 are considered a strap construction with portions that are elastic) (see response to argument section above regarding examiner’s interpretation of the term “proximate”); and
a second elastic strap coupled to the second shoulder strap at a position above the front portion (fig. 1) and coupled to the lower band at the position proximate the center of the lower band (col. 1, lines 45-49) (annotated fig. 2 above).
For claim 2, Yerkes discloses the upper-body support garment of claim 1, wherein the first elastic strap and the second elastic strap are positioned internal to at least a portion of the front portion (fig. 2).
For claim 4, Yerkes discloses the upper-body support garment of claim 1, wherein each of the first elastic strap and the second elastic strap extend diagonally between a top margin of the lower band and one of the first shoulder strap or the second shoulder strap (See figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerkes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2004/0224603 A1 to Kaye.
For claim 3, Yerkes discloses the upper-body support garment of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the front portion comprises a plurality of mesh panels that at least partially overlap.
However, attention is directed to Kaye teaching an analogous brassiere (Abstract). Specifically, Kaye teaches the layers forming the front panel are preferably made of a power mesh material for purposes of enhancing the aesthetics and the overall breathability of the breast cups (paras 0032-0035 of Kaye). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date wherein Yerkes would be modified wherein the front portion comprises a plurality of mesh panels that at least partially overlap, particularly power mesh, for purposes of enhancing the aesthetics and the overall breathability of the breast cups, as taught by Kaye (paras 0032-0035 of Kaye).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are allowed over the prior art of record as none of the references, alone or in combination, disclose, among other features, a front portion comprising an external panel being affixed to a lower band and the lower edge of the front portion comprises a concave cutout; and wherein a first internal panel extends laterally beyond a first side edge of the external panel and is also exposed through the concave cutout and a second internal panel extends laterally beyond a second side edge of the external panel and is also exposed through the concave cutout.
The closest prior art of record includes US 2016/0360801 A1 to Sze, US 2015/0056890 A1 to Black, US 2012/0122370 A1 to Heath, and US 3,393,682 A to Cole.
Sze discloses what can be considered a support garment including a front portion having an external panel (120), a lower band (126), and an internal panel (122); and includes a cutout (118 at central location and proximate to lower band 126). Although Sze teaches what may be considered the internal panel exposed through the cutout (see fig. 3), Sze does not specifically disclose the internal panel is a first and second as distinct internal panels that extend laterally beyond a first side edge and a second side edge of the external panel.
Black discloses what can be considered a support garment including a front portion having an external panel (120) connected to a lower band (300) at a lower edge and wherein the lower edge comprises a concave cutout (area around 150) and an additional panel (150). However, Black does not disclose the additional panel is internal to the external panel nor does the additional panel extend beyond a first side edge and a second side edge of the external panel.
Heath discloses what can be considered a support garment including a front portion having an external panel (103), connected to a lower band (112) at a lower edge and wherein the lower edge comprises a concave cutout (106) and an internal panel (170) that may be exposed through the cutout (fig. 8). However, Heath does not disclose the additional panel is a first and second distinct internal panels that extend laterally beyond a first side edge and a second side edge of the external panel (fig. 1).
Cole discloses what can be considered a support garment including a front portion having external panels (30, 40), a lower band (70), and a first and a second internal panel (10, 20); and a cutout (area around 60), and wherein the first and the second internal panels extend laterally beyond a first side edge and a second side edge of the external panels (30, 40) (fig. 1). However, Cole does not disclose wherein the first internal panel and the second internal panel is exposed though the concave cutout.
Modification of the cited prior art to include the claimed features would be a hindsight reconstruction based on applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
/ERICK I LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3732