DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Benefit of an Earlier Filing
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Foreign Application No. (JP) 2023-002633 filed on 11th January, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification (more than 20 pages) has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102“(a)(1)” as being anticipated by Applicant presented Prior Art in IDS, OKAMOTO (JPH 11133137 A).
Referring to Claim 1, OKAMOTO teaches an ultrasonic sensor configured to be attached to a plate-shaped vehicle body component ([0013] and fig. 2(a) and (b)), comprising:
a tubular housing component that is inserted into a through-hole formed in the vehicle body component ([0013]); and
a vibration-proof rubber that, as a result of being attached to the housing component, is interposed between the housing component and the vehicle body component in an attached state, in which the housing component is attached to the vehicle body component ([0013]-[0017], and fig. 2(a)-(c)); wherein
the vibration-proof rubber has three or more insertion sections that, in the attached state, as a result of being inserted through the through-hole, are held between an inner edge of the through-hole and the housing component in a radial direction that intersects a center axis line of the housing component ([0017] and fig. 2(a)-(c)), and
the three or more insertion sections are arranged so as to surround the center axis line ([0017] and fig. 2(a)-(c)).
Referring to Claim 2, OKAMOTO teaches the ultrasonic sensor according to claim 1, wherein
each of the insertion sections is formed such that a dimension in an axial direction, which is parallel to the center axis line, is larger than a thickness of the vehicle body component ([0003]; [0017]).
Referring to Claim 7, OKAMOTO teaches the ultrasonic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle body component is formed of a metallic plate material ([0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKAMOTO as applied to Claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of UEDA (US 2023/0105548 A1).
Referring to Claim 4, OKAMOTO teaches the ultrasonic sensor according to claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the through-hole has a vehicle body side protrusion section that is provided protruding toward an inner side, the housing component has a sensor side concave section recessed in conformity with a protruding shape of the vehicle body side protrusion section, and is configured such that the sensor side concave section engages the vehicle body side protrusion section in the attached state, and the insertion sections are provided, in the attached state, in different positions to that of the vehicle body side protrusion section in a circumferential direction, which surrounds the center axis line.
UEDA teaches the through-hole has a vehicle body side protrusion section that is provided protruding toward an inner side ([0042]),
the housing component has a sensor side concave section recessed in conformity with a protruding shape of the vehicle body side protrusion section, and is configured such that the sensor side concave section engages the vehicle body side protrusion section in the attached state ([0041]-[0043]), and
the insertion sections are provided, in the attached state, in different positions to that of the vehicle body side protrusion section in a circumferential direction, which surrounds the center axis line ([0041]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ultrasonic sensor disclosed in OKAMOTO with the housing component taught in UEDA with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have avoided erroneous mounting of the ultrasonic sensor, as taught by UEDA ([0040]-[0043])
Referring to Claim 5, UEDA teaches the ultrasonic sensor according to claim 4, wherein the insertion sections are provided between a pair of vehicle body side protrusion sections in the circumferential direction in the attached state ([0042]; [0106]-[0107]).
Referring to Claim 6, UEDA teaches the ultrasonic sensor according to claim 4, wherein the vehicle body side protrusion section is formed in a plurality of locations ([0042]; [0059]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim(s) 3 is allowable for disclosing the housing component includes a tubular section, and a slippage-preventing flange section that protrudes at one end section of the tubular section in an axial direction, which is parallel to the center axis line, in a centrifugal direction away from the center axis line, the vibration-proof rubber further includes an elastic spacer section that is formed into a ring shape so as to be held between the flange section and the vehicle body component in the attached state, and the insertion sections are provided protruding from the elastic spacer section in the axial direction. These limitations, in combinations in the claims, were not found in the prior art.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. However, any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Isam Alsomiri can be reached on 571-272-6970. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AMIE M NDURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645