DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20, 26-27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunsberger Figure 9 (US 2011/0290508).
Regarding claim 19, Hunsberger Figure 9 disclose a sprinkler head cage assembly comprising:
a base plate (38) defining a central opening (16) for receiving sprinkler head assemblies of different sizes (The opening provides for the capability of performing the claimed function);
a protective cage (30) coupled to said base plate (Figure 9-11) and configured to be disposed around any one of the sprinkler head assemblies (The cage is capable of performing the claimed function);
a yoke coupler (62) movably mounted to said base plate (Paragraph 26, the member is movable by tightening and loosening the bolts 32), said yoke coupler comprising:
a yoke base (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
a pair of opposed spaced-apart arms extending away from said yoke base (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), each of said arms having an inwardly-directed camming surface (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1); and
a recess defined by said arms and said yoke base (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), said recess having a proximal end portion at said yoke base, a distal end portion opposite said yoke base, and a neck- down region along said camming surfaces (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
wherein said yoke coupler is selectively positionable to engage both of said camming surfaces with the base region of any one of the sprinkler head assemblies (Figures 9, 11 and Paragraphs 26-27, The yoke is capable of being tightened and loosened in various position to engage the base region of a sprinkler head assembly with which the device is used); and
a fastener (32) that is tightenable to secure said yoke coupler relative to said base plate (Paragraph 26), and loosenable to permit sliding movement of said yoke coupler relative to said base plate (The bolt is capable of being loosened to provide for the claimed function);
wherein said yoke coupler and said base plate cooperate to individually secure any one of the sprinkler head assemblies by engaging the sprinkler head assemblies' respective base regions at said central opening and at different locations along said camming surfaces (Figures 9 and 10, The depict the base portion of a sprinkler assembly being received in the central opening and the camming surface may receive the base portion as tightened).
Regarding claim 20, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses the cage assembly of claim 19, wherein said camming surfaces are substantially linear and converge toward one another in the direction of said yoke base (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 26, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses the cage assembly of claim 19, wherein at least one of said base plate and said yoke coupler defines a fastener-receiving slot (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) through which a portion of said fastener is received (Figure 10), and wherein when said fastener is loosened said yoke coupler is slidable relative to said base plate and remains secured to said base plate (The slot appears to be elongate, which provides for the claimed function).
Regarding claim 27, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses a method of securing a sprinkler head cage assembly to a sprinkler head assembly, said method comprising:
inserting the sprinkler head assembly (60, 36, 34) into a central opening (16) of a base plate (38) so that a base region of the sprinkler head assembly is disposed in the central opening and a distal region of the sprinkler head assembly is disposed in a protective cage (30) that is coupled to the base plate (Paragraph 27);
sliding a yoke coupler (62) in an engagement direction relative to the base plate (Paragraph 26), the yoke coupler (62) comprising:
a yoke base (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
a pair of opposed spaced-apart arms extending away from the yoke base (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), each of the arms having an inwardly-directed camming surface (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1); and
a recess defined by the arms and the yoke base (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), the recess having a proximal end portion at the yoke base, a distal end portion opposite the yoke base, and a neck-down region along the camming surfaces (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
engaging the base region of the sprinkler head assembly with both of the camming surfaces (Paragraph 26);
engaging the base region of the sprinkler head assembly with the base plate at the central opening; and securing the yoke coupler to the base plate (Paragraphs 26-27).
Regarding claim 31, Hunsberger discloses the method of claim 27, wherein said engaging the base region of the sprinkler head assembly with both of the camming surfaces and with the base plate laterally centers the sprinkler head cage assembly relative to the sprinkler head assembly (Figures 9 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson (WO2020/257111).
Regarding claim 12, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses a sprinkler head cage assembly comprising:
a base plate (38) defining a central opening (16) for receiving a sprinkler head assembly (60, 36, 34), wherein said base plate (38) is configured to surround a base region (60, 34) of the sprinkler head assembly when coupled to the sprinkler head assembly (Figure 1);
a protective cage (30) coupled to said base plate (Figure 1) and configured to be disposed around the sprinkler head assembly when said base plate is coupled to the sprinkler head assembly (Figure 11);
a yoke coupler (62) movably mounted to said base plate (Paragraph 26, the member is movable by tightening and loosening the bolts 32), said yoke coupler comprising a pair of opposed spaced-apart arms cooperating to define an open-ended recess having a distal end portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), a proximal end portion that is narrower than said distal end portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), and a pair of camming surfaces forming a neck-down region between said distal and proximal end portions (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein said camming surfaces are configured to engage the base region of the sprinkler head assembly (The surfaces engage member 34 of the base assembly); and
a fastener (32) received by said base plate and said yoke coupler (Figure 10), wherein said fastener is tightenable to secure said yoke coupler relative to said base plate (Paragraph 26) with the base region of the sprinkler head assembly captured between said camming surfaces and said base plate at said central opening (Figure 9), and said fastener is loosenable to permit sliding movement of said yoke coupler relative to said base plate (Paragraph 26, the bolts are lossenable to allow the coupler to slide relative to the base plate), wherein said yoke coupler is operable to secure different-sized ones of the sprinkler head assembly by engaging the base region at different locations along said camming surfaces (Paragraphs 26-27, the camming surfaces will secure varying sizes of sprinkler head assembly by being secured with the u-bolts), but fails to disclose the head assembly disposed along a pipe.
Franson discloses an assembly wherein a sprinkler head assembly (P, 100) is disposed along a pipe FP.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunsberger with the disclosures of Franson, disposing the sprinkler head assembly (Hunsberger, 60, 36, 34) disposed along a pipe (Franson, FP), in order to provide for a known structure for discharging suppressant in a system where the discharge structure is not a critical element.
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 13, Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson discloses the cage assembly of claim 12, wherein said camming surfaces are substantially linear and converge toward one another in the direction of said proximal end portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson discloses the cage assembly of claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein said yoke coupler defines a circular arc at said proximal end portion of said open-ended recess.
Hunsberger discloses a secondary recess (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) that defines a circular arc at a proximal end portion of an open-ended recess.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson to include a circular arc at a proximal end portion of the open recess, as depicted in the secondary recess (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), since it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claims 15-16, Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson discloses the cage assembly of claim 14, wherein said central opening of said base plate is circular in shape (Figures 9 and 11), but fails to disclose wherein the radius of said circular arc defined by said yoke coupler is less than the radius of said central opening defined by said base plate;
Or as to claim 16 wherein the width of said open-ended recess at said distal end portion is less than the diameter of said central opening defined by said base plate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson to have the radius of said circular arc defined by said yoke coupler less than the radius of said central opening defined by said base plate, and as to claim 16, the width of said open-ended recess at said distal end portion is less than the diameter of said central opening defined by said base plate, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions and the device would function appropriately having the claimed dimensions. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson discloses the cage assembly of claim 12, at least one of said fasteners received by said base plate at opposite sides of said central opening (Figure 9), but fails to disclose at least one of said fasteners received by each said spaced-apart arm.
The fasteners are received by additional arms of the coupler. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson to include the fasteners received by the spaced apart arms since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 18, Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson discloses the cage assembly of claim 12, wherein at least one of said base plate and said yoke coupler defines a fastener-receiving slot (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) through which a portion of said fastener is received (Figure 10), and wherein when said fastener is loosened said yoke coupler is slidable relative to said base plate and remains secured to said base plate (The slot appears to be elongate, which provides for the claimed function).
Claim(s) 21-25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunsberger.
Regarding claim 21, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses the cage assembly of claim 20, but fails to disclose wherein said yoke base defines a circular arc at said proximal end portion of said recess.
Hunsberger discloses a secondary recess (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) that defines a circular arc at a proximal end portion of an open-ended recess.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Hunsberger Figure 9 to include the base defining a circular arc at said proximal end portion of said recess, as depicted in the secondary recess (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), since it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claims 22-23, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses the cage assembly of claim 21, wherein said central opening of said base plate is circular in shape (Figures 9 and 11), but fails to disclose wherein the radius of said circular arc defined by said yoke base is less than the radius of said central opening defined by said base plate;
Or as to claim 23 wherein the width of said recess at said distal end portion is less than the diameter of said central opening defined by said base plate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hunsberger Figure 9 to have the radius of said circular arc defined by said yoke base less than the radius of said central opening defined by said base plate, and as to claim 23, the width of said recess at said distal end portion is less than the diameter of said central opening defined by said base plate, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hunsberger Figure 9 in view of Franson would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions and the device would function appropriately having the claimed dimensions. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Regarding claim 24, Hunsberger discloses the cage assembly of claim 22, wherein said yoke coupler is shaped and positioned relative to said base plate so that said base plate and said protective cage are laterally centered relative to any one of the sprinkler head assemblies upon engagement with said camming surfaces and said base plate at said central opening (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 25, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses the cage assembly of claim 19, comprising at least one of said fasteners received by said base plate at opposite sides of said central opening (Figure 9), but fails to disclose at least one of said fasteners received by each said spaced-apart arm.
The fasteners are received by additional arms of the coupler. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunsberger Figure 9 to include the fasteners received by the spaced apart arms since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 30, Hunsberger Figure 9 discloses the method of claim 27, but fails to disclose wherein the distal end portion of the recess has a width that is less than the diameter of the central opening in the base plate
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hunsberger Figure 9 to have the distal end portion of the recess having a width that is less than the diameter of the central opening in the base plate, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hunsberger Figure 9 would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions and the device would function appropriately having the claimed dimensions. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The limitations “ securing the sprinkler head cage assembly to a second sprinkler head assembly having a base region that is wider than the base region of the sprinkler head assembly by: releasing the yoke coupler for movement relative to the base plate; moving the yoke coupler in a disengagement direction relative to the base plate; removing the sprinkler head assembly from the sprinkler head cage assembly; inserting the second sprinkler head assembly into the central opening of the base plate and into the proximal end portion or neck-down region of the recess; engaging a base region of the second sprinkler head assembly with both of the camming surfaces; engaging the base region of the second sprinkler head assembly with the base plate at the central opening; and securing the yoke coupler to the base plate; wherein said engaging the base region of the second sprinkler head assembly with both of the camming surfaces comprises engaging the camming surfaces at locations that are located distally of locations where the camming surfaces were previously contacted by the base region of the sprinkler head assembly” are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art. ‘508 puts forth a device that includes a base that may be used in varying applications. However, the disclosure does not put forth methodology for transferring the guard between sprinklers. ‘111 also does not put forth the claimed method.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752