DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s pre-amendment of 7/9/2025 is received. Claims 1-9 are amended and a specification amendment was entered. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the crown comprising a number of cavities and grooves on both an internal surface and an external surface of the ring-shaped body (claim 3) and an internal protection element of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: attachment elements in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 3 recites the crown comprises, on both an internal and external surface of the ring-shaped body, a number of cavities and grooves. The specification (pages 8 and 9) discloses this limitation. However, there is no standard provided for determining the scope of “a number” of cavities and grooves.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the crown comprises, on both an internal and external surface of the ring-shaped body, a number of cavities and grooves. The scope of “a number of” is unclear. The limitation is interpreted as reciting a plurality of cavities and grooves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Barthold et al. (Barthold, U.S. 5,898,949). Barthold discloses the invention as claimed. Barthold teaches a protective helmet 10 comprising: a shell 12; a crown 14 comprising a ring-shaped body; and a cage 16 for a user's head, configured to be internally attached to said shell 12, wherein said crown 14 is interposed between said shell 12 and said cage 16 when said cage 16 is attached to said shell 12, wherein the shell 12 comprises a shell body comprising, on its internal surface, at least two attachment slots 46,48 for attaching the cage 16 to the shell 12.
For claim 2, Barthold teaches the protective helmet according to claim 1, further comprising
attachment elements 36,38 for attaching the cage 16 to the shell 12 by means of engagement with said at least two attachment slots 46,48.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Yarlagadda et al. (U.S. 12,016,417). Yarlagadda discloses the invention as claimed. Yarlagadda teaches a protective helmet 10 comprising a shell 100, a crown comprising a ring-shaped body 200 and a cage 300 for a user’s head, configured to be internally attached to the shell 100, wherein the crown is interposed between the shell 100 and the cage 300 when the cage 300 is attached to the shell 100.
For claim 3, Yarlagadda teaches the crown comprises, on both an internal surface and an external surface of the ring-shaped body, a number of cavities and grooves 221 as the ring-shaped body is disclosed as shown in Figure 4A. Note that each groove has a depth such that alternating grooves could be considered as cavities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barthold in view of Descrovi (WO 2021/160817). Barthold discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Barthold doesn’t teach the protective helmet according to claim 1, wherein said crown is made of sintered expanded polystyrene. Descrovi teaches a helmet 1 with cap 10 and chin guard 11 including an internal lining made of a resilient material, such as sintered expanded polystyrene adapted to absorb and dissipate as much as possible impact forces acting on the helmet 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Barthold such that the crown is made of sintered expanded polystyrene as taught by Descrovi as a known material employed in helmets for impact absorption.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barthold in view of Weber (WO 2021/127445). Barthold discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Barthold doesn’t teach the protective helmet according to claim 1, comprising internally, in an upper portion of the shell body, an internal protection element, and the helmet comprising an empty
space between a top of the cage and said internal protection element, said empty space
having a vertical dimension greater than 25 mm. Weber teaches a helmet 100 with an internal protection element 104-B in an upper portion of the shell body 102 as in Fig.1A to provide improved comfort and protection to the wearer’s head. Modifying Barthold’s helmet to include the internal protection element 104-B in an upper portion would result in an empty space between a top of the cage and the internal protection element, the empty space having a vertical dimension greater than 25 mm surrounding the protection element as the thickness of the protection element 104-B is greater than 25 mm (1 inch). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Barthold’s helmet to provide the internal protection element internally, in an upper portion of the shell body and the helmet comprising an empty space between a top of the cage and the internal protection element, the empty space having a vertical dimension greater than 25 mm as Weber teaches it's known to provide a helmet with an internal protection element in an upper portion of the shell body internally for improved comfort and protection to the wearer’s head, with the internal protection element having a thickness greater than 25 mm to result in an empty space having a vertical dimension greater than 25 mm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 4 depends from claim 1 and includes the following allowable subject matter: said crown comprises, on its upper edge, four protuberances, said protuberances being located, when the helmet is worn by a user, in the frontal region, the occipital region and the temporal regions of the user's head.
Claim 6 depends from claim 1 and includes the following allowable subject matter: the cage comprises a plurality of openings and at least two arms, each of said arms comprising an end portion with a hole and a vertical tooth configured to engage with a respective slot of said attachment slots when the cage is attached to the shell.
Claim 7 depends from claims 1 and 2 and recites the following allowable subject matter: each of said attachment elements comprises a ring portion, comprising a hole, and two elastic prongs which extend from said ring portion and each of which ends in a respective retaining tooth.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications should be directed to Primary Examiner Katherine Moran at (571) 272-4990 (phone). Please note that any internet communication directed to katherine.moran@uspto.gov requires prior submission of an Authorization for Internet Communications form (PTO/SB/439). The examiner can be reached on Monday-Thursday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, and alternating Fridays.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Khoa Huynh, may be reached at (571) 272-4888. The official and after final fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is (571) 273-8300. General information regarding this application and
questions directed to matters of form and procedures may be directed to the PTO Contact
Center/Inventors Assistance Center at (800) 786-9199/571-272-1000. Information regarding the status
of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system.
Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For questions on
access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-
free).
/KATHERINE M MORAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732