DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on 9 July 2025, 18 September 2025, 8 December 2025, and 20 April 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12389022, 11523107, 12568201, 12132888, 11528476, 11936852, 12301793, and 11575888. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to provide a buffer reset to more situations where needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claims 2 and 12 recite “one or more predetermined values are identically equal to zero”. It is unclear how one value is identical if that the case, or how any number of values can be identically equal.
Claims 2 and 12 recites the limitation "the one or more predetermined values" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 6 and 16 recites the limitation "each coding tree unit row" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pham Van et al. (US 2020/0021839 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 19, Pham Van discloses an apparatus using a CRM to perform a method of processing video data, comprising: resetting, during a conversion between a video and a bitstream of the video, a buffer that stores reference samples for prediction in an intra block copy mode at a video boundary [Pham Van: ¶ [0102]: In accordance with the techniques of this disclosure, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may use at least one history MVP buffer that holds not only coded motion information but also other types of motion predictors, such as for affine motion model, motion information of intra block copy mode, motion information of local illumination compensation, sub-block MVP, or temporal motion predictor]; and performing the conversion using the reference samples stored in the buffer [Pham Van: ¶ [0004]: Video blocks in an intra-coded (I) slice of a picture are encoded using spatial prediction with respect to reference samples in neighboring blocks in the same picture; and ¶ [0091]: Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may pre-fill the history MVP buffer of each CTU line with motion information from the coded frames (pictures) in the same temporal layer or lower temporal layers (reference pictures that are available for the current frame/picture)], wherein the conversion of a video block of the video is performed in the intra block copy mode which is based on motion information related to a reconstructed block located in same video region with the video block [Pham Van: ¶ [0161]: Motion estimation unit 222 and motion compensation unit 224 may retrieve a reference picture from DPB 218, formed from the reconstructed (and potentially filtered) blocks, to inter-predict blocks of subsequently encoded pictures] without referring to a reference picture [Pham Van: ¶ [0004]: Video blocks in an intra-coded (I) slice of a picture are encoded using spatial prediction with respect to reference samples in neighboring blocks in the same picture].
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein the one or more predetermined values are identically equal to zero [Pham Van: ¶ [0095]: Additionally or alternatively, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may clear a history MVP buffer when the associated CTU line is completely encoded/decoded].
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein, in response to determining that the pixel buffer is partially full, the pixel buffer is updated sequentially [Pham Van: ¶ [0069]: In some examples, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may use a first-in-first-out (FIFO) rule to remove motion vectors from the MVP buffer when the MVP buffer becomes full].
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein, in response to determining that the pixel buffer is completely full, an area of the pixel buffer associated with an oldest coding tree unit is updated [Pham Van: ¶ [0069]].
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein the resetting is performed at beginning of each coding tree unit row [Pham Van: ¶ [0089]: Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured according to the techniques of this disclosure to use multiple buffers for history-based MVP. In some examples, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may maintain separate history MVP buffers for each of CTU lines 152 (each of which may be processed by a separate, respective processing thread), or there can be a single buffer that is reset at the beginning of each CTU line when wavefront parallel processing is applied].
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein the resetting is performed at beginning of the video boundary [Pham Van: ¶ [0089]].
Regarding Claim 8 and 18, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein the resetting is performed at beginning of a picture or a group [Pham Van: ¶ [0089]].
Regarding Claim 9, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video block into the bitstream [Pham Van: ¶ [0002]: This disclosure relates to video coding, including video encoding and video decoding].
Regarding Claim 10, Pham Van discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Pham Van discloses wherein the conversion includes decoding the video block into the bitstream [Pham Van: ¶ [0002]].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham Van as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Mimms (US 7916728 B1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Pham Van disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 11, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Pham Van may not explicitly disclose wherein a size of the buffer is expressed as M=mW and N=H, where M and N represent x and y dimensions of the buffer, m is an integer, W and H are integers representing a size of the coding tree unit, further comprising: upon determining that a previous update started at a location represented as (kW, 0), where k is an integer, computing a next update position as ((k+1)W mod M, 0).
However, Mimms discloses wherein a size of the buffer is expressed as M=mW and N=H, where M and N represent x and y dimensions of the buffer, m is an integer, W and H are integers representing a size of the coding tree unit, further comprising: upon determining that a previous update started at a location represented as (kW, 0), where k is an integer, computing a next update position as ((k+1)W mod M, 0) [Mimms: Col. 11, ll. 55-61: At 694, entity #1 610 updates classifier table #1 612B to reflect that classifier index 0 is now associated with position C 652, the previously open position in which the update was applied to the table 630A. At 696, entity #1 610 updates open position buffer #1 618B to indicate that the new open position available to entity #1 610 for its next update is position B, the position that was superseded in the previous update].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine processing of Pham Van with the buffer sized distribution of Mimms in order to perform processing on portions the buffers are able to process simultaneously.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482