Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US-20200066229-A1) (hereinafter "ZHU").
Regarding claim 1, ZHU discloses a display device comprising a display panel, a light sensor, and a display panel driver operating in a two-frame driving and sensing sequence.
With respect to the preamble, ZHU discloses a display device comprising: a display screen and display apparatus, which utilize an open-ended component structure (comprising a light sensor, timing controller, and brightness adjustment unit) to perform display operations and brightness adjustments (Abstract; paragraph [0062]). ZHU discloses a display panel comprising a sub-pixel, and a light sensor for generating a sensing signal corresponding to an amount of received light. Specifically, ZHU teaches a display screen with pixel units (sub-pixels) containing driving transistors and OLED devices, alongside a light sensor located below the display screen that detects ambient light and generates a corresponding signal (paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0066]). ZHU states that "each row of pixel units (each pixel unit at least includes a switching transistor, a driving transistor, a storage capacitor, and an OLED device) are turned on by scanning gate lines row by row" (paragraph [0043]) and "the intensity sensed by the light sensor must be intensity of the ambient light" (paragraph [0066]). ZHU discloses a display panel driver for driving the display panel, for writing a data voltage to the sub-pixel in a first frame and not in a second frame, and for receiving the sensing signal in the second frame while not writing any data voltage to the sub-pixel. Specifically, ZHU describes a timing controller and driving components that coordinate display and sensing in a two-phase temporal sequence: during an image frame display period (first frame), data voltages are written to the sub-pixels, and during a transition interval (second frame), data writing is stopped, and the light sensor is activated to detect ambient light (paragraphs [0043], [0046], [0066]). ZHU teaches that "in a time period during which the display screen displays one frame of image... a data voltage is input to a data line Data... and in this time period the light sensor does not operate" (paragraph [0046]) and "the end of display of each frame of image is followed by a transition interval... and no data voltages are applied to the data lines in the transition interval" (paragraph [0043]) while "the light sensor may be controlled by the timing controller to operate in the transition interval" (paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 19, ZHU discloses an electronic device comprising a display device comprising a display panel, a light sensor, and a display panel driver operating in a two-frame driving and sensing sequence.
With respect to the preamble, ZHU discloses an electronic device comprising a display device comprising: a display apparatus (electronic device) comprising a display screen (display device) and integrated control units (Abstract; paragraph [0073]). ZHU states that "The display apparatus may be a liquid crystal display apparatus or an electroluminescence display apparatus, such as an OLED panel, an electronic paper, a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a television, a display, a notebook computer..." (paragraph [0073]). ZHU discloses a display panel comprising a sub-pixel; a light sensor for generating a sensing signal corresponding to an amount of received light. Specifically, ZHU describes a display screen with pixel units (sub-pixels) containing OLED devices and an integrated light sensor configured to measure ambient light intensity (Abstract; paragraphs [0043], [0066]). ZHU teaches that "each row of pixel units (each pixel unit at least includes a switching transistor, a driving transistor, a storage capacitor, and an OLED device) are turned on" (paragraph [0043]) and "the light sensor may be controlled by the timing controller to operate in the transition interval... to sense intensity of the ambient light" (paragraph [0066]). ZHU discloses a display panel driver for driving the display panel; for writing a data voltage to the sub-pixel in a first frame and not in a second frame; for receiving the sensing signal in the second frame while not writing any data voltage to the sub-pixel. Specifically, ZHU describes a timing controller that writes data voltages to sub-pixels in a display frame (first frame) and disables data writing while operating the light sensor in a transition interval (second frame) (paragraphs [0043], [0046], [0066]). ZHU teaches that "in a time period during which the display screen displays one frame of image... a data voltage is input to a data line Data" (paragraph [0046]), "no data voltages are applied to the data lines in the transition interval" (paragraph [0043]), and "the light sensor may be controlled by the timing controller to operate in the transition interval, and OLED devices in the display screen do not operate during the transition interval" (paragraph [0066]).
As to claim 20, ZHU discloses wherein the electronic device comprises a smartphone, a television, a monitor, a tablet, an electric vehicle, a mobile phone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile communication terminal, an electronic notebook, an electronic book, a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation device, an ultra-mobile PC (UMPC), a laptop computer, a billboard, an Internet of Things (loT) device, a smartwatch, a watch phone, a head-mounted display (HMD), a virtual reality (VR) device, or an augmented reality (AR) device (Par. 73).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
Claim(s) 3-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of
Song et al. Pub. No. US 2013/0098891 A1 [Song].
As to claim 3, ZHU is silent on wherein the sub-pixel comprises: a first pixel transistor for generating a driving current corresponding to the data voltage; an eighth pixel transistor for providing a bias voltage to the first pixel transistor in response to a bias gate signal; and a light-emitting element emitting light by receiving the driving current.
However, Song teaches wherein a sub-pixel [¶ 58 plurality of pixels]
comprises: a first pixel transistor [Fig. 17, T2] for generating a driving current corresponding to the data
voltage [¶ 105 transfer data voltage Di]; an eighth pixel transistor for providing a bias voltage to the first
pixel transistor in response to a bias gate signal [T3 & ¶ 144, for instance, where biases T1]; and a light-
emitting element emitting light by receiving the driving current [led & see ¶ 119 as described generally].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHU with Song, since such a modification optimizes biometric sensing.
As to claim 4, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the light sensor [Song Fig. 5, FXij & ¶ 82] comprises: a first sensing transistor for generating the sensing signal [ST1 & ¶ 121 the light sensing element OPD may be connected with a first sensing node SN1 connected to ST1]; a second sensing transistor for providing the sensing signal to a readout line in response to the bias gate signal [ST3 scan line]; and a light-receiving element connected to a control electrode of the first sensing transistor [OPD by means of node SN1].
As to claim 5, ZHU is silent on wherein the sub-pixel comprises: a first pixel transistor for generating a driving current corresponding to the data voltage in the first frame; a second pixel transistor for providing the data voltage to the first pixel transistor in response to a write gate signal in the first frame, and for providing a bias voltage to the first pixel transistor in response to the write gate signal in the second frame; and a light-emitting element for emitting light by receiving the driving current.
However, Song teaches wherein the sub-pixel comprises: a first pixel transistor for generating a driving current corresponding to the data voltage in the first frame [Fig. 5, ET2 where any n(n-1) frame, for instance, is considered first]; a second pixel transistor for providing the data voltage to the first pixel transistor in response to a write gate signal in the first frame [T1 & ¶ 75 any initialization scan lines SIL1 to SILn, compensation scan lines SCL1 to SCLn, write scan lines SWL1 to SWLn, black scan lines SBL1 to SBLn], and for providing a bias voltage to the first pixel transistor in response to the write gate signal in the second frame [led driving voltage]; and a light-emitting element for emitting light by receiving the
driving current [led]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHU with Song, since such a modification
optimizes biometric features.
As to claim 6, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the light sensor [Song Fig. 5, FXij & ¶ 82] comprises: a first sensing transistor for generating the sensing signal [ST1 & ¶ 121 the light sensing element OPD may be connected with a first sensing node SN1 connected to ST1]; a second sensing transistor for providing the sensing signal to a readout line in response to the write gate signal [ST3 scan line]; and a light-receiving element connected to a control electrode of the first sensing transistor [OPD by means of node SN1].
As to claim 7, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the light sensor is configured to provide the sensing signal to the display panel driver in response to a gate signal [Song Fig. 5 & ¶ 121 by means of N1, for instance, driving voltage], wherein the display panel comprises a sensing area, and wherein the gate signal having an activation level is provided to the sensing area in the second frame [Figs. 5-7 & ¶ 137 sensing in every frame is taught after reset].
As to claim 8, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the display panel driver is configured to output the gate signal having the activation level to pixel lines in a first cycle in the first frame [Song Fig. 7 & ¶ 137 NEP], and is configured to output the gate signal having the activation level to the pixel lines in a second cycle [EP], which is longer than the first cycle, in the second frame [as shown generally when iterating].
As to claim 9, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the sensing area comprises pixel lines from an nth pixel line to an mth pixel line [Fig. 3 multiple lines as shown generally], and wherein the gate signal having the activation level is applied to the pixel lines from the nth pixel line to the mth pixel line in the second frame [must occur in refresh].
As to claim 10, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the gate signal having the activation level is applied to pixel lines from a first pixel line to an (n-1)th pixel line in the second frame [where second frame must have an activation level].
As to claim 11, ZHU in view of Song is silent on wherein timings at which the gate signal having the activation level is applied to the nth pixel line in the first frame and in the second frame are substantially the same [as best understood]. I
t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify ZHU in view of Song to have first and second frame activation level the same, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a
result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215
(CCPA 1980).
As to claim 12, ZHU in view of Song is silent on wherein a timing at which the gate signal having the activation level is applied to the nth pixel line in the second frame is faster than a timing at which the gate signal having the activation level is applied to the nth pixel line in the first frame. It would have
been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to further modify ZHU in view of Song to have first and second frame timing activation level
faster as required, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in
the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re
Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 13. ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the sub-pixel is configured to emit light in response to an emission signal [Song Fig. 7, EP], and wherein the emission signal having a non-emission level is provided to the sensing area in the second frame [¶¶ 113-118].
As to claim 14, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the display panel driver is configured to output the emission signal having a non-activation level to pixel lines in a first cycle in the first frame [Song Fig. 7 &¶ 137 NEP], and is configured to output the emission signal having the non-activation level to the pixel lines in a second cycle [EP], which is longer than the first cycle, in the second frame [as shown generally].
As to claim 15. ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein, the sensing area is closer to an opposite end, which is opposite to one end of the display panel, than to the one end, and wherein the display panel driver is configured to scan pixel lines from a pixel line adjacent the opposite end [Song Fig. 3 each area must scanned including opposite ends as described].
As to claim 16, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the display panel driver is configured to compensate for a luminance of the sensing area [ZHU ¶ 43 by means of sensor].
As to claim 17, ZHU in view of Song teaches wherein the display panel driver is configured to receive the sensing signal of the sensing area of the display panel in the second frame [Song Fig. 7 & ¶ 137], wherein the second frame is terminated upon termination of scanning of the sensing area, and wherein a length of the first frame is different from a length of the second frame [as shown generally and must occur in multiple iterations].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the cited references teaches having a length of the first frame is substantially equal to a length of the second frame, wherein a driving frame comprises the first frame and multiple second frames comprising the second frame, and wherein the display panel driver is configured to receive the sensing signal from at least one of the second frames.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claims were amended to include having “writing a data voltage to the sub-pixel in a first frame and not in a second frame, and for receiving the sensing signal in the second frame while not writing any data voltage to the sub-pixel.”
It is shown above that the ZHU clearly teaches the claimed invention. There was no indication that the first frame is equal in length to the second frame except in claim 18. Therefore claim 18 is indicated allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621