DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 7/29/25 in which claims 2-21 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,381838 to Mears. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite the same method and system of stateful email detection ushing schemaless data fragments.
U.S. Patent No. 12,381838
U.S. Application No. 19/264737
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: sending email scan requests to an email scanner, wherein each email scan request includes one or more emails of a plurality of emails;
receiving, from the email scanner, for each email of the plurality of emails, a verdict of suspicion and one or more data fragments, the one or more data fragments each including a count,
wherein the one or more data fragments for each email are generated by the email scanner based on content of the email;
storing the one or more data fragments for each email of the plurality of emails in a datastore, wherein the datastore is indexed by one or more keys that are derived from the email and wherein one or more respective counts for the one or more data fragments are incremented responsive to receiving the verdict of suspicion;
receiving a new email; deriving one or more new keys for the new email; retrieving one or more matching data fragments from the datastore by matching the one or more new keys with the one or more keys stored in the datastore;
providing, to the email scanner, the new email, the one or more matching data fragments, and the one or more respective counts for the one or more matching data fragments;
and receiving, from the email scanner, a new verdict of suspicion and one or more new data fragments, wherein the new verdict of suspicion is based on the one or more respective counts for the one or more matching data fragments.
2. A computer-implemented method comprising: sending email scan requests to an email scanner, wherein each email scan request includes one or more emails of a plurality of emails;
receiving, from the email scanner, for each email of the plurality of emails, a verdict of suspicion and one or more data fragments,
wherein the one or more data fragments for each email are generated by the email scanner based on metadata associated with the email;
storing the one or more data fragments for each email of the plurality of emails in a datastore, wherein the datastore is indexed by one or more keys that are derived from the email;
receiving a new email; deriving one or more new keys for the new email; retrieving one or more matching data fragments from the datastore by matching the one or more new keys with the one or more keys stored in the datastore;
providing, to the email scanner, the new email, the one or more matching data fragments;
and receiving, from the email scanner, a new verdict of suspicion and one or more new data fragments, wherein the new verdict of suspicion is based on the metadata associated with the one or more matching data fragments.
8. (New) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising storing a count of the verdict of suspicion as an additional data fragment in the datastore.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to omit the recitation of the one or more data fragments each including a count, and wherein one or more respective counts for the one or more data fragments are incremented responsive to receiving the verdict of suspicion and providing, to and the one or more respective counts for the one or more matching data fragments from the recitation of the presented independent claim in order to broaden the claimed language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. publication No. 2007/0214220 to Aslop et al.
a. As per claim 2, Aslop et al teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: sending email scan requests to an email scanner, wherein each email scan request includes one or more emails of a plurality of emails (See paragraph [0058 and 0060]);receiving, from the email scanner, for each email of the plurality of emails, a verdict of suspicion and one or more data fragments (See paragraph [0028 and 0029]), wherein the one or more data fragments for each email are generated by the email scanner based on metadata associated with the email (See paragraph [0029]); storing the one or more data fragments for each email of the plurality of emails in a datastore, wherein the datastore is indexed by one or more keys that are derived from the email (See paragraph [0039-0042]); receiving a new email (See paragraph [0046]); deriving one or more new keys for the new email (See paragraph [0047], creates fingerprints of the arrange fragments ); retrieving one or more matching data fragments from the datastore by matching the one or more new keys with the one or more keys stored in the datastore (See paragraph 0051]) ;providing, to the email scanner, the new email, the one or more matching data fragments (See paragraph [0053]) ;and receiving, from the email scanner, a new verdict of suspicion and one or more new data fragments, wherein the new verdict of suspicion is based on the metadata associated with the one or more matching data fragments (See paragraph [0053-0054]).
b. As per claim 12, Alsop et al teaches a device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more computer-readable media, having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: sending email scan requests to an email scanner, wherein each email scan request includes one or more emails of a plurality of emails (See paragraph [0058 and 0060]); receiving, from the email scanner, for each email of the plurality of emails, a verdict of suspicion and one or more data fragments, wherein the one or more data fragments for each email are generated by the email scanner based on metadata associated with the email (See paragraph [0029]); storing the one or more data fragments for each email of the plurality of emails in a datastore, wherein the datastore is indexed by one or more keys that are derived from the email (See paragraph [0039-0042]); receiving a new email (See paragraph [0046]); deriving a new key for the new email (See paragraph [0047]); retrieving one or more matching data fragments from the datastore by matching the new key with the keys stored in the datastore (See paragraph [0047]); providing, to the email scanner, the new email, the one or more matching data fragments (See paragraph [0053]); and receiving, from the email scanner, a new verdict of suspicion and one or more new data fragments, wherein the new verdict of suspicion is based on the metadata associated with the one or more matching data fragments (See paragraph [0053-0054]).
c. As per claim 17, Alsop et al teaches a computer-program product that includes one or more non-transitory computer- readable media with instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: sending email scan requests to an email scanner, wherein each email scan request includes one or more emails of a plurality of emails (See paragraph [0058-0060]); receiving, from the email scanner, for each email of the plurality of emails, a verdict of suspicion and one or more data fragments, wherein the one or more data fragments for each email are generated by the email scanner based on metadata associated with the email (See paragraph [0029]);storing the one or more data fragments for each email of the plurality of emails in a datastore, wherein the datastore is indexed by one or more keys that are derived from the email (See paragraph [0039-0042]); receiving a new email (See paragraph [0046]); deriving one or more new keys for the new email (See paragraph [0047]); retrieving one or more matching data fragments from the datastore by matching the one or more new keys with the one or more keys stored in the datastore (See paragraph [0047]); providing, to the email scanner, the new email, the one or more matching data fragments (See paragraph [0053]); and receiving, from the email scanner, a new verdict of suspicion and one or more new data fragments, wherein the new verdict of suspicion is based on the metadata associated with the one or more matching data fragments (See paragraph [0053-0054]). .
d. As per claims 3, 13 and 18, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches wherein the email scanner further determines the new verdict of suspicion based on details associated with the one or more matching data fragments, wherein the details are selected from a group of a time span, respective counts, customer information, and combinations thereof (See paragraph [0056]).
e. As per claims 4, 14 and 19, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches wherein the one or more data fragments for each email are further generated by the email scanner based on content of the email (See paragraph [0012 and 0046], each incoming email received is processed to arrange its contents into fragments).
f. As per claims 5, 15 and 20, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches wherein the new verdict of suspicion indicates a threat level associated with the new email, and further comprising: performing one or more actions on the new email, wherein the one or more actions are based on the threat level associated with the new email (See paragraph [0026-0027]) and wherein the one or more actions are selected from the group of adding a banner to the new email, blocking the new email, archiving the new email, quarantining the new email, delivering the new email to a recipient with a warning, or combinations thereof, wherein the one or more actions are selected based on the threat level associated with the new email (See paragraph [0025-0027]).
g. As per claim 6, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches wherein receiving the verdict of suspicion and the one or more data fragments for each email comprises receiving a respective fragment name for each of the data fragments, wherein each fragment name is particular to a type of data fragment (See paragraph [0039], email message 100 has been arranged into six fragments, namely the above-mentioned "To" address data field 104, "From" address data field 108, "Subject" line data field 112, main message body data field 116; signature 120 and disclaimer 124. If the main body message field of email 100 included two or more paragraphs, it is contemplated that each paragraph can be arranged as a separate fragment, or portions of each paragraph can be arranged as separate fragments, etc).
h. As per claims 7, 16 and 21, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches wherein the one or more data fragments further include features that are selected from the group of: a unique identifier of the email scanner, a feature derived from the email, an email type that indicates whether the email is inbound or outbound, and combinations thereof (See paragraph [0014 and 0039]).
i. As per claim 8, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches further comprising storing a count of the verdict of suspicion as an additional data fragment in the datastore (See paragraph [0041, 0053 and 0061]).
j. As per claim 9, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches wherein each data fragment is associated with a timestamp, the method further comprising: detecting one or more expired data fragments based on a difference between a respective timestamp associated with the one or more data fragments and a current timestamp (see paragraph [0043], wherein a particular data fragment is determined to be expired if the difference meets a threshold difference (See paragraph [0043]); and deleting the one or more expired data fragments from the datastore (See paragraph [0013]).
k. As per claim 10, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Alsop teaches further comprising deriving the one or more keys from the email, wherein the one or more keys identify one or more email fields extracted from the email, wherein the one or more email fields are selected from the group of a sender address, a recipient address, a client Internet Protocol (IP) address, a conversation identifier, a customer identifier, and combinations thereof (See paragraph [0039 and 0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. publication No. 2007/0214220 to Aslop et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,682964 to Brundage et al.
a. As per claim 11, Alsop teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Alsop fails to teach wherein the one or more data fragments are in a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) format, and wherein the datastore is a key value store or a relational database.
Brundage et al teaches wherein the one or more data fragments are in a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) format, and wherein the datastore is a key value store or a relational database (See col. 3, lines 31-33).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Brundage et al in the claimed invention of Aslop in order to provide an alternative standardized format for data fragments.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2006/0168028 to Duxbury et al teaches System and Method for Confirming That the Origin of An Electronic Mail Message is Valid.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444