DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 19/264,908 filed on July 10, 2025. Claim 1 is pending in the application and has been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 7/10/2025, 9/30/2025 and 5/20/2026 were received and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lapstun (US 2020/0191568) in view of Hori et al. (US 2002/0164157).
Consider claim 1, Lapstun teaches:
An imaging system (see figures 1A-1C) comprising:
a camera (camera, 102, paragraph 0199) configured to capture a set of oblique images (see “oblique” in paragraphs 0215, 0226, 0266-0268 and 0285-0289) along a scan path on an object area (see figures 7A, 7B, 17A-19, 21, 27-29B and 31);
a scanning mirror structure (scanning mirror, 122) including at least one surface for receiving light from the object area (see paragraphs 0199, 0200), the at least one surface having at least one first mirror portion (i.e. the mirror surface which deflects imaging beam 160, paragraph 0208, figures 5A-5F); and
a drive (scanning mirror drive, 120) coupled to the scanning mirror structure (122) and configured to rotate the scanning mirror structure (122) about a rotation axis (spin axis, 126) based on a scan angle (see paragraphs 0199 and 0208, figures 1B and 5A-5F), wherein
the camera (102) includes a lens (lens assembly, 104) to focus an imaging beam (imaging beam, 160) reflected from the at least one surface of the scanning mirror structure (122) to an image sensor (image sensor, 144, figure 3) of the camera (see paragraphs 0203, 0200, 0237 and 0238),
the at least one first mirror portion is configured to reflect light from the object area over a set of scan angles selected to produce the set of oblique images (see “oblique” in paragraphs 0215, 0226, 0266-0268 and 0285-0289, figures 7A, 7B, 17A-19, 21, 27-29B and 31), and
the image sensor (144) of the camera captures the set of oblique images along the scan path by sampling the imaging beam at values of the scan angle (“The scanning camera control process 230 waits (at step 232) for a scan start signal from the aerial survey control process 220, and then controls capture of images at each spin angle within the scan. At each spin angle 128 it captures an image (at step 234) via the image sensor 144 via the camera controller 142, rotates the scanning mirror 122 (at step 236) to the next spin angle via the scanning mirror drive 120, and then repeats.” Paragraph 0232).
However, Lapstun does not explicitly teach that the scanning mirror structure includes at least one second portion comprised of low reflective material arranged around a periphery of the first mirror portion, the low reflective material being less reflective than the first mirror portion, the at least one second portion is configured to block light that would pass around the first mirror portion and be received by the camera at scan angles beyond the set of scan angles.
Hori et al. similarly teaches an image forming apparatus comprising a scanning mirror structure (i.e. micro-scanner, 220, figure 3, including deflecting mirror, 222, paragraphs 0146 and 0147) including at least one first mirror portion configured to reflect light (“flat mirror surface”, paragraph 0147).
However, Hori et al. additionally teaches that the scanning mirror structure (220) includes at least one second portion (peripheral edge, 222E) comprised of low reflective material arranged around a periphery of the first mirror portion, the low reflective material being less reflective than the first mirror portion, the at least one second portion is configured to block light that would pass around the first mirror portion and be received by the camera at scan angles beyond the set of scan angles (The deflecting mirror (222) of the scanning mirror structure (220) includes a black-colored portion (222E) surrounding the first mirror portion (see figures 3, 4 and 11) wherein the black-colored portion (222E) provides antireflection capabilities that prevent flare, paragraphs 0147 and 0261.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the scanning mirror structure taught by Lapstun include at least one second portion comprised of a low reflective material arranged around a periphery of the first mirror portion as taught by Hori et al. for the benefit of preventing flare during imaging (Hori et al., paragraph 0147).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,181. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of US 12,382,181 as follows:
Consider claim 1, claim 1 of US 12,382,181 teaches (in parentheses):
An imaging system comprising: (An imaging system comprising:)
a camera configured to capture a set of oblique images along a scan path on an object area; (a camera configured to capture a set of oblique images along a scan path on an object area;)
a scanning mirror structure including at least one surface for receiving light from the object area, the at least one surface having at least one first mirror portion at least one second portion comprised of low reflective material arranged around a periphery of the first mirror portion, the low reflective material being less reflective than the first mirror portion; (a scanning mirror structure including at least one surface for receiving light from the object area, the at least one surface having at least one first mirror portion and at least one second non-mirrored portion comprised of material having a lower reflectivity than the first mirror portion and arranged around a periphery of the first mirror portion;) and
a drive coupled to the scanning mirror structure and configured to rotate the scanning mirror structure about a rotation axis based on a scan angle (a drive coupled to the scanning mirror structure and configured to rotate the scanning mirror structure about a rotation axis based on a scan angle), wherein
the camera includes a lens to focus an imaging beam reflected from the at least one surface of the scanning mirror structure to an image sensor of the camera, (the camera includes a lens to focus an imaging beam reflected from the at least one surface of the scanning mirror structure to an image sensor of the camera to capture the set of oblique images according to a set of scan angles)
the at least one first mirror portion is configured to reflect light from the object area over a set of scan angles selected to produce the set of oblique images, (the at least one first mirror portion is configured to reflect light from the object area over the set of scan angles selected to produce the set of oblique images)
the at least one second portion is configured to block light that would pass around the first mirror portion and be received by the camera at scan angles beyond the set of scan angles (the at least one second non-mirrored portion is configured to block light that would pass around the first mirror portion and be received by the camera at scan angles beyond the set of scan angles), and
the image sensor of the camera captures the set of oblique images along the scan path by sampling the imaging beam at values of the scan angle (the camera includes a lens to focus an imaging beam reflected from the at least one surface of the scanning mirror structure to an image sensor of the camera to capture the set of oblique images according to a set of scan angles).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,853. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of US 12,015,853 as follows:
Consider claim 1, claim 1 of US 12,015,853 teaches (in parentheses):
An imaging system comprising: (An imaging system comprising:)
a camera configured to capture a set of oblique images along a scan path on an object area; (a camera configured to capture a set of oblique images along a scan path on an object area;)
a scanning mirror structure including at least one surface for receiving light from the object area, the at least one surface having at least one first mirror portion at least one second portion comprised of low reflective material arranged around a periphery of the first mirror portion, the low reflective material being less reflective than the first mirror portion; (a scanning mirror structure including at least one surface for receiving light from the object area, the at least one surface having at least one first mirror portion at least one second portion comprised of low reflective material arranged around a periphery of the first mirror portion, the low reflective material being less reflective than the first mirror portion;) and
a drive coupled to the scanning mirror structure and configured to rotate the scanning mirror structure about a rotation axis based on a scan angle (a drive coupled to the scanning mirror structure and configured to rotate the scanning mirror structure about a rotation axis based on a scan angle), wherein
the camera includes a lens to focus an imaging beam reflected from the at least one surface of the scanning mirror structure to an image sensor of the camera, (the camera includes a lens to focus an imaging beam reflected from the at least one surface of the scanning mirror structure to an image sensor of the camera)
the at least one first mirror portion is configured to reflect light from the object area over a set of scan angles selected to produce the set of oblique images, (the at least one first mirror portion is configured to reflect light from the object area over a set of scan angles selected to produce the set of oblique images)
the at least one second portion is configured to block light that would pass around the first mirror portion and be received by the camera at scan angles beyond the set of scan angles (the at least one second portion is configured to block light that would pass around the first mirror portion and be received by the camera at scan angles beyond the set of scan angles), and
the image sensor of the camera captures the set of oblique images along the scan path by sampling the imaging beam at values of the scan angle (the image sensor of the camera captures the set of oblique images along the scan path by sampling the imaging beam at values of the scan angle).
Conclusion
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637