Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,401,769. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 1 is met by patented claims 1, 7 and 10.
Claim 2 is met by patented claim 2.
Claim 3 is met by patented claim 1.
Claim 4 is met by patented claim 5.
Claim 5 is met by patented claim 12.
Claim 6 is met by patented claim 13.
Claims 7 and 8 are obvious variants of patented claim 1, 7 and 10 in view of patented claims 15 and 16. That is, in view of patented claims 15 and 16 and knowing the existence of preceding claims 1, 7 and 10, it would have bee obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the differences in patented claims 1, 7 and 10 into claims 15 and 16 to perform the same functions as in patented claims 1, 7 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kogure (2019/0124264).
Regarding claim 1, Kogure discloses a method for triggering a second camera (801) to perform one or more actions prior to an object appearing in the field of view of the second camera, wherein the second camera is arranged in a camera system including the second camera and at least a first device (802), and wherein a location and a field of view are known for the second camera and a location is known for the first device, the method comprising:
receiving, in the second camera, information indicating that the object is approaching the field of view of the second camera, wherein the received information is based on information from the first device indicating a location and a direction of movement of the object (s901, s902), and
in response to the received information, triggering the second camera to perform one or more of the following actions prior to the object appearing in the field of view of the second camera:
adjusting one or more image processing parameters comprising one or more of:
setting the one or more image processing parameters to respective middle values as starting values for parameter optimization (s904),
reducing a threshold for background segmentation,
extending the stride length of the iterative search during optimization, or removing a division between background and foreground followed by identification of which portions of the image frames belong to the background and which portions belong to the foreground when the object appears in the field of view of the second camera; or
adjusting an exposure time (s906).
Regarding claim 2, Kogure discloses the received information further indicates a predicted time when the object is estimated to appear in the field of view of the second camera (note s902, s903).
Regarding claim 5, Kogure discloses the received information further indicates a velocity of the object, and wherein adjusting an exposure time is based on the velocity of the object such that the higher the velocity, the shorter the exposure time (note s902-s909). The calculation of the object speed is based on the moving vector and moving direction, and a plurality temporally continuously captured frames (note par. 30).
Regarding claim 6, Kogure discloses the first device is one of: a first camera (802), a radar, or a lidar.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, see rejection to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogure (2019/0124264) in view of Shen (2020/0228720).
Regarding claim 3, Kogure does not disclose the received information further indicates a subarea of the field of view of the second camera in which the object is estimated to initially appear as claimed. Shen, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a target object detecting step s101, a position information calculating step s102, and a detail camera position information determining step s103 for tracking an object or objects in subareas of a frame (note Fig. 2). By using these steps, the objects in a frame can be tracked by a detail camera accurately. Thus, knowing tracking capability of the monitoring cameras are crucial in Kogure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Shen into Kogure so that the monitored objects could be closely tracked.
Regarding claim 4, Kogure discloses adjusting one or more image processing parameters is performed locally in the portion of the image frame that corresponds to the subarea of the field of view of the second camera in which the object is estimated to first appear (note s905, s906).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gordon et al. (10,657,784) discloses an auxiliary detector for aiding video capturing.
Ida et al. (2019/0199932) discloses a plurality of surveillance cameras.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422