DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) in view of Judy (US 8,859,913).
1, 8: Lepinoy teaches an article (article generally shown in Figure 4) for packing an unclaimed object, comprising: a flexible bag (bag 10), including an air valve (valve 16); wherein the flexible bag includes a sealed interior chamber (chamber within 11 or 12) containing packaging material (granular material, col. 4, ll. 19-40); wherein the air valve is operable to release air from within the flexible bag (capable of drawing air out through 16, col. 4, ll. 16-40); wherein the release of the air from within the flexible bag causes the packaging material to be displaced and compact around an object placed on top of the flexible bag (when air is evacuated, granular material condenses around object placed within opening 13, above a top of 12); and wherein the flexible bag retains the impression of the object after the object is removed (since the bag and particles becomes rigid in the in the shape formed about the object after air is evacuated, the shape is retained after the object is moved/removed).
Lepinoy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and the Faraday-shielding layer is a textile layer formed from one or more metal materials.
Judy teaches a Faraday-shielding layer (110) made of metalized fabric (col. 5, ll. 65-67) in combination with a protective layer (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy such that the teaching of a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and the Faraday-shielding layer is a textile layer formed from one or more metal materials were applied in order to protect stored electronic devices from electromagnetic interference, radiofrequency interference, and any other wireless signals (generally referred to as EMI) that may interfere with, modify, or otherwise, compromise information stored, received, or transmitted by the stored electronic device, as taught by Judy, col. 5, ll. 3-18.
4: Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Lepinoy further teaches that the flexible bag is operable to conform to the interior surface of a bottom component of a case (since flexible bag is operable to condense around the surrounding object, the bag is capable of conforming to a bottom of an unclaimed case).
5: Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Lepinoy further teaches that the packaging material includes materials made from polystyrene and/or polylactic acid (polystyrene balls, col. 3, ll. 43-45).
6: Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Lepinoy further teaches that the flexible bag is operable to be connected to and inflated by a pump (capable of being inflated by an unclaimed pump via component 16).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 10, 12-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) in view of Judy (US 8,859,913) and further in view of Bender (US 5,351,830).
2: Lepinoy-Judy the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except that the flexible bag is attached to an interior surface of a bottom component of a case.
Bender teaches that element 12 is attached to the bottom component of a case via 50, see Figure 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy-Judy such that the teaching of a shock absorption element being placed in case and secured to a component at a bottom of a case was applied to Bender in order to permit a case to provide ease of shipping and containing both the shock absorption element and the object to be protected together.
9-10, 16: Lepinoy teaches a system (system generally shown in Figure 4) for packing an unclaimed object, comprising: a flexible bag (bag 10 with valve 16), including an air valve (bag 10 with valve 16); wherein the flexible bag is operable to be positioned in the case (capable of being positionable in a case); wherein the flexible bag includes a sealed interior chamber (chamber within 11 or 12) containing packaging material (granular material, col. 4, ll. 19-40); wherein the air valve is operable to release air from within the flexible bag (capable of drawing air out through 16, col. 4, ll. 16-40); wherein the packaging material is operable to rearrange around an object placed on top of the flexible bag (when air is evacuated, granular material condenses around object placed within opening 13, above a top of 12), creating an impression in the shape of the object to form on a top surface of the flexible bag.
Lepinoy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except a case and that the flexible bag is attached to an interior surface of a bottom component of a case and the Faraday-shielding layer is a textile layer formed from one or more metal materials.
Judy teaches a Faraday-shielding layer (110) made of metalized fabric (col. 5, ll. 65-67) in combination with a protective layer (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy such that the teaching of a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and the Faraday-shielding layer is a textile layer formed from one or more metal materials were applied in order to protect stored electronic devices from electromagnetic interference, radiofrequency interference, and any other wireless signals (generally referred to as EMI) that may interfere with, modify, or otherwise, compromise information stored, received, or transmitted by the stored electronic device, as taught by Judy, col. 5, ll. 3-18.
Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except a case and that the flexible bag is attached to an interior surface of a bottom component of a case.
Bender teaches that element 12 is attached to the bottom component of a case via 50, see Figure 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy-Judy such that the teaching of a shock absorption element being placed in case and secured to a component at a bottom of a case was applied to Bender in order to permit a case to provide ease of shipping and containing both the shock absorption element and the object to be protected together.
12: Lepinoy-Judy-Bender teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 9 and Lepinoy further teaches that the flexible bag is operable to conform to the interior surface of a bottom component of a case (since flexible bag is operable to condense around the surrounding object, the bag is capable of conforming to a bottom of the case of Bender).
13: Lepinoy-Judy-Bender teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 9 and Lepinoy further teaches that the packaging material includes materials made from polystyrene and/or polylactic acid (polystyrene balls, col. 3, ll. 43-45).
14: Lepinoy-Judy-Bender teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 9 and Lepinoy further teaches that the flexible bag is operable to be connected to and inflated by a pump (capable of being inflated by an unclaimed pump via component 16).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) in view of Judy (US 8,859,913) and further in view of Perkins (US 8,783,776).
3: Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except rotation of the air valve allows air to flow into the flexible bag or prevents air from flowing into the flexible bag.
Perkins teaches that rotating the nozzles 43 to enable air to flow through the and inflate each inflatable pillow 40 as desired; deflating each pillow assembly 20, 25 as desired via opening the pillow nozzles 43, col. 5, ll. 17-33.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lepinoy-Judy such that that the teaching of rotation of the air valve allows air to flow into the flexible bag or prevents air from flowing into the flexible bag was applied to Lepinoy in order to permit inlet or outlet of air according to a user’s choice in order to permit ease of use.
Claim(s) 7 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) in view of Judy (US 8,859,913) and further in view of Lee (US 4,475,247).
7: Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except the Faraday-shielding layer is connected to the flexible bag via a plurality of hook and loop elements or RF welding.
Lee teaches that the insert (44) is attached to an outer layer (14) via hook and loop fastener (46, Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy-Lee such that the teaching of the Faraday shield layer is connected to the flexible bag via a plurality of hook and loop elements in order to removably hold the insert in place during use.
17, 20: Lepinoy teaches an article (article generally shown in Figure 4) for packing an unclaimed object, comprising: a retaining element (bag 10), including an air valve (valve 16); wherein the retaining element includes packaging material (granular material, col. 4, ll. 19-40); wherein the air valve is operable to release air from within the flexible bag (capable of drawing air out through 16, col. 4, ll. 16-40); wherein the release of the air from within the retaining element (when air is evacuated, granular material condenses around object placed within opening 13, above a top of 12).
Lepinoy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and heat shield layer connected to the Faraday-shielding layer.
Judy teaches a Faraday-shielding layer (110) made of metalized fabric (col. 5, ll. 65-67) in combination with a protective layer (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy such that the teaching of a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and the Faraday-shielding layer is a textile layer formed from one or more metal materials were applied in order to protect stored electronic devices from electromagnetic interference, radiofrequency interference, and any other wireless signals (generally referred to as EMI) that may interfere with, modify, or otherwise, compromise information stored, received, or transmitted by the stored electronic device, as taught by Judy, col. 5, ll. 3-18.
Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for a heat shield layer connected to the Faraday-shielding layer.
Lee teaches that the material used for case 10, comprises a heat shield insert (44) made from Kevlar, which can provide resistant to bullets and heat (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy-Judy such that the teaching of a heat shield layer connected to the flexible bag such as a Kevlar layer were provided for and applied, in order to provide resistant to bullets and heat (Abstract), as taught by Lee.
18: Lepinoy-Judy-Lee teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 17 and Lepinoy further teaches that the packaging material includes materials made from polystyrene and/or polylactic acid (polystyrene balls, col. 3, ll. 43-45).
19: Lepinoy-Judy-Lee the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 17 except the heat shield layer is connected to the flexible bag via a plurality of hook and loop elements or RF welding.
Lee teaches that the insert (44) is attached to an outer layer (14) via hook and loop fastener (46, Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy-Judy-Lee such that the teaching of the heat shield layer is connected to the flexible bag via a plurality of hook and loop elements in order to removably hold the insert in place during use.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) in view of Judy (US 8,859,913) and further in view of Bender (US 5,351,830) and Perkins (US 8,783,776).
11: Lepinoy-Judy-Bender teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except rotation of the air valve allows air to flow into the flexible bag or prevents air from flowing into the flexible bag.
Perkins teaches that rotating the nozzles 43 to enable air to flow through the and inflate each inflatable pillow 40 as desired; deflating each pillow assembly 20, 25 as desired via opening the pillow nozzles 43, col. 5, ll. 17-33.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lepinoy-Judy-Bender such that that the teaching of rotation of the air valve allows air to flow into the flexible bag or prevents air from flowing into the flexible bag was applied to Lepinoy in order to permit inlet or outlet of air according to a user’s choice in order to permit ease of use.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) in view of Judy (US 8,859,913) and further in view of Bender (US 5,351,830) and Lee (US 4,475,247).
15: Lepinoy-Judy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except the Faraday-shielding layer is connected to the flexible bag via a plurality of hook and loop elements or RF welding.
Lee teaches that the insert (44) is attached to an outer layer (14) via hook and loop fastener (46, Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lepinoy-Lee such that the teaching of the Farayday shield layer is connected to the flexible bag via a plurality of hook and loop elements in order to removably hold the insert in place during use.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/264,163 and claims 1-3 and 5-21 of copending Application No 19/005,114 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to an article for packing an object, comprising: a flexible bag, including an air valve; wherein the flexible bag includes a sealed interior chamber containing packaging material; wherein the air valve is operable to release air from within the flexible bag; wherein the release of the air from within the flexible bag causes the packaging material to be displaced and compact around an object placed on top of the flexible bag; and wherein the flexible bag retains the impression of the object after the object is removed except a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and the omission of the heat-shield layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the current Application such that the heat shield layer was omitted since omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Judy teaches a Faraday-shielding layer (110) made of metalized fabric (col. 5, ll. 65-67) in combination with a protective layer (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior Application such that the teaching of a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and the Faraday-shielding layer is a textile layer formed from one or more metal materials were applied in order to protect stored electronic devices from electromagnetic interference, radiofrequency interference, and any other wireless signals (generally referred to as EMI) that may interfere with, modify, or otherwise, compromise information stored, received, or transmitted by the stored electronic device, as taught by Judy, col. 5, ll. 3-18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735