DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 09/26/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation "the light sources" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 2010/0079977 hereinafter refer as “LEE”) in view of Li et al. (US 2013/0128152 hereinafter refer as “Li”).
Regarding claim 14. LEE discloses a display device (100, see Fig. 1) comprising: a display panel (30, Fig. 1, Para. 0036) having a back surface; a frame (160, see Fig. 1, Para. 0039); and a reflection member (140, see Fig. 1, Para. 0039 and 0045) between the frame (160) and the display panel (30), the reflection member (140, see Fig. 1, Para. 0039 and 0045) including divided portions (140a, 140b, 140c, and 140d, see Fig. 1, Para. 0048) and a cover portion (170, see Fig. 2, Para. 0063) that overlaps and covers two adjacent divided portions (see Figs. 3-4).
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose that the frame is a plurality of parallel beam sections extending in a first direction that form part of the frame; a plurality of parallel pillar sections extending in a second direction that form another part of the frame, ends of the pillar sections being connected to two opposed beam sections of the plurality of parallel beam sections that are most distal, the pillar sections with the beam sections form the frame in which the frame is deposed on the back surface of the display panel.
Li teaches a back frame (23, see Fig. 5, Para. 0041) that includes a frame (the four corner sections, 231, 232, 233, 234, see Fig. 5, Para. 0046); a plurality of parallel beam sections (e.g. 235, a second secondary assembling piece 236, see Fig. 5, Para. 0046) extending in a first direction that form part of the frame; a plurality of parallel pillar sections (2376, 2377, see Fig. 5, Para. 0046) extending in a second direction that form another part of the frame, ends of the pillar sections being connected to two opposed beam sections (e.g. 231 and 233) of the plurality of parallel beam sections that are most distal, the pillar sections with the beam sections form the frame in which the frame is deposed on the back surface of the display panel.
Therefore, in view of Li, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LEE’s frame to include plurality of parallel pillar sections in first direction and second direction for the purpose of serving as ancillary assembling pieces as suggested by Li. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an improved support frame.
Regarding claim 15. LEE further discloses comprising a plurality of cover portions (140a, 140b, 140c, and 140d, see Fig. 1, Para. 0048) the cover portion in which at least one other cover portions overlaps and covers at least two other adjacent divided portions.
Regarding claim 16. LEE further discloses comprising a gap (L2, see Fig. 2, Para. 0062) between the two adjacent divided portions and the cover portion (170) covers the gap (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17. LEE further discloses the cover portion (170) reflects (see Para. 0059) a plurality of rays of light emitted from light sources (154, see Fig. 1, Para. 0041) toward the display panel.
Regarding claim 18. LEE further discloses comprising a light emitter (150, see Fig. 1, Para. 0041) that includes a substrate (152, see Fig. 1, Para. 0039) and the light sources (154) thereon, the light emitter is positioned between the frame and the display panel.
Regarding claim 19. LEE further discloses the reflection member (140, see Fig. 1) is positioned between the substrate (152) and the display panel (30, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20. LEE further discloses the reflection member (140, see Fig. 1) includes apertures (142, see Fig. 1, Para. 0059) corresponding to the light sources (154, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0059).
Regarding claim 21. LEE further discloses the gap (L2, see Fig. 2, Para. 0062) suppresses distortion of the reflection member.
Regarding claim 22. LEE further discloses the divided portions have light reflection property and the cover portion include have a relatively high reflectance (see Para. 0060) and the head (172) of the cover portion may have a reflectance which is equal to or higher than that of the divided portions (e.g. reflecting sheet 140, see Para. 0060).
However, LEE is silent with respect to the divided portions and the cover portion include a same material.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LEE by forming the divided portions and the cover portion from the same material in order to achieve equal reflectance, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claims 23 and 24. the teachings of LEE have been discussed above.
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose further comprising ribs that are formed in the pillar sections, further comprising ribs that are formed in the beam sections.
Li further teaches a first pillar and a second pillar (e.g., 232 and 234, see Fig. 5, Para. 0046) both extending in a vertical direction and joining both ends of the first beam and the second beam, and a plurality of sub-pillars (e.g. 235, 236) disposed between the first pillar and the second pillar and extending in the vertical direction to join the first beam and the second beam (see Fig. 5) and a rib extending in each longitudinal direction is formed in at least one of the first beam, the second beam, the first pillar, the second pillar, and the plurality of sub-pillars (see Figs. 2 and 5).
Therefore, in view of Li, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace LEE’s unitary frame with a frame that includes a plurality of extrusion molded members coupled to one another for reducing material cost as suggested Li. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide simple structure, reduce the expenditure of the back frame mold, and also save the material used for back frame so as to lower down the manufacturing cost of the display device (see Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 25. the teachings of LEE have been discussed above.
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose the cover portion is fixed to at least one of the pillar sections.
Li further teaches the back frame (23, see Fig. 17, Para. 0070) and includes the first pillar and the second pillar are joined to the both ends of the first beam and the second beam by L-shaped fittings (see Fig. 17).
Therefore, in view of Li et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace LEE et al.’s unitary frame with a frame that includes a plurality of extrusion molded members coupled to one another for reducing material cost as suggested Li et al. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide simple structure, reduce the expenditure of the back frame mold, and also save the material used for back frame so as to lower down the manufacturing cost of the display device (see Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 26. LEE further discloses comprising an intermediate member (110, see Fig. 1, Para. 0039, 0052, and 0053) attached to the frame in which the intermediate member holds the display panel.
Regarding claim 27. the teachings of LEE have been discussed above.
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose comprising at least one additional pillar section between the pillar sections and parallel with the pillar sections.
Li further teaches the back frame (23, see Fig. 17, Para. 0070) and includes the first pillar and the second pillar are joined to the both ends of the first beam and the second beam by L-shaped fittings (see Fig. 17).
Therefore, in view of Li et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace LEE et al.’s unitary frame with a frame that includes a plurality of extrusion molded members coupled to one another for reducing material cost as suggested Li et al. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide simple structure, reduce the expenditure of the back frame mold, and also save the material used for back frame so as to lower down the manufacturing cost of the display device (see Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 28. LEE further discloses the gap (L2, see Fig. 2, Para. 0062) and divided portions are positioned such that center points of apertures (142) in the reflection member for light sources (154) and respective optical axes of the light sources during expansion and contraction associated with display device operation coincide (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 29 and 30. the teachings of LEE have been discussed above.
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose at least one additional beam section between the beam sections and parallel with the beam sections; and at least one additional pillar section between the pillar sections and parallel with the pillar sections.
Li further teaches the back frame (23, see Fig. 17, Para. 0070) and includes the first pillar and the second pillar are joined to the both ends of the first beam and the second beam by L-shaped fittings (see Fig. 17).
Therefore, in view of Li et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace LEE et al.’s unitary frame with a frame that includes a plurality of extrusion molded members coupled to one another for reducing material cost as suggested Li et al. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide simple structure, reduce the expenditure of the back frame mold, and also save the material used for back frame so as to lower down the manufacturing cost of the display device (see Para. 0018).
Regarding claims 31 and 32. the teachings of LEE have been discussed above.
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose comprising: first ribs that are formed in the pillar sections; and second ribs that are formed in the beam sections; comprising L-shaped fittings connecting respective ends of the pillar sections with the beam sections.
Li further teaches the back frame (23, see Fig. 17, Para. 0070) and includes the first pillar and the second pillar are joined to the both ends of the first beam and the second beam by L-shaped fittings (see Fig. 17).
Therefore, in view of Li et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace LEE et al.’s unitary frame with a frame that includes a plurality of extrusion molded members coupled to one another for reducing material cost as suggested Li et al. One would have been motivated to make this combination to provide simple structure, reduce the expenditure of the back frame mold, and also save the material used for back frame so as to lower down the manufacturing cost of the display device (see Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 33. the teachings of LEE have been discussed above.
However, LEE is silent with respect to the divided portions comprise a resin material.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LEE by forming the divided portions from the resin material in order to achieve high reflectance, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (US 2011/0044027) teaches a backlight module that includes a circuit board, at least one first light emitting diode (LED) device, at least one second LED device, and a reflection device, wherein the reflection device has at least one first reflection region disposed around the first LED device and at least one second reflection region disposed around the second LED device; Bang (US 2007/0070625) discloses a backlight assembly includes light emitting diodes in patterns, a reflective sheet having a plurality of through holes through which the light emitting diodes protrude, and a sidewall dividing the patterns into a plurality of light emitting diode units; Zhang (US 9170456) discloses a backlight module includes a backplane, a diffusion platen arranged inside the backplane, and backlight sources mounted to the backplane and located under the diffusion plate.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875